Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

remove that niqab or leave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Going with that logic why dont you go & drink your father sperm? I mean there is no harm in it right? two people of the same sex kissing on the street is something that is naturally repulsive to most people just watch this social experiment

When you're comparing two consenting adults mildly displaying mutual affection in public with drinking your father's sperm you're not really going with any logic, I'm afraid.

I can understand why someone may want to kiss the person they love. The other act you mentioned is not comparable in any way and a thoroughly disgusting idea to introduce. It says much about you.

Two people of the same sex kissing on the street is not repulsive to me but the sentiment you expressed in that post certainly is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I often walk around with a hoody on and a scarf covering my face in winter and have NEVER been stopped or questioned by the police or stopped from walking into a shop, i wonder why that is?
    Because this is Ireland, not France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

two people of the same sex kissing on the street is something that is naturally repulsive to most people homophobes

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Defender OF Faith

DeadHand wrote: »
    When you're comparing two consenting adults mildly displaying mutual affection in public with drinking your father's sperm you're not really going with any logic, I'm afraid.

I can understand why someone may want to kiss the person they love. The other act you mentioned is not comparable in any way and a thoroughly disgusting idea to introduce. It says much about you.

Two people of the same sex kissing on the street is not repulsive to me but the sentiment you expressed in that post certainly is.
    Why is it disgusting? I mean it does you no harm? the same nerve that ticks inside you and tells you drinking your fathers sperm is disgusting is similar to that which make others feels disgusted when two people of the same sex begin kissing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Why is it disgusting? I mean it does you no harm? the same nerve that ticks inside you and tells you drinking your fathers sperm is disgusting is similar to that which make others feels disgusted when two people of the same sex begin kissing.

I feel a banning coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

The English Defense League and other garden variety racist groups usually pretend they want the Niqab etc banned for security reasons too.. doesn't take a genius to see through their act though.

Aren't we talking about France here.

I believe you are "guilting by association".

Also France's business is it's business. I know that the Irish PC brigade are colonised by American political culture and can't imagine any other worldview but in France public religiousity is frowned upon. In Ireland it isn't so it would be odd to ban a niqab but not a shawl or a nuns costume.

Let's live and let let live my multicultural friends.

Respect French culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

why are you trying to turn the debate into a gay bashing one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭DeadHand

The nerves inside me are very different to the nerves inside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,959 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Going with that logic why dont you go & drink your father sperm? I mean there is no harm in it right? two people of the same sex kissing on the street is something that is naturally repulsive to most people just watch this social experiment

Note that this was done in the US a secular state that claim to be open & accepting to homosexuality, so imagine doing this in a Muslim state

We have a winner for idiotic post of the day.

(Serious boards you should make that a feature)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Things shouldn't be banned just because they make some folk feel uncomfortable. That's a step backwards.

The sight of a woman's legs once made 'society' uncomfortable, so women were forbidden from showing the skin of their legs... was society better off as a result?

Gay people once had to hide the fact that they were gay because it made people feel uncomfortable. Again, was society better off then?

You seem to be turning an argument against religious conservative attire an argument for liberal attire or actions. Which is a stretch.

Hatip: kind of folks who wear niqabs probably don't like women's bare legs. You know along with the parts the niqab is covering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

We have a winner for idiotic post of the day.

(Serious boards you should make that a feature)

Closely followed by this
    Amazing how so many on here are afraid of a little woman in a veil yet will laud the actions of balaclava clad terrorists sand call them freedom fighters biggrin.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Mod: Stop trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭SeanW

Hitchens wrote: »
    why are you trying to turn the debate into a gay bashing one?
    Because his religion is inherently homophobic?

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

Aren't we talking about France here.

I believe you are "guilting by association".

Also France's business is it's business. I know that the Irish PC brigade are colonised by American political culture and can't imagine any other worldview but in France public religiousity is frowned upon. In Ireland it isn't so it would be odd to ban a niqab but not a shawl or a nuns costume.

Let's live and let let live my multicultural friends.

Respect French culture.

Precisely.

Down with French culture - Up Multiculture - The greatest monoculture on Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Immigrants have a much higher birth rate than native Europeans. By third generation, their birth rate becomes similar to the natives. But if there is a never ending stream coming in, that doesn't really matter. Unless natives start having more children, inevitably, they will become minorities. Or outbred, as you so eloquently put it.

In 2010, just under a quarter of all newborns in France were to a parent born outside of Europe. It's no conspiracy. It's a simple numbers game.

lol, don't even have to change this.

Reading back, do you not see how this is problematic? What, in all honesty, is wrong with people of a different background growing up in Ireland? That's what's implied by this sentiment, and I find it quite worrying.

You're right, it is a numbers game, but the numbers involved in such a change ever occuring are so ridiculously big, that it's not going to happen. And if it does happen, big fuccking whoop, the human race has never remained static, a single, homogenous "national culture" is a relatively new idea in the scheme of things, and while it can be nice to feel this sense of belonging to something, this can in itself be dangerous. Cultures come and go, the only constant seems to be people cannot stop being diccks to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,572 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You seem to be turning an argument against religious conservative attire an argument for liberal attire or actions. Which is a stretch.

How is it a stretch? The arguments are one and the same. Both involve one group dictating to another about what they can or cannot wear.
    Hatip: kind of folks who wear niqabs probably don't like women's bare legs. You know along with the parts the niqab is covering.

And? The people who choose to were Niqabs in European countries don't get to tell others what not to wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

so if a same sex couple came from saudi to here should we treat them as they would be treated in saudi? great. another step backwards for ireland. you know what your getting in these countries so don't go. meanwhile ireland is a free and democratic country and one wearing something over their heads for religious reasons is a non issue. any imaginary security issues are taken care of by the guards being able to ask someone to remove if they need to talk to them.

That's not what I meant at all. I was replying t a comment about Saudi being a beautiful place to go on holiday. I agree with the French law but I would go further. Stop every religion from influencing anybody outside of their place worship. From Looney Christians to nutball Muslims and crazy Jewish Zionists and everything in between. Not like chairman Mao tho. That's the other end of the extreme.

I have seen it being said that its the woman's choice to wear it. Not much of a choice when the alternative is being labeled a harlet.

Then again I have never had a meaningful conversation with a devout Muslim woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

Reading back, do you not see how this is problematic? What, in all honesty, is wrong with people of a different background growing up in Ireland? That's what's implied by this sentiment, and I find it quite worrying.

You're right, it is a numbers game, but the numbers involved in such a change ever occuring are so ridiculously big, that it's not going to happen. And if it does happen, big fuccking whoop, the human race has never remained static, a single, homogenous "national culture" is a relatively new idea in the scheme of things, and while it can be nice to feel this sense of belonging to something, this can in itself be dangerous. Cultures come and go, the only constant seems to be people cannot stop being diccks to each other.

you might not care

but I bet most people don't want to live with the all the negative problems that the religion of peace has

multiculturalism just can't work in the long term, growing numbers of people across Europe can see this

Rory28 wrote: »
    That's not what I meant at all. I was replying t a comment about Saudi being a beautiful place to go on holiday. I agree with the French law but I would go further. Stop every religion from influencing anybody outside of their place worship. From Looney Christians to nutball Muslims and crazy Jewish Zionists and everything in between. Not like chairman Mao tho. That's the other end of the extreme.

I have seen it being said that its the woman's choice to wear it. Not much of a choice when the alternative is being labeled a harlet.

Then again I have never had a meaningful conversation with a devout Muslim woman.

Maybe this is where many in this thread need to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I too am very annoyed by a very niche type of women's clothing. Haarruummmphh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

Interesting theory.

However, I suspect that virtually the totality of human evolution and history can in fact, be seen through the lens of peoples innate tendency to cluster along ethnic and cultural lines and I see precious little evidence of that changing.

Good fences make good neighbours and all that.

One might even argue that it is essential for peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

Maybe this is where many in this thread need to start.

Genuine question: would i be allowed? And would the husband have to be present?

No offence meant by this, shouldn't have to say it but their are a lot of people posting horrible things defending the French law. You don't need to lie or spread hate to get a point across. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

nokia69 wrote: »
    you might not care

but I bet most people don't want to live with the all the negative problems that the religion of peace has

multiculturalism just can't work in the long term, growing numbers of people across Europe can see this

Grand, but can you name concrete instances of this actually happening on a scale that would affect an entire nation? All I've ever found are isolated incidents, or small groups of radicals, nothing that would suggest a change occuring in the fabric of a nation's cultural identity.

I'm not for one second denying extreme islam is a load of balls, but the problem is people hear about the "problem children" and forget about the literally millions of other muslims who are not very different to you or I. It is not fair the way they are given the blame for societal problems, much the same way it would be unfair to brand all Catholics lunatics, given the (extremely recent!) history of the church.

People feel understandably threatened by the unknown, and I think it's clear from reading stuff like this that people simply haven't gotten to know any of their muslim neighbours. I lived in a predominantly muslim area in a city in Germany, and had several muslim friends. All were normal enough lads, drank beer, etc. Yes, they liked telling me about their culture when asked, but for all intents and purposes they were "living German", and mixing with Germans.

Proper integration is absolutely vital in order to keep both the new arrivals and the natives, for lack of a better term, happy, and must be hands-on. This I absolutely agree with. However, dictating to people what they can and cannot wear is the wrong way to go about this (and believe me on this, I think burqas and veils are very strange looking). It's patronising, and antagonising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭barneyrubble46

The french law is the right law, its the 21st century why would a woman want to hide her face, I find it very degrading to be honest, to only get to see the eyes on a person. The french law stared mainly from the 9/11 new york thingy, when men in islamic dress, got through airport security dressed in female islamic dress. It is totally degrading, look at what the taliban have done to females in Afganistan for feck sake, stoned them to death for the most trivial of things. This has nothing to do with being racist, its called common sense. We should all stand up and say enough is enough, I admire the French for their stand on this. Muslim woman should do the same, stand up and be counted and say no the the niqabs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The french law is the right law, its the 21st century why would a woman want to hide her face, I find it very degrading to be honest, to only get to see the eyes on a person. The french law stared mainly from the 9/11 new york thingy, when men in islamic dress, got through airport security dressed in female islamic dress..............

Ye wha?

Rory28 wrote: »
    Genuine question: would i be allowed? And would the husband have to be present?

No offence meant by this, shouldn't have to say it but their are a lot of people posting horrible things defending the French law. You don't need to lie or spread hate to get a point across. Jesus Christ.

I have Muslim friends, when i visit them i call ahead to let them.know i am on the way. His wife then has time to get her head cover on. I do this out of respect for her not him. The same i wouldn't call around to the house and expect to be bought in for a cup.of tea when he isn't there as this would be disrespectful to both of them.

We have spoken many times and even though her husband has been in the house i have been left alone in a room with her for up to half an hour chatting while our children played together. I have met her on the street and talked with her and even walked in the same direction chatting as i would with Mrs Murphy from down the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

Grand, but can you name concrete instances of this actually happening on a scale that would affect an entire nation? All I've ever found are isolated incidents, or small groups of radicals, nothing that would suggest a change occuring in the fabric of a nation's cultural identity.

look at what happened in rotherham, thats just one medium sized town in the UK, and thats just the tip of the iceberg

plenty of countries in Europe have seen riots and there are cities that have large areas where white people are told to stay out of

its only going to get worse

The french law is the right law, its the 21st century why would a woman want to hide her face, I find it very degrading to be honest, to only get to see the eyes on a person.

Why would you feel.degraded? I don't think that word means what you think it means.
    The french law stared mainly from the 9/11 new york thingy, when men in islamic dress, got through airport security dressed in female islamic dress.

Oh this should be interesting.......evidence of that please.
    It is totally degrading, look at what the taliban have done to females in Afganistan for feck sake, stoned them to death for the most trivial of things. This has nothing to do with being racist, its called common sense. We should all stand up and say enough is enough, I admire the French for their stand on this. Muslim woman should do the same, stand up and be counted and say no the the niqabs.

OK ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

France has the ba*** to make laws and uphold them.
    Ireland and its near neighbours could learn a thing or two