Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Festina lente

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Really well done, ray. Great racing!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Nicely done Ray, that's a great result. Good to see you getting back into shape.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

easy 10k around Tymon this morning - very slow to start, took about 20 minutes to warmup. Then 30 minutes break before heading out again to help with the kids XC training, another 3 or 4k

Just under an hour home from work. Nice weather for ducks :) but also running. Might have been a problem on a long run, but for an hour it was nice and cool and fresh. dripping with rainwater rather than sweat when I got home :)

just a 40 minute jog into work

no time for updates...

Tempo Tuesday I was late getting out to the group - foisting off my kids on other coaches so I could run :) Missed the start of the first tempo, so it was just under 5k, 3.51 pace. Second run I was feeling the effects of the weekend, and set off way too fast at first so I was fading badly, but another guy caught up and we pushed ourselves on, 3.53 for the second tempo was better than it should have been.
    Wednesday I was out for a work dinner so couldn't do my medium run, just two laps of UCD. The dragon that attacked AMK had migrated south, took a lump out of my leg on the second lap, but I managed to limp to safety...
    Thursday a very easy jog in to work, and some running with the kids in the evening
    Friday, my last Friday off of the summer :( Tymoned a while as usual
    Was feeling quite tired yesterday, and was out for a few drinks last night, so this morning I just rolled over and got some more sleep :eek:
    Will pay for it tomorrow when I have to do XC training with the kids soon after a long run....

Just over two hours for the long run -up to Phoenix park, in Islandbridge, up Military and across to the glen, then switched to the trails for a while. Grand run, but I'd rather have recovered by putting my feet up for a while rather than going out for a run with the kids :pac:

Month|2010|2011|2012|2013|2014
    January|38.8|105.61|187.46|257.13|202.59
    February|35.5|106.68|191.79|212.8|217.1
    March|53.2|121.83|214|45.93|249.45
    April|72|106.33|201.18|51|150.36
    May|75.9|107.13|175.21|41.9|123.51
    June|90.2|64.85|150.09|89.72|150?
    July|118.1|126.92|242.21|147.92|200?
    August|124.4|168|240.27|173.96|227.51
    September|154|171.75|203.69|178.55|
    October|108.7|191.2|229|196.88|
    November|58.4|128.9|283.87|208.34|
    December|83|166.58|285|233.23|
    Total|1012.2|1578.1|2604|1837.3|

bloody hell, haven't updated in ages...
    Monday just a 50 minutes run home from work
    Tuesday, recovery run in the morning, tempo in the evening, 3.49 and 3.54, but I felt knackered
    Wednesday, lap of UCD and home, 16k total
    Thursday, 50 minutes in to work again, then a few k running with the kids in the evening
    Friday, up at 6am :( for 10k around Tymon
    and today, Tymon again, this time for an MP run. 4 laps of Tymon - 16k - at 4.06 average pace. That's 2/3 seconds faster than I expect to be able to hold next month, but close enough. Plan is long run next week, then Dublin half, another long run,and then a longer PMP run in early October (since Captain Meany won't let me run the Novices:() before tapering down.
    Supposed to spend the day sitting on the couch, with just a quick trip to Dundrum so the kid could get Di Maria on his top. Elverys machine was broken. No problem, Lifestyle have a machine too. And yes, it works! But they have no As left. But Elverys can sell us a letter so up we go again! But guess what - no As left there either. So then we gave up and got ice-cream

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

It's all Falcao's fault.

grrrr, very irritating week

Monday was a scheduled day off, platelet donation. Platelet levels well down on usual, BP up to 130/70 instead of normal 120/60. Hmmmm
    Tuesday - stomach bug, felt like complete ****
    Wednesday - still wiped out
    Yesterday - running home, within a couple of steps my right thigh was sore (and again when training the kids that evening)
    This morning - jog into work, still sore :(:mad:

Don't think its an injury as such - I haven't had a chance to get injured - more a reaction to the couple of days without food/being run down. Pain in the arse though because I had planned to go for a long run tomorrow and that's not going to happen now, and Sunday I have the kids XC in the morning so if I can fit in a long run it will be afternoon/evening.

no run yesterday, gave it a rest
    kids XC this morning, bus over to Balbriggan and back, so it was 3 o'clock :eek: before I got out for my run. And it isn't even the last Sunday in January!
    Got intoa rhythm sooner than I expected, and the kms ticked by - same as last time, up to the park, through the hilly southern section, onto the trails by farmleigh, around the zoo, back up chesterfield, back through the hills and home. Weird running through the park at that time. There was a gang of families having barbecues by the knockmaroon gate, and loads of people around farmleigh and chesterfield. Watch battery crapped out on the way through the memorial gardens, but total run was close to 2.5 hours. The last few miles were tough, and I'm wrecked now, but that makes me more glad I got it done - I don't have enough long runs under my belt and I really felt that today. It was weird actually, after about 1.40 or 1.50 I was really feeling the distance, before realising wtf, sure I've only run a half marathon, that's not even long :confused::o Anyway, ticked off now, no persistent pain in my thigh, just the usual "oh, now my thigh is sore.... mow its my knees.... now my achilles.... now my feet... now I'm just ****ing tired..." :pac:

50 minutes home from work yesterday, tired at the start and thought it would be a tough one but relaxed into it after a couple of k
    slow jog into work this morning. Still feeling my thigh a bit, but should be ok

tempo Tuesday, step up yesterday to 25+20 minutes, didn't bother me because I was only doing one :) 3.51 pace for the 25 minutes. If I can manage that on Saturday I'll be laughing, sure its only an extra hour :pac:
    80 minutes round UCD and home again today
    Thigh/groin still a bit sore on and off. Don't think its slowing me down, but I could be wrong, and it could be a different story after an hour at race pace. Couple of very easy days now, will see how it goes.

easy 45 back in to work yesterday, and up early for a very easy 30 minute loosener this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Good luck tomorrow ray.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Have fun Ray!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Fair play man great running today

fecking technology, and me for being a slave to it :rolleyes:
    garmin didn't get a signal until almost two miles in, and it was another mile before it gave me real readings, so I spent the first half of the race wondering how fast I was going. Second half I knew I was in more or less the right group and the right pace, but 30 seconds up or down? No idea. :rolleyes:
    things worked out okay anyway, 1.23.04 chip time, that'll do on that course, think I'd take a good 30 seconds off on something flatter, or if had pacing information:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I spotted you as you were about to turn onto chesterfield ave at mile 7.5. You were running strong at that stage. Well done on the finish time!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Nicely done. Back now to your "7 mins into work run" plan ya fecker :)

TbL

very easy week,recovering from the half - no run on Sunday (well, a jog around a field to measure it with my Garmin), in and out of work Monday to Thursday, and a fecking early run on Friday - all under 10k and at an easy pace.
    long run this morning, and had to be done early because OH has a thing.So up around 6.30 and out of the house by 7.15. Usual long run, up and around the park. (Was that AMK I passed on the trails by the North Road?) Went much better than the last one, two weeks ago, no drop in pace on the way home. All the same, I wasn't complaining too much about my deadline to get back...
    30.73km in 2.26 (4.46/km pace)

Yep, it was me, don't worry, I'm well used to you passing me out ;)

When I was about 20m back, I thought "that looks like AMK"
    but then I got closer and thought, "no, isn't him"
    and I couldn't turn to look as I passed because I was concentrating on keeping my feet in the long grass. Sorry!

No worries at all. I was going so slow, you'd have traveled backwards :)

surprised tBL hasn't been in to update my log for me, he knows my training so well ;)
    no run Sunday - was up at Tymon at 8 setting up for the XC,didn't finish taking it down until 2,and had another club thing that evening. Seriously knackered that day
    Monday was an easy run home from work
    Tuesday, slow jog back in to work in the morning. The usual club gang wasn't around in the evening for a tempo, so I went over to Tymon for 8k at marathon pace
    Today, usual loop around UCD and home, but went around the outside this time, on the marathon course from the bridge over the Dodder to UCD flyover. There's no fecking hill there at all! *

Month|2010|2011|2012|2013|2014
    January|38.8|105.61|187.46|257.13|202.59
    February|35.5|106.68|191.79|212.8|217.1
    March|53.2|121.83|214|45.93|249.45
    April|72|106.33|201.18|51|150.36
    May|75.9|107.13|175.21|41.9|123.51
    June|90.2|64.85|150.09|89.72|150?
    July|118.1|126.92|242.21|147.92|200?
    August|124.4|168|240.27|173.96|227.51
    September|154|171.75|203.69|178.55|202.86
    October|108.7|191.2|229|196.88|
    November|58.4|128.9|283.87|208.34|
    December|83|166.58|285|233.23|
    Total|1012.2|1578.1|2604|1837.3|

* guaranteed to come back and bite me in a few weeks :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Mon: 9 mins into work easy.

Tue: 2 laps of the GAA pitch, had to do the second lap coz I lost my runner (a 1986 Nike Air Max) on the first lap.

Wed: cross training, had to paint the graffiti of the Bros Pearse clubhouse.

Thur: rocked up to the club session late, missed most of session, bit of a niggle, did 1 stride

Fri: am: 17.5 mins into work, roadworks not a new job cause of the extra time
    Fri: pm: one lap of Tymon, picked up two black bags of litter on the way around. Really people cop on! Now have a bad back from stooping down for all the litter!

Sat: half marathon PB low 1.20's coz it's easy people.

Sun: 714 mins longish run, did a bit of coaching with the kids when I eventually got back.

This plans not for everyone people :)

RC

Mon: 9 mins into work easy.

Tue: 2 laps of the GAA pitch, had to do the second lap coz I lost my runner (a 1986 Nike Air Max) on the first lap.

Wed: cross training, had to paint the graffiti of the Bros Pearse clubhouse.

Thur: rocked up to the club session late, missed most of session, bit of a niggle, did 1 stride

Fri: am: 17.5 mins into work, roadworks not a new job cause of the extra time
    Fri: pm: one lap of Tymon, picked up two black bags of litter on the way around. Really people cop on! Now have a bad back from stooping down for all the litter!

Sat: half marathon PB low 1.20's coz it's easy people.

Sun: 714 mins longish run, did a bit of coaching with the kids when I eventually got back.

This plans not for everyone people :)

RC

Class :pac: :pac:

:pac::pac: Brilliant :pac::pac:

Maybe in future I'll send you my Garmin link and let you write the report :pac:

Just a short one into work this morning, alarm didn't go off so was pushed for time
    Calves a bit tight starting off, but no time for foam rolling :(
    That niggle in my groin/thigh/hip is still there, no worse, no better. Ice cube massage on the area the last couple of nights :eek:

yesterday - fecking 6am run, up and around Tymon

Today - PMP session. Original plan was to do same as last time (4 laps of Tymon ~16k) but add another lap (~20k) but all the cool kids were talking about Tergat sessions in the main forum so I thought I'd try it. The 2 minute recoveries made it sound easier It meant another 5/6k running, and I need more time on my feet. My watch is set to kms, and I show time and pace rather than distance, so I reckoned instead of 5/4/3/2/1 I'd do 35/28/21/14/7, more or less the same.

3.6k warmup
    35.02 @ 4.04 (8.61km = 5.35 miles)
    28.01 @ 4.07 (6.8km = 4.22 miles)
    21.01 @ 4.05 (5.14km = 3.19 miles)
    14.01 @ 4.04 (3.44km = 2.13)
    7.02 @ 3.56 (1.8 = 1.11)
    2.92 cooldown

32.31 km total (just over 20 miles)

So the good thing is that I didn't drop below PMP for any of the intervals. The bad thing is that if I pace like that on the day there'll be an almighty explosion somewhere:rolleyes:
    2/3 more PMP runs to do, including a 4/3/2/1 next weekend. Target pace for those will be 4.10. I need to slow down...