Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matchplay Ireland

• 20-08-2014 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭

Surprised there hasnt been a thread on this! Any county winners on here heading up to carton house? Wasnt marketed great this year imo as half the guys in my club havent even heard of it! Pity really as i think its a great idea and can see it getting very popular over the next few years if its kept going. Looking forward to oct none the less :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Got thru a couple of rounds in the singles but lost the semi final on the 19th. Draw was a bit of a mess this year but seemed to run well enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭mickelson

didnt advertise it well in kilkenny. great idea. probably get better over the coming years. caddies is a bit stupid for carton. havent a clue who i am going to rope in to carry my bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

mickelson wrote: »
    didnt advertise it well in kilkenny. great idea. probably get better over the coming years. caddies is a bit stupid for carton. havent a clue who i am going to rope in to carry my bag.

Imo crazy not to have a caddy in matches. If your opponent has a caddy and isnt the friendliest of blokes it can make for a very long day! Must get practice round in o meara as ive only played the monty

o meara is as nice as monty. some absolute class holes. will be tough in october. heavy ground weather etc. im going next week for a round. i have had experiences of both types of caddy. played the castle once, caddy was an awful pr**k. hard to ask a friend to drive to carton and carry my bag for four hours

Really? Ive had lads offering to do it just so they can be up there at it. Cant see what golf fan would say no to u?

maybe ask the wife!!!!!!!!!!

played o meara last tuesday. lovely course. 14 15 16. par 3 par 5 par 3. matches will have some twists and turns over these holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Tones69 wrote: »
    Really? Ive had lads offering to do it just so they can be up there at it. Cant see what golf fan would say no to u?

What golf fan wouldn't want to watch you in your pomp Tones......:pac:

The sergio trousers are comin out for this one haha. Agree on above statement on 14 15 and 16. Lovely holes. 14 is a cracker

Played last sunday. Carton in great condition. Greens gorgeous. Barely got over the line on 18. Played two sound lads. We played par fives under par. Think thats what won it for us. What way will it be sat/sun. 36 holes each day "if" u reach final

Well done. I won my match yesterday myself,delighted! :) I was first out. 36 holes sat and 36 sun if you win that is. Looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Think i ll make the hi light real lol hit a cracker into 9 camera behind the hole catching the ball all the way, got the name taken. Cant wait for Saturday

I ve been playing the course last 4 weeks building up to to it absolutely love the place

Well done. I won my match yesterday myself,delighted! :) I was first out. 36 holes sat and 36 sun if you win that is. Looking forward to it!

what handicap did you play off ? on sunday

levitronix wrote: »
    what handicap did you play off ? on sunday

9. Goes on cert from pre may 1st

im not sure but i think you might of broke the rules, if you lost more than 2 shots of your handicap you have to play off a different handicap, thats why you where you bring two certs with you one from 1st of may and present cert

levitronix wrote: »
    im not sure but i think you might of broke the rules, if you lost more than 2 shots of your handicap you have to play off a different handicap, thats why you where you bring two certs with you one from 1st of may and present cert

Be hell to pay if so! Nothing was said to me? Where did it say that? Back at the start they said they needed a cert dated no later than may 1 and hcaps were frozen for the duration of the event, otherwise sure ud have lads getting back .1s to beat the band over summer to play off a higher handicap for the finals! l ring the guy in the morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Be hell to pay if so! Nothing was said to me? Where did it say that? Back at the start they said they needed a cert dated no later than may 1 and hcaps were frozen for the duration of the event, otherwise sure ud have lads getting back .1s to beat the band over summer to play off a higher handicap for the finals! l ring the guy in the morning!

From terms and conditions:
    15. Any golfer whose handicap falls by more than two shots will play off their current handicap at the Grand Finals.

i could be wrong sent you pm, but i heard if you lost more that shots off your original from 1 st may there was a clause, nothing happens if you get shots back, thats why you needed two certs and were asked if your handicap had changed

i played the doubles it could be different rules or i could really wrong

GreeBo wrote: »
    From terms and conditions:
    15. Any golfer whose handicap falls by more than two shots will play off their current handicap at the Grand Finals.

See that there now. Never read terms and conditions just rules and regukations. Says at the top then that handicaps are fixed for the duration if the competition. May ring the guy in the morning now as nothing was said to me! Grrrrr like a lunatic

i only got an email about that friday. handicaps that is. i was at a wedding friday , so didn't see email till monday. we are ok. but a bit late in the day to be changing rules..... the handicap should be your lowest from the previous year.

Is it a change though, looks like it was there since Day 1?

sorry , seems to be there since day one alright. our handicaps havent changed more than two. so we're ok.

See that there now. Never read terms and conditions just rules and regukations. Says at the top then that handicaps are fixed for the duration if the competition. May ring the guy in the morning now as nothing was said to me! Grrrrr like a lunatic

match over so nothing you can do. see u sat

Can i ask what county you played for , because Wexford are getting into next round as best losers , how the hell can you have best loser in match .i played for kildare

See that there now. Never read terms and conditions just rules and regulations. Says at the top then that handicaps are fixed for the duration if the competition. May ring the guy in the morning now as nothing was said to me! Grrrrr like a lunatic

sent you pm with Andrews number

i think there was a draw. someone pulled out of next weekend

yeah i know that but how the hell can the organizer pick a best loser , i have the email from andrew. The guys we beat played fantastic, myself and my partner hit 11 greens out of 16 each, thats 22 birdie putts between us , it would of been very hard to beat us with them stats. How could they chose a best loser. the email said it was because of there fantastic performance

where's andrew from?

its a great competition. i think next year it will be polished up and will get better and better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

What was the outcome here, seems like a peculiar situation, very unfair if you're penalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

What was the outcome here, seems like a peculiar situation, very unfair if you're penalised?

Why because he didn't read the rules and T&c's fully and somehow thought if was OK to be playing off 9 when his handicap at the time was 5? Come on princess!

Big error on his part and only one outcome I would imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Domo1982 wrote: »
    Why because he didn't read the rules and T&c's fully and somehow thought if was OK to be playing off 9 when his handicap at the time was 5? Come on princess!

Ouch :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

I'd have to say I wouldn't feel comfortable continuing myself even when it is obvious it was a honest mistake.

I don't buy this the match is over nothing you can do about it either. In my case if the opponent from the previous match could not be reinstated in my place, I would still withdraw and give the next opponent a by. These things suck but there was a clear advantage gained regardless. Other people might feel different though.

On a side note, looking at some of the venom spouted on other threads regarding handicaps etc.... I'm surprised the usual suspects are not calling for Tones69's head. In fact Tones whatever you do don't admit to being a distance member also or this place could go into serious meltdown with red cards all over the shop :D

As far as i knew (and a lot of others too) ur handicap was frozen from april 28th for the duration of the comp! Its not an error on my behalf at all, as said i should have been informed when i handed my cert in sunday morning but nothing was said to me. All sorted now anyway

Excellent - always good to do the honourable thing Tones. It is a gentlemans game after all. There will always be next year.

just wondering did you contact your opponent from sundays match and let him know you got shots that were not due ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

I'm on your side mr 69!!

Given the amount of spurious handicaps out there I think they are very much overrated:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Why is there a two shot distinction made before a new handicap becomes applicable? Either the handicap is frozen or it isn't and this criteria sounds like a proper mess and discouraging for all involved. I only heard about the competition in the last few weeks from a friend that also made the finals and he too was of the impression that your playing handicap right through the event was what you started on. Somewhat similar to a multiday competition that hasn't been closed yet so no handicap adjustments applicable. From what I've heard and read I I think Tones' assumption to play off 9 on the day in question was correct until told otherwise.

What if Tones was playing off 9.4 at the start of the competition but currently was down to 7.5, that would make him OK to play off his starting handicap of 9 throughout? But if he had dropped to 7.4 he would have to play the finals playing off 7, seems very arbitrary with the 2 shot figure seemingly plucked out of the air. I can see the merits of freezing the starting handicap to discourage players from handicap building for the finals but why not have it that you play from your lowest handicap of the proceeding 6 months?

I guess all these teething problems will get sorted over time as the organisers gain experience but until then it doesn't sound too appealing with the quite expensive initial entry fee, very expensive practice sessions organised with Carton House, the fiasco as to whether caddies were compulsory and distance measuring devices prohibited and then the terrible "goodie bags" presented to the finalists from having progressed through their county.

i hope your not dq'd for playing honest good golf!!

"Honest Good Golf" - jesus wept!

Tones did not play by the rules - Rule 15 from T&C's to be exact.

The only thing honest here is the mistake - The responsibilty is on the player here and this 'nobody told me' defence is cheap and a little pathetic for a grown man to be hiding behind.

Tones seems like a good guy and is passionate about his golf but he's made an error here with regards to his handicap and has benefited as a result.

The correct decision needs to be reached for the good of the competition and for the sake of Tones reputation

In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭stitcheddepin

I played in this this year, up to county semi finals. agreed with some it is a good idea and has potential, but it was very badly run and that dampens it for me.
    obviously the handicaps for singles matches are crucial, bringing in a rule about two shots differential or whatever for the finals is just plucking rules from the air. it benefits some and screws others so its simply not just. All players should play off GUI handicap at time of finals or, as stated in the rules (before they were altered), play off the handicap as of 1st may for the entirety of the competition.

The only thing honest here is the mistake - The responsibilty is on the player here and this 'nobody told me' defence is cheap and a little pathetic for a grown man to be hiding behind.

Tones seems like a good guy and is passionate about his golf but he's made an error here with regards to his handicap and has benefited as a result.

The correct decision needs to be reached for the good of the competition and for the sake of Tones reputation

Can you be 100% sure rule 15 was there in jan/feb

but if its been listed in the rules since day 1.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Tones did you confirm that rule wasn't in place pre-tournament?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 carton1

Seems to me that the handicap system in Irish golf needs to be reviewed .

I will back Tones69 up on this point, it should of been caught at check it, But while i was there i was asked my partner was asked and other people i spoke to were asked if their handicap had changed by more than two shots.

This rule has been in place since day 1 of the comp, the whole dymanics of tones69 match would changed greatly if played of his proper handicap. If i was beat this way id go bloody mental !! And i still wonder if his opponent was told he was robbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 carton1

On the up side I think the matchplay is a great idea and one that should be supported. We don't have any competitions like this and I say fair play to them for doing this .I am going to enter next year (if there is a next year) and all you lads hiding behind your laptops -shame on you.

Please attack the post and not the poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

carton1 wrote: »
    On the up side I think the matchplay is a great idea and one that should be supported. We don't have any competitions like this and I say fair play to them for doing this .I am going to enter next year (if there is a next year) and all you lads hiding behind your laptops -shame on you.

Why?

Why?

Well i think it great because its one of the only events in Ireland were the comp is not team based and golf is not really a true team sport. Id love more comps like this, id love to see a West of Ireland style comp for handicap golfers. lord mayors is only one that comes to mind