Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Great run on Saturday TBL. Wasn't the easiest of conditions. Great pacing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Great running TbL
    Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP.
    Solid day at the office, average 6.47

You do know that 6:47 x 26.2 = sub 3 right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,790 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice going, TbL. You definitely know what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Today the plan called for a easy run. Was in Limerick with work and as that's Bulmers74 neck of the woods we decided to hook up for a couple of easy miles around 6pm.

It wasn't till we got going that the mad yoke told me he did 22 miles yesterday and already had 8 done earlier this morning so would I mind if we only did 7! FFS :)

The miles flew by and the company took my mind off the head cold (man flu) that is slow to shake.

He's in great shape and he decided we'd do another mile to make 8 miles at just over 8 min pace.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Jesus, I'd say that after your visit to Marrakech, you probably have a number for Ahmed, the guy from the bazar.

Haha,

Sure Ahmed's not the worst AMK, he said that there was a fault with those backless leather chaps he sold you (they shrink when exposed to perspiration apparently). He said he'd give you your money back and he'd do a good deal on the other stuff you were interested in out the back :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

AMK I'd say he does as well but for entirely different reasons ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

On the off chance, was that you running solo in a streets of Galway top out by plassey?

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    On the off chance, was that you running solo in a streets of Galway top out by plassey?

No Sean, although I was in a similar blue top, I think Bulmers brought me out the Ennis Road.

TbL

Plan today called for more easy miles.

Did 5 easy this pm at 8.22 pace.

Was to do another 5 this evening but it's dark outside, I can't find my head torch and my final excuse is that I'm still not 100% coz of the man flu so unless I get some mad notion later and go out with a candle, thats it for the day!

TbL

Today the plan called for a wave session. 2 miles wu/cd with 6 miles 6.45/50 and 7.10/15.

Head cold is almost gone but when I got up early this morning for this one the auld body felt weary. First time in a long time that it's felt its age.

As I was caught for time I started out on my local hilly route.

Got the 2 miles warm up done and then tried the first part of the wave. The auld body was telling me that this was madness and it wasn't up for it but the young lads head was saying tough it up pussy you'll have to fight battles like this in Amsterdam! Changed gears and got down to 7 min pace but it was laboured and it tapered off to a 7.18 for the mile. The head soon concurred that this was indeed madness and all body parts trundled along to get 8 miles in @ 7.56.

Not happy, but it's not the end of the world. I more concerned about the rest of this week and next week mileage and sessions as I'm in London for rest of week and most of next with a heavy schedule, so getting time to run will be hard.

Might try a few easy miles tonight.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

Today the plan called for a wave session. 2 miles wu/cd with 6 miles 6.45/50 and 7.10/15.

Head cold is almost gone but when I got up early this morning for this one the auld body felt weary. First time in a long time that it's felt its age.

As I was caught for time I started out on my local hilly route.

Got the 2 miles warm up done and then tried the first part of the wave. The auld body was telling me that this was madness and it wasn't up for it but the young lads head was saying tough it up pussy you'll have to fight battles like this in Amsterdam! Changed gears and got down to 7 min pace but it was laboured and it tapered off to a 7.18 for the mile. The head soon concurred that this was indeed madness and all body parts trundled along to get 8 miles in @ 7.56.

Not happy, but it's not the end of the world. I more concerned about the rest of this week and next week mileage and sessions as I'm in London for rest of week and most of next with a heavy schedule, so getting time to run will be hard.

Might try a few easy miles tonight.

TbL

Gotta know when to hold em and know when to fold em (or whatever that dumb redneck said) look you're in great shape - maybe you and I can go in group therapy and get our minds sorted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

dukeraoul wrote: »
    Gotta know when to hold em and know when to fold em (or whatever that dumb redneck said) look you're in great shape - maybe you and I can go in group therapy and get our minds sorted?

If you'd organised this a week earlier, I'd have gone with the two of you :pac:

dukeraoul wrote: »

Haha Q,

Halfway through the first crap mile I was thinking about you and if it happens to the good guys...then I thought I was having a crap session in empathy with you...now it's just all your fault :)

Tnx, and I agree with you that I'm in pretty good shape so not sweating it at all, I'll do my best on the day and hopefully will get the return the training/effort deserves.

I'd say anyone that took us on for group therapy would need help themselves shortly thereafter :)

Might catch you for a run on one of your easy days in the next few weeks.

TbL

The plan today called for 4/6 easy miles am/pm.

After yesterday I was advised that a day off was in order.

After been stuck in a hotel near Heathrow for a couple of hours this afternoon I decided to do a few miles to keep my head straight. Head cold seems to be almost totally gone and I'm not coughing up any crap. Ran up near Stockley Park and then got lost before an attractive blond bobby gave me directions (that were nearly right!)

8 miles @7.53.

Not long now till the Battle of Amsterdam

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

The plan today called for 4/6 easy miles am/pm.

After yesterday I was advised that a day off was in order.

I decided to do 8 miles @7.53.

Good to see you have such faith in your coach ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Good to see you have such faith in your coach ;):D

Looks like he's taking the world record attempt seriously ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Ran up near Stockley Park and then got lost before an attractive blond bobby gave me directions (that were nearly right!)

TbL

Did you get his number? ;)

Plan called for 3 miles recovery.

Was gonna do 5 miles easy with Bulmers when I landed in Shannon but my flight was almost 3 hours late and he was long gone when I arrived and so was my motivation to run. Decided I was due a rest day and headed towards Galway. Got into Galway and decided to do the recovery run, quick change in the car and off around UCG. Legs and body seem to be in better shape and hopefully back to full running service soon.

3 miles @ 8.39 (way too fast for a recovery run) and no attractive bobbies (male or female) to distract me tonight!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Wow , you actually did what the plan said!

SamforMayo wrote: »

Hey SfM,

70th straight day running and I'd say I've been on message 95% of the time :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

SamforMayo wrote: »

Well he didn't really.... Some recovery pace :D
    I see a trend forming... Not following coach, Bulmers ditched him(whatever happened the last time I don't know ) :D:D

Plan today called for 10 miles total (2m easy, 1m Hmp, 1m easy, 2m MP, 1m easy, 1m Hmp & 2m easy)

Had only a short window available to run today and was caught for time so the paces were quicker than they should have been. Body seems to be returning to normal and was comfortable enough the whole way around except for the last half marathon pace mile that was slightly uphill and into the wind.

Splits:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭jfh

Hey SfM,

70th straight day running and I'd say I've been on message 95% of the time :)

TbL

70th straight day running:eek:
    that's impressive considering your schedule

jfh wrote: »
    70th straight day running:eek:
    that's impressive considering your schedule

I thought the last word in your sentence was gonna be "... age", and I was getting my FYP ready :)

Tnx, it just took a bit of organising, it's surprising what you can fit into a day if you're determined. I also ended up running some very early/late sessions to accommodate work and family. Having an accommodating missus is also useful :)

Coach told me 10 weeks ago that I was been to nice to myself with my days rest and missed sessions and that with 10 weeks to go I needed to focus.

I like a challenge! Looks like the run will end though as next week as I've a scheduled rest day.

Some of the runs durning the cycle were short 3/4 miles very slow runs but I found these great for recovery, almost like a body self heal session!

By the way great run in Berlin you've obviously got serious potential to go quick.

TbL

Plan today called for 15 miles easy.

I set the alarm to get this one in very early this morning, the alarm went off and I could hear the rain lashing down outside and howling winds. Turned over and went back to sleep! Didn't get out eventually till just after 9.

Rotten weather for running, can't remember the last time the runners got such a drowning. Heart wasn't really in this and just trundled along wishing for it to be over.

Splits;

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,790 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good stuff - haven't gotten a good soaking myself for ages, almost looking forward to the next one. Fair play!

Off to London for the first half of this week, so got the ok to juggle this weeks sessions around.

Another nursing home special this morning. Must have just taken my meds coz it was run too fast. 3 miles @ 8.26

TbL

Plan today called for 6 miles easy.

Staying in a nice hotel near Windor beside the Thames. Had wall to wall meetings today and another event this evening so very little window for a run.

Would have loved a chance to run along the river but had to make do with 8 k on the threadmill in 37:46.

Better than nothing and watched the darts while I trundled along.

With a bit of luck might get an early run in along the river in the morning.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

do you find ur diet suffers being on the road so much do you have to go out of ur way to eat healthy stuff.