Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOI 2014 Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Took some photos of Finn Park at the weekend. The quicker Harps get out of that place the better.

http://barrymasterson.com/303784/4630327/photography/finn-park-finn-harps-fc

3398d616f08bea4471bb8084e2e435dc.jpg

Also, on a lighter note, a few pictures of the Town fans on tour up there :D

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.649531308501139.1073741838.597326180388319&type=1

10704116_649532108501059_3868626984469267032_n.jpg?oh=0bdc69d81900e4787941fe09d21925b3&oe=54BFCEDF&__gda__=1422101351_61e7c2f466f244e736315353d63ed444

Nice to see the Stewards doing their job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Nice to see the Stewards doing their job!

We moved to the stand in the second half, which we were then made leave by a garda because we were making too much noise!

Upsetting the locals with our loud drums and whatnot.

That auld lad in the photo was a gent thou in fairness.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Took some photos of Finn Park at the weekend. The quicker Harps get out of that place the better.

I'm sure there's an element of St. Mel's Park about the place until the new ground is up and running.

Only ground I was able to leave at half time to pop back to the hotel to charge my phone. Great trip...when it's not raining...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

CSF wrote: »
    We didn't finish ahead of them for no reason

We finished ahead of them due to our excellent start to the season, as of late we've been poor.
    deisedude wrote: »
    If Keegan doesnt score for Galway i dont see where the goals are going to come from

Faherty? Manning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,451 ✭✭✭✭CSF

We finished ahead of them due to our excellent start to the season, as of late we've been poor.
    28 game season in the end, don't think form will count for too much in these playoffs. We're odds against to go through in Paddys I think that is good value all things considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭overshoot

We moved to the stand in the second half, which we were then made leave by a garda because we were making too much noise!

Upsetting the locals with our loud drums and whatnot.

That auld lad in the photo was a gent thou in fairness.

Tell me this, how do you think your little half time tour and moving into the middle of the (albeit sparse) home support would go in say a Dublin ground....?

In fairness most of the ones who take the seats are auld ones who aren't there for the noise. The home drum is never put in there

overshoot wrote: »
    Tell me this, how do you think your little half time tour and moving into the middle of the (albeit sparse) home support would go in say a Dublin ground....?

In fairness most of the ones who take the seats are auld ones who aren't there for the noise. The home drum is never put in there
    To be fair, Longford aren't particularly segregated when they come to Tolka. Free to come and go as they please even if they do have a corner to themselves.

ah they were harmless, could have set up where ever, just strange suddenly decide at half time to have everyone bail into where all the old fogies sit. im not sure how they were expecting to stay there. even the home fans would be moved if we set up with the drum in there.
    Athlone set up last year where they ended up so was a free for all anyway. plus with the season over, sunday league and gaa club championship in full swing the place was a ghost town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

We couldn't get much atmosphere going over on the far end, the stewards were grand with us, it was the auld ones who made complaints and demanded we moved, so we did.

We found it amusing that fans creating an atmosphere around the place wasn't welcome. I'm sure we were seen as terribly inconsiderate hooligans in the eyes of said lady's. :rolleyes:

Also, if there had been even a half decent home crowd, and under different circumstances we obviously wouldn't have moved over there in the first place, horses for courses and all that.

In the CCS, we generally let away fans sit where they like, unless it's a very large crowd, or fans of clubs which we've had trouble with, I'll admit that our stewarding has been suspect in in the past, whether by not cutting out issues early enough, or rubbing away fans up the wrong way. But there's not a whole lot I can do about that!

I'll say it again, the harps stewards for the most part were lovely, the only problem that was caused was via the lady's who would rather have 50 people move than sit a bit to the left, most of the harps fans we spoke to were also lovely.

ah they were harmless, could have set up where ever, just strange suddenly decide at half time to have everyone bail into where all the old fogies sit. im not sure how they were expecting to stay there. even the home fans would be moved if we set up with the drum in there.
    Athlone set up last year where they ended up so was a free for all anyway. plus with the season over, sunday league and gaa club championship in full swing the place was a ghost town
    To be honest, I think segregation in First Division games is rarely necessary but sure each to their own.

na no point to it...more pointing out it was basically the aul ones section. even a home drummer would be moved. was plenty of non section o longford ones in there anyway. home drummer usually sets up where ye went after... its far enough away. ye would hardly have known before in fairness
    that was by far the biggest travelling support of the year. ye were probably next up and the first galway game. outside of that maybe one or 2 car loads if even for the rest.

na no point to it...more pointing out it was basically the aul ones section. even a home drummer would be moved. was plenty of non section o longford ones in there anyway. home drummer usually sets up where ye went after... its far enough away. ye would hardly have known before in fairness
    that was by far the biggest travelling support of the year. ye were probably next up and the first galway game. outside of that maybe one or 2 car loads if even for the rest.
    Ah you'd expect that with the title celebrations and all that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Shels were the only ones to naturally gravitate en-masse towards the away corner in Tallaght. Everyone else bar Longford just hung around the halfway line. Longford fans were the only ones to seat themselves in the car park end of Tallaght

dfx- wrote: »
    Shels were the only ones to naturally gravitate en-masse towards the away corner in Tallaght. Everyone else bar Longford just hung around the halfway line. Longford fans were the only ones to seat themselves in the car park end of Tallaght
    Think it is just what we were used to from games against the actual Rovers where we had to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

dfx- wrote: »

To be fair when we went to tallaght last time for the fai cup game we were put up in that carpark end. Even at that we could still go into the bar at half time for a bottle or 3! In tolka we were going to go into the bar but were not let, its a private members bar? I'm sure I remember being in that bar few years ago! What ever it was shels lost out on money that game from not letting us in!

An excellent watch for any football fan! A gent of the highest order and one of a kind.

Love how he says he'll give up the stiles in a year or two, it took him nearly 5 years or so of saying he'll give up running 'Tosh Travel' (the official supporters' bus) to finally pack it in. He always looked after everyone, my mam was only reminding me on Sunday (before heading off to Cobh) about herself or my dad used to have to ring Tosh and make sure it was ok for me to go since I was only a kid.

3 matches in 30 years includes FAI cup match too, the hospital trip was when he was mugged and left in a bad way a couple of years back. Impressive!

flas wrote: »
    To be fair when we went to tallaght last time for the fai cup game we were put up in that carpark end. Even at that we could still go into the bar at half time for a bottle or 3! In tolka we were going to go into the bar but were not let, its a private members bar? I'm sure I remember being in that bar few years ago! What ever it was shels lost out on money that game from not letting us in!

The bar wasn't being run by the club this season. It will be again next year as that guy hasn't renewed his lease, so directly the club wasn't losing out on money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Dane Massey wins the Airtricity SWAI player of the month for September. Third Dundalk player to win it this season after Towell and Horgan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

monkey9 wrote: »
    Derry already falling apart.

Bit like Pats will in the last 5 minutes in the Aviva, again....

SantryRed wrote: »

Match will be over as a contest by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭kksaints

Isnt collapsing in the last 5 minutes a Shels thing? Im sure some Cork and Dundalk fans have good memories of Shels collapsing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

kksaints wrote: »
    Isnt collapsing in the last 5 minutes a Shels thing? Im sure some Cork and Dundalk fans have good memories of Shels collapsing.

Let not divert.

Shels = last minute league collapses
    Pats = cup collapses

we're talking about the cups ok? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Not this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Really hard not to see Pat's winning the cup now.

Derry are very mediocre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I wish it was possible for a team to win and lose the same final.

anncoates wrote: »
    I wish it was possible for a team to win and lose the same final.

I wouldnt rule out a sun holiday yet, wait till november 3rd before you make next years holiday plans.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Not this year.

Sounding like Liverpool fans now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Really hard not to see Pat's winning the cup now.

Derry are very mediocre.
    That's what people said in 2012. Pats had the best defensive record in the league that year, then went and gifted Derry 2 goals (or even 3) in the cup final.