Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

soundsham wrote: »
    Be nice if his golf was the most commented item here
    It seems some people have a fixation with his weight unfortunately
    He's a great role model for all young and older golfers in this country

Try to catch the Gary Player profile in the "Sporting Greats" series on Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Will be great if he can hold his form out to the end of the season. 5 big money events for him after Portugal, all guaranteed prize money! Must be a good chance he'll get into Decembers Nedbank as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

I've asked for this issue to be off bounds with mods and Cmods.
    We will see if this is possible.

I expect the overwhelming majority agree it is out of order.
    So hopefully we get a result.

SSK - How can we/ I progress this

You dont speak for me and just because you find this issue upsetting does not mean it should be suddenly off the table.

If people want to contribute to this thread in a constructive manner then its not for you to try and dictate what the content of their posts can and cannot be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lettuce97

soundsham wrote: »
    Be nice if his golf was the most commented item here
    It seems some people have a fixation with his weight unfortunately
    He's a great role model for all young and older golfers in this country

I think commenting on a sports person's fitness and how improvements there could help their performances are totally valid. The problem in this case seems to be that people commenting on weight seems to be a touchy subject for some.

I agree with Greebo here - Lowry is obviously working on becoming fitter/slimmer, and is reaping the rewards. I don't see why commenting on that should be off limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,714 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

lettuce97 wrote: »
    I think commenting on a sports person's fitness and how improvements there could help their performances are totally valid. The problem in this case seems to be that people commenting on weight seems to be a touchy subject for some.

I agree with Greebo here - Lowry is obviously working on becoming fitter/slimmer, and is reaping the rewards. I don't see why commenting on that should be off limits.

It comes across as being somewhat obsessive by some commentors... I have no issue with the discussion, but it has gone a bit too far at this stage and has gone on too long... The point has been made and registered... taking it to extremes makes me uncomfortable, not for Shane, not for myself, but there genuinely seems to be a general opinion from some that 'thin people' are better than others... that is what I have taken from this thread & amn't interested in debating it at length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

lettuce97 wrote: »

Especially when the connection between application and results is so easy to spot.
    I think Shane is popular with some because he is seen as "one of the lads". That's fine but I think he himself now realises that this may have to change if he is to compete at the very top level.
    Good luck to him. His fans can catch up later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Bluefoam wrote: »
    there genuinely seems to be a general opinion from some that 'thin people' are better than others

I'm not sure where you are getting that from in this thread as no one has said anything remotely like that here?

Shane tees of on the 10th at 8.20 a.m with Paul Lawrie and Pablo Larrazabal in Portugal Masters on Thursday. His second round will begin at 12.50 p.m on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

I've only just potted that Shane is now up to 53 in the world. Some season!

vienne86 wrote: »
    I've only just potted that Shane is now up to 53 in the world. Some season!

Has won 100 ranking pts since he found his form the week before the BMW.
    Ranked 39th in pts won in 2014 (11th for European players which ties in nicely with his 12th position in race to Dubai).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Maybe people posting weight related musings should have to include their own measurements so that context might be added to the posters comments, and sensitivities can be applied in responding to same. (6ft, 12 stone..+ a bit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭DuckHook

Maybe people posting weight related musings should have to include their own measurements so that context might be added to the posters comments, and sensitivities can be applied in responding to same. (6ft, 12 stone..+ a bit)

I'm open to correction but I doubt there are many professional golfers posting here that are looking to maximize their potential so your post is not remotely relevant to the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭abff

God, I wish I was that thin!:)

DuckHook wrote: »
    I'm open to correction but I doubt there are many professional golfers posting here that are looking to maximize their potential so your post is not remotely relevant to the discussion.

Really?!! It was just an attempt at a lighthearted comment, why so serious? Relax there a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

judging by the pool of talent we have that attend the boards.ie societies, I would say 80-90% of the members are at or below average weight.

Rikand wrote: »
    judging by the pool of talent we have that attend the boards.ie societies, I would say 80-90% of the members are at or below average weight.

I hope to attend an event some day. No interest in peoples weight/size/shape, but would be fun to play!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,944 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Rikand wrote: »

The 10 % are the problem :D

Jaysus - lads this thread is a joke at this stage.

Best golfer we have had in 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

The 10 % are the problem :D

Jaysus - lads this thread is a joke at this stage.

Best golfer we have had in 10 years.

I'm a huge Lowry fan(I'm a bit fat too), and maybe I'm missing the sarcasm here....Paddy, Clarke, Gmac, Rory????

Are u trolling Fixde?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,944 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Goldenjohn wrote: »
    I'm a huge Lowry fan(I'm a bit fat too), and maybe I'm missing the sarcasm here....Paddy, Clarke, Gmac, Rory????

Are u trolling Fixde?

Well some of them are from before 10 years ago - or not from the republic.

The lad is from Offaly - who is the last Offaly golfer we have had ? Never mind republic of Ireland. Not sure I can speak about Shane's Nationality - but I can say he is a bit rotund.

Anyway - done with this thread till issue resolved.

He will win the Open Championship.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Not in the same league as McIlroy (sure who is this year?!) but I think he's one of the best of the rest there at the moment. When he breaks into the top 50 and hits the big pga events I think he'll excell even more.

And the weight thing is getting a bit old now too. Lowry and his team know whats best for him.

Well some of them are from before 10 years ago - or not from the republic.

The lad is from Offaly - who is the last Offaly golfer we have had ? Never mind republic of Ireland. Not sure I can speak about Shane's Nationality - but I can say he is a bit rotund.

Anyway - done with this thread till issue resolved.

Dont have a clue who the last offaly golfer was? My Aunty & Uncle play outta Tullamore but they are nowhere near professional standard, both mid teen handicaps!

Do you mean the next big thing potential superstar outta the Republic in golf terms?

charlieIRL wrote: »

And the weight thing is getting a bit old now too. Lowry and his team know whats best for him.

Which is presumably why we are seeing him significantly tone up this year.
    The guy is having a great end to his year, he isn't the finished article, people think he can push on further but there are things he needs to address, some of which he is working on already.
    But to suggest that he wouldn't benefit from continuing his current weight loss is an illogical argument imo.

Dont have a clue who the last offaly golfer was? My Aunty & Uncle play outta Tullamore but they are nowhere near professional standard, both mid teen handicaps!

Do you mean the next big thing potential superstar outta the Republic in golf terms?

per the charter this is not an invitation to start discussing players nationalities, if that happens cards still be given out and the thread may be closed, you've been warned.

GreeBo wrote: »

per the charter this is not an invitation to start discussing players nationalities, if that happens cards still be given out and the thread may be closed, you've been warned.

lol... how about

Do you mean the next big thing potential superstar outta Leinster/Munster/Connaught in golf terms?

lol... how about

Do you mean the next big thing potential superstar outta Leinster/Munster/Connaught in golf terms?

the warning was quite clear, do not discuss a players nationality.

If you require even further clarification then PM me and I will try to make it even simpler for you.
    Do not reply on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Felexicon

This thread is weird.

He's some golfer but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Level par arfter two holes. RTE really talking up his chances there just now.

Sweet start, -3 after 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Sweet start, -3 after 6.

Is it the same course as his win?

Dealerz wrote: »
    Is it the same course as his win?

Yes the Oceanico Victoria golf club in Vilamoura.