Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Or when you get into a lift on L3 going to L1, door closes, let one fly that you've been embracing for a while. Have a sniff to bask in the pungent glory. Pride rushes through your being.

The lift takes an un-anticipated stop at L2.

It doesn't matter who gets in, but the journey from L2 to L1 feels like a long long time.
    There is also the awkward half head turn and little shuffle from the person that has got in once the doors have closed when they take their second whiff and start piecing together the puzzle of the rancid scent.

Or when you get into the lift which is empty apart from a pungent odour.
    It then stops at the next floor and naturally everyone thinks you are the source :D
    Even worse if you are returning to your own floor of the building and as you exit the lift, it's some of your own colleagues who are getting in. You can't really start saying 'it wasn't me...'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When young lads have no manners. Walking through the shopping centre just now, these two little scrotes just about to sprout bum fluff on their pimpled faces were sitting on the wall. One yelled at me asking what time my legs opened at.

Catching your reflection and frightening yourself you look so ugly and terrible :( I'm done wearing flat shoes, I look like a gremlin.

And not being able to shop in comfort. I have to lie/hide anything I buy anymore. I didn't know my peace when I had my own space. And I went shopping for jeans tonight. I have no jeans that fit me good, they all fit my hips and are too big on the waist or too long in the leg. I need jeans because its cold and 85% of my wardrobe is dresses/skirts. I bought two more dresses, a pair of boots that look like cat boots but cuter, two pairs of heels and a tshirt. No jeans to wear tshirt or boots with. Rats. Why can't I ever find nice things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Nabber wrote: »
    People past 30 with no kids who say 'I'm free, I can do what I want'

Your look into their eyes and you see emptiness. Their emptiness annoys me :)

Very interesting comment from a psychoanalysis perspective.

Are you sure its not your own emptiness you see in their eyes?

Because one cant see something in someone else that doesnt reflect on themselves internally.

As in, it wouldnt affect you if it didnt mean something to you.

Good evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Food labeling. Today potatoes stating "Suitable for Vegetarians". A packet of nuts: " May contain nuts".
    This carry-on deminishes the value of food labeling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

dellas1979 wrote: »
    Very interesting comment from a psychoanalysis perspective.

Are you sure its not your own emptiness you see in their eyes?

Because one cant see something in someone else that doesnt reflect on themselves internally.

As in, it wouldnt affect you if it didnt mean something to you.

Good evening.

This exactly. I'm 41 and I knew ever since I was a child that I didn't want children. It's just one of those things. I don't feel empty, I might feel empty if I'd had children that I didn't want. Some people want kids some don't, but the level of condescension from some parents to those of us who chose not to have kids is extremely annoying at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭DuMorph

misleading battery charge indicators

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

This exactly. I'm 41 and I knew ever since I was a child that I didn't want children. It's just one of those things. I don't feel empty, I might feel empty if I'd had children that I didn't want. Some people want kids some don't, but the level of condescension from some parents to those of us who chose not to have kids is extremely annoying at times.

Did you get the whole "oh you'll change your mind" with a knowing look? Im fed up of that. I say oh yeah I don't want kids and its met with "you will" or "you will when the time is right". And I have friends who change everything back to the fact they've reproduced. For example. This is my Facebook status this evening.
    http://tinypic.com/r/zw10ck/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

When young lads have no manners. Walking through the shopping centre just now, these two little scrotes just about to sprout bum fluff on their pimpled faces were sitting on the wall. One yelled at me asking what time my legs opened at.

Catching your reflection and frightening yourself you look so ugly and terrible :( I'm done wearing flat shoes, I look like a gremlin.

And not being able to shop in comfort. I have to lie/hide anything I buy anymore. I didn't know my peace when I had my own space. And I went shopping for jeans tonight. I have no jeans that fit me good, they all fit my hips and are too big on the waist or too long in the leg. I need jeans because its cold and 85% of my wardrobe is dresses/skirts. I bought two more dresses, a pair of boots that look like cat boots but cuter, two pairs of heels and a tshirt. No jeans to wear tshirt or boots with. Rats. Why can't I ever find nice things.

I love being a 6' 2'' 220lb middle-aged man. Everyone is terrified of me, and also I am assured that I am bowel-evacuatingly gorgeous! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Food labeling. Today potatoes stating "Suitable for Vegetarians". A packet of nuts: " May contain nuts".
    This carry-on deminishes the value of food labeling.

What about "Suitable for Nuts"??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

jimgoose wrote: »
    What about "Suitable for Nuts"??

Or: "May contain vegetarians."

Mmmm. Vegetarians.

My annoyance for today: When people say "pooch" instead of "dog". Yick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

I adore this kind of weather, when it's really cold, but crisp and sunny. But the downside is my car takes so damn long to defog in the morning. Going to have to start getting up earlier...which will make me even grumpier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Did you get the whole "oh you'll change your mind" with a knowing look? Im fed up of that. I say oh yeah I don't want kids and its met with "you will" or "you will when the time is right". And I have friends who change everything back to the fact they've reproduced. For example. This is my Facebook status this evening.
    http://tinypic.com/r/zw10ck/8

For a while but people soon learned not to take that tactic with me, sometimes I don't play well with others.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

A few ads in the forefront of my mind this morning:

Busylel.ie - whether it's the fact that yer one says" busylel.ie" in between each of yer man's sentences or the fact that their website name is so cráp they have to spell it on air...

The ad for Shelbourne Stadium, not only because I hate greyhound racing and the general shítty way that the dogs are treated when their race is run, but also the ridiculous parping on about "chasing a bit of tail" and "calling your boss a loser" - just fúck off.

Backpackers.ie insurance - "dont forget ti call yeeeeer maaaaaamy!"

The bínt on the radio show this morning who said a celebrity was "seen spotted" somewhere

Really shouldn't have put in the earphones this morning, mind you I only did it to counter some of the commuting trivial annoyances :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

This stupid cold. it's a doozie. I haven't it a week today and still feel rubbish.

Yup. I can't wait to have kids, and am so nervous about not having any that I've even a contingency agreement with my best friend who wants children too but I certainly don't feel empty without them. Perfectly happy getting on with my life without them and enjoying my youth (what's left!). In fact, it's a little unfair to have kids just to fill a void. I imagine it's up there with having them to "save a marriage" - talk about placing a burden on the poor fecker before it's even born! I've found that sometimes this condescension even makes it's way over to grandparents. Whether that's because they have a more hands on role now I don't know, but I remember my friend's mother becoming a granny and saying to mine, "you love them more than your own you know" - :confused: Felt sorry for my friend, she'd been replaced by her own kid! Same woman also told my mother, "you wouldn't understand what it's like until you too are a granny" :( Neither of these women are friends of the family anymore since they became bland, one-dimensional beings living vicariously through the child in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Backpackers.ie insurance - "dont forget ti call yeeeeer maaaaaamy!"

Fecking hate it. Take the script writes and shoot them, then take all the radio stations that play they ad and burn them down!

Possibly a bit OTT but whatever.

smash wrote: »
    Fecking hate it. Take the script writes and shoot them, then take all the radio stations that play they ad and burn them down!

Possibly a bit OTT but whatever.

There's no such thing as OTT around here, it's our safe haven where we can be unreasonable cranks! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Meh, I'm 29 and I'd like kids at some point but I'm not ready to give up on my own hopes and dreams just yet. My older sister popped a couple out over the last couple of years and I absolutely adore them, but that does't mean I'm in a hurry to trade in my own life for a new one just yet - I'm not done with living for me and that doesn't make me feel 'empty'.

Having kids basically looks to me like climbing over a wall where I can't see what's on the other side, and nobody who goes over ever comes back. I like it just fine on this side for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

I decided in my teens I didn't want to have kids. I found out years later that due to a medical problem it would be very difficult for me to have kids.

For years and years I got oh you'll change your mind or when the time is right and I found it annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

It's so bloody insensitive to question people on the fact they don't have kids, it really annoys me. Who knows what the reason might be. Some don't want children, this is a decision I greatly admire. Some, heartbreakingly, would love them, but can't have them. It defies logic to me, how someone could be so thick as to bring it up, when they don't have the facts.
    You can bet these are the same gob****es who also say things like "Oh, you'll be trying for the boy/girl now?". Eh, no, F**k off. Or, "Oh my God, that's some age gaps you have between your kids". Thanks for pointing that out, I can count. There was good reason for it, and how is it your business anyway?? Morons!!

73Cat wrote: »
    It's so bloody insensitive to question people on the fact they don't have kids, it really annoys me. Who knows what the reason might be. Some don't want children, this is a decision I greatly admire. Some, heartbreakingly, would love them, but can't have them. It defies logic to me, how someone could be so thick as to bring it up, when they don't have the facts.
    You can bet these are the same gob****es who also say things like "Oh, you'll be trying for the boy/girl now?". Eh, no, F**k off. Or, "Oh my God, that's some age gaps you have between your kids". Thanks for pointing that out, I can count. There was good reason for it, and how is it your business anyway?? Morons!!

My parents had this for years from ignorant fools. I don't know exactly what the problem was but basically my mum's body would see the babies as foreign bodies and produce antibodies that would result in miscarriage. They lost three little boys and all my father heard was, "what's the matter with you, have you no lead in your pencil?" :( I think when they adopted my brother, the penny finally dropped with people that maybe they had problems becoming parents naturally :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Friends that have absolutely no time for you when they get in a relationship but come running to you when they break up. **** off!

I was out with one of my best friends friend last night...neither of us ever see our friend. We texted our friend and he couldn't meet us as he was out for dinner with the gf...who he lives with and sees 24/7. He said he already had dinner so we asked him if he wanted to do coffee as we were nearly finished our dinner. And of course no he didn't. It's always the same, excuses after excuses.

The only time he ever bothers to meet up with any of us is when his gf is away and that's not very often. I know the minute they break up he'll come running. Makes my blood boil. You don't need to be tied to their fcuking hip ffs. :mad:

Meh, I'm 29 and I'd like kids at some point but I'm not ready to give up on my own hopes and dreams just yet. My older sister popped a couple out over the last couple of years and I absolutely adore them, but that does't mean I'm in a hurry to trade in my own life for a new one just yet - I'm not done with living for me and that doesn't make me feel 'empty'.

Having kids basically looks to me like climbing over a wall where I can't see what's on the other side, and nobody who goes over ever comes back. I like it just fine on this side for now.

:D:D

Not trivial, but vigilantism and mob mentality are maddening....

http://news.sky.com/story/1367099/twin-babies-die-after-999-crew-kept-out-of-flats

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

People who say things like 'we must meet for coffee/ lunch' etc when they haven't a notion of doing it. A former colleague does this. We keep in touch by text/ email, which suits me fine, and I'm happy to leave it at that.
    If we manage to meet, grand, but if not, so be it. Aaaargh, I don't even know what I'm trying to say...which trivially annoys me.

Moronic news articles!

A young Irish journalist was horrified to discover that another person was using her photographs to create their own online dating profile.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/irish-journalists-horror-at-getting-catfished-on-tinder-30719302.html

"Social media-savvy Emma was also surprised that any of her pictures were accessible as she maintains that all of her online settings are completely private."

and then:
    "She also wasn’t aware of the well-known TV show ‘Catfish’ that highlights a number of scenarios in which people are ‘tricked’ online with fake social profiles."

Social media-savvy? clearly not! Plus, how has a 'journalist' never heard of catfish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

LynnGrace wrote: »
    People who say things like 'we must meet for coffee/ lunch' etc when they haven't a notion of doing it. A former colleague does this. We keep in touch by text/ email, which suits me fine, and I'm happy to leave it at that.
    If we manage to meet, grand, but if not, so be it. Aaaargh, I don't even know what I'm trying to say...which trivially annoys me.

I think I know what you mean. For me I think it's don't bother saying it , if you have no intention of doing it. Its just empty chat then. I have a friend who has been telling me for years he's calling out to the house, every single time I bump into him. He hasn't called once. It's insincere, and to be honest, I don't give a damn whether he calls or not. So l just nod and smile, and say yeah, yeah, just give me a text, make sure I'm home. All the time I want to box his chops for him:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Yes.

The way some of you are going on you'd swear that having kids means the end of having a life. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

smash wrote: »
    The way some of you are going on you'd swear that having kids means the end of having a life. :D

It's the end of having a flexible life :)