Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ha - didn't realise you were up doing the shopping already. You could have nipped down to Poppintree for the inaugural parkrun - just down the road from IKEA. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Great report, some times you can just have a bad day at the office. I had one this year in Limerick. Well done again thou. A PB is a PB and you are another race wiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

viperlogic wrote: »
    Great report, some times you can just have a bad day at the office. I had one this year in Limerick. Well done again thou. A PB is a PB and you are another race wiser.

Tnx K,

Well done, mad jealous!

At my age I don't want to be another race wiser, just faster :)

TbL

Today I was to do 15 miles easy.

The weather was rotten here all morning and I kept making excuses for not getting out. Eventually threw on a base layer and headed out. Picked a nicely hilly out and back route for this one. Wind, driving rain and feckin hail stones, not pleasant, but I just zoned out and got it done.

Might have to get a part time job to pay for Mrs TbL's excesses over the weekend!

Splits

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Haha SfM, won't happen, last time she asked me to assemble some furniture it ended up looking like some rickitey nouveau art crap, that shortly thereafter fell apart :) Still no sign of her though!!!

TbL
    That's how it's done, all right. The boss asks me to hang an Ikea shelf (two brackets, one plank), I ask here should it slope this way... or that way...?

IKEA - the Swedish for divorce.

Today called for 4 miles recovery.

After a very long day at work, I decided to give the session a miss as I felt tired.

When I got in the door Mrs TbL asked me to drive her over to the garage to collect her car. I volunteered to jog the couple of miles over to the garage and drive her car home instead.

Thought it was a great idea as it got me out the door, but it went over a route I wouldn't usually run on and the road surface was very bad. The head torch wasn't great either and I had to focus to keep my footing. Hit one pothole that was over ankle deep, lucky no damage done apart from a good soaking! Didn't enjoy that much but it's done. Legs haven't had a rub since before the damn 'Dam so I've a session booked for tomorrow evening.

3 miles slow.

TbL

Today called for 6 miles easy with strides.

Had to run this on an unlit route that was very busy with passing cars. The footpath was also very narrow and I'm still very cautious running with the head torch so the pace was closer to very easy. I also canned the strides as I wasn't comfortable with the faster pace given the conditions.

Got a quick massage at lunch and the lats in my back were seriously tight, she said they were shocking and it was dam sore getting it worked on!

No idea how I got it unless it was from bench pressing Yorkies :)

6 miles very easy.

TbL

Today called for 10 miles in total. 2 miles easy, 6 miles at PMP and 2 miles easy.

Was in Dublin today with work and took an extended lunch break to get this one in. Met up with a formerly registered Boards medical practitioner for this one. Wasn't sure what to expect from this as it would be the fastest I've run since Amsterdam. Met up with Q at the papal cross car park and I asked him to plot the route. He's in good shape since his fantastic PB in Frankfurt and it was great to get the lowdown on how the race panned out. It's a funny old game this running lark, as I remember after the Moone kilo marathon that Dublin Runner and I were happy with our performances, while Q was fairly disappointed. A couple of weeks later DR and I had races to forget and Q smashes his PB!

Q brought me around parts of the park that I hadn't run on before and we had a great chat about all things running and Boston. We headed up the North road as well and it was nowhere near as bad as I'd expected after reading about it on a thread here. I love running with faster experienced runners as you can pick up a lot of useful advise and it's great for ones motivation. Miles seemed to slip by very quickly and I was happy enough with my form given that I was able to talk while doing 6.30 odd pace. It wasn't till we hit around the 6.20 pace that I shut up, can't remember if it was me or Q that picked up the pace, maybe I talk to much :)

I really enjoyed that, and although I'd say I've lost some of my (relative) speed sharpness from the last cycle, after today I'd say it won't take too long for it to come back.

10.2 miles in total

Splits:

7.12 (that's what the watch says but it didn't feel that fast)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Nice auld session that, especially if you managed to chat away through some of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You start charging for these rendezvous' yet?? Nice session, is Q coming back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Today called for 10 miles in total. 2 miles easy, 6 miles at PMP and 2 miles easy.

Was in Dublin today with work and took an extended lunch break to get this one in. Met up with a formerly registered Boards medical practitioner for this one. Wasn't sure what to expect from this as it would be the fastest I've run since Amsterdam. Met up with Q at the papal cross car park and I asked him to plot the route. He's in good shape since his fantastic PB in Frankfurt and it was great to get the lowdown on how the race panned out. It's a funny old game this running lark, as I remember after the Moone kilo marathon that Dublin Runner and I were happy with our performances, while Q was fairly disappointed. A couple of weeks later DR and I had races to forget and Q smashes his PB!

Q brought me around parts of the park that I hadn't run on before and we had a great chat about all things running and Boston. We headed up the North road as well and it was nowhere near as bad as I'd expected after reading about it on a thread here. I love running with faster experienced runners as you can pick up a lot of useful advise and it's great for ones motivation. Miles seemed to slip by very quickly and I was happy enough with my form given that I was able to talk while doing 6.30 odd pace. It wasn't till we hit around the 6.20 pace that I shut up, can't remember if it was me or Q that picked up the pace, maybe I talk to much :)

I really enjoyed that, and although I'd say I've lost some of my (relative) speed sharpness from the last cycle, after today I'd say it won't take too long for it to come back.

10.2 miles in total

Splits:

7.12 (that's what the watch says but it didn't feel that fast)

TbL

PMP is getting faster all the time:)

tang1 wrote: »
    You start charging for these rendezvous' yet?? Nice session, is Q coming back?

Nah Tang, first one is on the house, thereafter it's strictly cash only :)

How's the recovery coming along?

TbL

Cleanman wrote: »
    PMP is getting faster all the time:)

If only it would translate into a race!

TbL

Nah Tang, first one is on the house, thereafter it's strictly cash only :)

How's the recovery coming along?

TbL

Its slow, as well as the stress fractures i've a torn labrum in my left hip. Mo Farah has managed with the same injury for past 7 years so i should be grand!! Its all about strength exercises and stretches till New Year, i'll hopefully get the green light to try some running then.
    One step forward about 5 back at the minute.

Plan today was for 6 miles easy with strides. A work rescheduling meant I'd to stay in Dublin last night, stayed near Santry.

Got this done early this morning and the legs felt a little heavy at the start. Didn't fancy the strides but after 2 slow enough miles the legs loosened out a bit. I ran by Clonliffe Harriers Club house and did the strides in Furry business park, copped a few funny looks from the artic lorry drivers!

Got 6 half decent strides of various lengths in. On the way back to the hotel I saw a small gate into a park and ran a couple if hundred metres into it. Looked like a decent loop on a good surface. It behind Morton stadium and across from the Crowne Plaza hotel. Anyone know what it's called and what's it like for running a session?

6 miles @ 8.01 (including strides)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Welcome to Ososlo Demesne :)

About a mile loop around. Flatish except for one incline but nothing major. Surface perfect.
    I did mile reps there Tuesday. Perfect for shorter reps too. 400s 800s whatever...
    Enjoy!!!
    Santry demesne is official name :) closes 6 I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Plan today was for 6 miles easy with strides. A work rescheduling meant I'd to stay in Dublin last night, stayed near Santry.

Got this done early this morning and the legs felt a little heavy at the start. Didn't fancy the strides but after 2 slow enough miles the legs loosened out a bit. I ran by Clonliffe Harriers Club house and did the strides in Furry business park, copped a few funny looks from the artic lorry drivers!

Got 6 half decent strides of various lengths in. On the way back to the hotel I saw a small gate into a park and ran a couple if hundred metres into it. Looked like a decent loop on a good surface. It behind Morton stadium and across from the Crowne Plaza hotel. Anyone know what it's called and what's it like for running a session?

TbL

Santry Demesne I think its called - there is a 2 mile or so loop around it that takes in the Crowne Plaza - but its been a good few years since I used it - surface was decent too back then.

Santry Demense/Northwood TbL. Keep the elbows in if your ever running on the paths there, certain female poster here known to dish out beatings for such an offense.

TbL's next running date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Ha ha only 3 rules in Ososlo's Demesne:

- no fouling on the public footpaths
    - runners and walkers to keep 2 abreast max at all times
    - keep your elbows to yourself

Failure to comply with these rules may lead to €120 euro fine and/or punishment by a swift elbow in the ribs performed by Ososlo.

Enjoy TbL :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Murph_D wrote: »
    TbL's next running date?

rumour was he was out stalking her..............but I didn't start that one.......

tang1 wrote: »
    Santry Demense/Northwood TbL. Keep the elbows in if your ever running on the paths there, certain female poster here known to dish out beatings for such an offense.

It's not the elbows she'd want to be worried about it's the swing trajectory of the butt cheeks as the duck waddle gets into full flow :)

TbL

TbL's next running date?

You're only jealous Murph, I don't do auld, skinny and grey, well apart from AMK maybe :)

TbL

Ah go on, sure you'd look like a young whippersnapper next to me. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

You're only jealous Murph, I don't do auld, skinny and grey, well apart from AMK maybe :)

TbL

Auld, skinny and bald seems to catch his eye though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

TbL

Nice place to run although be careful as a wrong turn along the river and under the underpass could have the same result as entering the Bermuda Triangle for a Bogger like you ;)

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Nice place to run although be careful as a wrong turn along the river and under the underpass could have the same result as entering the Bermuda Triangle for a Bogger like you ;)

It's happened to me. Scary stuff alright. You can end up on the set of Lovely Hat without realising it.

Hahaha Murph,

Were you set upon by a mob of angry milliners :)

TbL

Plan today was for 13 miles with a mile or two at PMP.

I was minding the kids most of the day and didn't get a chance to get out till 9.

If I'd run yesterday I wouldn't have gone out tonight but as I'd missed yesterday's easy 5 miles I decided to switch sessions and do tomorrow's 6 miles easy instead.

Went over Seanadh Phesitin and it was biblical raining, nearly turned back after 100 metres as the head torch was barely penetrating through the rain. Slogged through it and it eased off after a bit. Around the half way turning point I came across a couple of horses and foals, don't think they liked been disturbed as they were a bit jittery. I paid no heed and turned, the rain started hopping off the ground again in bit fat welts.

A couple of minutes after I turned I heard a clickity click sound coming from behind me, I stopped and turned around and saw a white horse galloping towards me (albeit on the other side of the road). It frightened the ****e out of me and I moved into the verge as far as possible while thinking that one of the horsemen of the apocalypse was coming for me. Went straight by me at speed and disappeared into the rain and moonlit darkness. I started running again but after about 2 minutes I heard the fecker coming again in front of me, this time he moved into the verge and cantered by me. I picked up the pace and finished the last 2 miles sharpish while periodically craning my neck around to see if anything else was unleashing itself from the depths of the darkness!

Surreal!

6 miles easy, with the last two at a canter :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Went over Seanadh Phesitin and it was biblical raining, nearly turned back after 100 metres as the head torch was barely penetrating through the rain. Slogged through it and it eased off after a bit. Around the half way turning point I came across a couple of horses and foals, don't think they liked been disturbed as they were a bit jittery. I paid no heed and turned, the rain started hopping off the ground again in bit fat welts.

A couple of minutes after I turned I heard a clickity click sound coming from behind me, I stopped and turned around and saw a white horse galloping towards me (albeit on the other side of the road). It frightened the ****e out of me and I moved into the verge as far as possible while thinking that one of the horsemen of the apocalypse was coming for me. Went straight by me at speed and disappeared into the rain and moonlit darkness. I started running again but after about 2 minutes I heard the fecker coming again in front of me, this time he moved into the verge and cantered by me. I picked up the pace and finished the last 2 miles sharpish while periodically craning my neck around to see if anything else was unleashing itself from the depths of the darkness!

Surreal!

6 miles easy, with the last two at a canter :)

TbL

Haha I must have missed you. Was up that road this afternoon. There's always some animal loose up there!