Ian Paisley has died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I wonder if Billy Wright were still alive, would he be extending heartfelt condolences. I assume he would.

Lot of short memories in this thread lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Berserker wrote: »
    Why are you assuming that I am a Loyalist? If you are not a Republican the I apologize for calling you one. The mantra that you are preaching is very close to that of a Republican. Once again, apologies if I was incorrect.

Mantra?! What mantra? I only gave my views and some disturbing facts about the guy you consider a hero, and was called a republican and told that my 'heroes' shot your relatives. I gave no republican views as I'm not a republican and certain didn't recite any republican mantras.

Look, if you think a child abducting, hate speech spewing rabble rouser with blood on his hands is a genuine and decent man then more power to your elbow but don't project your standards on to the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Question for all the Paisley haters here. Are you a practicing Catholic?

If not, why all the hate?

He's done some God-awful things, as have the IRA but both sides will say they had their reasons for it etc...

Personally, I don't feel happy, nor' sad that he's dead. He wasn't a relative, friend etc...of mine.

My facebook wall is full of Sinn Fein lads bashing the Reverend. I despise Sinn Fein because of these ****wits.

P.S. I was born Catholic, in the South-East. I'm a free agent at the moment though. F*ck Catholicism. Actually, just f*ck organised religion. The World would be a lot better place without all these cults around.

Don't need to be a practicing Catholic to be opposed to and critical of the bigotry and hatred that man spouted for years.

Just because he's died doesn't absolve him of being criticised for the (many) things he did wrong.

Do you hate Gerry Adams? Martin McGuinness? Bobby Sands? etc...

Yes, not particularly, no.

There are other options than loyalist and republican, you know.

Do you have more pointless questions to try to establish my political sympathies or may we continue with the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I hope he's remembered for his greatest achievements.

Like the part he played in the abduction of a 15 year old Catholic girl from the Falls in 1956.

Or the time he incited a crowd to beat the shite out of the reporter Martin Bell.

Or the time he spoke to a crowd and listed all the Catholics living on the Shankill and gave their addresses (this included an Italian ice cream seller), resulting in the crowd marching up and burning them all out.

...and all the other times he incited hatred and terrorism against Catholics but with just enough plausible deniability that he was able to turn on those he incited and say he condemned it, which is how he managed to alienate working class loyalists.

Or when he opposed the Good Friday agreement and the peace process.

But shure wasn't he great?

Yep.

Plausible deniability. Paisley understood that - which is mainly why he lived to be a grand old age whereas the likes of Robin Jackson or Billy Wright did not.

Mind you, same could be said of Adams/McGuinness vis-a-vis the likes of Dominic McGlinchey, etc.

Overall, Paisley was a clever man, politically astute certainly, but not necessarily a good man.

In Armagh in late November 1968, Paisley and a counter-demonstration stopped a civil rights March getting in to the centre of Armagh from the Moy Road where it formed up. The march broke up quietly at the police lines below the Shambles, and then Paisley held a Prayer Rally in Market Square. There were a couple of thousand supporters and Martin Bell was there with a camera crew. Paisley said: "There is a man in this square today who is no friend of the Protestant and Loyalist people of Ulster. That man is Martin Bell of the BBC, or the PBC as I call it - the Papish Broadcasting Corporation. [Applause]Now I am not suggesting that any man here should offer violence to Martin Bell of the PBC, but [he paused and then slowly pointed] he's standing over there in a sheepskin jacket."

After Bell had got a few digs, he said: "Now, brethren, let us bow our heads in a silent prayer for deliverance from our foes."

Plausible deniability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'm not Jewish, am I still allowed to think Hitler was a bit of a cad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

catallus wrote: »
    He was a man for his time; say what you like about him, he made the Peace Process possible.

When the Civil Rights Movement began Mr. Paisley was reported in the course of a sermon in his church as saying re. the demand of Catholics for housing : " They'd live in a pig-sty if it were next door to a Papist chapel." This was carried at the time in either the Observer or the Sunday Times, and was never refuted. So he made the Peace Process possible. Would there have been need of a peace process in his absence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭EunanMac

In my case It's not hatred, it is disgust. He done much to instigate, contribute to, and perpetuate the sectarian murder, torture, vilification, and hatred of the Catholic community in the six counties.

So it's only Catholics that should find Paisleys hatred and sectarianism despicable ?

All that anti-Catholic hatred is going to burn you up like Paisley some day.

I find the republican terrorists equally despicable.

"Chuckle brothers" indeed. Soaked in blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Ireland would be a great country if it wasn't for the fact it's full of Irish people.

Clowns on here giving dogs abuse about Paisley, while on other threads the same tools have praised Adams, Sands, McGuiness et al.

Paisley May have incited violence, but those "wonderful rebel heroes" were actual killers. If they never pulled trigger they sure as hell ordered it.

The island of Ireland is still a backwards hellhole thanks to all of you idiots who cling to religious bullshît and prejudices, and the whole "ah well sure they were worse than us, we had right on our side" crap.

The IRA were butchers, evil evil men. I laughed when Bobby Sands died, just as I did when any Loyalist scum murderers died.

Paisley was a war mongerer. Only fitting them that McGuinness paid tribute to his kindred spirit.

TLDR: I hate yez all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jpfg1967

Paisley comes out of a coma and peter robinson is standing by his bedside. "Hows things" asks the big man.
    "Not too good boss," says peter, he shuffles his feet and looks cagey.
    "What is it man " says paisley.
    "Bad news, Boss. Theres a united ireland now".
    "Hell fire," shouts paisley what have youse been doin in me absence. Is there any good news?"
    " Oh yes Boss", says robinson" Linfield won the championship, they bate Cliftonville"
    "Thats more like it", says paisley" What was the score?"
    " 2 - 16 to 1 -5"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Clowns on here giving dogs abuse about Paisley, while on other threads the same tools have praised Adams, Sands, McGuiness et al.

I've criticised Paisley. I've also criticised Adams, McGuiness and Sands plenty of times. Explain that one.

It's not only Republicans who were disgusted by Paisleys antics down the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Ireland would be a great country if it wasn't for the fact it's full of Irish people.

Paisley May have incited violence, but those "wonderful rebel heroes" were actual killers. If they never pulled trigger they sure as hell ordered it.

The island of Ireland is still a backwards hellhole thanks to all of you idiots who cling to religious bullshît and prejudices, and the whole "ah well sure they were worse than us, we had right on our side" crap.

The IRA were butchers, evil evil men. I laughed when Bobby Sands died, just as I did when any Loyalist scum murderers died.

Paisley was a war mongerer. Only fitting them that McGuinness paid tribute to his kindred spirit.

Who are these posters?
    Or are you just assuming anyone anti Paisley loves the Ra?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Henry Sidney

TLDR: I hate yez all.

Pretty much, yeah. Any dumbfûck country where people kill each other over which way they should worship their imaginary sky fairy seems worthy of it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Paisley wanted to continue denying catholics a vote. He was a homophobe and a bigot. Sinn Fein never wanted to deny anyone a vote. The IRA were a necessary evil at the time. They were essentially created by Paisley and his ilk.

The trouble wasn't over religion. The trouble was between two ethnic groups and the oppression of one by the other. If you can't see that you should bow out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Brinimartini

Hatemonger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Patfatenough

Tis a new era lads, recessions over, go out and make your own history, big things comin :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Henry Sidney

Ranchu wrote: »
    Paisley wanted to continue denying catholics a vote. He was a homophobe and a bigot. Sinn Fein never wanted to deny anyone a vote. The IRA were a necessary evil at the time. They were essentially created by Paisley and his ilk.

Ah a necessary evil? Only in the eyes of savage murder-condoning fools. That's always the excuse though isn't it? "Ah but what the fellas I supported did was right!"

Pretty much, yeah. Any dumbfûck country where people kill each other over which way they should worship their imaginary sky fairy seems worthy of it to me.

You're a bit of a Horrid Henry.

Boo hiss! Ignore him, boys and girls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I believe Ireland would be like one of the Nordic countries if the Plantations hadn't happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Rabble rabble, that hatred has finally been put to rest, not before too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

This thread has been far too civilised, not one mod note, no bannings and the thread hasn't been locked yet, whats going on?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Martin mcguiness was interviewed on C4 news just there. Asked if he ever considered ordering the killing of Paisley he said that he never did because he was their best recruiting tool for the IRA.

But then went on to speak very highly of the guy post 2007, the strength of their relationship and friendship, and his respect for the guy since then.

Was an interesting interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You should probably read a book or two if you think religion was the root cause of trouble in the North.

What Utopian paradise are you from btw?

he was their best recruiting tool for the IRA.

It didn't convince Gerry Adams to join though, so he obviously wasn't that good.:pac:

Ah c'm on! Lighten up everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I believe Ireland would be like one of the Nordic countries if the Plantations hadn't happened.

Exactly.

Just look at how feckes up the north of Ireland is through the plantations etc..

The great empire really brought so much trouble to this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Ah a necessary evil? Only in the eyes of savage murder-condoning fools. That's always the excuse though isn't it? "Ah but what the fellas I supported did was right!"

Make no mistake about it it was guns in the hands of Republicans who were willing to use them that prevented ethnic cleansing of Catholics.

The 'soldiers' of loyalism weren't so brave when the guns arrived in Nationalist neighbourhoods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I'm an Irish republican and believe that Paisley should be remembered as the man who mellowed in his later years and advanced the peace process by eventually embracing power-sharing.

As for his earlier life, I suppose all I can say is that at least people always knew where they stood with him, not like with some of the other snakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I think I saw him about 2 or 3 weeks ago :) in the back seat of a flash car being chauffeured out of one of the Queens residences as I was walking past. Said to meself t'is himself and he looks shook.