Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Outstanding running there. It'd never happen in Ososlo Demesne (unless you take that wrong turn). :D

Reminds me of one of my first ever long runs a couple of years back when I had to stop and help round up some loose horses. Your beasts sound a bit wilder. All in a day's sporting adventure, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Murph_D wrote: »
    Outstanding running there. It'd never happen in Ososlo Demesne (unless you take that wrong turn). :D

Reminds me of one of my first ever long runs a couple of years back when I had to stop and help round up some loose horses. Your beasts sound a bit wilder. All in a day's sporting adventure, right?

Winter nights running, Murph, gloves, high viz jacket, hat, head torch and now it seems like I need a feckin lasso :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Winter nights running, Murph, gloves, high viz jacket, hat, head torch and now it seems like I need a feckin lasso :)

TbL

following the fashion statements of pconn? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I say a white horse is nt too bad a sign, now if you see any black horses galloping towards you.....,,,,

Given how late I got out last night and the rain I had switched yesterday's and today's sessions around so today I was to do 13 easy with a mile at PMP.

The difference a few hours can make to Connemara weather, it was a fantastic day today and this morning we all headed out for a long walk along the beach in beautiful sunshine.

Got out for my run around 3.00, perfect weather for running, cool and crisp. I ran from the house down past Rossaveal and back. The last two miles on the way back are fairly hilly so I decided to do the MPM on a flattish section on the way back.

No ghostly equine apparitions to content with tonight but there was a greater number of cars on the route than usual which is a bit of a pain in the ass, as I usually encounter some asshole that gets his kicks from either buzzing me or blowing the horn just as they're passing!

Felt reasonably strong on this run so happy enough, I'll have to discuss with Coach whether I give the sub 3 a lash at Seville in late Feb or Boston in April.

Splits:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

Personally I would aim for Seville, Boston is a tougher course and it been later in spring the weather might not play ball

Plan today was for 2m wu easy, 3 x 1m @ PMP off 90 sec recovery, 2m cd easy.

Got up to Dublin late last night and had an early start this morning in a hotel near the airport. Finished up just after 5 and headed out, up towards Santry.

Found it very hard to get into a groove for the MP segment as it was dark, I was up and down kerbs, dodging traffic and bikes and it didn't help that I didn't have a route pre planned. Only did about 1.3m of a cool down as I've another meeting at 7 so caught a bit for time.

A bit disjointed and a little unsatisfactory this session, but they all can't be great.

Working much longer hours lately and finding it hard to get the runs in but hopefully in a few weeks I'll be back on a structured program.

MPM: 7.11, 7.01, 6.38

TbL

Quoted from my log on 28/10/14

"While Amsterdam castrated my confidence I've started looking for my balls back"

Today: I travelled to Valencia for some corrective surgery to have my (confidence) balls reattached. In a touch and go operation, lasting 3 hours and 5 odd minutes the aforementioned balls have been somewhat successfully reattached.

The prognosis, after recovery and a proper rehabilitation program should see the patient able to play with the sub 3 big ball guys :)

Detailed report to follow

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Jaysus ya kept that quiet! Well done TbL on a successful operation! Looking forward to the report!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Jaysus ya kept that quiet! Well done TbL on a successful operation! Looking forward to the report!

Tnx O,

Didn't want to set myself up for a fall, I've been pretty sick all week and almost didn't do it at all, was looking at San Sebastián in two weeks instead, but glad I did it now

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Brilliant! :)

It's amazing how running up mountains in training can make all the difference ;)

Brilliant! :)

It's amazing how running up mountains in training can make all the difference ;)

Tnx Paulie,

I felt like I was back on that mountain for the last couple of miles. At least this time I finished with my shirt :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well done C in what were warm & breezy conditions. Enjoy the recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Oh my!

Well done secret squirrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Delighted for you. Well deserved. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Nutjob, I thought a man of your vintage would have more sense! :)

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Well played TbL - nicely done :-) :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

The international man of mystery strikes in Valencia. Well done TBL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Savage stuff C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Sneaky. I can't help but wonder how many marathons you've run without telling us. Maybe you broke 2:55 ages ago and never bothered to mention it?
    Well done you shifty so and so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Delighted for you - well deserved.
    Looking forward to the report already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

So you just rocks up and runs a marathon and smashes it. Nothing new in this its what you does best

Well Done

Ger

ger664 wrote: »
    So you just rocks up and runs a marathon and smashes it. Nothing new in this its what you does best

Well Done

Ger

Haha Ger,

Not quite like that but thanks.

Would have liked to have been in SMB today, it's a fantastic event. Hope it went well for ye.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I was wondering what you were up to, you have been quiet of late. Brilliant results, delighted for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice One!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done TbL - delighted for you. Nothing like a sneaky marathon on a Sunday morning :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Savage. Well done old man. A wee sub three hour run is .only around the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Sorry to put a dampener on things, but the last time you did a marathon on the sly in Connemara you won it!
    Surely that makes today's result a serious disappointment considering you didn't even make the podium?

Obviously I'm joking. Well done. It was due ;)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Sorry to put a dampener on things, but the last time you did a marathon on the sly in Connemara you won it!
    Surely that makes today's result a serious disappointment considering you didn't even make the podium?

Obviously I'm joking. Well done. It was due ;)

Haha P,

I made the only podium that counted, Amsterdam demons 0, auld fat Lemon 1 :)

Just back home, I'll try and cobble together a race report tomorrow

TbL

A Redemption Run

Sitting in the departures lounge in Amsterdam airport four weeks ago dejected, down and feeling a little depressed, I texted Ecoli and asked (begged) him to agree to me doing the Valencia marathon 4 weeks later. We discussed the pros and cons and he agreed that I could give it a crack as a "freebie" race. It was the only bright point in what I had otherwise considered to be a disastrous expedition. I entered Valencia that night when I got home!

I decided not to post my plan on Boards as I just wanted to put the head down and test the legs. I was also heading off on holidays for a week so I wasn't sure I'd get much running in, and additionally I didn't want to put any pressure on myself in case I didn't run. Ecoli did up a transition plan for me that included one session a week and a medium long run all the other runs being easy or very easy.

I took two or three days off after Amsterdam and then got back into it. The legs felt grand and the plan eased me back nicely into it. I ran every day on holidays including a 10 miler a week after Amsterdam. I also got a great mountain run in with Paulie "the goat" Yifter. This run wasn't easy and it was the first time I questioned whether I'd be fit for Valencia but I ploughed on regardless. A session I did with Q in the PP, a week later, lifted my confidence as I ran a couple of sub PMP miles reasonably comfortably.

Things took a bit of a turn for the worse last weekend as I got a bad sore throat and a bit of a chesty cough. The 15 miles I did last Sunday were grand but when I dropped in a 6.36 mile my chest was heaving and I was seriously concerned. I started taking more concoctions and potions than you'd see at a hippy fringe festival in Stonehenge :)

It started to get a bit better on Tuesday but I had to go to Dublin and then on to London. I only ran once last week, doing a few miles with 3 at PMP. I felt like crap and was getting disheartened. I decided not to run again till Valencia trying to give the body time to recover. A decent nights sleep was hard to come by. Was really busy with work and 5 different hotel beds in 5 days isn't ideal from a rest perspective.

Got an early morning flight from Gatwick to Valencia on Saturday and I felt really crap, sore throat was almost gone but the coughing was getting much worse. The guy in the seat beside me on the plane was doing the marathon and the minute the fasten seat belt sign went out he legged it and I didn't see him again.

When the plane landed in Valencia and the doors opened one of the crew came on and said to exercise extreme caution on the steps down because of severe winds. FFS I thought that's all I need. My god it was really blowing, the litter was racing down the streets and the the flags were ram rod horizontal.

Picked up my number at the expo that was pretty crowded but efficient and strolled back to to the hotel all the while been buffeted by the wind.

Got a great hotel location only a couple of minutes walk from the start/finish and then headed out and got a fantastic bowl of pasta in a really good Italian. Never before have I taken a kip in the afternoon before a marathon but I crashed for a couple of hours. Felt very groggy when I woke and started to think about not running, I started googling San Sebastian and Castellon marathons that are coming up in 2 and 3 weeks respectively. Was seriously considering booking San Seb and flying into Biarritz, decided to go out for something to eat and not make any rash decision.

After eating a pizza and taking a short walk I headed back to the hotel. Got a text from Bulmers wishing me well and decided I'd start and if it went t1ts up I'd use SS as a fallback.

Got to bed early enough but couldn't sleep, coughed up enough green slime to cover a colony of bull frogs pond :)

Got up at 6am and had the usual breakfast, was feeling a bit better and the wind from yesterday had died down a tad. Great been based so close to the start as I was able to go back to bed for a bit before the 9am start. Also handy not having to worry about the hassle of bag drop off/collection. Just rock up ready to run. Listened to AC/DC to get me going, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap. Yah! Bon Scott was a legend, none of this techno crap that has DD doing 12,000 chin ups :) Proper rock.

There seemed to be a huge crowd running and I took my place in my pen not too far from the starting mat, with about 15 mins to spare. It got fairly squashed a couple of minutes later and just before the off this lad was so close to me, he was almost on my back. I turned around and said "if you intend to get that intimate you could at least use a condom!", I got a vacant look but at least he climbed down off me.

Start was fairly congested and I couldn't believe the number of people that seemed to be doing a much slower pace than what would be expected up near the front. The roads were wide though and it was much better than Amsterdam. My breathing was rasping and laboured for the first couple of miles and I just tried to focus on keeping a low steady heartbeat. A couple of miles in I passed by a guy with glasses, a fair completion and a bit of a ginger beard. I was gonna make some comment to him but I've been ignored in the past so went by and said nothing. Heard him say "C, (my name's on the back of my vest) are you from Ireland?" We got chatting and he runs with Bros/Sisters Pearce , and he knew Ray "17 mins into work" C. He had run a 3,09 in Dublin and was hoping to do a bit better here. This was the best possible thing that could have happened to me, we had a great chat and a laugh and it completely took my mind off things. We decided we'd try to hit half way in 7 min pace. S pointed out a guy with the name "Chafer" on the back of his vest and we had a great laugh outta that!

I was beginning to feel good and I think we went through 10 miles sub 70. Around mile 12 I think S dropped off and I kept the pace nice and steady. (I hope he hit his target) I'd taken an isotonic gel at mile 8 and definitely got a boost from that. The water stations were great and water in bottles makes such a difference.

I think I went through halfway in 1.31 odd and I felt strong. Took another gel here. I started to get notions of a negative split but at about mile 14/15 the temperature started to creep up and the breeze was getting a bit stronger.

I decided not to risk it and I'm glad I didn't as I would have ended up burnt north of my wife's creme brûlée, and trust me that's scorched :)

I decided to leave the sub 3 attempt for another day and just try and ensure I got a PB. I was still crunching out decent miles but the effort level was up. There was very little shade for the last hour and not a cloud in the sky. The Spaniards were keeping away from the firemen spraying water but I ran through it at every opportunity to try and cool down. About mile 20 I started to get very hot and the pace came down, I kept telling myself you can run 7.30 miles from here in and still PB, hold it ta **** together lad. There's no way, no ****in way you're having another Amsterdam, listen up good, legs and lungs, this fat auld lad ain't quittin!

I broke the remainder down into sections and just tried to get through one target after another. There were a fair few walkers at this stage but I never really felt like I'd have to join them. The support towards the end was unreal, way better than Amsterdam, but I couldn't really take it in, I was suffering and just focused on getting to the finish. I was really really glad that this marathon started at 9am coz another half hour out in those temps and it wouldn't have been pretty!

I was glued to the blue line and I had to try and pick it up over the last 400 metres to try and finish sub 3.06.

Crossed the line with no celebration but satisfied with a solid job done! I even spoke to a few runners this time :)

Plenty of water, powerade and oranges at the finish and I was glad that I'd only a short walk back to the hotel as I was toasted.

Nice medal in the shape of a V and a very nice blue Brooks technical t shirt.

We got a bag of Epsom salts in the goody bag and as all marathon runners staying in the hotel were given a 4 o clock check out I decided to have a bath to try and flush out the legs. Couldn't stay in it long and must have been a bit dehydrated as 2 litres of water later my pee was still like treacle.

Only bummer on an otherwise good day was that I had to walk 5k to the train station in 20• heat as you couldn't get a taxi! By the time I got there I was sweating bullets and I felt sorry for the young wan sitting beside me.

No sub 3 but given, that I'd almost bailed on running it at all and the weather, I'm pretty happy. Sure I had to leave something for Ecoli to do anyway :)

Tnx for all the nice posts.

Onwards and upwards balls n all!

TbL

Splits:

4.07 (Garmin .59 mile )

Splits: (Amsterdam)