Is feminism a dirty word?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

In what ways should they be speaking out? I don't really get that criticism - it seems to infer tacit support of the extremists, but without any backing, or suggestion of what to do to speak out (and when I ask, what should be done, tends not to get answered).
    Yeh it's always used - not being seen to speak out doesn't mean automatic endorsement/ambivalence. I don't see much visibility of moderate MRAs speaking out against the disturbing woman-haters (some of whom are on this website) but I know they don't support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Minera

S.L.F wrote: »
    When asked about the real horrors of feminism and after looking through a feminist lens the answers are usually,

"they don't understand feminism, all those bad people are just extremists but we can't condemn them cos they are part of the sisterhood"

When it comes to insulting I find just comparing feminism to Nazism does the trick, as someone else said Feminism is just Nazis in knickers.

I think you and I will have to agree to disagree, I continue to find your posts bigoted, offensive and quite frankly antagonistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

dissed doc wrote: »
    Unlike cancer, AIDS and Ebola, mental health rarely gets sexed up.

80%+ suicides are men, couple with complete ignorance of many in government and media, means Gay Byrne can get endless radio time because someone is pulling donuts within 2km of his porch but that considerably more people die from suicide that road deaths is completely ignored.

Cervical cancer deaths per year: around 70-80 in ireland.
    Suicides per year: around 500 in ireland

Which one gets media coverage? Which one gets millions in funding?

Breast cancer is the leading cause of cancer death in women, around 650 per year. Why does suicide not get the same special screening clinics around the country? Why no media campaigns?

Do you want a real answer, or just an agreement that it's not fair? If you want agreement, just read the next line, then skip the next.

You're right, it's completely unreasonable that men are being ignored, I bet it's a feminist conspiracy to kill off all the men.

Up until recently, suicide was considered a sin by the majority of people in the country. It was never directly referred to. If it had to be mentioned there was generally a euphemism involved. Death certs used dance around the issue, partially because suicide was an actual crime up until 1993. 100 years before that, the victim's (the person who commited the crime of suicide) property would be seized by the State. It's only in more recent years that people have actually started talking about suicide, and recording figures - and even still those figures are probably under-reported because of a hangover from earlier times. It will probably be another 30 years before the attitudes to suicide are changed completely throughout the population. Even today our death notices use what amounts to a code.

Meanwhile, cervical cancer was never a sin in and of itself (though there's a sidebar there about treatments that might prevent women having children being sinful). Your figures of 70ish deaths due to cervical cancer vs 300 for suicide don't take into account how many other deaths are prevented precisely because screening is in place. But even if we ignore that aspect, cervical cancer is a fairly black and white issue. A 10 minute swab (followed by lab tests) will either say yes, no, or unconfirmed, check again.

There is no 10 minute check that you can perform to find out if someone is feeling suicidal. The best you could do is ask "Feeling suicidal lately?" to which most people (even if they are) will say no. You might as well send everyone in the country a postcard saying "if you feel suicidal, call this number and we'll arrange something". This is pretty much what we do already with suicide hotlines, the problem is getting suicidal people to talk in the first place. If there was some blood test, or brain scan we could do to recognise the symptoms, we'd be doing them.

An issue that is unique to men, and can be easily checked, is testicular and prostate cancer. And guess what? We have advertising campaigns, doctors will carry out the check, it's simple, and things can be caught early and treated successfully. Ovarian cancer, on the other hand, is not as convenient to check for, and you'll notice it's not something you see a lot of campaigns about.

As a general public service announcement, remember guys, breast cancer is not confined to women. A woman is 100 times more likely to get it than a man, but the chance is there. Learn the signs (a lump under the nipple is the commonest), and check yourself from time to time.

Suicide prevention has to take place at a much more immediate level. You're not going to ask a friend to give your cervix a quick glance, but if you're feeling down you may be hoping that your friends will notice and help, without having to say anything.

Gay Byrne/the RSA get more airtime than suicide prevention thanks to feminism, yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

In what ways should they be speaking out? I don't really get that criticism - it seems to infer tacit support of the extremists, but without any backing, or suggestion of what to do to speak out (and when I ask, what should be done, tends not to get answered).

It'd be nice to see an occasional article or movement against censorship by those who consider themselves mainstream feminists? Or counter campaigns for free speech? To give you an analogy, if I as an Irish nationalist saw people campaigning in favour of discrimination against unionists, I wouldn't just say "they don't represent nationalists", I'd be annoyed enough to go out of my way to publicly denounce their agenda. You can say the same for almost any movement. Thus if the campaigns, which have had real-world impact, to ban this and censor that in the name of feminism are not being opposed in this manner, tacit support may be a false assumption - but it's certainly not an unreasonable one.

Yeh it's always used - not being seen to speak out doesn't mean automatic endorsement/ambivalence. I don't see much visibility of moderate MRAs speaking out against the disturbing woman-haters (some of whom are on this website) but I know they don't support them.

Again, most of those haven't succeeded in affecting social change in the way that, for example, the "ban blurred lines" campaign has in several areas. I have yet to see a single counter protest in favour of free expression, thus it must be assumed that even if many feminists don't support such calls for censorship, many don't see them as a serious problem either. Which is still a valid reason to criticize feminism as a movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭S.L.F

S.L.F., you fancy addressing these points at all?

Sure
    Couple of things stand out to me here.

1. Ordinary, "Joan Soap" (you're excluding the Joe Soaps there by the way) feminists like me just don't count - is that correct? WTF is a useful idiot?

You mean people who call themselves feminists but have zero power to change anything?
    2. I have never put a man down solely for being a man, neither has any self-identified feminist I know, so please qualify your statements. Using the word "some" would be useful, for a start.

The ones who control the feminist movement
    3. I've never heard of this charity that looks to get women who kill their partners "off the hook"? Can you provide a link? Will I discover that their mission is far more nuanced than the way you have portrayed it? Will it turn out to be yet another small bunch of feminist nutters that somehow managed to get charitable status?

Fixed that for you.

Charity in question

The 'charities' CEO is Julie Bindel
    4. There are probably a LOT more feminists (men and women) in power than you realise, who don't conform to the rather simplistic image of feminists that you are gripping onto for dear life.

I am aware of that.

This includes everyone's fav protest party Sinn Fein, link, link, link.

Makes sense really considering that the Suffragettes were terrorists in their day back in the early 1900's.
    5. Patriarchy sucks for EVERYONE. MEN under huge obligations, women disallowed from participating in things like education, or denied inheritance rights.

Geez victimhood complex 101.

I never see feminists posting who really gets the benefit of all the work men do, I'll give you a hint 60-80% of all disposable money in Ireland is spent by women which is why advertisers aim their ads at women.

Education....are you for real?

Women in Ireland graduate at the rate of 57% (and increasing) compared to 43% of men.

Inheritance rights?

You mean like in some 3rd world country where women have literally no obligations at all but men are obligated to provide for their families?
    6. Men really very often don't listen to what women have to say. So often. There will be men reading this very post who will give it the visual equivalent of "in one ear and out the other" simply because I'm a woman, and a feminist woman at that. I know that because I talk to men who don't listen to me because I am a woman. Men who went on to agree with a man who literally said the exact same thing I did moments earlier. That has literally happened me, more than once.

Then I suggest you change your friends.

It is also possible that they've listened to feminist crap before decided that whatever you say has a victimhood complex attached to it and then when it is explained by someone who does not have an almighty chip on their shoulder accept it.

I was speaking to an Alderman Ruth Patterson DUP some time ago and she spoke to Belfast City Hall about men's issues and she said the entire hall listened to every word she said.

https://www.facebook.com/northernirelandmensrights/posts/594625473989813
    7. You asked where the bitterness in your posts was a while back...

Not sure what 7 is supposed to mean.
    ETA: 8. Before feminism started, I would have been considered property. A chattel.

You have confused 'women's rights' with the Marxist hate ideology of feminism.

I support women's rights like practically every other MRA I work with, I oppose the hate ideology of feminism.

If it was really to do with equality then it would be geared towards getting things equal instead it ONLY concentrates on women.

That makes it a bigoted ideology especially considering men have more issues in society than women do.

Wish people would stop pretending those who agree with some feminist views (and disagree with loads too) are automatically conferred with man-hater, radfem status.
    I'm sure it's fun, but it's not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

This is a thing that men with very unpleasant attitudes towards women LIKE to say (and some self loathing women like to say it too) but it's not actually that simplistic at all at all. Which the fans of the phrase know full well.

Oh come on this is biological fact. It's nature. Men can maintain their sexual and relative attractiveness later in life by virtue of the fact that they can still mate later in life and still have strong healthy offspring. This is not true of women. Don't live in denial of nature.

This is how it has been from time immemorial and no social movement will change it. It's not pleasant if you're a woman left on the shelf in you're 40's, but it's also not pleasant to be a short fat dude with a crap job that women have ignored because his status and physical attributes indicates he's not a strong mate. Nature may suck, and is cruel to some people, but we're irrevocably human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Defender OF Faith

ETA: 8. Before feminism started, I would have been considered property. A chattel.

Well am not sure about being considered a property but clearly feminism have failed as women are still being used as mere object to help Companies & organisation sell their products, just last night I was looking at a BMW add where they had a Women in Bikini beside a car with the caption "JUST TRY HERE NOW" I wondered whether this referred to the women or the car? just how many YouTube videos have thumbnails of half naked women to entice people to click on them? Basically if anything thing is directed toward a Male audience a half naked women of some sort is involved

Wish people would stop pretending those who agree with some feminist views (and disagree with loads too) are automatically conferred with man-hater, radfem status.
    I'm sure it's fun, but it's not fair.

Let me ask you a question, for the sake of argument: Do you understand why many people in Northern Ireland who favour a United Ireland choose to label themselves "nationalist" as opposed to "republican"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

S.L.F wrote: »
    Sure

You mean people who call themselves feminists but have zero power to change anything?

The ones who control the feminist movement

Fixed that for you.

Charity in question

The 'charities' CEO is Julie Bindel

I am aware of that.

This includes everyone's fav protest party Sinn Fein, link, link, link.

Makes sense really considering that the Suffragettes were terrorists in their day back in the early 1900's.

Geez victimhood complex 101.

I never see feminists posting who really gets the benefit of all the work men do, I'll give you a hint 60-80% of all disposable money in Ireland is spent by women which is why advertisers aim their ads at women.

Education....are you for real?

Women in Ireland graduate at the rate of 57% (and increasing) compared to 43% of men.

Inheritance rights?

You mean like in some 3rd world country where women have literally no obligations at all but men are obligated to provide for their families?

Then I suggest you change your friends.

It is also possible that they've listened to feminist crap before decided that whatever you say has a victimhood complex attached to it and then when it is explained by someone who does not have an almighty chip on their shoulder accept it.

I was speaking to an Alderman Ruth Patterson DUP some time ago and she spoke to Belfast City Hall about men's issues and she said the entire hall listened to every word she said.

https://www.facebook.com/northernirelandmensrights/posts/594625473989813

Not sure what 7 is supposed to mean.

You have confused 'women's rights' with the Marxist hate ideology of feminism.

I support women's rights like practically every other MRA I work with, I oppose the hate ideology of feminism.

If it was really to do with equality then it would be geared towards getting things equal instead it ONLY concentrates on women.

That makes it a bigoted ideology especially considering men have more issues in society than women do.

I genuinely laughed out loud there. You're some craic.

Yurt! wrote: »
    Oh come on this is biological fact. It's nature. Men can maintain their sexual and relative attractiveness later in life by virtue of the fact that they can still mate later in life and still have strong healthy offspring. This is not true of women. Don't live in denial of nature.

This is how it has been from time immemorial and no social movement will change it. It's not pleasant if you're a woman left on the shelf in you're 40's, but it's also not pleasant to be a short fat dude with a crap job that women have ignored because his status and physical attributes indicates he's not a strong mate. Nature may suck, and is cruel to some people, but we're irrevocably human.
    For sure. You're being rational now and talking about women in their 40s, but that banned re-reg was using it to insult women even in their 20s. That's specifically what I was criticising.
    Well am not sure about being considered a property but clearly feminism have failed as women are still being used as mere object to help Companies & organisation sell their products, just last night I was looking at a BMW add where they had a Women in Bikini beside a car with the caption "JUST TRY HERE NOW" I wondered whether this referred to the women or the car? just how many YouTube videos have thumbnails of half naked women to entice people to click on them? Basically if anything thing is directed toward a Male audience a half naked women of some sort is involved
    In fairness, women do choose to do this. I don't have a problem with it tbh. Sex sells. Now if there was no recognition of these women as people beyond bikini bodies, then I'd object, but the work in and of itself is just women making the most of their assets (in the financial sense at least) and I wouldn't blame them.
    Let me ask you a question, for the sake of argument: Do you understand why many people in Northern Ireland who favour a United Ireland choose to label themselves "nationalist" as opposed to "republican"?
    Fair point.

OK, quiz time.

Have you or your friends ever:
    • Commented on a female politician's looks/weight/wardrobe instead of her policies/actions?
    • Said anything along the lines of "Go make me a sandwich, bitch"?
    • Said anything along the lines of "Go back to the kitchen where you belong"?
    • Called a woman names because she didn't immediately jump at your advances?
    • Told your friends how you were cornered by the ugly bitch at the party and couldn't get away to make yourself available to the hotties?
    • Referred to other human beings as hotties?
    • Even in your head?
    • Noticed that the prominent female politician in a news article had her clothing choice mentioned, but that the male politician's weren't?
    • Commented on a strange woman's appearance, either to her or to your friends?

If you answered yes to these, you or your friends are sexist.
    If you answered no to these, you and your friends are probably already practising equality.
    If you have never said these, but your friends have, and you pointed out they were being rude, you're a feminist.
    If you have never said these, but your friends have, and you didn't call them on it, you're contributing to the problem.

Feminism covers a ridiculously large swathe of issues. It covers allowing girls in other countries to get an education and not have acid thrown in their faces. It covers working against FGM. It's about not letting 9 year old girls be sold as brides to 40 year old men.

But it also covers the daily grind of being a woman - of being shouted at walking down the street, whether the comments are insults or compliments. It's about wanting the same respect as your brother when you go for a night out, and not having your clothing choices questioned. It's about having men being as professional as you are in a professional setting. There are a million other "little" things that men will dismiss when listed individually (as I'm sure someone will be along shortly to do), but that all add up to a constant wearing down.

It's death by a thousand paper cuts, with a different person inflicting each cut. If you complain, the cutter will say "Jeez, it's only a paper cut, get over it - other people have way worse problems, there's a man over there with no legs. There's a woman in India had her head cut off." You'll be told you have no sense of humour. It was only a joke. Stupid bitch doesn't even recognise a joke. And then the next guy comes along with the next bit of paper, and you're supposed to laugh it off, because it's just a paper cut, right?

Thoie wrote: »
    OK, quiz time.

• Commented on a female politician's looks/weight/wardrobe instead of her policies/actions?
    • Told your friends how you were cornered by the ugly bitch at the party and couldn't get away to make yourself available to the hotties?
    • Even in your head?

I'm friends with close friends several groups of women, and all of them refer to men in this way on a regular basis, just as much if not more so than groups of men I'm close friends with.

Either this is as much of a problem as when men do it, or you're being sexist by exclusively lambasting only men for a unisex behavior. Which is it?

I don't agree that all of these are automatically wrong either, but we'll get to that. Address the double standard first. ;)

I'm friends with close friends several groups of women, and all of them refer to men in this way on a regular basis, just as much if not more so than groups of men I'm close friends with.

Either this is as much of a problem as when men do it, or you're being sexist by exclusively lambasting only men for a unisex behavior. Which is it?

I don't agree that all of these are automatically wrong either, but we'll get to that. Address the double standard first. ;)

I don't have a double standard. Your female friends sound like a thoroughly unpleasant bunch of people, and I'd hope that you call them on their behaviour.

They're some of the most incredible people you could have the pleasure of meeting, in fact. Why should it be wrong for people to voice their sexual urges with their friends? Finding someone attractive is neither voluntary nor offensive.

EDIT: Thanks for clarifying that you don't hold a double standard though, that's something! :)

OK, quiz time.

• Said anything along the lines of "Go make me a sandwich, bitch"?
    • Said anything along the lines of "Go back to the kitchen where you belong"?
    • Even in your head?
    • Noticed that the prominent female politician in a news article had her clothing choice mentioned, but that the male politician's weren't?

If you answered yes to these, you or your friends are sexist.
    If you answered no to these, you and your friends are probably already practising equality.
    If you have never said these, but your friends have, and you pointed out they were being rude, you're a feminist.
    If you have never said these, but your friends have, and you didn't call them on it, you're contributing to the problem.
    Ah here, two of the above are jokes. Some women unfortunately also call guys chatting them up ugly, and make remarks about a guy's appearance. Hardly sexist to call someone you fancy a hottie (as both genders do). Not noticing stuff about clothing in relation to one gender and noticing it in relation to the other - bit thoughtcrimey to focus on that.
    The ones I'd take issue with all right are "Commented on a female politician's looks/weight/wardrobe instead of her policies/actions?" (although this isn't always done with malice in fairness - when it's complimentary obviously) and "Called a woman names because she didn't immediately jump at your advances?"
    It's a bit much to say a guy who doesn't condemn sexism from his friends is part of the problem - shifting of responsibility isn't ideal.
    But it also covers the daily grind of being a woman - of being shouted at walking down the street, whether the comments are insults or compliments. It's about wanting the same respect as your brother when you go for a night out, and not having your clothing choices questioned. It's about having men being as professional as you are in a professional setting. There are a million other "little" things that men will dismiss when listed individually (as I'm sure someone will be along shortly to do), but that all add up to a constant wearing down.
    Mixed bag IMO. Some is bad, some is innocuous, some isn't as prevalent as some say.

^ Are you gentlemen familiar with a certain former Countdown presenter by any chance? :p Generalizing either gender's ability to maintain sexuality with age is a bit ridiculous, that's far more down to hereditary familial and lifestyle factors than gender IMO.

That's that person who keeps re-registering and re-registering only to have a go at women. Can't be reasoned with.

I hold a perhaps naive belief that pointing logical fallacies out to even the most determined of trolls using indisputable examples still carries the possibility of achieving something. Many regard my attitude to this as amusing at best and tiresome at worst. ;)

Same here. :pac:
    I get reminded that they know full well what I'm saying, don't need to be reminded, possibly even agree with it, but the entire purpose of their existence is to pretend they don't. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Well they say that persistence pays off when it comes to women.

Why do they bother?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yurt! wrote: »
    Oh come on this is biological fact. It's nature. Men can maintain their sexual and relative attractiveness later in life by virtue of the fact that they can still mate later in life and still have strong healthy offspring.
    Some men. Yes men have at least a decade on women as far as fertility goes and in fit genetically blessed men that can go out beyond that, but in general men can go "downhill" just as fast. Having seen people go through their 30's I would say that again generally speaking the women at 35 were fitter than the men and in generally better condition as far as biological age went. Sure there are men of say 55 who still have "it" but they're rare enough outliers. It's akin to balding men pointing at Sean Connery and yer man off Star Trek and saying "bald men are sexy and vital". Those two dudes are but they'd be sexy and vital hair or not.

The average guy may kid himself and yes he does have more time, but he ain't George Clooney in his 50's. This idea is up there with "real men prefer women with curves".
    It's a bit much to say a guy who doesn't condemn sexism from his friends is part of the problem - shifting of responsibility isn't ideal.
    Yep, nail on head SS and actually, this would be a part of my reasoning for no longer identifying with feminism as it is today(my feminism was always based on individuals are equal or not, regardless of the positioning of their gonads). Too much of "it's other people's fault, no sorry... it's always men's fault and women are always victims" that is pretty damn prevalent in the third wave ivory tower feminism BS(that and a sensitivity level that must make it hard to walk to the shops). It demeans men, but moreso and without any self awareness of irony it demeans grown women. It reduces them to little more than constantly scared waiting for offence children with no agency of their own looking to men authority to protect their delicate sensibilities. Welcome to the effin 19th century.
    Mixed bag IMO. Some is bad, some is innocuous, some isn't as prevalent as some say.
    Oh jayzuz SS, don't be saying that kinda thing. :) You'll get into trouble. Next you'll have to put in "trigger warnings" about the "patriarchy" and "rape culture" for the overly sensitive of soul. I have found as a general rule that anyone, man, woman or beast using those aforementioned terms in parentheses is usually setting up for an extreme case of logic fail.
    c_man wrote: »
    Well they say that persistence pays off when it comes to women.
    Rarely IME. Persistence IME is more likely to pay off with men.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Some men. Yes men have at least a decade on women as far as fertility goes and in fit genetically blessed men that can go out beyond that, but in general men can go "downhill" just as fast.
    Yeh, when people say (deliberately to insult) "Oh men age better than women and that's that", I challenge it not because I'm a woman and it resonates (well ok there's bound to be a bit of that, but not that alone), not just because it's out-and-out obnoxious insulting, but because it is genuinely not what I observe - even in a general sense. And never has been.

All I see is that, from a cosmetic perspective at least (fertility depleting in women can't be denied but that isn't necessarily reflected in how she looks outwardly) when it comes to women and men ageing well or badly or quickly or slowly... it's a 50/50 split. There are also cases of good genes to take into account - these don't discriminate according to gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Attraction does not equal looks, especially not in the case of men, social status, social influence and general social skills which often accrue through age increases men's attractiveness to women. Women's looks primarily determine their attractiveness.

Are you all taking notes, fellas? Just in case any of you were thinking of being primarily attracted to a woman's character or intelligence. This guy is keeping your priorities in check.

No one said older women can't be attractive. If act if you read the post you refer to you'll see the point was made that it was a generalisation. That's what "in general" means.

The simple fact is women's attractiveness on average declines more sharply with age. Examples of attractive older women does not negate that fact.

It was, in my view, an incorrect generalization. But of course we're faced with the inevitable problem here that attractiveness is entirely in the eye of the beholder and therefore there will never be any sort of universal standard. No amount of attempts at connecting this to any sort of biological science will change that, I'm afraid.

If different people weren't turned on by different things, it logically follows that the human race would all look the same. :D

Some people are attracted to balloons.

Balloons have very small openings...

mod

Raspberry Sword. Re reg troll. Banned.