Matchplay Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

If it were me I'd withdraw.

Winning off 9 in round 1 then finding out you should have been playing off 5 as per rules(no matter what the confusion) then to be told sure you will just play off5 in the next round has the whole competition rotten to the core.

That's my opinion and nothing personal tones. I just don't see how it's just brushed away so flipintly but nothing surprises me in golf anymore in terms of handicaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Tones69 wrote: »
    Off 5 for wknd

Was last weekend the Finals?
    And this weekend, The Grand Finals?

Their T&C'S state that you play off 5 at the grand finals!
    So maybe you were entitled to play off 9 last weekend?

Here's the link to the T&C'S for anyone else
    http://www.irishopenmatchplay.ie/index.php/terms-conditions
    Rules 4 is misleading and daft, Rule 15 would suggest that you were perfectly entitled to play off 9 last week.
    Maybe they've just changed the wording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

PARlance wrote: »
    Was last weekend the Finals?
    And this weekend, The Grand Finals?

Their T&C'S state that you play off 5 at the grand finals!
    So maybe you were entitled to play off 9 last weekend?

Here's the link to the T&C'S for anyone else
    http://www.irishopenmatchplay.ie/index.php/terms-conditions
    Rules 4 is misleading and daft, Rule 15 would suggest that you were perfectly entitled to play off 9 last week.
    Maybe they've just changed the wording.

I actually was thinking the same ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

ForeRight wrote: »

Winning off 9 in round 1 then finding out you should have been playing off 5 as per rules(no matter what the confusion) the to be told sure you will just play off 5 in the next round had the whole competition rotten to the core.

That's my opinion and nothing personal tones. I just don't see how it's just brushed away so flipintly but nothing surprises me in golf anymore in terms of handicaps.
    +1 to this, while it's possible that tones69 was one of a small few who weren't asked the question about the two shot drop at check in, it seems most unlikely, especailly when levitronix and his playing partner were asked.
    While in the short term it's possibly massively disappointing for you tones69, in the long run you'll have your honour and reputation intact, the only honourable thing to do is step down.

I actually was thinking the same ;)

Would be interesting to know the full story.
    We can start calling for Tones' head and spouting venom then I suppose.
    Sorry to disappoint you in the meantime ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Would be interesting to know the full story.
    We can start calling for Tones' head and spouting venom then I suppose.
    Sorry to disappoint you in the meantime ;)

Ah sure as he's not a distance member at that place down west, we'll give him the benefit of the doubt :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Yeah looks like it was ok to play off 9 last weekend looking at those t and c. Tones not doing himself nor the event any favours by being so obtuse though.

As someone else said, these things will be ironed out for next year's event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Yeah looks like it was ok to play off 9 last weekend looking at those t and c. Tones not doing himself nor the event any favours by being so obtuse though.

As someone else said, these things will be ironed out for next year's event.

Think he can be as obtuse as he wants to be honest, there was contradictory info, as long as he informed the committee, which he did.

They surely know their own rules?

Be different if it was an actual rule of golf he was arguing over.

+1 to this, while it's possible that tones69 was one of a small few who weren't asked the question about the two shot drop at check in, it seems most unlikely, especailly when levitronix and his playing partner were asked.
    While in the short term it's possibly massively disappointing for you tones69, in the long run you'll have your honour and reputation intact, the only honourable thing to do is step down.

If that rule 15 has just been changed since Tones contacted them then it's incredibly poor form from the organisers.
    Won't do much for the credibility of a tournament they're trying to get up and running.
    They refer to last week as the finals and this weekend as the Grand Finals. So at present he has broken no rules.

But that contradicts what we also know what happened last week, that Levtronixs and others were asked if they were 2 shots lower. Doesn't make sense.

If I knew I had broken a rule then I'd withdraw.
    If the organisers then told me they made a mistake and were going to change the rules then I would still hope I'd withdraw but I wouldn't kid myself by saying it was an easy decision.

It's a bit of a shambles really. Rule 4 still states that handicaps are frozen for the duration of the event. It still contradicts rule 15. So there's still a case that Tones could argue he should be playing off 9 according to Rule 4.

Ultimately, any mud sticks so I'd be bowing out but I'd have a serious gripe with the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Webbs

To be honest not sure I would want to play in a matchplay event that didnt have matches off current handicaps. I cant see why they have a 2 shot rule it makes no sense.

Surely as most matchplays are played it should be your at your lowest handicap from when the comp starts. e.g. start at 10 get down to 7 and maybe back up to 8 then you have to play off 7.

And if I was in tones position I'd be furious as well, poor organisation putting the player in a very difficult position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Think he can be as obtuse as he wants to be honest, there was contradictory info, as long as he informed the committee, which he did.

They surely know their own rules?

Be different if it was an actual rule of golf he was arguing over.

All it was was the difference between "finals" and "Grand finals".

Yes he did confirm he contacted the committee, which he confirmed on thread too.
    "All sorted".Just left it at that, which he's perfectly entitled to do.I would've clarified the outcome especially as there were other competitors on thread. Either way, crisis averted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

What was the original rule?

Rule 4 should have part a and part b, rule 15 should be 4 (b)so there is no confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

ForeRight wrote: »

Winning off 9 in round 1 then finding out you should have been playing off 5 as per rules(no matter what the confusion) then to be told sure you will just play off 5 in the next round has the whole competition rotten to the core.

Norfolk Enchants, the wording of your post above is a bit incriminating implying that Tones was asked about the two shot drop on check in but failed to disclose it. Was that your intention?

Anyway I don't see what withdrawing or stepping down would achieve. No one would be aware of the reasons for the withdrawal apart from possibly those reading here. I can't see the organisers publicly stating the reason why he withdrew. His honor or reputation is not at stake here by continuing to play, he qualified and played according to the rules given at the time. It's purely bad organisation and in the hands of the organsiers to resolve, not Tones.

Tones I hope you go on to win the grand finals outright playing off 5. Maybe question why there was an arbitrary two shot limit before the new handicap became applicable in your winners speech. A one shot cut should have the same impact in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Webbs wrote: »
    To be honest not sure I would want to play in a matchplay event that didnt have matches off current handicaps. I cant see why they have a 2 shot rule it makes no sense.

Surely as most matchplays are played it should be your at your lowest handicap from when the comp starts. e.g. start at 10 get down to 7 and maybe back up to 8 then you have to play off 7.

And if I was in tones position I'd be furious as well, poor organisation putting the player in a very difficult position

Interclub doesnt even have the 2 shot rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭mickelson

Dont really feel the need to be here justifying this and justifying that, its already sorted. As already stated, as was in rule 4 that all hcaps are frozen from april 28th for the duration of the comp. A LOT of people thought this was the case, and originally it was.
    An awful lot of confusion and andrew confirmed that for me on the phone. People on the desk taking hcap certs on the morning knew the scenario on letting people know on hcaps but nothing was said. There was no talk of the 2 shot drop allowance over the whole tournament which has been goin on a long time now. And to that domo lad there im not retaliating to that or i will be banned, AGAIN

i remember the discussion on irish open matchplay website back in march/april . tones is correct. handicaps were frozen. that was the rule. the gui use your lowest from previous year. so it is kind of similar. going from 9 to 5 in one year is good and honest golf in comparison to alot of fellas holding their handicap or getting .1's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Webbs

GreeBo wrote: »
    Interclub doesnt even have the 2 shot rule!

Sorry was talking about club matchplay events which this event is closest to. If you have to bring your hcap cert with you to a match then surely you play off your years lowest makes it fairest all round.

Interclub is a different animal as is a team event and so has to be dealt with differently and all that that entails as numerous threads on here detail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭stitcheddepin

playing off 9 when you know your a current 5. must be difficult to keep a straight face when shaking hands with opponent. not the competitors fault, but the competition committee for overseeing handicaps as poorly as in last weeknds case in carton house.
    lads played for months to get there, seems highly unjust but id imagine there are several guys who made big h/c reductions during the year and cleaned up nicely last weeknd. GUI handicaps there for a reason, don't see why these competitions cant use them correctly.

mickelson wrote: »
    i remember the discussion on irish open matchplay website back in march/april . tones is correct. handicaps were frozen. that was the rule. the gui use your lowest from previous year. so it is kind of similar. going from 9 to 5 in one year is good and honest golf in comparison to alot of fellas holding their handicap or getting .1's.

That's enough for me, seems like a shambles, best of luck at the weekend Tones!
    Would be great to see someone dropping 13(14?) shots in a couple of years and coming out with a win.
    Hope the organisers learn and improve upon this for next year, good to see something new out there.

All that's left is to decide who's going to play the role of Tones in the movie. I'd imagine Di Caprio is favourite to star in The Chameleon of Carlow... Looks like he's off 9 one moment and before we know it, it looks like he's a 5!!!!! :);)

Best of luck

playing off 9 when you know your a current 5. must be difficult to keep a straight face when shaking hands with opponent. not the competitors fault, but the competition committee for overseeing handicaps as poorly as in last weeknds case in carton house.
    lads played for months to get there, seems highly unjust but id imagine there are several guys who made big h/c reductions during the year and cleaned up nicely last weeknd. GUI handicaps there for a reason, don't see why these competitions cant use them correctly.

Why would it be hard to keep a straight face? As others said, that's the norm in many GUI events. So "these" competitions don't use current HC's but neither does the GUI use current ones in plenty too.

I'd prefer to be playing Tones, an honest golfer who will be off 5 next year in this rather than another guy that's stayed off 9 all year but might be just as good a golfer as Tones.

Webbs wrote: »
    Sorry was talking about club matchplay events which this event is closest to. If you have to bring your hcap cert with you to a match then surely you play off your years lowest makes it fairest all round.

Interclub is a different animal as is a team event and so has to be dealt with differently and all that that entails as numerous threads on here detail!

Everything should be off certified current handicap, I dont see why team events would be any different. Nothing says you have to maintain the same team.

Why would it be hard to keep a straight face? As others said, that's the norm in many GUI events. So "these" competitions don't use current HC's but neither does the GUI use current ones in plenty too.

I'd prefer to be playing Tones, an honest golfer who will be off 5 next year in this rather than another guy that's stayed off 9 all year but might be just as good a golfer as Tones.

I think its just ridiculous that in a handicaped event, its not your current handicap.
    Playing a square match when your handicap is 5 shots better than your opponent is crazy, its defeats the point of handicaps in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

Norfolk Enchants, the wording of your post above is a bit incriminating implying that Tones was asked about the two shot drop on check in but failed to disclose it. Was that your intention?

Anyway I don't see what withdrawing or stepping down would achieve. No one would be aware of the reasons for the withdrawal apart from possibly those reading here. I can't see the organisers publicly stating the reason why he withdrew. His honor or reputation is not at stake here by continuing to play, he qualified and played according to the rules given at the time. It's purely bad organisation and in the hands of the organsiers to resolve, not Tones.

Tones I hope you go on to win the grand finals outright playing off 5. Maybe question why there was an arbitrary two shot limit before the new handicap became applicable in your winners speech. A one shot cut should have the same impact in my book.
    No nothing sinister about it all, it's perfectly reasonable to assume he wasn't asked as much as it is perfectly reasonable to assume he was, anyway it's becoming evident it's an organisational problem and tones isn't at fault at all.
    The organiser seriously needs to get up to speed with the rules, singles matchplay has been full difference in handicap for at least 10 years now, and before that it used to be 3/4 the difference.
    I hope Tones does go on to win it outright and tells them off for their organisational skills in his winners speech, I'd pay good money to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pissedasanewt

Slightly off current topic. But whats the story with teams beaten in the last 32 of the singles appearing in the draw for the last 16? Its not even if Team A beats team B and A can't make it this weekend, then B gets brought through. It appears to be a totally random selection of 2 teams getting through.

Also, has there been any information on county and overall prize? all i've seen so far is just there will be prizes for county and over all winners.

I've enjoyed the competition so far. Only played one practice round in Carton, but was lucky my opponent had only played the front 9 in his practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Slightly off current topic. But whats the story with teams beaten in the last 32 of the singles appearing in the draw for the last 16? Its not even if Team A beats team B and A can't make it this weekend, then B gets brought through. It appears to be a totally random selection of 2 teams getting through.

Also, has there been any information on county and overall prize? all i've seen so far is just there will be prizes for county and over all winners.

I've enjoyed the competition so far. Only played one practice round in Carton, but was lucky my opponent had only played the front 9 in his practice.

yeah i know this pissed me off big time, if teams had to drop out, who they were to play should of gotten a by to next round as with any match play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Dont really feel the need to be here justifying this and justifying that, its already sorted. As already stated, as was in rule 4 that all hcaps are frozen from april 28th for the duration of the comp. A LOT of people thought this was the case, and originally it was.
    An awful lot of confusion and andrew confirmed that for me on the phone. People on the desk taking hcap certs on the morning knew the scenario on letting people know on hcaps but nothing was said. There was no talk of the 2 shot drop allowance over the whole tournament which has been goin on a long time now. And to that domo lad there im not retaliating to that or i will be banned, AGAIN

Haha ..you getting banned AGAIN says more about you then it does about me Tones.

My strong spirit of fair play does not allow me to wish you good luck on the weekend but I do hope that you enjoy the day out.

I believe that there will be TV cameras there on the day which I would imagine will appeal greatly to someone like you

Don't forget to give us a wave!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pissedasanewt

I brought my current handicap cert, although I was never asked for it. I think I was only asked what my current handicap was without having to show proof.

I wasn't aware of the two shot reduction rule either. Who reads terms and conditions?

I think the communication on that could have been a little better. Such as..bring your current cert along with you because anybody dropping more then two shots over the year must play off their current handicap.

I brought my current handicap cert, although I was never asked for it. I think I was only asked what my current handicap was without having to show proof.

I wasn't aware of the two shot reduction rule either. Who reads terms and conditions?

I think the communication on that could have been a little better. Such as..bring your current cert along with you because anybody dropping more then two shots over the year must play off their current handicap.

You were required to bring two handicap certs to sundays matches current and original with you just as you were required to have your cert at the start of every match during qualifying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭shabalala

From the outside looking in at this match play thing, it looks pretty shabby how it's been run and is wide open for nothing but arguments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

shabalala wrote: »
    From the outside looking in at this match play thing, it looks pretty shabby how it's been run and is wide open for nothing but arguments!

Seems fitting how it's being played out over Boards.ie so

Well im still kicking , 4 & 3 and 3 & 2 today second round was a battle