Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Thought the episode had some very poor moments. The scene with the travellers sitting in the caravan on about the tracking device was just cringeworthy. ''He's on the move''. Good Lord. The Terence scenes in Spain were equally bad.

Will stick with it and see how it goes.

I thought the acting was a bit hammy in parts. Hopefully it will improve in the next episodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

mzungu wrote: »
    I would be fairly sure the Dano storyline is over. The killing of Lizzy tonight puts that whole arc to bed. Even if Dano was still alive, he is deemed a trator and would not have any RIRA resources to start any kind of scuffle with Nidge or Tony. The only way the RIRA come back into it could be if they find out the truth about Git.

I would think so too and am pretty sure the RIRA won't feature in season 5. If Dano was alive, Lizzie would be left alive for longer and both would meet up and organise revenge on Nidge. But we already had this story.

Season 5 will feature on Nidge's feud with the travellers, Nidge v Fran (I predict they will have a love/hate relationship to forgive the pun but ultimately will recognise both need each other) and ultimately Nidge v Paulie and/or Terence 'Big Balls'. Season 6 may be a different matter and new storylines could develop which may include the IRA.

As regards Git, I think the IRA knew exactly what he was. Remember Tony hinting about Git getting up to things in clubs. Tony knew Git's form and knew he was probably killed for raping someone as Nidge said. Nidge more or less told Tony the truth and Tony ultimately decided Nidge was more important to him and a better ally than either Git or Dano. Tony may feature for another deal perhaps to get rid of Paulie or Terence? But this may be what season 6 is about.

Git was murdered at the beginning of Series 3 and they ended up burying the body on Frans land. Unbeknownest to Nidge, Fran had kept the finger bone and was jokingly wagging the finger at Deano saying 'ive a bone to pick with you, this is a very serious matter'

There's going to be some significance attached to the Git Loughman bone that Fran has. What story angle will come out of this I am not sure. But could Fran frame Nidge for the murder or attempt this if he was cornered by the gardai? Could Fran end up doing a deal with them?

Great start to the series, miles ahead of last season.

I enjoyed last season (which was my second favourite after my favourite which was season 3) but season 5 could end up being the best yet, topping even season 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Am I the only one thinking that the nephew is following him and being groomed to take over Nidge's empire with his Uncle backing him?

He will probably watch Nidge's back for the whole series and wack him in the end and take over his gang?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Am I the only one thinking that the nephew is following him and being groomed to take over Nidge's empire with his Uncle backing him?

He will probably watch Nidge's back for the whole series and wack him in the end and take over his gang?

Are you talking about Paulie, the guy sent over by Terence Big Balls?

I'm glad that awful word "clipped" wasn't used this episode, but they veered into serious Sopranos parody with the use of "whacked" and Nidge working in a room behind a strip club.

Are you talking about Paulie, the guy sent over by Terence Big Balls?

I'm glad that awful word "clipped" wasn't used this episode, but they veered into serious Sopranos parody with the use of "whacked" and Nidge working in a room behind a strip club.

They couldn't start out saying 'whack' until the the programme became popular IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

walshb wrote: »
    + 1. Fran towards the end of last season was not in the slightest bit afraid of Nidge. Nidge actually seemed fearful of Fran. Fran needs to sort out his all over the place accent, and cut out the out of place "inanyways."
    no matter how hard a man is he will go limp and cry at the thought of a base ball bat being shoved up his rectum :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

But could Fran frame Nidge for the murder or attempt this if he was cornered by the gardai?

In fairness, he deserves to be locked up for crimes against plausibility for keeping it in his fridge! :D

I would love to see them develop Siobhan's character, I like the way we see her now not giving a damn(after finding out the truth about Tommy) and taking risks. She would be great as a loose cannon and even challenging Nidge. The ultimate revenge would be to take everything away from him after all.
    There is no doubt that Charlie Murphy would be up to the task as an actress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nidge will do a spectacular on that halting site nobody will get out alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

I think Nidge came across as weak in his exchange with Patrick and that's part of the reason he turned down the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,839 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus - some of the questions being asked - even when show is on.

You'd nearly expect - why does everybody want to kill nidge.

Sorry - just to advise if you are going to watch this series - go ahead , but if you realy want to watch love hate you sort of have to at least have watched last year - go and do it prior to next week.

Or watch it and go - why is Nidge on holidays in spain
    Why has fran false teeth.
    Why is your man in hospital
    Nidge is always riding your one - why :rolleyes:

laugh wrote: »
    I think Nidge came across as weak in his exchange with Patrick and that's part of the reason he turned down the money.

I think the story was/is a bit lacking there, Patrick gets arsey because he thinks nidge is slagging off his son about headlice, really weak way to open up the storyline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,563 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The Siobhain character is a bit flaky. She goes from depressive/concerned/gentle to a pi$$ed drunken floozy in scenes. Just not at all believable, and more so as some informant.

laugh wrote: »

he didn't want to be there doing that in the first place, when Paulie told him to pay Patrick off he was against it, and only did it because Big Balls told him to.

As Paulie said, Terence has bought and paid for Nidgey.

lufties wrote: »
    I think the story was/is a bit lacking there, Patrick gets arsey because he thinks nidge is slagging off his son about headlice, really weak way to open up the storyline.

Agree - could have been humour for that bit.

But - I guess writer is saying - these lads are headbangers - it is about respect , the slightest insult can turn into anything.

And that is true. Anybody who has had the experience of - " Do you have a smokkkee bud " , will get it.

But - was weak. For him as a writer.

But - the lines he gets most of the time as so authentic - " You can't come here and get a hop of me anytime you want " - nidge looking for a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Not a great season opener IMO. Mostly due to the flash-forward/backwards stuff. For a start it wasn't all that interesting that Nidge was being bankrolled by some guy in Spain and it totally messed with the pace of the "current time" stuff. The Spain trip should have been one scene alluding to the sh*te position that Nidge was in (head scar prominent) followed by the events leading to that meeting (the attempt on his life), a quick jump back to that meeting introducing Paulie and carry on. As it was it jumped back and forth about 4 times. It was jarring.

The other weak point was the inclusion of and killing of Lizzie. It really felt like the writers wished they had just wrapped that up last season and had to get it out of the way.

The traveller stuff is nicely set up for the rest of the season though. I quite enjoyed that it was an off the cuff, innocent remark from Nidge kicking off the feud again. Paulie should be an interesting addition too. Nidge's crew has been missing someone competent and in control for a while now. There's no sense that Nidge has any real power or money (as was confirmed in this episode) so Paulie will add some weight to his "kingpin" credentials.

Agree - could have been humour for that bit.

But - I guess writer is saying - these lads are headbangers - it is about respect , the slightest insult can turn into anything.

And that is true. Anybody who has had the experience of - " Do you have a smokkkee bud " , will get it.

But - was weak. For him as a writer.

But - the lines he gets most of the time as so authentic - " You can't come here and get a hop of me anytime you want " - nidge looking for a ride.

The 'I've a bone to pick with you' line is a bit overused. I enjoyed last night's episode, but the writing is questionable.

Hugh Too wrote: »
    Timeline shifts were super confusing. How many times did he travel to Spain ? Five?

once.

that was all the same meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Something like that, commented that it was a mistake to take on the bodyguard that he suggested to him, they have a prior relationship and in essence his loyalty with be to the nephew if push to shove, not the guy you want watching your back and I think he will play a big part if they decide to take him out. Nidge is slippery though so no guarantee it would actually work. Can see Nidge cutting a deal, or trying to at least with the Gardai before this season is out he will have so many enemies looking to put a bullet in him

lufties wrote: »
    The 'I've a bone to pick with you' line is a bit overused. I enjoyed last night's episode, but the writing is questionable.

Yes - stupid too.

But there is so much dialogue - hard to get it all right. That is the sort of giddy immature humour these lads would use. They basically never leave school mode.

Yes - stupid too.

But there is so much dialogue - hard to get it all right. That is the sort of giddy immature humour these lads would use. They basically never leave school mode.

Yea I understand, it just seems that the script writers realised it was a line the got a lot of laughs in season 3, so they'd re-use it a few more times.

That can't be right. Was he not there before and after he got his head split open?

they were flash forwards, up to the point where Nidge got attacked, then he went to Spain, asked for a loan, and Terence said he could have the loan, but it comes with Paulie.

You can see the scar on Nidge's head when he's in Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

That can't be right. Was he not there before and after he got his head split open?

No, he was there once. It was a catch up, showing mind frame, introducing the nephew, the continental angle and how the perception is of the gang to other criminals.

Done pretty well imo

I sense - Pavee point on Joe Duffy soon.

I never picked up that Paulie was Big Balls' nephew.

Was it explicitly stated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I never picked up that Paulie was Big Balls' nephew.

Was it explicitly stated?

Think he said it as he introduced them...wouldn't swear to it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Is the young lad that was with Lizze before she got shot and who ran off to get a balaclava, Janets son Aaron?

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Think he said it as he introduced them...wouldn't swear to it though

did - watching it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭Bacchus

kryogen wrote: »
    No, he was there once. It was a catch up, showing mind frame, introducing the nephew, the continental angle and how the perception is of the gang to other criminals.

Done pretty well imo

I disagree. The scene itself, in it's entirety, is fine but I think it would have worked far better with just 1 cut instead of about 4. There was too much going forward and back. At first it was a flash forward, then it was a flash back. Yes it was possible to track what was happening but it doesn't mean it was good or the best way to do it.