Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

People that do that little run around the office when they are in a hurry or want something done quick. Walk you flute, it'll be done just as quick!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Property tax that was supposed to "maintain" local services. The house that I own is about 3 miles outside the nearest town. It's a lovely area, the houses are nice. What local services do we have though? None. Any street lights? Nope. Are potholes filled over? Nope. Part of the road gets badly flooded when it rains, because the pipes to drain it off needs to be cleaned, and the council stick up 'road flooded ahead' signs and leave it for MONTHS, and when it's eventually sorted the road is all corroded.
    Do the council keep the grass verges neat? Nope the residents do.

Then you go into the local council housing estate. Where a lot, if not most of them are paying a subsidised rent and no property tax. Yet, it's the best kept part of town. Grass is cut on the greens, the walls are painted each time it's defaced with obscenities such as "XX is a rat" and "**** the guards, scum". Yeah cause really, the guards are the scum. :rolleyes:

They have footpaths, they have a resource centre, they have street lights, they have signs saying children at play. And they contribute **** all to society, unless you count donations to the poor box as part of a court order as contributing.

I am not saying all money collected in an area should be spent in the same area, leaving the disadvantaged worst off, but Jesus. Every one of the houses out our way would be contributing something yet nothing is put back into the neighbourhood. You'd wonder why you'd bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Lexieonrale, you're taking over this thread, you should start a blog. :P

gugleguy wrote: »
    Right Christy, tell us who should replace them? Pleeeeese!

No one will ever be able to replace them. I'm sorry Gugleguy!

Definitely not you anyway, after befriending Catallus. :P
    smash wrote: »
    Skinny Christy?

WTF? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

WTF? :confused:

They could be your nemesis and you can fight over the ownership of this thread.

I'll get the baby oil and paddling pool.

smash wrote: »
    They could be your nemesis and you can fight over the ownership of this thread.

I'll get the baby oil and paddling pool.

I'll just bodyslam the fcuker, no skinny b*tch is going to beat me. Nuh-uh.

P.S.: Baby oil? I thought you didn't like hairy fat birds? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Lexieonrale, you're taking over this thread, you should start a blog. :P

Sorry!! I'm going to start those 3 happy things a day thing so I won't be so ranty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Sorry!! I'm going to start those 3 happy things a day thing so I won't be so ranty

Ah please don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

No one will ever be able to replace them. I'm sorry Gugleguy!

Definitely not you anyway, after befriending Catallus. :P
    Ah Christy I’ m gonna take the neat jonnie walkers now. So unfair.
    Catallus is a fine mentor I’ll have you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have a drought on me like Death Valley for a half-gallon a' porter, but I have to do the bastarding Cheeses NCT later-on at about half eight. I wouldn't mind, but I was there yesterday as well about the same time with the other yoke. Hate!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Todays trivial annoyance, not being rich. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Todays trivial annoyance, not being rich. :(

Whatever you do Pumpkin, don't go doing fundraising, bloody bricking it in case this thing doesn't come off and only a handful show up for it :(

Getting ready for said event and one of my wife's mates strolls in on me in the bathroom, runs back out to my wife screaming as she goes "There's a naked man in your bathroom!"...

She didn't even give me a chance to introduce myself! :pac:

All sorted since though :D

I saw so many things I'd have loved to buy today. Pretty pretty things. All of them totally impractical, except for the gold coloured, high thread count egyptian cotton sheets in BT, reduced from 110 to 55.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Probably only an annoyance to those who play bows and arrows..like me.. But:
    The phrase to fire a bow or fire an arrow gets used even in historical context.
    You shoot a bow. If you fire a bow you end up with burnt feathers. Only weapons which use ignition / gun powder get fired.
    BAH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Booked flights for my parents earlier in the week, realised today that theres an extra i in my mums name on the eticket and have to spend 30 quid to get it changed.

Fffffffuuuuuuuuuuuu.......

I unserstand there should be a charge for updating/changing but 30 quid?? The flights are still 3 months away as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Long Gone

I'll just bodyslam the fcuker, no skinny b*tch is going to beat me. ;)

From what I hear she's not that skinny....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Driving home from work and the power steering goes in the car. shoulder fecked from turning the wheel. apparently now my power steering is electric so its 1200€ to fix it :( anybody want to buy a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Griever931

When somebody is eating and they are constantly scraping their knife and fork off the plate.

Hyped up places that are actually a disappointment. We tried out this new tea shop yesterday as Mr P is really into teas. Anyway this place had been really hyped, what a dump. They were aiming for shabby chic, it just looked tatty. The tea came in an old English style pint glass on a saucer. The only other customers were 2 middle aged women in obligatory bohemia/hippy attire, sipping soy lattes. One of them of course had to whip a boob out to breast feed 'Felix'. Poor kid is gonna get his ass whooped in school, unless they send him to public school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Griever931 wrote: »
    When somebody is eating and they are constantly scraping their knife and fork off the plate.

And people who stir tea and coffee until it sounds like they are trying to scrape the inside out of the mug.
    That and people who scrape up the frothy bits of a cappuccino, or any milky coffee, with a spoon, and 'mmmmming' and 'yumming' it into their mouths. I was at lunch one day ages ago with someone who started to do that. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

LynnGrace wrote: »
    And people who stir tea and coffee until it sounds like they are trying to scrape the inside out of the mug.
    That and people who scrape up the frothy bits of a cappuccino, or any milky coffee, with a spoon, and 'mmmmming' and 'yumming' it into their mouths. I was at lunch one day ages ago with someone who started to do that. Ugh.

And what about the waiter/waitress with the "and have you tried our apple pie, its really lovely".

Its supposed to be Lovely, its a fcukin apple tart, and its a four quid a pop, with a blob of cream on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    And what about the waiter/waitress with the "and have you tried our apple pie, its really lovely".

Its supposed to be Lovely, its a fcukin apple tart, and its a four quid a pop, with a blob of cream on it.

Well if they did get the apple tart, it might stop them yum yuming and scraping the mug. No, on second thoughts, it would probably double it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Well if they did get the apple tart, it might stop them yum yuming and scraping the mug. No, on second thoughts, it would probably double it. :D

And the other scenario..

Me to Mrs E: "Would you like a dessert?"

Mrs E" Ah no, I will have some of yours"

:That wasn't the offer................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

eisenberg1 wrote: »

And it's not even real cream. It's that fake cream out of a can. It's very hard to find a place that uses proper whipping cream :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

My mother shoves unwanted advice down my throat daily, but when I ask for advice I get told "oh I wouldn't want to get involved" aahh. trivially annoying and doing my head in.

honeygirl wrote: »
    My mother shoves unwanted advice down my throat daily, but when I ask for advice I get told "oh I wouldn't want to get involved" aahh. trivially annoying and doing my head in.

My mother is the same except I tend to ignore her and avoid talking to her if at all possible. I remember being upset a few years ago and ringing my mam. I was a bit down about college at the time and just worried in general. Her response: "That's the devil influencing you, if you went to mass, you wouldn't be worried. Try saying a few prayers and going to mass." :rolleyes: I'm an atheist.

Moral of story...I haven't asked her for advice since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

My mother is the same except I tend to ignore her and avoid talking to her if at all possible. I remember being upset a few years ago and ringing my mam. I was a bit down about college at the time and just worried in general. Her response: "That's the devil influencing, if you went to mass, you wouldn't be worried. Try saying a few prayers and going to mass." :rolleyes: I'm an atheist.

Moral of story...I haven't asked her for advice since.

I try not to but every now and then she sucks me in and I forget:mad: But no I won't ask advice again.

honeygirl wrote: »
    I try not to but every now and then she sucks me in and I forget:mad: But no I won't ask advice again.

My mam is the pits. My little sister rang me in awful state this week and she was talking to her dad (my stepdad) and he said to her 'Okay, I won't tell your mother'. WTF? The poor little mite was in awful state. Anyway, she got it sorted and told the quare one after she had everything done and dusted. She rang me 3 times because she couldn't talk to her own mother.

That more than trivially annoys me. :mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

stuck in for another saterday night!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

People that drive half in the hard shoulder and half out trying to force you to do a dangerous overtake.idiots