Your Perfect Pub/Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Shenshen wrote: »
    ......allowing people to play a game of cards if they want to. That would be one of the things I'm missing dearly over here.

What pub doesn't let you play cards??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Rasheed wrote: »

Most of the ones we tried here in Ireland.
    We gave up on it after about the 5th pub or so, assuming it must be a general rule or something. We were told by one landlord that he can't allow it as we might be playing for money (which we never do, but how to prove that?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Rasheed wrote: »

I think it may have been illegal about 10-15 years ago, not sure if it's the case now! I think you could play cards if there was a competition prize (usually a turkey at Xmas) but you couldn't play cards where the stakes were raised etc for real money.

I vaguely remember lads being stopped from playing one night in a pub (tho there were often sneaky games going on in the corner)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

All my favourite bars have been dives but they all had one thing in common, no or very low music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Mix of ages. Pubs with just one age group are restrictive, unnatural and lacking something.

Mix of clientele. Bankers, postmen, nurses, builders students etc.

Tvs only for matches. A big screen is available for bigger games but normally the only tv is in an out of the way corner and turned on only when a ffew people want to watch a game. Its not stuck on sky sports news all day.

Rock n' roll music on in background but at a fairly low level.

Wide drink selection. Not taking the piss with prices especially for minerals, tea and coffee.

Walls and ceiling covered in curious nic nacs and memorabilia.

Seating is conducive to groups mixing rather then isolating them except the snug. No fancy seating either it should be old, well used and not overly comfortable.

The place isnt overly bright, clean or tidy.

A large beer garden with good covering and heating for the winter.

A dart board in the main bar area. A small side room with a pool table. Regular dart, pool, road bowling, quiz events, whist drive. Not too regular mind you.

Food im not sure. Certainly not regular cooked food menu type thing but a toasted cheese sandwich and night time free chips, sausage and black pudding is good.

Nobody employed in the toilets to interfere with my handwashing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This plus a carpeted floor to absorb noise.

No carpet. Cement floor, sloped to the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

De Barras in Clonakilty.Wish there was something even half as good as it in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Perfect?

Hmm... good selection of beers, prefereably with a good few I haven't tried before.
    Some nice, simple food - with none of it deep fried (cheese boards, filled baguettes, that kind of thing).
    Not too dark, not too loud (music or otherwise), and allowing people to play a game of cards if they want to. That would be one of the things I'm missing dearly over here.

Ever been to nancy blakes in limerick? I used to love going there for a few on a sunday afternoon. That was around 2002 though and there was a bit more going on around.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

lufties wrote: »
    So, having spent the last few months here in London I was excited about visiting Shoreditch, A place that is supposedly hip and alternative. I'd hoped to find an authentic pub to suit my taste, A pub with perhaps a live dj spinning out some deep house or chillout, friendly staff, good quality beverages and a nice layout/atmosphere. All in all, it was not what I expected. The stereotype of bearded wannabe hipster is true, I haven't felt more out of place in a long time.

Anyway, it got me wondering what people's ideal pub/bar is/would be..

A dj spinning out some deep house?????

Give me strength!

Egginacup wrote: »
    A dj spinning out some deep house?????

Give me strength!

Yes, in the background, it doesn't have to be a filthy old mans pub you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Corkgirl210

ideal bar.. would sell tasty & exotic non alcoholic beverages.. alcohol free cocktails etc... and some funky/light house music - dancing optional.. shame there are none? and no boring coffee shops wont suffice.. instead us tea totallers have to wait until a sober activity is organised.. (which are not done often enough)...
    some of us dont need drink to have fun.. :o)

I don't get peoples fascination with open fires & old style pubs in general. Lets face it, we'd all get very bored going into a small, roasting pubs full of auld lads drinking Guinness. From reading this thread you'd wonder why the VFI are always putting the poor mouth on. If it was as easy as letting the place go to ****e & throwing the telly out all the pubs would be at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I don't get peoples fascination with open fires & old style pubs in general. Lets face it, we'd all get very bored going into a small, roasting pubs full of auld lads drinking Guinness. From reading this thread you'd wonder why the VFI are always putting the poor mouth on. If it was as easy as letting the place go to ****e & throwing the telly out all the pubs would be at it.

I wouldn't be bored at all if I was in good company and had a pint in front of me. It's the loveliest feeling in the world. I've always been into old man pubs tbh. Not your cup of tea, fair enough, but I'm not sure where you're going with the "poor mouth" comment. Some people just like things simple? Hardly that hard to get you're head around, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Mince Pie wrote: »
    If you're going to San Fran you need to check this place out as well. Used to be one of my favourite haunts. http://www.vesuvio.com/index2.html

Been there and love it too! First few hours in San Francisco and my bf brother dropped us off there to wait for his gf to arrive and he was leaving car home. We went upstairs with our beers and sat in a booth and realised we had randomly just sat in the James Joyce booth. Nice welcome to San Fran. Was were I first drank Sierra Nevada and loved it. Will be going back am sure.

Can't wait! Next week! I turn 41 in San Fran and boy will I enjoy it!

I wouldn't be bored at all if I was in good company and had a pint in front of me. It's the loveliest feeling in the world. I've always been into old man pubs tbh. Not your cup of tea, fair enough, but I'm not sure where you're going with the "poor mouth" comment. Some people just like things simple? Hardly that hard to get you're head around, is it?

You're right it wouldn't my cup of tea by & large but it can be nice to have a quite pint too & there's nothing wrong with simple if that's what you like.

I should have expanded on the "poor mouth" point more. If, as seems to be the case on the thread that the majority of people want a pub with a fire, memorabilia hanging up & no T.Vs then surely more pubs would follow that trend? The fact that lots of pubs don't would suggest that simple pubs aren't what people want.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Any bar with a facebook page need not apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

You're right it wouldn't my cup of tea by & large but it can be nice to have a quite pint too & there's nothing wrong with simple if that's what you like.

I should have expanded on the "poor mouth" point more. If, as seems to be the case on the thread that the majority of people want a pub with a fire, memorabilia hanging up & no T.Vs then surely more pubs would follow that trend? The fact that lots of pubs don't would suggest that simple pubs aren't what people want.

I think you're projecting the opinions on Boards onto the general Irish public - and they tend not to be the same.
    It would seem that generally, Boards is frequented by a certain demographic which does not form a majority within the wider public.
    If it did, pubs would be open on Good Friday, the Catholic church would be forced to sell its assets at dumping prices and leave the country, abortion would be legal, and there would not be any speed limits on any roads anywhere in the country ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Boards posters = the norm? Not sure about that.

I suppose people posting in this thread would have very specific ideas about what they like from a pub and are talking about their ideal. I'm used to tellies in pubs, for example, but my dream pub wouldn't have one. That's a bull**** thing they imported from England. I wonder how many people would actually have a preference for a television in a pub. Not many, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Denis Leahy's in Tipp Town, I always felt it struck the right balance.

Boards posters = the norm? Not sure about that.

I suppose people posting in this thread would have very specific ideas about what they like from a pub and are talking about their ideal. I'm used to tellies in pubs, for example, but my dream pub wouldn't have one. That's a bull**** thing they imported from England. I wonder how many people would actually have a preference for a television in a pub. Not many, I'd say.

I had a lengthy discussion about this on Sunday. I think a telly for a match is ok but as soon as it's over the telly goes off. I wouldn't be a fan of pubs having a telly on for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

lufties wrote: »
    So, having spent the last few months here in London I was excited about visiting Shoreditch, A place that is supposedly hip and alternative. I'd hoped to find an authentic pub to suit my taste, A pub with perhaps a live dj spinning out some deep house or chillout, friendly staff, good quality beverages and a nice layout/atmosphere. All in all, it was not what I expected. The stereotype of bearded wannabe hipster is true, I haven't felt more out of place in a long time.

Anyway, it got me wondering what people's ideal pub/bar is/would be..

When I am in Dublin, I tend to go to Messr's to unwind. Rarely any kids under 25. No loud music. No real noise. Not too many tourists. Plenty of room. Comfy seats. Not the most character, but I'd go to my local for character if I wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

If I wanted to watch tv, I'd stay in me gaff.

I think you're projecting the opinions on Boards onto the general Irish public - and they tend not to be the same.
    It would seem that generally, Boards is frequented by a certain demographic which does not form a majority within the wider public.
    If it did, pubs would be open on Good Friday, the Catholic church would be forced to sell its assets at dumping prices and leave the country, abortion would be legal, and there would not be any speed limits on any roads anywhere in the country ;)

In fairness I think boards is a place that welcomes people's honest biased opinion;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

kfallon wrote: »
    I think it may have been illegal about 10-15 years ago, not sure if it's the case now! I think you could play cards if there was a competition prize (usually a turkey at Xmas) but you couldn't play cards where the stakes were raised etc for real money.

I vaguely remember lads being stopped from playing one night in a pub (tho there were often sneaky games going on in the corner)
    I don't get this, what about poker machines in pubs, is it not the same?

Or Texas Holdem tournaments in pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Scampi Fries are the closest thing to actual food served

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I don't get this, what about poker machines in pubs, is it not the same?

Or Texas Holdem tournaments in pubs.

I fecking hate poker machines in pubs,it just makes the place look tacky.

My local serves nice pints,tv is only on for sports.The craic & banter can be great (leave your feelings at the door),no pretentious hipsters.Just an honest to goodness Irish pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭AdolfHipster

A stone cottage with a thatched roof and red timber door, the bottom part rotten on the outside of a village in the middle of nowhere with grass growing in the middle of the road and a donkey tied to a post outside. Feck all lighting inside, some oil lamps, tealights and maybe the odd carbon filament bulb dimmed to about 30%. Some well worn wooden tables and chairs, few bar stools and a comfy 2 seater couch by the fire.

Own brand fairtrade organic stout and cider on tap. An ouldfella behind the bar who reaches for the shotgun at the first signs of trouble who can have 10 taps going at a time when tis busy without spilling a drop. Oldschool bits and pieces hanging off the wall, pictures from the good old days, no telly, no mobile phone reception, no fruit machine, no hipsters and no mass produced tack except beamish and smithwicks

And then Gandalf comes in and pleads with you to reclaim the lonely mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I love Geoff's in Waterford. Great atmosphere, nice beer, decent food, and the kind of place you don't feel out of place if you're by yourself reading a book while supping a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

My local favourite is the Newgrange hotel. Simple really, walk into Rowleys, buy your pint then casually stroll into the lobby as the pub is connected to the hotel. There you have the choice of comfy arm chairs, an open fire and relative peace and quiet. No crappy live band/dj (not saying live bands or dj's are crap just we seem to get crap), ringing ears or sausage fest. Manys a good night spent there :D

I spent many of my lunches in the palace on Camden st, as the music was absolutely epic, played pool and move about without bumping into everyone :P

A pub with some pinball tables!
    anybody know any?