Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

A great read that. Just one of those days no doubt. You will see the rewards and they will be so much sweeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I enjoyed that read, really felt your frustration..
    One thing I wondered about though. You're on about your weight and you made a reference to it while you were in the starting pen. Was it something that you were "put out" about at the start or just a casual observation. Just thinking it might have put you in the wrong frame of mind....

I say that as a heavyish runner myself and could be way off the mark, just a thought :)

Anyway, I do believe you will craic it sooner rather than later(I'm sure you're sick of hearing that), and I look forward to reading more on your running and meet-up conquests in the near future :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

martyboy48 wrote: »
    I enjoyed that read, really felt your frustration..
    One thing I wondered about though. You're on about your weight and you made a reference to it while you were in the starting pen. Was it something that you were "put out" about at the start or just a casual observation. Just thinking it might have put you in the wrong frame of mind....

I say that as a heavyish runner myself and could be way off the mark, just a thought :)

Anyway, I do believe you will craic it sooner rather than later(I'm sure you're sick of hearing that), and I look forward to reading more on your running and meet-up conquests in the near future :)

Nah Marty, it didn't bother me at the start at all, it's something that I've been aware of for a while now and despite it I've trained and raced well before Amsterdam

TbL

Was to do 90 mins easy today.

Didn't get out till 11pm and I was a bit worn out from a long day in the sun :)

Did 92 mins between easy and very easy.

I had hoped to do this all along the seafront but I ran out of lighted pathway so ended up doing a few miles through residential areas. Legs felt better the longer I was out.

Superb running by Q and the lads in Frankfurt today, and the very best of luck to everyone doing DCM tomorrow.

TbL

Got 4 miles recovery in just as the sun was going down this evening. Lovely and warm with a cool breeze keeping it bearable. It got up to 29* here today!

Looking forward to reading the reports on DCM later, looked like it was tough out there today.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Well Mr Lemon - hows the mind these days? Have you had time to think about the race and how you build some positives from it??

Hey AMK,

I've slowly come around and accepted it.

Yesterday's DCM also put things into a bit of perspective for me, with so many good runners (with a fantastic training cycle behind them) having not as good as expected races.

I'm also happy enough that I've gotten back running so quickly.

I've even got a Boardsie running date in Lanzarote tomorrow, are you jealous yet :)

Nice pacing yesterday, did you learn that from the Ecoli, Tralee school of motoring!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Hey AMK,

I've slowly come around and accepted it.

Yesterday's DCM also put things into a bit of perspective for me, with so many good runners (with a fantastic training cycle behind them) having not as good as expected races.

I'm also happy enough that I've gotten back running so quickly.

I've even got a Boardsie running date in Lanzarote tomorrow, are you jealous yet :)

Nice pacing yesterday, did you learn that from the Ecoli, Tralee school of motoring!

TbL

Good to hear - was a tough day yesterday for most runners.

And like Ecoli - I am a selfless runner - its not about me, but about the other runners in our pace group - getting them though the finish at our own sacrifice :p

Tell Paul I said hello!

Today I did 7 miles easy with strides.

I've now decided that I had one great experience in Amsterdam and one ****e one so, I'm putting the lid firmly back on that can of worms.

It was a lot more cloudy here today and it was only around 22-23* so I really enjoyed the late afternoon run down to the lighthouse in Playa Blanca. Legs felt very good. Strides and I haven't made great bedfellows in the past and today I decided to concentrate on form rather than speed, tried my best not to look like Quasimodo with gout :) Did 5 or 6 of them of about 70-80 metres and managed to get the last few done with good form and at reasonable clip.

Really enjoyed that and I've a Boardsie Lanzarote running date tomorrow :)

While Amsterdam castrated my confidence I've started looking for my balls back :)

Game on!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Really enjoyed that and I've a Boardsie Lanzarote running date tomorrow :)

Oh yes, is that a certain Mr Yifter? I saw that he was over that way. I say saw. He was blatantly bragging about it while pretending to wish his clubmates well in the marathon. I wouldn't go for a run with him.

You're both missing some amazing rain over here. Great stuff. A lovely wet quality to it.

Oh yes, is that a certain Mr Yifter? I saw that he was over that way. I say saw. He was blatantly bragging about it while pretending to wish his clubmates well in the marathon. I wouldn't go for a run with him.

You're both missing some amazing rain over here. Great stuff. A lovely wet quality to it.

Not sure who's gonna turn up, the ad said a "tasty runner", not sure if that was from a speed or some other perspective :)

I'll tell Mr Yifter you wished him well!

TbL

Met up with PaulieYifter around 7 this morning in the hotel reception. I was really looking forward to this one as PY recently went sub 3 in Longford after an eventful journey, hitting a 3.02 and a 3.00:18 along the way!!

PY mentioned that he had already run up one volcano valley so we might head up the other one today! 10k was mentioned and all seemed good as we set off in pleasant early morning weather. Nice chat along the way and before I knew it we had a couple of miles done and PY veered of the nice nice tar onto this rubble stuff. I think it's known as a trail or something! That was grand until he pointed to where he wanted to go, up the hill he said. What hill is he talking about, I thought, I only see a fecking mountain. Sure enough we started climbing, now this was fine if you're a nimble mountain goat like PY but I'm more like a wildebeest and a lower grassland variety wildebeest at that :) Half way up I was only fit for walking and watched PY canter up towards the summit.

The way down was worse, loose rubble shifting under your feet and my runners were starting to burn rubber!

Was happy to get back down to terra firma. We clipped along for another while before another volcano eruption, I'd to make a quick apology and hit a ditch as last nights dinner definitely wasn't agreeing with me. Lost my Sussex marathon tee shirt in the process :)

Got going again and before I knew it we had done another few miles and we ended up with doing 15k in total.

Really enjoyed it PY, it was an experience I won't forget. I now know I definitely ain't built for altitude:)

Attached a photo of the rare Lanzarote mountainous wildebeest (still wearing tee shirt, reward to finder :))

Back to the rain tomorrow.

See ya in Boston Paulie!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Tough bunch, those Cru lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Fecking hell:eek: Poor Paulie! It will be the last time he will bring you running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Lovely run and great chat. Just as well we got a bit lost and stayed on a quiet trail ;). Cheers for indulging me with a few photos - some are on the shortlist for my 2015 calendar. I'm planning on heading back up that way again in the morning so I'll try and recover your top :) (Update: The goats were having it for breakfast)

Haha Paulie, hope you enjoyed your run this morning. Back home and it's cold and wet. God love the native that has that goat for dinner :)

TbL

There's a saying that goes along the lines of 'one good race doesn't make you a good runner'. Likewise, one bad race doesn't make you a bad runner. With that in mind, I now see target races like Dublin as the culmination of a training block, nothing more. If the target race goes according to plan and you hit your goal, brilliant. If the race goes poorly that doesn't mean that somehow all the months of training have suddenly gone out the window. Everything has to be viewed in context and it's important to see the bigger picture.

With apologies to Dublin Runner as I've stolen the paragraph above from his log, as it made eminent sense to me when I was reading it and displays the right attitude to a bad day at the office.

Today I was to do 9 miles steady but after only a couple of hours sleep last night and a long journey home I was in no mood to head out into the dark, wind and rain. However after reading a couple of logs I decided to get up off my arse and switch today's and tomorrow's sessions around and get 6 miles easy in.

Donned the high viz jacket, hat and head torch and headed out.

Did this nice and easy with no watch and eventually ended up enjoying it!

In other news got postal notification of my acceptance into Boston, looking forward to that.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

That's true, but you also have to approach every race as if it were your last one, to silence the voices that will start sooner or later telling you to ease off and try again another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Congrats on Boston.

RayCun wrote: »
    That's true, but you also have to approach every race as if it were your last one, to silence the voices that will start sooner or later telling you to ease off and try again another day.

You're thinking every race will be your last one and you're hearing silent voices, Jezus RC you must be older than I thought :)

The point you're making is valid, it can become a difficult habit to break if you allow it to become the default opt out excuse, but I was coming at it from the perspective of not allowing a bad run to demotivate and demoralise you. One thing's for sure, my next day out I won't be easing off!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I assume you're not running Seville again now that Boston is confirmed?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I assume you're not running Seville again now that Boston is confirmed?

Hey P,

Seville might still be on the agenda, I'm getting anxious to get closer to that sub 3. I'll be discussing racing calendar with the superbug formerly known as Ecoli soon, and I expect it'll include some shorter stuff as well.

You confirmed for Hamburg?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

True. It was more a comment on how you get over a bad result. That same result last year would have killed me but this year I can and will use it as motivation. It's a fine balance though as some could and do use it as an excuse to ease and off and try again as you rightly say.

By the way Lemon, that's copyrighted! Where the buck are my royalties??!!! Haha.

You'll nail the next race. I'd put money on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Hey P,

Seville might still be on the agenda, I'm getting anxious to get closer to that sub 3. I'll be discussing racing calendar with the superbug formerly known as Ecoli soon, and I expect it'll include some shorter stuff as well.

You confirmed for Hamburg?

TbL

Yeah, definitely in for Hamburg. Flights booked and already entered in the race. Calvin Johnson is targeting Seville. You might see him on the plane :)

True. It was more a comment on how you get over a bad result. That same result last year would have killed me but this year I can and will use it as motivation. It's a fine balance though as some could and do use it as an excuse to ease and off and try again as you rightly say.

By the way Lemon, that's copyrighted! Where the buck are my royalties??!!! Haha.

You'll nail the next race. I'd put money on it.

When I do I'll give you 100% of the prize money as a royalty payment :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

One must live in the heart of the contradiction :cool: ;)
    The race you are running now is your last one. As soon as you cross the finish line it becomes just another marker on the way to your next (final!) race.

One must live in the heart of the contradiction :cool: ;)
    The race you are running now is your last one. As soon as you cross the finish line it becomes just another marker on the way to your next (final!) race.

FFS RC, you're coming across like some sort of philosopher on my log and everyday I check into your place I get... "14 mins easy into work" :)

TbL

Yesterday: nada, was supposed to do the 9 miles steady but the missus wanted to venture up ta the big smoke to do some shopping, I needed a gel to keep up with her and probably did the 9 miles walking and carrying bags.

Today: had breakfast while the mrs Lemon continued her attempt to put me in the poor house. When she got back to the hotel she wanted to go to Ikea so we drove out, I told her she was on her own coz I was going running! Changed in the car park and headed off around Ballymun and Finglas. There was a good breeze out there today but at least it was dry. Clipped along nicely but ended up doing it faster than the planned steady pace. Back at the car and no sign of Mrs TbL, I think I'll ring the bank to report the credit card stolen and if she's not back in an hour I'll ring the cops to report her missing too :)

Splits;

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

You left her in IKEA alone, are you mental? No running for you for the foreseeable future, you will be assembling lots and lots of flat pack stuff!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    You left her in IKEA alone, are you mental? No running for you for the foreseeable future, you will be assembling lots and lots of flat pack stuff!

Haha SfM, won't happen, last time she asked me to assemble some furniture it ended up looking like some rickitey nouveau art crap, that shortly thereafter fell apart :) Still no sign of her though!!!

TbL