Poor customer service - McGuirk's golf Blanchardstown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

skstretch wrote: »
    Im not doubting ur experience, but I have been over to Leopardstown twice recently and I got great service from friendly staff on both occasions.

I presume it all depends who you get on the day and whether they are having a good day or not...

I think the general point is, it shouldn't matter who you get, or if they are having a good day or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Rackstar wrote: »
    Staff love themselves. Only have time for single figure golfers.

Yeah well how do they ascertain that while studiously ignoring you? I'm off 8/9 and like a ghost in there....every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Yeah well how do they ascertain that while studiously ignoring you? I'm off 8/9 and like a ghost in there....every time

Yeah, was in america recently and they do customer service properly, everytime i walked into a shop/ golf shop over there i felt like they couldnt do enough for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 SureIDontKnow

Tones69 wrote: »
    You should use the likes of clubhouse golf, way better and turnaround time also better for us lefties :)

Is that online or an actual store? Cheers for the tip!

dar_cool wrote: »
    Yeah, was in america recently and they do customer service properly, everytime i walked into a shop/ golf shop over there i felt like they couldnt do enough for me!!

Same with Halpenny Swords. I was there last night and felt like I could have asked them to wash my car for me! I picked up a few things and I got a cheap golf glove thrown in and a couple of quid off my other stuff. The staff are excellent and genuinely can't do enough for you. Now maybe it's just my level of golf but I don't think all the staff are top golfers, I think some are but all are excellent at their job.

In McGuirks, you get the feeling that if you don't know exactly what you want that they think you are clueless. Many are also unfriendly and arrogant failed pro's as somebody said above. Also many have a vibe of 'dont even ask for a few quid off'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Is that online or an actual store? Cheers for the tip!

UK based online - good site, have bought a few clubs from them previously and do reasonable shipping rates to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

To be honest, I don't want sales assistants hassling/annoying me when I go to Halpenny/McGuirks - if I want some help I'll ask. That said in Leopardstown they usually ask if you need help which I think is service enough

UK based online - good site, have bought a few clubs from them previously and do reasonable shipping rates to Ireland

Great, I will take a look! Cheers. Although I have to say - I like spending money in the Irish economy rather than abroad and for that reason I will probably keep buying from Halpenny in Swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Macker1

dar_cool wrote: »

To be fair Dar the customer service in the US is streets ahead of what we encounter over here. The reason being that they know how to treat customers well is that its part of the American culture and most people in the US wouldn't think twice about complaining quite vocally if the service they received was poor.

Bottom line is people should not tolerate poor customer service and be quite willing to complain if justified. Even if the price was good I would walk away if I was treated poorly

Customers pay the wages :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

not to jump on the band wagon but I completely agree that mcguirks customer service is atrocious. I have been flat out lied to over the price of clubs, been denied the chance to hit clubs, had a genuine voucher refused (and eventually taken), emails queries completely ignored. It's laughable how consistently bad they are. I have a 30e voucher which i will be promptly giving to someone else.

Halpenny are usually pretty good - definitely more approachable that staff in mcguirks. American golf are hit and miss but lately been fairly good.

I've bought stuff of Jamgolf a uk website and they are excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Great, I will take a look! Cheers. Although I have to say - I like spending money in the Irish economy rather than abroad and for that reason I will probably keep buying from Halpenny in Swords.

Im in the same boat as you, id rather buy locally but when it comes to losing money or having to wait a ridicukous amount of time id rather go further abroad. Also agree with that man there that irish in general havent a clue when it comes to dealing with the public compared to america etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Rackstar wrote: »
    Staff love themselves. Only have time for single figure golfers.

Ahh lads!!Come on now:)g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Domo1982 wrote: »
    Ahh lads!!Come on now:)g

Do you work there Domo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Do you work there Domo ?

I do actually and Rackstar has it all wrong...Its the 15 + hackers that we hate!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

And ye can tell a persons handicap by the way they walk into the shop is it ??

Go away and 'love yourself' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭big_drive

Halpennys are only a recent addition here in Cork and i've found them excellent! Staff a pleasure to deal with. Ask are you ok but then leave you alone

American Golf in Cork are all over you. 3 of them appraoched me within 5 mins of walking into the shop recently. Feels a bit over the top. Pi**ed me off enough that i said i wouldn't spend anything there

Can't comment on McGuirks as they don't have a shop in cork and i've not dealt with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Arsenium

I'm very surprised to hear this. I work close enough to the Blanchardstown store and when I get a chance I go in for a browse etc, or to buy small stuff like balls, gloves etc.

A few years ago I bought a set of irons off them and couldnt have been happier with the service. Recently I had a few larger purchases, a rangefinder and later a new Vokey wedge. They went through the lot with me on the laser device and got me to change the wedge based on the grind that was listed for it (I mistook it for the bounce).

I guess I could understand some peoples opinion in that they arent all over you the second you come in the door. I actually like that as I like to have a look at the new shiny stuff in my own time. If I am going in there to actually buy something then I know what it is and any time I have asked for advice I got it from the guys there.

To be honest I would take that approach every day above the annoying, saccharin sweet approach they take in the US. Where they overpower you with niceness and sweetness !! How may I help you today...you have a nice day now !! Having lived there for a while a good few years ago I still have memories of that :)

Didnt mean to write so much. Just thought the lads in McGuirks were getting a bit of a bashing.

I dont mind them not being all over me once I get in the door. I do like being asked "do you need any help" as it means you are made feel like you can ask for help. It's easy to say "I'm fine thanks" and browse away. I always go for a browse even if I know what I want to buy.
    I would love to know what the average punter spends in these shops. This year alone I have spent well over a grand on golf equipment. Now I guess going forward for the next while it'll be balls, tees, the odd shirt, etc but still - wouldnt be long dropping 200-300 quid and McGuirk's would do well to remember this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Arsenium wrote: »
    I guess I could understand some peoples opinion in that they arent all over you the second you come in the door. I actually like that as I like to have a look at the new shiny stuff in my own time. If I am going in there to actually buy something then I know what it is and any time I have asked for advice I got it from the guys there.

Let's be clear here. Speaking for myself anyhow, that's not the issue. The issue is going in there (for example) when there are 4 or 5 staff members on a Tuesday morning, standing at the counter with three employees behind the counter, having a chat, and waiting until they are quite ready to finish their chat, and deign to acknowledge your presence.

Have a read of some of the posts. It's not that they are not all over you, that's not the issue. I dont like that approach to sales. It is the consistent and utter disdain they seem to have for their customers, to any half-wit it would be obvious you are looking for help, nobody in the shop, and you still basically have to do the "EXCUSE ME" loud/interrupt of them to get any attention.

Let's be clear here. Speaking for myself anyhow, that's not the issue. The issue is going in there (for example) when there are 4 or 5 staff members on a Tuesday morning, standing at the counter with three employees behind the counter, having a chat, and waiting until they are quite ready to finish their chat, and deign to acknowledge your presence.

Have a read of some of the posts. It's not that they are not all over you, that's not the issue. I dont like that approach to sales. It is the consistent and utter disdain they seem to have for their customers, to any half-wit it would be obvious you are looking for help, nobody in the shop, and you still basically have to do the "EXCUSE ME" loud/interrupt of them to get any attention.

Fully agree with that man right there

I guess I can only draw on my own experience in the place. And it suits me perfectly. I like to be left alone to indulge in a bit of daydreaming if I am browsing. If I need an opinion or a bit of help I ask and the service is always excellent.

A while ago I was changing my putter and I wanted a 33 inch blade style putter. I was going with one of the old Odyssey ones, I think it was the metal x 8 version. The only one they didnt have. I called a guy, told me he didnt think they had it. Rang Leopardstown and one of the other stores. No joy. Asked me if my preference was for a blade style and recommended a particular type of Ping putter (which they didnt actually have either) that he thought might be suitable.

Just thinking back aswell when I was buying my irons some time ago, I told the guy that there had been a 3 iron in the set and he said no way, I must be wrong. Told him it was definitely there, he went out the back and found a brand new AP2 3 iron and threw it in for me !! No extra cost.

If I want some assistance I go right up there and tell them I want it. If they ignored me and continued to chat etc, I'd feel the exact same as you guys above and I'd most likely let them know. But it's never happened to me. But it looks like I am one of the rare exceptions.

Now of course I will be watching out for it the next time I am in !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭ezra_

Was in McGurk's Howth today.

Great experience, very helpful and friendly staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

It is a difficult balance,

Because - Irish Lads - and even more, Irish Golf Lads are not into the American Style - "Can I help you sir".
    In fact - some of us would nearly run out the door.

Golfers are awful lurkers - over 50 % at a guess are not going to buy anything. If a lad goes into a clothes shop - he is far more likely going to actually buy something. So a golf shop is our golf porn.

So - it is impossible for the lads in a way.

But just find the Halpenny lads are more enthusiastic. I've a feeling - just a felling they are on better commission ?

Have to say the Mcguirks lads in Kinsealy Grange are exceptional - but that is at a range and is a better overall idea.
    It is daft to buy clubs in a golf shop and not even swing it.

Golfers are awful lurkers - over 50 % at a guess are not going to buy anything. If a lad goes into a clothes shop - he is far more likely going to actually buy something. So a golf shop is our golf porn.

So - it is impossible for the lads in a way.

Spot on. Golf porn indeed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭A New earth

Interesting experience in McGuirk's in Leopardstown this afternoon. I overheard a man buying clubs for his son who was I'd say around 18 or 20 and about 4 or 5 inches taller than his father, 6' 3" I'd guess. Man said his son plays off about 20 and hits the irons a mile.

While buying the irons the man did ask about the lenght of the clubs (Taylor Made by the way) and the McGuirks man told him that they were a standard size. They went on to buy woods, rescue, putter and bag.

I'm nothing like that height but I have heard tall men say they needed a half inch onto their clubs and would of thought this should have been discussed at least when the issue was raised and perhaps suggest that they do some kind of measurement. Didn't seem like good service to me compared to what you would get from say your club pro.

Interesting experience in McGuirk's in Leopardstown this afternoon. I overheard a man buying clubs for his son who was I'd say around 18 or 20 and about 4 or 5 inches taller than his father, 6' 3" I'd guess. Man said his son plays off about 20 and hits the irons a mile.

While buying the irons the man did ask about the lenght of the clubs (Taylor Made by the way) and the McGuirks man told him that they were a standard size. They went on to buy woods, rescue, putter and bag.

I'm nothing like that height but I have heard tall men say they needed a half inch onto their clubs and would of thought this should have been discussed at least when the issue was raised and perhaps suggest that they do some kind of measurement. Didn't seem like good service to me compared to what you would get from say your club pro.

At 6ft2 or 6ft3 ud deffo need longer clubs unless you are hunched over like keegan bradley. I use 1/2 inch longer. Can use standard length but shorter irons just feel too short. Guy in mcguirks obviously just saw the sale there n then

Tones69 wrote: »
    At 6ft2 or 6ft3 ud deffo need longer clubs unless you are hunched over like keegan bradley. I use 1/2 inch longer. Can use standard length but shorter irons just feel too short. Guy in mcguirks obviously just saw the sale there n then

Looked like that alright, I was going to tip them off but the McGuirk's fella stayed close to them so didn't get a chance and I suppose none of my business.

Could be shortsighted though as that young golfer and/or his father might not shop there again if they realise in time that they were not given proper advice. It seems like McGuirk's have the name now so it's too easy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 digginz

Well I believe you only need extra inch on your irons , not your woods so might have been correct

Sorry, maybe not worded clearly enough, customer enquired at time of buying the irons. They went on to buy the lot, irons, woods etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

digginz wrote: »
    Well I believe you only need extra inch on your irons , not your woods so might have been correct
    Your height affects the shaft length of all clubs, not just irons. Obviously there are other factors such as your natural stance and your swing but as a general rule it's the distance from your wrist to the floor when standing straight with hands by your sides that will give a guide to shaft length. A guy who's 6' 2" - 6' 4" would probably need an extra 1" - 1.5".

You can find lots of tables online. Here's one.