Things that have been done to embarrassing death

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭BobMc

lazygal wrote: »
    Churches and hotels miles away from each other. Church weddings full stop. They're all the same no matter how "personal" the couple thinks it is. Arriving to a hotel with no food being served. Speeches, I wish we hadn't bothered with them. Irish dancing, candy carts and sundry craps instead of food and drinks flowing.
    Keep the distance close, had an 80k drive onetime, and they'd no connection to the place it was on, thinking it was going to be so fab that in the dead of winter they dragged us all so far for it to be only so so !!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

The Rabbit wrote: »
    Yes, they're my invited guests but I'm just not interested in people bitching and moaning about the food.

I'm paying a lot to put on a very nice dinner for all of us. Whinging that it's not ham and spuds is pretty ungrateful imo.

Maybe ungrateful is the wrong word actually, you get my point though.

Yes!!

I have very strong opinions on this :). If they can't find anything to eat in the mountains of food I've carefully chosen, then feck them. They're just being picky and closed-minded IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I was at an Italian wedding where there was course after course of delicious local Italian food, it was amazing. One of the Irish guests actually complained afterwards to the bride after that she didn't have enough to eat :eek: Stupid bint wouldn't even try most of it because it wasn't traditional meat 'n' 2 veg.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

I had lamb and sea bass, twas lovely if I do say so myself. Towards the end of the meal the waiters came around again with the meat and fish to see if anyone wanted seconds or wanted to try the other option.

TBH I think you're always going to have one or two moaners who don't like the food, but I reckon they'd be like that no matter what you served. I know wedding food is often not of the same standard as if you went out to a fancy restaurant, but I've only ever been to one wedding where the food was actually what I'd consider 'bad'. And it wasn't just 'bad' it was terrible. I had the allegedly poached salmon. It must have been poaching for the week running up to the wedding because what was served up was actually a pile of mush, it was genuinely inedible. There were two others on our table who chose salmon and theirs was the same. Luckily the rest of the table (who chose the beef) shared their meat with us. It wasn't just the main course that was bad - the 'caesar salad' was a few leaves of lettuce on a plate with literally a blob of caesar dressing in the middle, and two cherry tomatoes cut in half, the 'assiette of deserts' was still half frozen. However bad it was though, I'd never have complained to the B&G about it! The last thing a couple needs on their wedding day is to hear people complaining about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

BobMc wrote: »
    Keep the distance close, had an 80k drive onetime, and they'd no connection to the place it was on, thinking it was going to be so fab that in the dead of winter they dragged us all so far for it to be only so so !!

Same thing last year. Was at a wedding in Sligo. The bride was from Galway, the groom was from Cork, most friends lived in Dublin, Galway, Cork and abroad. They had it in December. The weather was shockingly bad. Why make it difficult and awkward for absolutely everyone? And like yours, the hotel wasn't really anything special. Cork City or Galway City would have been great locations!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Tarzana wrote: »
    Same thing last year. Was at a wedding in Sligo. The bride was from Galway, the groom was from Cork, most friends lived in Dublin, Galway, Cork and abroad. They had it in December. The weather was shockingly bad. Why make it difficult and awkward for absolutely everyone? And like yours, the hotel wasn't really anything special. Cork City or Galway City would have been great locations!

That's what I don't get about when people choose venues in the arse-end of nowhere that are totally off the beaten track and accessed by what is essentially a dirt road. :confused: I mean, it's Ireland! Even in the summer the chances of there being rain on the day are fairly high, let alone in winter when roads like that could potentially be impassible.

I remember watching a Don't Tell The Bride where the groom picked some 'rustic' old farm house but for the two weeks leading up to the wedding the weather was really bad. The caterers had to be towed up to the venue by a farmer with his tractor, and luckily this kindly farmer was on hand on the wedding day itself when numerous guests's cars had to be towed out of the quagmire that had once been a road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Toots wrote: »
    That's what I don't get about when people choose venues in the arse-end of nowhere that are totally off the beaten track and accessed by what is essentially a dirt road. :confused: I mean, it's Ireland! Even in the summer the chances of there being rain on the day are fairly high, let alone in winter when roads like that could potentially be impassible.

In fairness, I should point out that the church was only a few kms from the venue. But it so far away from anywhere convenient for anyone. And it was an actual storm that day. The couple couldn't do the standing at the door of the church at the end thing because the weather was so bad. The next day's weather was terrible too, and people had to drive long distances in that weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭kandr10

Sligo1 wrote: »
    I see what you're saying. But perhaps I'm just too polite. I'd never ask for something else to be cooked for me during the dinner at someone's wedding. I still think that's a bit rude(unless perhaps ur a vegetarian). Even tho the B&G haven't cooked it personally its still prob a lot I thought that's gone into it and I think it'd be a bit of a kick in the teeth tbh. There's usually 3 or 4 courses so I'm sure there'd be something u could eat there whether it be the bread, the starter, the soup, the desert Etc.. It's just something I wouldn't and haven't even thought I doing tbh. If there is something I didnt like.. I just didnt eat it. Got merrier that way anyway and quicker so it was win win! Lol

Just on the vegetarian note, thd option is never listed on the menu but they always have one so it's a good contingency. I was told by a friend who works In weddings that most hotels will have a back up for people who don't care for the menu. I always wondered how often that actually happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

That's what I don't get about when people choose venues in the arse-end of nowhere that are totally off the beaten track and accessed by what is essentially a dirt road. :confused:

It is because the humiliation would make life not worth living if anyone else they knew got married in the same venue.

Unlike the old days when everybody had their reception in the same hotel - whichever one was nearest to the village or town:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

I was at a civil partnership and the two guys had a lamb cooking in a hole in the ground - it was good fun digging up the animal but the taste was disappointing -very pale and looked uncooked so although it was a first for most of the guests it didn't really work out- the poetry readings went on a bit too long but the home made beer was great. I must admit I like the traditional food fare predictable and all as it is

I never realised that you could ask for something other than what was on the menu at a wedding until I read this thread. Last night I was on facebook chat to a friend of mine who's a chef and I mentioned this to him. He told me about an incident that happened a few years ago when he worked in a hotel.

This particular bride and groom wanted dishes that weren't offered in the package menus, so the hotel worked with them and made a custom menu. The only thing was it wasn't traditional at all - the main course was a selection of fairly ethnic type foods, like an assiette of desserts only as a main - and there was a lot of older guests at the wedding who just weren't having it. The head chef had warned them when they were putting the menu together, that he wouldn't recommend straying massively from the 'norm' for this very reason He reckoned over a third of people didn't want the main and asked for something else, which was a disaster cos it was a fairly big wedding and not only was there a lot of food wasted, the kitchen staff were under serious pressure to make so many extra meals.

I never realised that you could ask for something other than what was on the menu at a wedding until I read this thread. Last night I was on facebook chat to a friend of mine who's a chef and I mentioned this to him. He told me about an incident that happened a few years ago when he worked in a hotel.

This particular bride and groom wanted dishes that weren't offered in the package menus, so the hotel worked with them and made a custom menu. The only thing was it wasn't traditional at all - the main course was a selection of fairly ethnic type foods, like an assiette of desserts only as a main - and there was a lot of older guests at the wedding who just weren't having it. The head chef had warned them when they were putting the menu together, that he wouldn't recommend straying massively from the 'norm' for this very reason He reckoned over a third of people didn't want the main and asked for something else, which was a disaster cos it was a fairly big wedding and not only was there a lot of food wasted, the kitchen staff were under serious pressure to make so many extra meals.

That's the danger by going too far outside the box alright. Fair play to the staff for being so accommodating all round!

kandr10 wrote: »
    That's the danger by going too far outside the box alright. Fair play to the staff for being so accommodating all round!

Apparently even the groom's parents asked for a different meal :o

Ah no way! You'd have to sort the folks out with something they like if no one else!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Another wedding down this year fingers crossed tis the last, have to say another one is bands playing too loud please stop ruins the whole thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

Milly33 wrote: »
    Another wedding down this year fingers crossed tis the last, have to say another one is bands playing too loud please stop ruins the whole thing

o yes, i really have to agree on the bands playing too loud! im always on the dancefloor and love a good band etc etc. but the last wedding I was at the band was so unbelievably loud you couldnt even make out what the singer was singing or saying when he was screaming into the micophone. it gave me a god awful headache! a lot of people were complaining about it. Someone must have said something to them it was so bad because it quietened down slightly to a grand level after about 20min.... Thank god! We actually prob wouldve had to leave the room otherwise. im not joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Milly33 wrote: »

Why fingers crossed - You don't have to go? If you don't want to be there the B&g would probably prefer of you declined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

Might not necessarily be that she doesnt want to go.... Maybe she'd love to go and celebrate but just doesnt have the money?