Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Take it handy at the start SP and ease yourself into it. No point been down on your hands and knees on the grass in PP.

Best of luck and enjoy it

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Cheers TbL, there'll be no praying to mecca this time ;)

If this chest clears up, there's no reason the DCM won't be a bit of craic. Otherwise it's gonna be a tough day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

is sean runnin monday?

JMSE wrote: »
    is sean runnin monday?

Course he is :) You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

As TbL said take it handy at the start... And When ya get to the feckers with the BBQ don't be pulling up a seat and suppin their beer :D:D

Have a good one anyway S and sure we'll see ya after for a bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Course he is :) You?

nah didnt make it MB, 2 steps fwd 1 step back, slower progress here, but the future is bright :cool:

martyboy48 wrote: »
    As TbL said take it handy at the start... And When ya get to the feckers with the BBQ don't be pulling up a seat and suppin their beer :D:D

Have a good one anyway S and sure we'll see ya after for a bit :)

BBQ and beer :eek:
    Better stay well clear of that, thanks for the heads up! Yep save me a seat at the boozer, I'll be in as quick as I can :D

27/10/14

Dublin City marathon 2014 - 4:23:06

Lead Up:
    I wasn't 100%, I had got over the cold/flu but I still had a lingering cough. I also hadn't slept properly in days with sick kids and stress at work. On Sunday morning I was out fencing in the cold and rain, there's no escaping work where I'm from! Had broken sleep, hit snooze until 7am and woke up in a panic, threw a breakfast into me and got down to the start line for 8am. Briefly met Martyboy and wished him luck. Down to the wave 2 starting pen and waited around 45 minutes. It was cold before we got moving again but had to laugh at the amount of clothes being thrown to the side. It was like Penney's on dole day, mad stuff.

The "Run":
    Slotted in a few rows ahead of the 4hr pacer, I would have preferred to start at 4:10 but with the crowd I couldn't get back. No worries I would run my own race. Never experienced such a crowded race it was a bit mental for the first mile or two, but once we turned onto the quays it was plain sailing. Somehow I had got ahead of the 4hr pacer, but not by much. I was angry with myself for this but my effort level was low, and breathing was fine, I was feeling good so I stuck to this effort until Phoenix Park. Reigned in the pace big time for PP, but the winds were a problem, tucked in behind groups here. Out of PP and into easily the best crowd of supporters, they were amazing, heard "It's a Long Way to Tipperary" played on a flute, brilliant stuff. I was beaming.

I don't know Dublin at all, so everything was a bit of a blur until half way. I was absolutely fine up to this point, effort was perfect, I was controlled. My legs were a little tired but nothing to worry about. The minute I passed the halfway line, the 4hr pacers passed me, it was a bit of a knock but thought I would let them off and stick to my own effort. Hit the halfway point at 2:00:30 on the Crumlin Rd and my legs all of a sudden set to concrete, I was bollixed with the click of a finger. I kept running for another 10 minutes, keeping the effort way down, but after this I was reduced to a walk.

From Mile 14 on it was absolute carnage. It was hard to stay positive with so many real casualties. Thankfully they were all being seen to and hope nothing serious occured. I was determined to finish but it wouldn't be pretty. I ran/walked the remainder, wondering what the hell I did to deserve this!

Around Mile 18, I distinctly remember I was walking in a group of all men, there was absolutely nobody running, so I set off in a jog to show them all :D I came to Roebuck Hill and remembered all the talk and decided to get to the top without walking. It was the hardest part of the marathon but I got up having to push throngs of walkers out of the way. People were pissed off when I asked them to move but there were literally a full row of walkers with nowhere to get through. I was grumpy too so I understood!

Ran/walked to the Mile 24 mark and from there I ran to the finish. It was horrendous, I was in so much pain and just wanted it to end. 1k, 800m, 400m. That was the longest 400m of my life.

Across the line at 4:23:06. Thank ****.

The Aftermath:
    Straight to McGrattan's, and met up with a few boardsies. Great mix of novices and pro's alike, heard tales from the 3:40 pacers group and all the novices experiences. Great to meet you all. After 4 or 5 pots my legs were actually feeling 100% so I thought it would be a good time to checkout and get on the road. Good thing as I lost the ability to walk shortly after.

Synopsis:
    I didn't follow the plan to the letter.
    I didn't do a LSR beyond 19 miles.
    My training in the final month was hit and miss to put it mildly.

I will not run another marathon unless:
    I know the route, this really disheartened me towards the end, I had no bearings.
    I am 100% prepared, and to be honest I can't see even another year of running preparing me for that. I want a solid two years from now if I was to ever put myself through that again.

Then again I have a short memory! In all fairness I enjoyed it, and hated it in equal measures. Dublin is an amazing place with amazing people and glad I experienced the friendly race, the support was unbelievable. Also sounds like I have to get to the Christmas beers, sounds like craic.

Just found more stats on TLD as I'm trying to come to terms with my brutal day :)

10K 00:57:21 Stage Position 6017
    Half 02:00:11 Stage Position 7077
    30K 02:56:23 Stage Position 7079

Gun Time 04:23:43 Overall Position 7102
    Chip Time 04:23:06 Chip Position 7145

So between 10K and halfway, 1000+ people passed me. After halfway to 30K, 2 people passed me, and the last 10K 23 passed.

Not that I give a damn how many passed me, but it goes against what I was experiencing at the time. Felt far more would have passed between half and 30K.

Made it into the DCM video @ 1:50 :cool: I could have sworn I had that kilt passed with 400m to go, but I took my eye off the prize and he reeled me in! I had a smile on my face though, which surprises me a lot! :D
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152866067108185

Still in so much pain, but the horrors are wearing off. From Mile 18 I thought I would pack in the running for good and after Mile 24 I was going to burn my runners for sure.

But now thanks to the last word leaving McGrattan's, I'll be signing up or the Newport Wren Run 10K on St. Stephen's Day. Cheers Bulmers74 ;)

You were gone from mcgrattans by the time I got there.... Past your curfew :D:D

Hope you're recovering well after the marathon effort, good going :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Certainly try and get up for the Christmas beers.

In fairness marathons are hard enough to do without missing out on the training. Personally I skipped a marathon last year as I wanted 2 years under my belt before doing one and I think that meant a much more enjoyable experience.

Anyway I'd say this is not the week to be making long term decisions about doing any in the future. I'd say if you get a good year training under your belt you will have a very good experience if you decide to go for 2015.

martyboy48 wrote: »
    You were gone from mcgrattans by the time I got there.... Past your curfew :D:D

Hope you're recovering well after the marathon effort, good going :)

Sorry I missed you, I was rehydrating very nicely but had to hit the road unfortunately. Sounds like I missed a hazy one!

10K training plan planning already underway, thought this would be difficult to put together but found the specific workouts and put everything else around it.

Goal sub 48min. ~7:40min/mile. (~4:42min/km). Maybe I should be more aggressive and go for around 45 minutes. Can adjust race pace as sessions completed.

My 10K training plan.

Thinking behind it:
    • It includes 5 specfic 10K workouts. Not too early to allow me recover fully from the DCM.
    • Workouts are sandwiched between an easy 3 mile and a recovery 3 mile.
    • Nice and short LSRs that progress from 4 miles to 10 miles.

Paces:
    Race Pace: 7:40
    Easy: 9:00
    Recovery: 10:30
    LSR: 10:00

Whaddya think? :confused:

What's your current 10k PB and when did you set it. Personally I wouldn't drop my LSR that low either.
    Have you done many sessions in the lead up to DCM??

Current 10K is 58:00 set this time last year, more recent SoG 8K 38:12 would be a better marker or 23:13 5K.
    Haven't done any interval sessions at all since June. Used to do 14x400m at 5k pace (2min rec) every Wed. Tough going.
    Do you mean increase the length of the LSR or the pace?
    I got the paces off McMillan's training guide but I agree the LSR are short, where do you think the LSR should max out?

Personally I'd keep LSR to a minimum of around 10-13 miles, keeping them slow and shouldn't take that much out of you. Pace wise, about right, just keep the effort easy. Maxing out, you can make that call, it doesn't have to be anything much more really, you could cycle between 10miles,12 miles, 14 miles and back to 10 miles...
    I asked about if you did these sessions in the lead up because when I started them, I found them quite tough on the body. But you have the experience of doing them so you know to listen to your body. 14x400 of 2 mins would kill me, fair play :D

What race have you lined up, it sounds like you have a target??
    BTW, these are just my opinions, others may offer a different approach :)

Oh, I'd also look at tempo runs, probably as important as those sessions. I'd definitely look at getting these in your weekly program.

Well the first LSR is definitely going to be short! Probably no need for such as gradual rise to 10miles after that I suppose.

The sessions were a proper killer, used to do them in Fahy's fields if you know it, dread the thoughts of the place now :) Regardless of the obvious benefits, coming out of the 14th rep of that I was confident I could nail the 5K. So that's the basis for hinging the whole plan off sessions. Will definitely need to ease into it though after such a break.

The race is the now named "Bulmers74 10K" in Newport, Co. Tipp on St. Stephen's Day, would like to do the Fields of Athenry but it's way too far away.

Cheers for the input!

Ah ya, Fahy's field, sure tiss just down the road from me :D I'm all posh now and doing my recovery runs over in renmore pitches :D:D

Sorry for the vague responses, I'm still on the sauce after DCM :)
    Couldn't be up to that Bulmers74 fella, he's the new TbL with his running dates :D

All the aches and pains are finally gone and think it's safe enough to get running again this week. Looking through some of my marathon photos it is clear that once I hit the wall, my form went out the window. That would explain my sore hip joints and ankles, so it's something I'm going to work on again.

Got to the doctor about my ever present asthma that I've never dealt with, so now I'm on Seretide four times daily and have really decreased my 25 year Ventolin addiction. Swimming now and again to train my lungs in regular breathing also, hoping it might make a difference.

Thanks to martylad48 and blockic I finally bashed my plan together. It's a daunting prospect putting together you're own plan, but it works itself out with the key sessions in the end.

It is designed to sharpen my fitness after the marathon training, and it should deliver a sub 47 minute 10K. Fingers crossed!

1JQPiqj.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Sorry if I missed it elsewhere in your log or the novice thread but any particular race in mind for a crack at the new goal?

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Sorry if I missed it elsewhere in your log or the novice thread but any particular race in mind for a crack at the new goal?

St. Stephen's Day 10k in Newport, Tipp. Don't want to check the Munster vs Leinster kick off time incase it clashes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

St. Stephen's Day 10k in Newport, Tipp. Don't want to check the Munster vs Leinster kick off time incase it clashes :D

Best of luck with it. Thinking of following a 10k plan myself so I'll be keeping an eye on how you're getting on too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Not sure if you're infersted but if you're doing 10k training, there is a 5k race series on in UL on Thursday evenings. Started about 4 weeks ago, maybe 4 weeks left. €5 a race. From previous results only about 30 people enter each race but a good workout all the same! Can send on more info if you want

Would love to get down, saw it advertised on FB, but I'm still recovering unfortunately. Plan is out the window at the moment, I'll be taking November off I think. My knee isn't right since a slow 3 miler, so physio booked for tomorrow, hopefully it's something that will heal soon.

Was even thinking of the Eddie Murphy half marathon, but all race plans are scuppered at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

JohnDozer wrote: »
    Not sure if you're infersted but if you're doing 10k training, there is a 5k race series on in UL on Thursday evenings. Started about 4 weeks ago, maybe 4 weeks left. €5 a race. From previous results only about 30 people enter each race but a good workout all the same! Can send on more info if you want

Brilliant little race series. There's 6 weeks left before the race tonight. Only 20-30 runners there but the quality is always pretty good for competition. It's pretty flat too which is bonus.

Are you doing any of them Netwerk? Fingers crossed I'll make one towards the end of the month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Are you doing any of them Netwerk? Fingers crossed I'll make one towards the end of the month.

I doubt it. I was going to do the one tonight but I'm going to take a break for 2-3 weeks instead just to be on the safe side. It's a cracking course for a pb if you do make it.

Physio was very interesting. Calf, quad, and hamstrings on both legs are very tight. Was told I was very lucky to get away with the training injury free. A ticking time bomb by all accounts!

Four flexibility tests:
    1.)
    In wall push position, forefoot 4 inches back from wall my right knee could just about touch wall. Left was 2 inches away. Highlighting firstly tight calves but the left was 75% tighter.

2.)
    Lie on stomach and try to touch heel to ass using hand. Right about an inch away while left was miles off. Tight quads, left quad in particular.

3.)
    Lie on back and raise one straight leg as high as possible. Got 65% angle which was not too bad.

4.)
    Lie on back, pull toes back towards to measure ankle flexibility. Failed miserably with 5 degrees in both ankles, should be 10 minimum.

Left knee was given a deep massage to loosen an incredibly tight ITB band. Structurally the knee is okay.

So just need to stretch daily with a set routine and hopefully I'll have many injury free days ahead. The appointment was worth it's weight in gold, nothing groundbreaking but nice to be told whats wrong without figuring it all out for myself for a change.

Edit: No running for at least two weeks.

It's been a while...

22/12/2014
    3.02km @ 6:05. 18 minutes of non stop running. :cool:

Since the DCM my knee has been in rag order. Physio didn't help, so in the last two weeks I did 7 very short runs. Each one has been agonisingly painful but the last and today have been pain free.

Put on a stone of cheeseburgers and liquor since I last spoke to ye, time to shake my fat ass into gear :eek:

Thanks for the mammy like PMs, I'm back...