Ever been scammed/grifted/had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Years ago my Dad was in the pub and there was a fella going round selling camcorders for pittance.

Dad and two of his mates were interested, so they followed the fella out to the carpark and they paid the money.

Fella had shown them the camcorder, put them all in their boxes, turned his back for a second, handed the boxes to the lads and they all went off happy as Larry.

Dad came home, opened the box and was greeted by the sight of two bags of Suicra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Outside Aldi in D22 one day waiting on taxi to get home and 2 lads of irish ethnic minority pull up and offer me an Inspiron 1500 (worth about 450 at the time) for €50, i said yeah sure give me the laptop to check it doesnt have ID10T errors on it. Confused they hand me the laptop and i turn it on and make sure it boots. Offer them the 50 there and then and holding onto the laptop they say "give it back and we will put it in the laptop bag for you".

Nope tis grand as it is. heres your 50.....

Sweet laptop still going strong :D

Yeah, that didn't happen, or else you're posting using your tooth and a small stick..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I was in a well known pub in Clondalkin, my round came up - I don't get drunk easily, everyone else was locked- I went up and ordered, paid with a €50 - the barman gave me change like I'd given him a €20 (small round). I called him back and told him "Mate, I'm stone cold here, pull the other one.." and he sheepishly handed me the rest of my change. I wonder how many get quietly caught with that one and never notice..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Recently I was getting petrol when a man approached me to ask for help. He said he had to rush his partner into hospital earlier that day and with all the stress he forgot to take cash out. He said his car had run out of petrol a mile or so up the road and asked me for €20 to put petrol in a jerry-can.
    I'm not a complete dope - I knew there was a chance he wasn't genuine, but I'd have felt like a monster if I didn't help him, in case he was genuine. I gave him the money and he gave me his number (an 089 one). The powers of being put on the spot.

That night I felt uneasy about the transaction so googled it, and yep, it's a classic scam.
    Gave it a couple of days and rang/texted. Surprise! No response. :)

I'm lucky to be in full-time employment and not in any trouble financially, so €20 is no biggie. But - feck me, it's dismaying that someone could take advantage of someone's guilt like that! And what if I was someone who was struggling financially? I and many others just wouldn't feel right refusing, and it's so depressing that there are others who know this full well and use it to their advantage.
    I hate that this incident will make me more cynical in future. But maybe I'll hear from him soon... when the little piggies are flying. :)

Just do nothing for anyone ever

thats what I do and ive never been had plus after a while people stop asking so its win win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I was in a well known pub in Clondalkin, my round came up - I don't get drunk easily, everyone else was locked- I went up and ordered, paid with a €50 - the barman gave me change like I'd given him a €20 (small round). I called him back and told him "Mate, I'm stone cold here, pull the other one.." and he sheepishly handed me the rest of my change. I wonder how many get quietly caught with that one and never notice..
    If that was in Finches id be surprised your alive to tell the tale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

my at the time bank in Australia rang me one day asking did i recently purchase shoes in china.. which i didn't so they cancelled my card.. the scammers only went for something small thankfully, but it could have been alot worse..

Similar happened to me but in Macys in NYC. Have to be careful with your CC details online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

cloud493 wrote: »
    When I was younger, the new PSP games console had just come out, and it was sold out in all the shops, I was gutted obviously. Came out of Game, two chaps asked me if I wanted a PSP off them, cheaper than Game! Delighted I was, they said I had to give them the cash to buy it, then they'd meet me at a well known spot in 20 minutes. Me being arguably the stupidest I've ever been, handed them over £120 cash, sure I was gonna have a brand new PSP in 20 minutes. Surprise surprise, they didn't show up, I waited literally 3 hours for them :( *

*Turned out my mum actually knew who they were, went round their house that evening,and I don't know what she did/said but they came round, gave me my money back and a meek apology, than ran off with their tails between their legs.
    JayRoc wrote: »
    I would not be ****ing with your Mam

I would... Giggidy goo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Lots of blunt/drunk punters get caught, every night - they stuff the change in their pocket, and later wonder how they don't have enough for a taxi home.

I knew an ex-barman who ran a shop, and he would try it every time. Always handed over the missing money before you could say "Eh, you...". Next day and every day, same thing. I think it was in his DNA at that stage. Always count your change.

Too much prestidigitation in the world.

A con is short for a confidence trick, i.e. gain the confidence of the mark/victim (make them believe) before doing the trick.

Do not engage; keep walking; wear earphones so it looks like you cannot hear them (start talking out loud to your imaginary friend); do not make eye contact; ignore them. They will just move on to the next sap.

Phone / e-mail scams are the worst. Punters often get taken for big money by these, but I don't expect to read their stories here as it would be too embarrassing for them to admit.

Unexpected inheritance from a relative you never knew you had? Black money? Unclaimed account? Lottery win (even though you never bought a ticket)? The permutations are almost endless.

Stolen wallet? Need a hostel? Money for a phone call? Baby in arms needs food? Lost your bag? Need a smoke? Don't know the time?

If you feel you have to reply (we are all taught to be polite...) just say something like "Hey, I'm broke." or just plain "No."

If you are walking, keep walking. If you are stationary, start talking/telling very loudly to the other person on your phone (remember those earphones?).

Don't be their mark.

Last resort: start proselytising for Jebus, with lots of hand-waving and repetition of the importance of being born again. Think Ian Paisley here.

Best resort: ignore, and refuse to engage.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Ging Ging

Flew to India few years back and my bag was lost by airline, so time spent trying to sort that out meant I missed the pre-arranged hotel pick up. This resulted in getting a random taxi from one of hundreds of intensely eager suitors.

We were assured he knew where our hotel was. After a bumpy ride he declared to our jet lagged selves that he couldn't find it but not to worry as he would stop at an "official government tourist office". Grand. They phoned our hotel and put us on, the receptionist said our bed was given away but don't worry as a room in their sister hotel was available for us. We just wanted to go to sleep so agreed. The hotel was probably the worst in New Delhi.

The next day they cranked up the grifting by getting us back down to the friendly neighbourhood tourist office under apparently to phone up their connections in British Airways about my bag. Instead they set about trying to sell us guided tours of everywhere. We didn't make it easy though as we had plans and were there to backpack not be driven around. They spent hours scamming us which involved trying to scare us by bringing us to the dodgiest area to go to ATM and basically saying how dangerous India was etc. We also had numerous fake phone calls with airlines, train and bus companies and hotels. Basically wherever we wanted to go (on the cheap) was not possible as a local religious festival had just sprung up so no accommodation or the travel was really expensive. We caved and signed up for 3 day guided tour of Delhi, Agra, Jaipur.

I think it was around 300 euro a head (4 heads) including accommodation and getting driven around so not too bad but by Indian prices it was a major burn.

Still, this welcoming scamola tour and guide protected us from other scams for 3 days which was enough time for us to get culturally adjusted and be better able to spot the others coming and come they did. This very well organised and known scam actually turned out to be in the guidebook which we later read, its up there with buying precious gems from a guy on a street corner but takes a little longer.

Basically in India everyone wants a piece of you.

Not Your Ornery Onager

^ The other three heads must have been much more jet-lagged than you.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Bought something on ebay from a guy who never sent it, apologised for it getting lost somehow and said he'd send it again, but never did. Dragged it out beyond the period you have to complain/report to ebay, then never contacted me again.

So I took the email address he'd been using to comminicate with me, went to a load of nasty porn sites, and wherever possible, signed that email address up for daily porn emails.

Hopefully got him in trouble with somebody somewhere.

Not Your Ornery Onager

osarusan wrote: »
    So I took the email address he'd been using to comminicate with me, went to a load of nasty porn sites, and wherever possible, signed that email address up for daily porn emails.
    Japanese nasty? You the man!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Borracho Feliz

About 4 years ago I was walking down Camden Street one Friday after work, when a ridiculously hot girl caught my eye coming towards me down a side street. As she passed I noticed she was in deep discussion (I thought Italian at the time) with a guy a million leagues below her, who had his arm around her. He was dressed like crap, and looked like he could eat tomatoes thru a tennis racket - he was in bits. This really bewildered me, and remembered thinking as a single man - that **** just ain't right!
    Anyways, it was well over an hour later after me running my errands when I found myself all the way over on Talbot Street (I was not buying a cue bag honestly), and there I was faced by this blonde again who seemed to be walking towards me and wanting me to stop. She was wearing pretty fashionable office type gear, expensive looking sunglasses and carrying a case. She told me in a pleading state that she needed help getting home (Bray or somewhere far enough away like that), as she left her purse at work. She claimed she worked in the IFSC and she returned when she realised she forgot it but its all locked up now, and has no access to her cards and money. She asked me for a "loan" of a strange amount such as €7.20 or something like that for her transport home. She even made damn sure I saw her cleavage. As she spoke, and when I was not focused on said cleavage, I was busy scanning the street for that guy from 'The Hills Have Eyes', but I could not see him.
    Even tho I knew her story was untrue, I resisted giving her both barrels and just simply lied that I could not help her as I was only a broke student and said goodbye. Curiosity got the better of me, and I decided to follow her. She first stopped a group of teenaged tourists and gave them the same spiel. They all gladly did a whip round for her. Then she crossed the road and that's when I noticed she made a discreet handover to that mankbag I saw her with earlier, who casually passed her by not looking. Within 20 mins she had gotten 3 lone guys on different streets with the same routine and one I noticed 1 had given her a tenner. I was even on the phone to a mate describing what I am currently witnessing. All the while looking out for a cop but of course not seeing one when u need one. As it carried on I went from being mildly amused to wanting these two busted. How long has she been doing this??
    I realised the time had gone away from me and I was late for a meet so I had to give up my stalking after I saw the 6th party hand over some dosh to her with NOBODY else refusing her. Also, I was a bit worried the guy would notice me following her coz he looked like a nutter in fairness. I called the guards and gave a description and location but could not wait around to see what happened. Really hope they got them, but in hindsight I should have called them much earlier. Not that it matters much, but after doing some traveling I am now convinced that the language they were speaking was Romanian. On another day, this mirage could have tricked me into digging deep into my pockets too. Mad.

Not Your Ornery Onager

alz007 wrote: »
    ... I decided to follow her. ... Within 20 mins... I was late for a meet... I saw the 6th party hand over some dosh... could not wait around to see what happened. Mad.
    Thank you, Mad.

Just one more thing... have you ever watched Columbo?

20+ minutes amateur sleuthing = you had waaay to much time on your hands to be doing surveillance on Talbot St. Didja even have any backup? Speed-dial to Store St even, Stephen? Didja make that meet after?

She sounded hot (from your description) so fair play for not "giving her both barrels".

Where are you usually on patrol these days? See many plays? Smile silently to yourself and walk on. Otherwise, go total Big Ian Yin, and call out the sin. Make the sinners hear so the sheep don't get too near.

tl/dr Slight pain in your back, from that guy who was 10e6 leagues below her. But now you are stabbed - in the lung you hope; bleeding, on the ground. She + he are long gone (car + driver close by).

Seriously, why? Unless you were drunk and wanted to save the world. Be a monk, not the pope. Save yourself first, and then save the rest.

The main thing is to get the flock out of there. Let the sheep weep.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭kellso81

Playing on people's guilt seems a common theme here. I was working in a chemist in Dublin a few years back and we were pretty busy when a woman came up to me at the till with a baby bottle steriliser under her arms. She said she had got it as a present a few weeks back so didn't have receipt but that she had lost her baby during the delivery. Went into details about how horrific it was. I was a bit skeptical but honestly believed no-one would make up such a horrible story so naively gave her a refund of €100. After she left I was down the shop when i noticed the gap where the steriliser should have been. She came into the shop, lifted it off the shelf and walked straight to me who handed her €100 for it, never felt like such a mug, but also almost felt sorry for how pathetic she was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Borracho Feliz

Esel wrote: »
    Thank you, Mad.

Just one more thing... have you ever watched Columbo?

What an enlightening critique there Esel. You should have stayed true to your word, and left the "just one more thing" (answer is a 'no' on Columbo btw) question as indeed the last thing, instead of writing all that gack. Seriously, why? Think it was an attempt at humour but I'm not sure. By the sounds of it, it's like u have way too much time on ur hands and drunk to boot. Oh the irony. Just pointing out my observations that day. Whatever man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

i think the combination of being slightly drunk and trying to enjoy yourself makes you not concentrate as to what money you give and what change you get.

I remember one night i said to the bar tender "i gave you a tenner" and he said unless it was in the ten stack in the till he was right.

i should have waited for him to finish work and then sorted it out mano y mano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

In Georges Street Dublin 4 weeks ago. A tramp hanging around the 65/83 bus stop wanted change for the bus. I gave him 2 euro. He melted off the bus stop and into a side street towards Stephen's green shopping centre. ..no bus routes in that direction..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

A well-known junkie in Bray came up to me once, asking me could he use my phone to make a call, was an emergency, blah blah blah. Knew him to see so was very wary. He pulled out twenty euros and said I could hold onto it while he made the call. No chance, just said no and strolled on. Naturally, he started abusing me for not giving him the chance to steal my phone. :rolleyes:

Saw him a while later hobbling into a shop on crutches. Later the same day, saw him hurl the crutches into a car and get in with no trouble whatsoever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

i think a lot of con artists just catch you unawares. they sort of stun you with what they ask and sort of confuse you. i often get asked for cigarrettes by strangers when out. Just tell em to **** off.

if a stranger asks what time is it, thats a question you are used to. But if its something youve never heard before, just walk away and dont be afraid to be rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yes, by someone I considered a close friend.

I loaned him €300 over 8 years ago and never got it back.

I hope he dies roaring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

A well-known junkie in Bray came up to me once, asking me could he use my phone to make a call, was an emergency, blah blah blah. Knew him to see so was very wary. He pulled out twenty euros and said I could hold onto it while he made the call. No chance, just said no and strolled on. Naturally, he started abusing me for not giving him the chance to steal my phone. :rolleyes:

Saw him a while later hobbling into a shop on crutches. Later the same day, saw him hurl the crutches into a car and get in with no trouble whatsoever.

Until a few years ago, I had a really crappy old Nokia. I was waiting for a bus on Eden Quay one night, and someone who looked as though he might have been a bit fond of the auld heroin asked if he could use my phone, because his 'mot' had gone into labour. There was nobody else around, so I was a bit scared to say no. He took one look at the phone and said "Ah, it doesn't matter... ye wouldn't have €2 for me bus fare?"

I gave him the €2 out of pity. I hope he bought his newborn child something nice with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Yes, by someone I considered a close friend.

I loaned him €300 over 8 years ago and never got it back.

I hope he dies roaring.

Did you confront him? Does he have any ceramic gnomes at the front of his house you could steal to compensate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Did you confront him? Does he have any ceramic gnomes at the front of his house you could steal to compensate?

Yes I did a number of times and he was fobbing me off.

Last time I met him was in a pub and he told me to go fook myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

kellso81 wrote: »
    Playing on people's guilt seems a common theme here. I was working in a chemist in Dublin a few years back and we were pretty busy when a woman came up to me at the till with a baby bottle steriliser under her arms. She said she had got it as a present a few weeks back so didn't have receipt but that she had lost her baby during the delivery. Went into details about how horrific it was. I was a bit skeptical but honestly believed no-one would make up such a horrible story so naively gave her a refund of €100. After she left I was down the shop when i noticed the gap where the steriliser should have been. She came into the shop, lifted it off the shelf and walked straight to me who handed her €100 for it, never felt like such a mug, but also almost felt sorry for how pathetic she was!

Wow that's a new low. That gave me a shiver that any woman would make up a story like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

DazMarz wrote: »
    This is a classic scam that is used to try to con many people out of money from banks/post offices/credit unions/etc. (usually, but not always, this scam is perpetrated by two individuals of the foreign extraction; more specifically Romanian extraction... hey, I don't make the rules! The fact is that most of the perps in this particular scam happen to hail from Vampire Land, so it ain't my fault! I'm just passing on the good word!)

Anyway, the scam works that the two perps walk into the place, up to the cashier with a big wad of €50 notes. They then ask, in suitably broken English, to change this amount into €20 notes. The cashier complies, then all of a sudden, our Continental cousins change their mind. They usually claim they wanted Pound Sterling or something else, but not €20 notes. They ask for their original wad of €50's back. Using distracting chatter and sleight of hand, they get their €50's back, and the poor sucker behind the counter is left somewhere between €200 and €500 light once they get their €20's back. The two perps are gone before the fact is realised.

Twice, they've tried this with me in work. In fairness to An Post, if it is known that these fúckers are on the prowl, you'll receive a warning about it. So we usually are aware that they're in the area. The first time, I played along, strung them along, gave them their €20's... then flat-out refused to hand them back their own €50's (all of which were genuine €50's, by the way... I didn't get double-bluffed with forgeries). They started getting stroppy and everything. I picked up the phone and rang the local cop shop. You've never seen two lads leave quicker. Fúcking up yours, motherfúckers.

Second time, they caught me in a bad mood. I flat out refused to play ball and just told them to piss off and called the law. They scarpered sharpish.

Yep they tried it on me when I worked in a clothing store in liffey valley many moons ago. I knew of this scam so held onto the 50s while counting the 20s they were handing back to me. It was light to the tune of 100 so I just refused to HAND anything over until the missing money reappeared. My manager called security and started closing the shutters,cue the two ladies going ballistic and low and behold the money was miraculously found in one of their shoes where it 'fell'. That day they tried the same thing in vue cinemas, bought 120 worth of cinema tickets then wanted a refund almost instantly, the guy behind the counter kept their money,the change they handed back AND their cinema tickets and had them thrown out. Serves them right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

clothing store.... so held onto the 50s while counting the 20s they were handing back to me.

How does this scam work in a clothing store? I understand in a bank, but a cloth shop???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Got asked right outside the front gates of Trinity college by some guy in his 40/50s and his kid (probably 10-12) to help them out. His story was that they were up from Mayo for the weekend, the car broke down and they needed the price of a train ticket - will give me his number, pay back, etc. I didn't have any money on me but asked how much the price of the tickets were... €70 apparently! :pac:

Now rather than wet myself laughing at him, I decided to get some entertainment out of it. I asked him what part of Mayo he was from and he mentions a small town that practically half of my family come from, so on we go talking about this pub, that park, etc while I was making half of it up and using the names of places that closed years ago. Then I asked him why he wasn't able to use his bank card, we're in the middle of town after all. He reminds me that was the problem - he had locked the keys in the car by accident. I tell him I've worked in banks and he should be able to get a few quid out by going through security questions, etc. Even offered to walk him in because I knew he would do a quick U-turn.

At this point he started to get a bit frustrated and flustered at the same time, "typical Dubliners, blah blah blah" and making a minor scene, drawing others attention to it I'm guessing to try and shame me into giving him money to get him to go away. So at this point I tell him his car insurance will cover the breakdown, that his story didn't add up since he said his car was broken down at first then told me the problem was he locked the keys inside, and everything in Mayo he talked to me about doesn't exist. That was a great day. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Yep, once in New York a bunch of big guys stood around me in a circle, handed me a rewritable CD and told me it was their new album, one of them took it back from me asked my name and signed it, then they demanded I give them $20 cos they're after putting my name on it an. I gave them 10 and ran off.

I think being surrounded by about a dozen angry men was the effective bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

Senna wrote: »
    How doezs this scam work in a clothing store? I understand in a bank, but a cloth shop???

Purchase an item request change in 20s then change their mind about the Purchase there and then. They ask for a refund and as you go to top up their change theey ask for the original 50s back instead. sounds convoluted but being asked for specific denominations of change was common enough.