Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2014-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,523 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Am sorely tempted to wildcard, this is the squad I was thinking of lashing together, will leave me with 0 in the bank.

320827.jpg
    You're a United fan then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

c7838e7796ae1703698f7268cadc875b.png

My target for the coming weeks.. This or similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

CSF wrote: »
    You're a United fan then

Haha what gave it away? :P

Blind for 5.5 looks a decent price in fairness, would like to have Sterling in the team but will hold fire for now.

If Di Maria doesn't pan out then can hopefully swap for Sterling.

Rooney has been poor so far but in fairness he hasn't been getting the service, am willing to take a punt on Falcao and see how that goes.

Moreno also looks handy, will he be getting his game regular for Liverpool do you know? He could be one I'd bring in to the squad at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

markoire wrote: »
    Hey folks, any feedback on this potential wildcard team would be appreciated!!

Downgrade 1 striker and upgrade 2 defenders.

The 3 'epic' striker thing is not advised so early in the season (thats just my opinion), i'd hold fire on that until you manoeuvre more team value in and maybe set yourself up for that type of line up after xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Trigger pulled on wildcard....Thinking debuchy to shawcross as well....Any other obvious changes?

2ih1mw7.jpg

Strong team. A little "different" too. Which is not bad ;).

How about Pieters instead of Shawcross? You'd save £0.5m.
    I'd get a £4.5m MF instead of JWP.
    3 United sounds a lot with their current form. But they should improve...
    No Chelsea defensive cover? Mourinho teams generally are very solid at the back. That said they look very attacking this year... Maybe they won't be as strong as last year at the back. I remember it took them time to settle at the back though.
    bodking wrote: »
    I may be using my Wildcard after the Break and I would appreciate and comments .

FROM

De Gea £5.5 Myhill £4.0
    Clyne £5.0 Coloccini £4.5 Wilson £4.5 Jagielka £5.5 Hutton £4.0
    Ramsey £9.0 Fábregas £9.1 Mata £8.9 Henderson £6.0 Wanyama £4.5
    Rooney £10.5 Diego Costa £10.5 Bony £8.5

BANK £0.0

TO

De Gea £5.5 Krul £4.5
    Clyne £5.0 Coloccini £4.5 Wilson £4.5 Ivanovic £7.2 Hutton £4.0
    Sigurdsson £6.5 Fábregas £9.1 Mata £8.9 Henderson £6.0 Huddlestone £5.5
    Falcao £11.0 Diego Costa £10.5 Diouf £6.4

BANK £0.9

What's your plan with your front 8? Rotate Huddlestone and DiouF? If I were you I'd avoid selection headaches and go for a £4.5m midfielder (Boyd at £4.4m actually stands out as the best current bench fodder candidate). With £0.9m in the bank I'd upgrade Diouf to Welbeck, he could be lethal at Arsenal.
    Finally I'm not sure but I think your keepers don't rotate greatly. I guess you could save £0.5m-£1m from your keepers by getting a better Krul-rotating keeper in place of De Gea. You could also save £0.5m by getting a second £4m def.

If I add everything up. £0.9m in the bank + £1m from Huddlestone to a £4.5m 5th MF + 2 x £0.5m from keeper & defense - £0.5m for Welbeck = £2.4m. Isn't that enough for a Henderson to Sterling upgrade? Think you'll still be £0.3m short. Getting a £4.5m second keeper would allow that move (Sunderland's Mannone who rotate perfectly with Krul may be one solution).
    OR

De Gea £5.5 Krul £4.5
    Clyne £5.0 Coloccini £4.5 Wilson £4.5 Azpilicueta £6.0 Hutton £4.0
    Ramsey £9.0 Fábregas £9.1 Sterling £8.7 Sigurdsson £6.5 King £4.5
    Diouf £6.4 Diego Costa £10.5 Falcao £11.0

BANK £0.3

I like this one much more. I'd still try get Welbeck for Diouf. You'd need to find £0.2m. Downgrading De Gea would solve that.
    De Gea£5.5 Krul£4.5
    Clyne£5.0 Coloccini£4.5 Wilson£4.5 Ivanovic£7.2 Hutton£4.0
    Ramsey£9.0 Fábregas£9.1 Sterling£8.7 Sigurdsson£6.5 King£4.5
    Diouf£6.4 Diego Costa£10.5 Balotelli£10.0

I can play

3-4-3
    3-5-2
    4-4-2
    4-3-3

So its looking quite good , Comments please

How much in the bank for that one?

I'd stay clear off Balotelli. Too unpredictable.
    What's the story with this Diouf favourite of yours? Is it only me or...) Neve rreally heard about him...

Again downgrading De Gea would allow upgrading Balotelli and/or Diouf.
    beaver111 wrote: »
    Here my wild card opinions please

Krul. Elliot.

Wilson. Coloccini. Wisdom Moore Hutton

Ramsey fabragas. Sigurdsson. Lamela king.

Costa ageuro falcao

Exciting strikeforce at the expense of the defense. That's gonna be the "problem" of this dream forward line. The good thing though is that you can easily revert to a different tactic over 2 GWs by selling 1 of them if needs be.

If I were to go for it, I'd have a thorough analysis of the next 4 fixtures in absolute priority (basically up to the next international break) and the next 4 after that in secondary priority (to the November international break) so that you have a balanced rotating strong enough defense over this period. You might have done so already but if you haven't that's what I'd do ;).
    bezuaua wrote: »
    Currently under WC (0.2 in bank) and recent thoughts are:

Krul + (4.0 GK)

Ivanovic | Kompany + (wisdom | Duff | Moore)

Siggy | Fabregas | Sterling | Lamela + (4.5 - King/Marney)

D.Costa | Aguero | Welbeck

Any opinions are appreciated!!!

Ah. A different setting. That's interesting ;).

Does this squad means £0.0m in the bank? If it doesn't I'd try get a rotating £4.5m second GK.
    Isn't Demichelis a guaranteed starter at City? It could allow you save £0.5m.
    I'm not sure about Lamela but if he finds form and keep his position behind the strike rhe may become very interesting FF wise.
    Finally no United attacking cover? Are you waiting to see if they can hit form? Or you just don't trust them?
    Am sorely tempted to wildcard, this is the squad I was thinking of lashing together, will leave me with 0 in the bank.

320827.jpg

Not sure Blind is a good FF pick. Sounds to me as a lost £1m you could spend somewhere else.
    I don't know if Naismith will keep his starting position at Everton and more importantly his form. If he does he's a steal. If he doesn't Welbeck might be. Getting a £5.0m def instead of Shawcross (staying at Stoke, Pieters for example) and £1.0m for Blind would allow you that move.
    Finally, I don't really like having a non-playing second keeper. And Krul isn't absoulte safety either. But last year with all my good ideas I made a mess of my keepers combos and just hardly scored more from my playing keeper than from my benched one so take that with a good pinch of salt :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭q2ice

iroced wrote: »

No Chelsea defensive cover? Mourinho teams generally are very solid at the back. That said they look very attacking this year... Maybe they won't be as strong as last year at the back. I remember it took them time to settle at the back though.

What's your plan with your front 8? Rotate Huddlestone and DiouF? If I were you I'd avoid selection headaches and go for a £4.5m midfielder (Boyd at £4.4m actually stands out as the best current bench fodder candidate). With £0.9m in the bank I'd upgrade Diouf to Welbeck, he could be lethal at Arsenal.
    Finally I'm not sure but I think your keepers don't rotate greatly. I guess you could save £0.5m-£1m from your keepers by getting a better Krul-rotating keeper in place of De Gea. You could also save £0.5m by getting a second £4m def.

If I add everything up. £0.9m in the bank + £1m from Huddlestone to a £4.5m 5th MF + 2 x £0.5m from keeper & defense - £0.5m for Welbeck = £2.4m. Isn't that enough for a Henderson to Sterling upgrade? Think you'll still be £0.3m short. Getting a £4.5m second keeper would allow that move (Sunderland's Mannone who rotate perfectly with Krul may be one solution).

I like this one much more. I'd still try get Welbeck for Diouf. You'd need to find £0.2m. Downgrading De Gea would solve that.

What's the story with this Diouf favourite of yours? Is it only me or...) Neve rreally heard about him...

Exciting strikeforce at the expense of the defense. That's gonna be the "problem" of this dream forward line. The good thing though is that you can easily revert to a different tactic over 2 GWs by selling 1 of them if needs be.

If I were to go for it, I'd have a thorough analysis of the next 4 fixtures in absolute priority (basically up to the next international break) and the next 4 after that in secondary priority (to the November international break) so that you have a balanced rotating strong enough defense over this period. You might have done so already but if you haven't that's what I'd do ;).

Ah. A different setting. That's interesting ;).

Does this squad means £0.0m in the bank? If it doesn't I'd try get a rotating £4.5m second GK.
    Isn't Demichelis a guaranteed starter at City? It could allow you save £0.5m.
    I'm not sure about Lamela but if he finds form and keep his position behind the strike rhe may become very interesting FF wise.
    Finally no United attacking cover? Are you waiting to see if they can hit form? Or you just don't trust them?

Not sure Blind is a good FF pick. Sounds to me as a lost £1m you could spend somewhere else.
    I don't know if Naismith will keep his starting position at Everton and more importantly his form. If he does he's a steal. If he doesn't Welbeck might be. Getting a £5.0m def instead of Shawcross (staying at Stoke, Pieters for example) and £1.0m for Blind would allow you that move.
    Finally, I don't really like having a non-playing second keeper. And Krul isn't absoulte safety either. But last year with all my good ideas I made a mess of my keepers combos and just hardly scored more from my playing keeper than from my benched one so take that with a good pinch of salt :p.

Good analysis.
    Re keepers I will he going with Krul and Elliot. If Krul gets injured then he will be replaced by Elliot so no transfer required.
    Also means no rotation. Saves money and no worries about leaving points on the bench.

q2ice wrote: »
    Good analysis.
    Re keepers I will he going with Krul and Elliot. If Krul gets injured then he will be replaced by Elliot so no transfer required.
    Also means no rotation. Saves money and no worries about leaving points on the bench.

Cheers.
    I generally don't like this tactics but considering all the pts I left on the bench last year and the saved cash you're really tempting me now :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Burlap_Sack

:p.

Some solid advice, cheers....Think I'll go with courtois as my chelsea defensive but he'll be my only playing keeper. Might try and make up .2m before the end of the wildcard to get another in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

markoire wrote: »
    Hey folks, any feedback on this potential wildcard team would be appreciated!!

Really like it, personally id go for King instead of Quinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭bodking

Im still fiddling but have taken your comments on board so can you give feedback on this line up :

Mannone £4.5 Krul £4.5
    Ramsey £9.0 Fábregas £9.1 Sterling £8.7 Sigurdsson £6.5 Boyd £4.4

Rotate the GK
    Boyd is a good price and will probably get more game time
    Diouf scored against ManC and has 2 handy games Home to Leic Away to QPR .

Bank £1.4

Haha what gave it away? :P

Blind for 5.5 looks a decent price in fairness, would like to have Sterling in the team but will hold fire for now.

If Di Maria doesn't pan out then can hopefully swap for Sterling.

Rooney has been poor so far but in fairness he hasn't been getting the service, am willing to take a punt on Falcao and see how that goes.

Moreno also looks handy, will he be getting his game regular for Liverpool do you know? He could be one I'd bring in to the squad at some point.
    I dunno man, with Blind you're looking at a guy who has gotten 3 goals in his whole career. Unless he proves himself an assist king (a big if, and I'd be waiting to see how that goes before signing him in) he isn't really worth any more in your team than the 4.5 midfielders that start like Wanyama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭boccy23

Based on not having seen Falcao play, is everyone not taking a big chance using their WC on bringing him in?

Im still fiddling but have taken your comments on board so can you give feedback on this line up :

Mannone £4.5 Krul £4.5
    Ramsey £9.0 Fábregas £9.1 Sterling £8.7 Sigurdsson £6.5 Boyd £4.4

Rotate the GK
    Boyd is a good price and will probably get more game time
    Diouf scored against ManC and has 2 handy games Home to Leic Away to QPR .

Bank £1.4

To me that's the strongest team you proposed.
    And with £1.4m in the bank it lets you some freedom in case of injury/suspension/underperformance. e.g. You can upgrade Diouf to Welbeck or Falcao to Aguero, Fabregas to Hazard, Sterling to Di Maria or Silva...

If I were to nitpick over your team I'd say that maybe Krul AND Coloccini is 1 Newcastle defensive option too much but Krul/Mannone do rotate perfectly and at Coloccini's price... Chambers could be great if Koscielny had a long term injury (don't think that's the case), and there's Taylor from Swansea who could be an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,118 ✭✭✭✭8-10

boccy23 wrote: »
    Based on not having seen Falcao play, is everyone not taking a big chance using their WC on bringing him in?

Ah here have you never seen him play? If you had, at any of his clubs or international level, then you know that not seeing him in the EPL makes no difference, guys scores goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭boccy23

8-10 wrote: »
    Ah here have you never seen him play? If you had, at any of his clubs or international level, then you know that not seeing him in the EPL makes no difference, guys scores goals

I appreciate what he has done. But he has been injured, now playing in England, questionable team etc. etc.

A fair number of unknowns to use a WC just to get in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

I can afford when Naismith and Clyne go up 0.1 in price. Not sure whether to stick with Naismith and Henderson or just go with Welbeck though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Any opinions lads potential wildcard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,076 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Nuts102 wrote: »

Think you've overspent on your 5th midfielder or Welbeck (depending what formation you play).

I would downgrade one and upgrade Lamela to Silva or Nasri... No City coverage is way too risky imo. 100+ goals last year and won't be too far off that again this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

I like it. I'm assuming you'll rotate Henderson and Tadic.

Given last GW's performance would you consider Schneiderlin for Tadic and upgrade elsewhere, maybe Terry to Ivanovic or upgrade Wisdom to someone in 4.5 range like Coloccini?

PARlance wrote: »
    Think you've overspent on your 5th midfielder or Welbeck (depending what formation you play).

I would downgrade one and upgrade Lamela to Silva or Nasri... No City coverage is way too risky imo. 100+ goals last year and won't be too far off that again this season.

Maybe just City have to much competition for places imo. Nasri at 8.5 is a snip but i don't think he will start every game. Yaya and Aguero are too expensive and i don't know just something about silva i don;t like.

tom_k wrote: »

Given last GW's performance would you consider Schneiderlin for Tadic and upgrade elsewhere, maybe Terry to Ivanovic or upgrade Wisdom to someone in 4.5 range like Coloccini?

Ye i think Henderson will score well this season he looks to have more forward freedom for a team that will score goals.

I am thinking of downgrading Tadic to someone like James Ward Prowse and using the extra 2.5 to upgrade Lamela to Sterling and upgrading the bench.

tom_k wrote: »

Actually i know i will keep changing it but thinking of this.

Strong keeper and 3 strong defenders with two cheap rotational starters in defence.

Midfield Sterling, Sigurdson and Fabregas to start every game and rotate Henderson and Chadli depending on fixtures. Worried if Chadli will get benched is the problem.

Then up front Falcao and Costa will score and at 6.9 your getting Arsenal's first choice striker which i think is a no brainer.

Maybe just City have to much competition for places imo. Nasri at 8.5 is a snip but i don't think he will start every game. Yaya and Aguero are too expensive and i don't know just something about silva i don;t like.

I can see where you're coming from re Silva... Very frustrating.
    I just think a City attacker needs to be worked in. I think I'm favouring Nasri at present. He may suffer from rotation but I think he'll play less CL games than the others.
    They'll score 2-2.5 goals a game. I think you have to take the rough with the smooth with them.

Any Liverpool fans got an opinion on Sterling. I think he is fantastic and will score very well i feel like i need him. Just a Liverpool friend thinks with Coutinho, Markovic and Lallana that he may not start every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Any Liverpool fans got an opinion on Sterling. I think he is fantastic and will score very well i feel like i need him. Just a Liverpool friend thinks with Coutinho, Markovic and Lallana that he may not start every game.

He has been our best player by a mile so far and i can't see him being dropped just yet. In saying that Coutinho, Lallana and Markovic will all inevitably want and see game time so it just needs to be seen whether this will be in the league or reserved for CL. I'd imagine rotation will start coming more in to effect as the season progresses but for the moment I'll be keeping Sterling myself anyway!

Ye just i am looking at using my wildcard and want some Liverpool attacker and i can't afford Strurridge.

I am putting in Henderson as a rotation option but want Sterling also.

Show me a top midfielder that will start every game ;)

Chelsea : Jose will have us pulling out our hair soon enough.
    Arsenal : So many options and more to come, when Walcott returns, that there's bound to be rotation
    City: Arguably not as much direct head to head competition as the above two but players will be rested either side of CL.
    Liverpool: CL is going to be a strain and a young lad like Sterling will be doing well to play all CL & PL. I would say Rodgers is the least likely manager to rotate though. He played Suarez for every minute (bar 3 iirc) when he came back last year. Absolute madness (but FPL gold) considering they had a lot of games won with half an hour to go. Uruguay got punished for that.

I'd love to put United up there...... No CL will be a big plus for us.

I'll leave you alone now :)

Get someone from City in :)

PARlance wrote: »
    Show me a top midfielder that will start every game ;)

Chelsea : Jose will have us pulling out our hair soon enough.
    Arsenal : So many options and more to come, when Walcott returns, that there's bound to be rotation
    City: Arguably not as much direct head to head competition as the above two but players will be rested either side of CL.
    Liverpool: CL is going to be a strain and a young lad like Sterling will be doing well to play all CL & PL. I would say Rodgers is the least likely manager to rotate though. He played Suarez for every minute (bar 3 iirc) when he came back last year. Absolute madness (but FPL gold) considering they had a lot of games won with half an hour to go. Uruguay got punished for that.

I'd love to put United up there...... No CL will be a big plus for us.

I'll leave you alone now :)

Get someone from City in :)

I would love to put United players in there but i just don't have a clue what;s going to happen. With Herrera, Blind and Di Maria supplying Mata he would be an assist machine setting up Rooney, RVP or Falcao.

My big sorry is we could see Mata benched and Rooney dropping deeper.

q2ice wrote: »
    Good analysis.

The only issue with this policy is that if a game is called off (snow for example) you'd get no points from Newcastle and have no back up. Stranger things have happened over a season!

Dónal wrote: »
    The only issue with this policy is that if a game is called off (snow for example) you'd get no points from Newcastle and have no back up. Stranger things have happened over a season!
    On the flip side, chances are if Newcastle's game is called off your 4.0 million substitute probably won't be playing anyway, leaving you in the same boat.

Whereas Krul picking up an injury unexpectedly (or getting a suspension) is far more likely, and in this case you're almost certainly covered.