Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor customer service - McGuirk's golf Blanchardstown

• 02-09-2014 3:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

I just wanted to update people on some really dreadful customer service I received from McGuirks golf Blanchardstown.

Whilst I am the first to admit I am an awkward left-hander, I still dont think I should have to tolerate what I had to tolerate recently. I always try to avoid confrontation and am not just going around looking for stuff to complain about.

So, McGuirk's had an offer with free custom fit on new golf clubs, so I decided to get myself a new set of golf clubs. I ordered a set of left-handed Nike Covert 2.0 golf clubs on Thursday 29th May. I was told that the delivery time would be a week to 10 days.

3 weeks later, on the 18th June, numerous phone calls later, I still had no clubs and nobody had any idea when they were arriving in. I asked the guys in the store had they been in touch with the rep and nobody seemed to know what the situation was. Bear in mind, that while the clubs were custom fit, there was nothing custom fitted on them - they were a standard set of regular flex clubs which the professional said was best for an improving golfer like myself - no point changing anything on them.

But all I kept getting from McGuirks was that "This is Nike's fault and not our own", in spite of the same guy advising me that they "assumed" they were on order. My clubs finally arrived on the 20th of June.

So - I decided, benefit of the doubt, to order a sand wedge from McGuirks, surely the same wouldnt happen again. So on the 21st of June, I ordered the club. Again I was given the 10 days to 2 week line which I was happy enough with. So no sign of the club on the 1st of July, I decided to get in touch with McGuirks. I was advised that they were likely to take another 3 weeks for the club to arrive. So I decided to wait for it in the hope that it arrived. On the 1st August, a full 5 weeks after I ordered the club, I enquired again and I finally got a reply on the 12th August to say they still didnt know when the club would arrive, so 7 weeks after ordering my patience finally ran out and I told them I didnt want it.

So I got on to Halpenny Golf in Swords, who were extremely helpful from the word go, gave me a few calls about the status of the club and it will be in the store for me later this week - probably 10-12 days after I ordered it first.

I could not get over how poor McGuirks customer service / complaints procedure was - all I kept getting was excuses, blaming reps, blaming Nike, etc. I wasnt looking for the club for free or anything but just something to show they actually gave a toss about my customer experience and were doing something about it rather than just admitting they made a mess of my order from day 1. I would have expected better from an organisation of such size. Halpenny to be fair to them were excellent and seemed to care about getting the club to me.

Needless to say, I've been telling half the golf club about my experience and I wont be back to McGuirks. Worst customer experience of my life, and I've even dealt with Ryanair in their hay day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Dry your eyes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I don't think posting here will do anything for you, better off venting via registered letter to McGuirks themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Very surprised to read about your negative experience with the customer service in McGuirks out in Blanchardstown. I purchased a trolley and bag in there earlier in the summer and was looked after very well. The bag had to be ordered in and took around 3 weeks to arrive but this was due to a supply issue from the vendor which I was aware of from the start. The chap I dealt with was very helpful and when the bag arrived in I was promptly contacted. In addition I received a decent discount on both the trolley and bag which made the experience taste all the better. I have also dealt with Halpenny at Lucan and also found them to be fine. I will always make my purchase from the retailer that gives the best deal and when the price is the same it comes down to customer service. It this day and age when money is tight retailers have to be on top of their game in all aspects. Word of mouth can hurt as you have stated above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

slave1 wrote: »
    I don't think posting here will do anything for you, better off venting via registered letter to McGuirks themselves

Good idea, I'm sure a registered letter of complaint will have them quaking in their boots...

Mcguirks in blanch are notoriously hopeless when it comes to customer service....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I think you know it but you shouldn't have given them a second chance. Fool me once and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

I'm a little confused here. If you got custom fit and there was no need to change anything, why didn't you buy the set you used during the custom fit session. Or was it just one odd club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Squeaksoutloud

Learnt the same myself over the years...halpenny s customer service far superior. Find the staff in mcguirks a bit arrogant to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Learnt the same myself over the years...halpenny s customer service far superior. Find the staff in mcguirks a bit arrogant to be honest.

Couldn't agree more. Halpenny have always been absolute class. Whenever I go into McGuirks I feel like I'm interrupting the staff, or invisible. It's amazing how consistent it is, in Leopardstown anyway.

Last time I went in I just used a voucher to get balls, get in and get out. Then went straight ro Halpenny and got whst I wanted. Great people in Carrickmines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Couldn't agree more. Halpenny have always been absolute class. Whenever I go into McGuirks I feel like I'm interrupting the staff, or invisible. It's amazing how consistent it is, in Leopardstown anyway.

Last time I went in I just used a voucher to get balls, get in and get out. Then went straight ro Halpenny and got whst I wanted. Great people in Carrickmines.

100%, and I've asked her good self to change my present provider as a result.
    It's golf vouchers all the way for me, and hopefully 20-30years of them, so costly really for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Don't like feel in Mcguirks.
    Sort of condescending.

Bad experience bringing back trousers.

Ended up just going to halpennny. Must have spent over 2000 there as a result.
    60 pound pair of trousers.

But it is a big company . Wouldn't say it is a dream place to work.
    I'm normally heading off to play golf.

So can sort of understand the lads getting a pain in their.......

You know what, I get a sense the halpennny lads are on more commission.
    A guess there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lettuce97

I have to buck the trend here and say of the two shops in Airside, I found McGuirks much better to deal with than Halpenny. Nothing overly wrong with Halpenny, just didn't seem that bothered with helping out any time I've been in - McGuirks were much more friendly.

Just said I'd post for the sake of balance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭dk1982

Agreed, have used Mcguirks Leopardstown and Halpenny Carrickminess and Lucan. The attitude/ignorance of the staff in Mcguirks in contrast with the helpfulness and pleasantness of the staff in Halpenny is quite the contrast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Use the 2 shops in swords way too much. Not a lot wrong with either but u do feel that the guys in McGuirks are bored Pro's that didn't make it. Where the guys in Halpenny seem to try and get you sorted ASAP they are straight on the phone to the other shops to see if they can get you what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I too have found poor service in mcguirks in airside, and particularly blanch. I often feel like I am "interrupting". I do prefer using halpenny.
    However, any time I have gone into the Howth Mcguirkes I have been looked after fantastic. Different experience altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Moat_Cailin

Jimdagym wrote: »
    I too have found poor service in mcguirks in airside, and particularly blanch. I often feel like I am "interrupting". I do prefer using halpenny.
    However, any time I have gone into the Howth Mcguirkes I have been looked after fantastic. Different experience altogether.

I've had the same experience with both Airside and Howth. Huge contrast in both Mcguirks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

I found airside mcguirks was the best service I got in a golf shop , and also the guy who was a younger lad maybe mid 20's, knocked all he could off everything I bought with a voucher which was 400 euros

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

McGuirk's in Leopardstown is a disaster. They have zero interest in helping you out.

A lot of people seem to have the same experience there. It's a wonder management don't try and do something about it.

Halpenny in Carrickmines have always been a pleasure to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I live in Swords so have been into Mcguirks there plenty. I don't mind the place. Anytime I've had questions the guys have been helpful and knowledgable, and I had one club ordered via Titleist directly, didn't take too long.

The thing to remember is that when they need to order something, they need to go through a rep. That rep needs to then go through the distributor. And it's normal for a rep to not only deal with McGuirks and Halpenny, but also a rake load of pro shops. It's not unusual for reps to drop the ball.

I know from just our club, there is a few reps our pro deals with, who doesn't fancy too much and they don't seem interested in making waves for single clubs or orders, which is frustrating obviously.

Have to say would have no issues recommending Halpenny or Mcguirks, Swords branches anyway I havn't experienced the others that much.

If you feel properly aggrevied, I'd genuinelly say get in touch with McGuirks head office. I've never had to make a complaint, but a relative did and said he got a really good response and was more then happy to go back dealing with them after.

Oddly enough the only grief I've gotten in the golfing world is from coaches : /

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭cairny

I know it's not an option for everyone but if there's a pro shop at your home course then this should always be the first option.

They'll usually match the big store prices (or close) you're guaranteed that they'll be interested in you as they have to look at you every week and best of all he'll have a quick look at your swing every now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

TheDoc wrote: »
    I live in Swords so have been into Mcguirks there plenty. I don't mind the place. Anytime I've had questions the guys have been helpful and knowledgable, and I had one club ordered via Titleist directly, didn't take too long.

The thing to remember is that when they need to order something, they need to go through a rep. That rep needs to then go through the distributor. And it's normal for a rep to not only deal with McGuirks and Halpenny, but also a rake load of pro shops. It's not unusual for reps to drop the ball.

I know from just our club, there is a few reps our pro deals with, who doesn't fancy too much and they don't seem interested in making waves for single clubs or orders, which is frustrating obviously.

Have to say would have no issues recommending Halpenny or Mcguirks, Swords branches anyway I havn't experienced the others that much.

If you feel properly aggrevied, I'd genuinelly say get in touch with McGuirks head office. I've never had to make a complaint, but a relative did and said he got a really good response and was more then happy to go back dealing with them after.

Oddly enough the only grief I've gotten in the golfing world is from coaches : /

If the rep is dropping the ball, the company that you are dealing with should be all over him like a rash AND keeping you up to date, not you hounding them and radio silence otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

Again, for a bit of balance, I put a full order through McGuirks in Blanchardstown recently and I found them very good to deal with. There was some stuff that I wanted that they didn't have in stock and they kept in regular contact with me via e-mail if it was delayed or if it was in.

I also had a problem with an umbrella that broke after the second use and they replaced it immediately, no quibble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 SureIDontKnow

I'm a little confused here. If you got custom fit and there was no need to change anything, why didn't you buy the set you used during the custom fit session. Or was it just one odd club?

Because for the custom fit all they used was a 7 iron and they didnt have the full set in stock.
    TheDoc wrote: »

/

I did this also for both bad experiences above and found their responses to be non-committal, "we'll get it as soon as we can" style of response. Now I didnt expect them to deliver my sand wedge to me in the bunker but I thought they could at least have showed some customer service and updated me on what they were doing rather than waiting for me to ring up asking what was going on all the time.

And when I finally cancelled (via e-mail) the order via email, there was no apologetic response, not a word, so I can only presume the attitude is f you rather than even considering how frustrating this experience was for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Mcguirks dont stock the nike stuff in lefty it has to be ordered in.

Tbh i wouldnt let the lads in there fit me for a jumper let alone a set of clubs. Majority of them havet got a clue!

Tones69 wrote: »
    Mcguirks dont stock the nike stuff in lefty it has to be ordered in.

Did you read the original post? I knew they had to order them....it was everything that happened after ordering them that was the problem.

I was answering the other guy (sodbuster77) who asked why they had to order them in for u. I know wat the problem was, so maybe you should read my post properly ;)

Ah sorry, missed that! Newbie on here!! Yes they have to order the left handed stuff.....but Halpenny got it in no time!

You should use the likes of clubhouse golf, way better and turnaround time also better for us lefties :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Staff love themselves. Only have time for single figure golfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭skstretch

McGuirk's in Leopardstown is a disaster. They have zero interest in helping you out.

A lot of people seem to have the same experience there. It's a wonder management don't try and do something about it.

Halpenny in Carrickmines have always been a pleasure to deal with.

Im not doubting ur experience, but I have been over to Leopardstown twice recently and I got great service from friendly staff on both occasions.

I presume it all depends who you get on the day and whether they are having a good day or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

skstretch wrote: »
    Im not doubting ur experience, but I have been over to Leopardstown twice recently and I got great service from friendly staff on both occasions.

I presume it all depends who you get on the day and whether they are having a good day or not...

I think the general point is, it shouldn't matter who you get, or if they are having a good day or not.

Rackstar wrote: »

Yeah well how do they ascertain that while studiously ignoring you? I'm off 8/9 and like a ghost in there....every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Yeah well how do they ascertain that while studiously ignoring you? I'm off 8/9 and like a ghost in there....every time

Yeah, was in america recently and they do customer service properly, everytime i walked into a shop/ golf shop over there i felt like they couldnt do enough for me!!

You should use the likes of clubhouse golf, way better and turnaround time also better for us lefties :)

Is that online or an actual store? Cheers for the tip!

dar_cool wrote: »
    Yeah, was in america recently and they do customer service properly, everytime i walked into a shop/ golf shop over there i felt like they couldnt do enough for me!!

Same with Halpenny Swords. I was there last night and felt like I could have asked them to wash my car for me! I picked up a few things and I got a cheap golf glove thrown in and a couple of quid off my other stuff. The staff are excellent and genuinely can't do enough for you. Now maybe it's just my level of golf but I don't think all the staff are top golfers, I think some are but all are excellent at their job.

In McGuirks, you get the feeling that if you don't know exactly what you want that they think you are clueless. Many are also unfriendly and arrogant failed pro's as somebody said above. Also many have a vibe of 'dont even ask for a few quid off'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Is that online or an actual store? Cheers for the tip!

UK based online - good site, have bought a few clubs from them previously and do reasonable shipping rates to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

To be honest, I don't want sales assistants hassling/annoying me when I go to Halpenny/McGuirks - if I want some help I'll ask. That said in Leopardstown they usually ask if you need help which I think is service enough

UK based online - good site, have bought a few clubs from them previously and do reasonable shipping rates to Ireland

Great, I will take a look! Cheers. Although I have to say - I like spending money in the Irish economy rather than abroad and for that reason I will probably keep buying from Halpenny in Swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

dar_cool wrote: »

To be fair Dar the customer service in the US is streets ahead of what we encounter over here. The reason being that they know how to treat customers well is that its part of the American culture and most people in the US wouldn't think twice about complaining quite vocally if the service they received was poor.

Bottom line is people should not tolerate poor customer service and be quite willing to complain if justified. Even if the price was good I would walk away if I was treated poorly

Customers pay the wages :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

not to jump on the band wagon but I completely agree that mcguirks customer service is atrocious. I have been flat out lied to over the price of clubs, been denied the chance to hit clubs, had a genuine voucher refused (and eventually taken), emails queries completely ignored. It's laughable how consistently bad they are. I have a 30e voucher which i will be promptly giving to someone else.

Halpenny are usually pretty good - definitely more approachable that staff in mcguirks. American golf are hit and miss but lately been fairly good.

I've bought stuff of Jamgolf a uk website and they are excellent.

Great, I will take a look! Cheers. Although I have to say - I like spending money in the Irish economy rather than abroad and for that reason I will probably keep buying from Halpenny in Swords.

Im in the same boat as you, id rather buy locally but when it comes to losing money or having to wait a ridicukous amount of time id rather go further abroad. Also agree with that man there that irish in general havent a clue when it comes to dealing with the public compared to america etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Rackstar wrote: »

Ahh lads!!Come on now:)g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Domo1982 wrote: »
    Ahh lads!!Come on now:)g

Do you work there Domo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Do you work there Domo ?

I do actually and Rackstar has it all wrong...Its the 15 + hackers that we hate!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

And ye can tell a persons handicap by the way they walk into the shop is it ??

Go away and 'love yourself' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Halpennys are only a recent addition here in Cork and i've found them excellent! Staff a pleasure to deal with. Ask are you ok but then leave you alone

American Golf in Cork are all over you. 3 of them appraoched me within 5 mins of walking into the shop recently. Feels a bit over the top. Pi**ed me off enough that i said i wouldn't spend anything there

Can't comment on McGuirks as they don't have a shop in cork and i've not dealt with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

I'm very surprised to hear this. I work close enough to the Blanchardstown store and when I get a chance I go in for a browse etc, or to buy small stuff like balls, gloves etc.

A few years ago I bought a set of irons off them and couldnt have been happier with the service. Recently I had a few larger purchases, a rangefinder and later a new Vokey wedge. They went through the lot with me on the laser device and got me to change the wedge based on the grind that was listed for it (I mistook it for the bounce).

I guess I could understand some peoples opinion in that they arent all over you the second you come in the door. I actually like that as I like to have a look at the new shiny stuff in my own time. If I am going in there to actually buy something then I know what it is and any time I have asked for advice I got it from the guys there.

To be honest I would take that approach every day above the annoying, saccharin sweet approach they take in the US. Where they overpower you with niceness and sweetness !! How may I help you today...you have a nice day now !! Having lived there for a while a good few years ago I still have memories of that :)

Didnt mean to write so much. Just thought the lads in McGuirks were getting a bit of a bashing.

I dont mind them not being all over me once I get in the door. I do like being asked "do you need any help" as it means you are made feel like you can ask for help. It's easy to say "I'm fine thanks" and browse away. I always go for a browse even if I know what I want to buy.
    I would love to know what the average punter spends in these shops. This year alone I have spent well over a grand on golf equipment. Now I guess going forward for the next while it'll be balls, tees, the odd shirt, etc but still - wouldnt be long dropping 200-300 quid and McGuirk's would do well to remember this.

Arsenium wrote: »
    I guess I could understand some peoples opinion in that they arent all over you the second you come in the door. I actually like that as I like to have a look at the new shiny stuff in my own time. If I am going in there to actually buy something then I know what it is and any time I have asked for advice I got it from the guys there.

Let's be clear here. Speaking for myself anyhow, that's not the issue. The issue is going in there (for example) when there are 4 or 5 staff members on a Tuesday morning, standing at the counter with three employees behind the counter, having a chat, and waiting until they are quite ready to finish their chat, and deign to acknowledge your presence.

Have a read of some of the posts. It's not that they are not all over you, that's not the issue. I dont like that approach to sales. It is the consistent and utter disdain they seem to have for their customers, to any half-wit it would be obvious you are looking for help, nobody in the shop, and you still basically have to do the "EXCUSE ME" loud/interrupt of them to get any attention.

Let's be clear here. Speaking for myself anyhow, that's not the issue. The issue is going in there (for example) when there are 4 or 5 staff members on a Tuesday morning, standing at the counter with three employees behind the counter, having a chat, and waiting until they are quite ready to finish their chat, and deign to acknowledge your presence.

Have a read of some of the posts. It's not that they are not all over you, that's not the issue. I dont like that approach to sales. It is the consistent and utter disdain they seem to have for their customers, to any half-wit it would be obvious you are looking for help, nobody in the shop, and you still basically have to do the "EXCUSE ME" loud/interrupt of them to get any attention.

Fully agree with that man right there