The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Looks well and suits the bike but not mad on them screens they dont look the best, but if it does the job all the good. Id prefer the all in ones. Leppla has a really good one on order but its was expensive but its meant to be the best one available for the tiger.

What one is that, Wonda?

I really like the one I got, it looks better in the flesh, makes the bike really stand out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

blade1 wrote: »
    What one is that, Wonda?

I really like the one I got, it looks better in the flesh, makes the bike really stand out!

Looks well blade1 hopefully it keeps the wind off you.
    I have been looking on all the tiger forums for the last few weeks and the general consensus seemed to be that the only one that deffo keeps the wind and buffeting to a minimum is the Madstad. I was not mad about the looks of it but I didnt wanna pay for something like Puig that looked better but performed worse.

Anyways it arrived today and I fitted it in my lunch break. I am very happy with it. It is fully adjustable up down and tilt. The drive home from work was 10 times better than the stock screen and that's without any adjustment.

As Wonda said I paid an arm and a leg for it but I didn't wanna buy something hf the price that I wasn't happy with and then end up buying the madstad anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

leppla wrote: »
    I have been looking on all the tiger forums for the last few weeks and the general consensus seemed to be that the only one that deffo keeps the wind and buffeting to a minimum is the Madstad. I was not mad about the looks of it but I didnt wanna pay for something like Puig that looked better but performed worse.

Anyways it arrived today and I fitted it in my lunch break. I am very happy with it. It is fully adjustable up down and tilt. The drive home from work was 10 times better than the stock screen and that's without any adjustment.

As Wonda said I paid an arm and a leg for it but I didn't wanna buy something hf the price that I wasn't happy with and then end up buying the madstad anyways.

Jaysus that looks HUGE in the pics!!! And very VERTICAL can it tilt back a bit.....

JESUS CHRIST!!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:
    F*ck me that's some screen alright leppla!
    I can see where the money is gone into it alright.
    I'd say it's air to ground missile proof n'all :pac:

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Jaysus that looks HUGE in the pics!!! And very VERTICAL can it tilt back a bit.....

Yeah it can go up down forward and backwards. Wherever ya want. That's the way it came as I ran out of lunch break !! I will fiddle with it tomorrow again

BTW leppla, how are you finding the Tiger now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,329 ✭✭✭prunudo

Not so much to my bike but for my bike. Over the last few months I covered in the side passage turning it into a mini bikeshed. It's only about 4ft wide so not good for full servicing but still enough to have a poke around. Main thing is the bike is now stored inside for the winter months. Finally got around to wiring in lights and a socket so will be handy on these dark evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

That's a big screen leppa, but if it does the job, it does the job. Are you looing through the screen as you drive normally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

@jvan you realise how weird this looks if you dont hold your laptop clockwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Ha ha. Just looked at it myself. At first I was thinking "who the hell leaves their bike like that ".

The paddock stand really throws you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Can you see over it now Brian or are you looking through it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,329 ✭✭✭prunudo

Haha, the problem with posting from a iPhone

I can see over the screen it's up at about my chin level at the moment.

I only rode home with it and it was brilliant. I plan to lower it tomorrow and but it at more of an angle.

I plan on putting it on a position that it looks the best whole also serving it's purpose. No point it looking the business and me getting bait out of it every day by te wind.

Apparently madstad have been big for lads with v stroms over the years but I just found them highly recommended on the tiger forums

@blade1 I am very happy with it. I commute into dublin every day 80k road trip which involves national roads, motorway and City driving and the tiger is coping very well with all of that on a daily basis. First spin out with the lads on Sunday and it felt very well in the twistys!!

Seen as what thread I am writing all this **** in I will throw this up:

I have fitted a hid to the low beam and night breaker to the full beam.
    K&N air filter fitted and Airbox mod done.

Thanks to wreck it Ralph who gave me a hand!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

jvan wrote: »
    Not so much to my bike but for my bike. Over the last few months I covered in the side passage turning it into a mini bikeshed. It's only about 4ft wide so not good for full servicing but still enough to have a poke around. Main thing is the bike is now stored inside for the winter months. Finally got around to wiring in lights and a socket so will be handy on these dark evenings.

Good job. Its great having a place to service and work on the bike and its not weather dependant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Yeah the madstad + MRA screen combo has pretty much been the best solution for vstroms for a long time. I was going to go for it but i hated the way it stopped the screen on the strom sitting flush with the bike. My brain just couldnt hack the aesthetics of it. I just went for the mra screen and i get no buffeting up to about 180kmh now.

The madstad + Mra combo has more of less been knocked off its pedestal by the Givi Airflow screen. Amazing reviews if it. I would of got one but the dopes dont make a tinted version and i didnt want a clear screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭positron

Giant screen indeed. You need to fit a screen viper now. :pac: Joking aside, looks great, does it give a complete still bubble or air to ride behind? Or is there still some air thrown to the top of the helmet perhaps?

positron wrote: »
    Giant screen indeed. You need to fit a screen viper now. :pac: Joking aside, looks great, does it give a complete still bubble or air to ride behind? Or is there still some air thrown to the top of the helmet perhaps?

It gives a complete bubble of air. At the moment I think I have it set far too high. I am going to keep lowering it bit by bit to see how low I can have it while still keeping the bubble of air.

I believe the angle has a lot to do with it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Spent half an hour looking around the handlebars for something loose. When doing about 30mph I can hear something rattling. It happened last winter too.
    Must be something which is contracting in the cold but I can't find what it is. Driving me mad.

I ****in found it. Bit of plastic between the screen and fairing.

Now that theres a bit of a chill in the mornings I stuck my givi muffs on the TDM. Lovely and toasty now, but the muffs as usual rest against the brake lever, meaning the brake light is constanty on :( Defo have to get hand guards to prevent this from happening.

That's the spirit Skill!!
    None of that heated grips nonsense!!!!!:pac:

Blade I just pm'd you, forgot you were an early bird!! I want to get a set of guards like what you had on the tdm. Any links to the german sellers of the polis guards for €40?

These will fit the TDM Skill!
    He has yellow too if you want.
    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=231371865180

Niiiice, just got em. Takes about a week for delivery. Cheeers Blade

You should have them on Monday, maybe Tuesday.

I ****in found it. Bit of plastic between the screen and fairing.
    Ahh but how did you find it? What did you do?

Fitted some spotlights!
    FullSizeRender_zpsf006a964.jpg

Also fitted a set of PR3's which a car tyre place near me fitted.
    He fitted the 2 tyres for a tenner but I had to balance them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Ahh but how did you find it? What did you do?

While i was riding along it just dawned on me the only thing i havent checked was the screen so i just gave it a bit of a tug and it stopped.
    On further inspection i found the bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Its a good 8 weeks since my arse graced the saddle. I gave the bike a good clean today and adjusted the chain. I could only manage a 15 min spin but my god it felt good to blow off the cobwebs. Depending on how cold it is next week I hope to start commuting more on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭positron

Learned the hard way that contact cleaner is not very good at lubricating. Fazer's left hand side control, especially the indicator switch was hit and miss - so I opened it up and blasted all the accumulated dust and dirt with contact cleaner. Everything was fine for a few days and then it started getting hard and hard to operate the switch. Finally over a week and half it became almost impossible to operate the indicator switch, and often I just had to indicate waving my hands around, the old school!

I opened it up again over the weekend and sprayed some GT85, freed up the mechanism, and it's now smooth as butter. Bike almost indicates itself if I as much as twitch the left thumb. Yep, contact cleaner != lubricant.