Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Last time I was in Cork was when i was a child. Always meaning to go back and have a look and also drive through west cork and kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

In my 7/8 years of driving I never really saw any huge increase in Garda presence on a bank holiday weekend.....until yesterday. I drove from Limerick to Cork did a bit of driving around Cork and I probably came across more checkpoints and speed traps in that one trip than I did since I started driving. They were EVERYWHERE! Good to see it obviously but a right pain the hole when there is also roadworks all over that hemorrhoid of a city. Sorry but I can't stand driving in Cork

Didn't see one and I've covered a lot of the country. I did manage to get THE STARE OF DEATH from another driver after I made an arsey manoeuvre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Didn't see one and I've covered a lot of the country. I did manage to get THE STARE OF DEATH from another driver after I made an arsey manoeuvre.

Could have been me if you were in Cork :pac:

luigi_s_death_stare_by_ratchetmario-d7l8wtn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Nah it was in Dublin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Havent met the gardai at all so far over the weekend. They seem to stay away from the west.

Didn't meet a single one in Limerick, only Cork. Do they blitz certain counties on bank holiday weekends or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Did you start an apprenticeship tp or are you just working away in the garage? I'd love to work on cars for a living but I don't think I could face another 4+ years of training again.

Over the summer I tried to get one, I would genuinely like one, even though everyone tells me not to, I tried every garage in kildare, laois and a good few in dublin, as you can guess i didn't get one :o I'm just working away in the garage, so ive accepted its as close to one as ill get

My brother in laws brother was the same a year or two ago. He spent ages trying to get a start with any garage. He got one eventually with VW in Tallaght or near Tallaght....whatever. Why is it so difficult to get a mechanics apprenticeship? You can nearly get a start as an apprentice sparks without getting out of bed, recession or no recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

My brother in laws brother was the same a year or two ago. He spent ages trying to get a start with any garage. He got one eventually with VW in Tallaght or near Tallaght....whatever. Why is it so difficult to get a mechanics apprenticeship? You can nearly get a start as an apprentice sparks without getting out of bed, recession or no recession.

Long mile road?

I got a good few "if you had've come in last week we would have took ye no bother"

I dunno why to be honest, I'd love to know though why its so difficult

CianRyan wrote: »
    Long mile road?

I'd say thats the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I Kind of had the opposite problem over the summer. I was working for a big enough local electrical contractor for my second summer last summer. I was basically offered an apprenticeship and asked to stay at the end of the summer and I have to say it was genuinely difficult to leave the place on the last day and head back to college. I really got on so well with everyone that worked there and just loved the work 60-70 hour weeks and never got sick of it there was just this true element of team work and craic that I don't think you'd ever get in bigger companies. But I'm in my third year of college now and got placement next year in a large process plant and I am delighted. Although I would love to become an electrician and its a job I never thought Id like I simply couldn't give up the opportunities Ill get when Im qualified and I do really enjoy what I study in college. Its one of them courses where your occupation is actually in demand which is nice too.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I Kind of had the opposite problem over the summer. I was working for a big enough local electrical contractor for my second summer last summer. I was basically offered an apprenticeship and asked to stay at the end of the summer and I have to say it was genuinely difficult to leave the place on the last day and head back to college. I really got on so well with everyone that worked there and just loved the work 60-70 hour weeks and never got sick of it there was just this true element of team work and craic that I don't think you'd ever get in bigger companies. But I'm in my third year of college now and got placement next year in a large process plant and I am delighted. Although I would love to become an electrician and its a job I never thought Id like I simply couldn't give up the opportunities Ill get when Im qualified and I do really enjoy what I study in college. Its one of them courses where your occupation is actually in demand which is nice too.

Its similar in the garage im in, theres 5 of us and we're practically a small family, everyone gets on great, in college though its a different story, constant pressure, constant deadlines, from the minute you get in to the minute you leave you're working and doing stuff, its a good course and the moneys insane when you qualify, but i think ill end up hating it and leaving to do something else, for an example, i used to love drawing, now i do it so much i absolutely hate it

Same here with sparking. Made a hobby (pathetic I know) into a career and now I can't stand it, hence why I don't do it anymore.

Maybe I'll just keep the cars as a hobby in that case :o

College is hardship alright. There is the odd rare course thats straight forward but the vast majority of courses its a huge amount of work exams, course work, assignments. I would take a 9-5 job over college any day at least you have your evens to yourself. I can't wait to qualify in April 2016 all going well. However for all the hardship it will give me great options as well as seriously good starting wage in my eyes anyway as well as all the other perks that unfortunately you just won't get with apprenticeships. But then its all about doing what you want to do at the end of the day money is only so much of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i hope i never bore of driving large vehicles ! :eek:

College is hardship alright. There is the odd rare course thats straight forward but the vast majority of courses its a huge amount of work exams, course work, assignments. I would take a 9-5 job over college any day at least you have your evens to yourself. I can't wait to qualify in April 2016 all going well. However for all the hardship it will give me great options as well as seriously good starting wage in my eyes anyway as well as all the other perks that unfortunately you just won't get with apprenticeships. But then its all about doing what you want to do at the end of the day money is only so much of it.

It is alright, having said all that though I wouldnt like to leave, I have a good laugh with the lads i sit with, sure ill worry about all that when i have the paper at the end of it all

You better not! :pac:

At least you have a lovely finished product in the mechanic trade that you can be proud of. Not so much in the sparkin trade except for one or two fancy lighting projects I worked on.

This, and this :D

At least you have a lovely finished product in the mechanic trade that you can be proud of. Not so much in the sparkin trade except for one or two fancy lighting projects I worked on.

This, and this :D

Nice :D

Ah its far from finished in my eyes now to be honest, when I have a decent wage and stuff, I'm stripping the whole thing down the the shell, sending it off to be resprayed, and rustproofed, a new interior, tronic engine management conversion, and god knows what else, it's only a half arsed attempt in my eyes what it is now haha

Didn't you get a job with Dublin bus recently? How are you finding it? My cousin got his bus licence recently too and got a part time job with some crowd in Galway doing short runs around the city with the intention of going full time. He's a taxi driver too and is looking for an opportunity to pack it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Didn't you get a job with Dublin bus recently? How are you finding it? My cousin got his bus licence recently too and got a part time job with some crowd in Galway doing short runs around the city with the intention of going full time. He's a taxi driver too and is looking for an opportunity to pack it in

i did . still in the training period for another week then on the road properly.

its very easy to drive those things , they feel smaller than they look !

good company to work for too, very enjoyable !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,840 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I saw a Golf with a "Type R" badge today. Bizarre combo.

i did . still in the training period for another week then on the road properly.

its very easy to drive those things , they feel smaller than they look !

good company to work for too, very enjoyable !

They're all automatic these days aren't they?

I seen alfa romeo alloys on a double axle trailer today I have to say thats not something you see everyday.

They're all automatic these days aren't they?

they are indeed. just 3 little buttons and 2 pedals. really feels like driving a car except more comfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭barneyrubble46

Had it mentioned today that RSA are looking to have all classic cars nct next year, anyone else heard this?

I seen alfa romeo alloys on a double axle trailer today I have to say thats not something you see everyday.

Ha! I had a neighbour years ago who was a market trader with a hiace and trailer and the trailer had matching alloys to the hiace. It was a pimpin hiace to be honest :P

Had it mentioned today that RSA are looking to have all classic cars nct next year, anyone else heard this?

That should be interesting :rolleyes: Sorry your car failed, whys that? Its too wide you're going to have to do something about that now