Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

do you find ur diet suffers being on the road so much do you have to go out of ur way to eat healthy stuff.

Don't mention the war:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Don't mention the war:eek:

Haha, and tonight I lost the battle (again), deep fried starter, steak with triple cooked chips and a feckin dessert! (3 diet cokes though:))

But it's the jelly babies from the mini bar that has me still awake and posting on Boards at almost 3am :)

Chances of that morning run along the river looking distinctly unlikely!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

steak with triple cooked chips

Jeez you should eat somewhere a bit more upmarket ..... they might cook the chips properly the first time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

ha sorry for asking dinner sound lovely :)

So my run of straight days running ends.

Sitting in the car on the way back from London after a long day, absolutely shattered and putting on the gear to get some miles in when I made the surprisingly tough call to can the session. Got a great buzz and focus from the "run" but tonight the body just wasn't willing and I thought to myself, I've a session tomorrow, what benefit will a few easy miles tonight bring to the battle of Amsterdam? Feck all so after 74 straight days running, I'm taking a rest day!

Still, I must admit, despite knowing that's it's probably the right call, pig headed stubbornness made it a very hard call!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

you big wuzzy.

Good call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Still, I must admit, despite knowing that's it's probably the right call, pig headed stubbornness made it a very hard call!

TbL

This is exactly why the rest day needed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Doc Q the 5th

Delighted that streak is over.... one focus- everything else (running wise) is secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Good call, this is where a coach / mentor can be useful, as they can make decisions for you without the associated emotion attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

So.... when is the official announcement re the sub 3 attempt going to be made? :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Good call, rest is an important part of training. I should know, as Ive had plenty of it the last month :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

whimp

man, you used to be cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Good shout.

Tbl: I had run for 74 days straight.
    [He stops and turns around]

One of Tbl's many followers: Quiet, quiet! He's gonna say something!

Tbl: [Pause] I'm pretty tired... I think I'll go home now.

Delighted that streak is over.... one focus- everything else (running wise) is secondary.

Yep, you're spot on.

Beepbeep hit the nail on the head as well, I was actually becoming emotionally attached to the idea of the running streak. Coach had instructed me to take a rest day this week and I was actually thinking how I'd convince him that I didn't need it and was secretly harbouring thoughts of a 100 day running streak. FFS, how pathetic is that, talk about focusing on the wrong thing!!

Anyway, now properly back on message.

Was in Dublin today so met up with Coach for the planned session 6 x 1m at PMP off 1 min recovery.

Coach must have thought the pace was gonna be real slow and that he'd be getting cold coz he turned up wearing enough clothes to lead an expedition party across the North Pole:)

Wasn't feeling great at the start as a Burger King Amsterdam steakhouse burger from yesterday had me in the Connemara craphouse a fair bit!

Nice and cool for running with a bit of a breeze. After a warm up we got stuck into it. Took a little while to settle but got into them ok and felt fine apart from the odd twinge from the stomach.

Glad to have the company and pacer as usually this is the time during a marathon plan where I go daft and do stupid things that are detrimental to the overall goal.

Splits:

A bit of a warm down jog brought the total miles for the day to 9.5.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

so PMP is 6.48?
    hmm, 6.48 x 26.2 = ....

RayCun wrote: »
    so PMP is 6.48?
    hmm, 6.48 x 26.2 = ....

Feck you Mr "I used my jogged into work" plan, to go sub 3 :)

Meant to say that the session was run a bit too fast!

TbL

Feck you Mr "I used my jogged into work" plan, to go sub 3 :)

Meant to say that the session was run a bit too fast!

TbL

Too late!!!:P

Will ya just come out with it will ya! I'm mad to find out who's going for it on here so we could get a group going! Be great craic! (That's assuming I can even get my crocked legs to the start line!)

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Too late!!!:P

The formal position for the Battle of Amsterdam is as follows:

The infantry will try and take the first 13.1 miles in 1.31/2. Running the first few miles at slower than that pace and working into it.

If the infantry haven't been blow up by a land mine by mile 16-18, mental fortitude reinforcements will be called up to capture more ground more quickly.

In previous skirmishes the battle has been won with the deployment of a negative split. However the infantry and army HQ, despite solid training, are not convinced that it's on and have bad memories of the Battle of Seville!

Hope that provides the requisite clarity!

TbL

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Will ya just come out with it will ya! I'm mad to find out who's going for it on here so we could get a group going! Be great craic! (That's assuming I can even get my crocked legs to the start line!)

Sorry Bahanaman, don't know how I missed it but I didn't realise you were running Amsterdam?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

bad memories of the Battle of Seville!

The sequel (Battle of Seville 2) is eagerly anticipated.
    Due for release in late February :)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    The sequel (Battle of Seville 2) is eagerly anticipated.
    Due for release in late February :)

Definitely one I was looking at P.

There doesn't seem to be a confirmed date for 2015 yet?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Definitely one I was looking at P.

There doesn't seem to be a confirmed date for 2015 yet?

TbL

No, but I'd assume it's the same weekend (22nd)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

Thats Strange it was open for registration this time last year.

Yourself and RC should be tied together. F**King sandbaggers.

ger664 wrote: »
    Thats Strange it was open for registration this time last year.

Yourself and RC should be tied together. F**King sandbaggers.

No sandbagging just letting his results speak for themselves - anyone can make claims at targets but what is the point?, the training has indicated (to himself) where he is fitness wise and the race will fall into place.He knows where he is and what he wants and has enough marathons under the belt to know to push if feeling good on the day.

At the end of the day any claims made today of target will not matter a damn come the 20th ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

ecoli wrote: »
    No sandbagging just letting his results speak for themselves - anyone can make claims at targets but what is the point?,

bollox!! if you're not targeting a national record in your age category at a minimum, you're wasting your time!

Haha ya faecal fecker, Q might have told you I look 70 but I've a bit to go yet!

Now that Q's gotta be a good boy have you taken over the baiting baton :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Just ignore them, Tbl. So long as you don't run in and around the same time again and end up in a rut, you'll be fine ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Stazza wrote: »
    Just ignore them, Tbl. So long as you don't run in and around the same time again and end up in a rut, you'll be fine ;)

Ha big talk from a race bluffer! Nothing wrong with continually running your optimal race based on the training that's been banked! You should try it yourself sometime. Don't wait another 20 years to race. Afraid of failure or something?

Groovy baby groovy!

#gbg #SIAC

Stazza wrote: »

Ill drop in a few yoyo's to the chip timing company or shunt him over the line for a PB if needed don't worry ;)