Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

17/08/14
    Recovery with 5 Lithuanian beers to wrap up at 55km week.

18/08/14
    Further recovery with 2 tankards of Rebel Red

19/08/14
    7 Mile Easy

Earliest run PB! Out the gap at 7:30am for 11.43km (7.1 miles) at 6:17min/km avg.
    I'm wrecked so there was a bit of walking involved trying to take it easy for tomorrow's 9 miles at marathon pace.

20/08/14
    Knackered after the previous early morning so took the day off. Moved session to next day.

21/08/14
    1M WU + 9M @ MP + 1M WD

With the HM next week I wanted to run a little quicker than MP. Decided to explore a road up around Mountshannon in the process. Pace felt good, but I was under pressure a bit. The road was a narrow busy road with no verge or pavement so that upset my rhythm. Looped back home for 5 miles and by the 6th mile I was fecked. A fair bit of walking and sulking.

Proper disheartening session but sure they can't all be good. Pretty sure I'm on for a sub 2 hour half marathon, but my marathon pace needs a long rethink.

Dust meself down, it's tapering time!

22/08/14
    3M Recovery
    45 minutes recovery nice and slow. 6.78km.

23/08/14
    15M LSR

On the hunt for a stolen car the night before I found an Amphibian King, never realised they were in Limerick. So ran into town through the city centre and looped back to AK for a new pair of tackies. Ended up getting the Brookes Adrenaline GTS 14, the newer version of my current shoe. No reason to change model of shoe until after the marathon I'm thinking. 7km home from there in the new shoes.

24.83km @ 6.23min/km avg.

60.1 km's for the week. Holy moly.

25/08/2014
    4M Easy

6.88km @ 6min/km avg.

26/08/14
    4M + Strides

Really enjoyed this. Included a flat out 500m halfway and 5x20 second strides after 3 miles. No walking and no inhaler, recovered well. A bit worried about the lack of grip from the runners when putting the hammer down. May run a recovery run tomorrow as I put a lot into this session.

6.72km @ 5:45min/km avg. Best stride 3:04min/km.

27/08/14

Not on the plan but needed a recovery run as I've been neglecting these lately, especially after LSRs. Calves feel better now. Found a Garmin segment that I'm going to have to wallop some day soon.

5.63km @ 6:53min/km avg.

30/08/2014

Debating whether to put this log in or not but sod it it's all part of the journey.

Thursday night at about 10pm I got food poisoning and had a 12 hour night on the can, all items must go Harvey go go. Off work yesterday stuck in bed trying to keep down 7up. Gave up all thoughts of running the race. Came around last night and thought I might as well give it a go.

Tullamore Half Marathon : 2:23:XX

What a bloody disaster, I will never let my pride get in the way of skipping a race again. Beyond ****e but had a bit of banter with everyone and apart from the result enjoyed the well organised run. Thanks Tullamore Harriers.

Recovery run through the fields and got 3 calves tagged and bagged which cheered me up immensely.

As Donnie Brasco said so well, "Forget about it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

You lunatic:D I wouldn't mind if it was a 5 km. What was the target time for the race if you were well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Food poisoning... It takes a lot out of you alright :D:D

SamforMayo wrote: »
    You lunatic:D I wouldn't mind if it was a 5 km. What was the target time for the race if you were well?

I was geared up for between 1:50 and 1:55. Would have been happy enough with sub 2 though. There's always next time.

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Food poisoning... It takes a lot out of you alright :D:D

If only it was drink! I hadn't touched two drops in two weeks for this. :eek:

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    I was geared up for between 1:50 and 1:55. Would have been happy enough with sub 2 though. There's always next time.

Fair play you are made of strong stuff! I had a dose like that last X mas and I refused to get out if bed the day after for a hair appointment! Christ if I was asked to run a HM ......

You sound a bit like Linda "I won't get out of bed for less than $10,000" Evangelista. Unfortunately my life isn't as glamourous :D

31/08/14
    No time for recovery as usual.

Short 40km week but brings the August tally to just over 200km.

Booked the Human Race Half Marathon in Limerick on October 5th so I have another lash at it soon... Route is around the UL campus and surroundings which is my usual routes these days, so really looking forward to it. Think a PB is 99.99% guaranteed.

02/09/14
    4 Mile Easy

Hilly route
    6.64km @ 6:17min/km avg

03/09/14
    8 Mile Easy

No watch and very little time. Ran by feel and had to cut short at 6 miles.
    10.5km @ 5:53min/km avg (ish)

04/09/14
    4 Mile Easy

Another late run on a lovely night. Don't want this summer to end! Worried about a niggle in my right ankle but it didn't present a problem. Nice hilly route.
    6.65km @ 5:58min/km avg.

Big 20 Miler coming up...

06/09/14
    20 Mile LSR

These distances are getting out of hand.

Did a 5km loop around home, down through UL, across the Shannon and explored a new trail around Corbally. The trail followed the Shannon with a proper pavement which quickly turned into a rabbit trail eroded by the tide. I never knew this place existed, it was really cool. Why does the empty threat of junkies scare people away from the best parts? Not a tweaker in sight.

Down town and remembered I have to come in later to see the Giant Granny. The early show had the streets clear of cars so I made full use running through the city centre very peacefully. Across the Shannon Bridge, around NCR and stopped at Spar and threw a Lucozade into my water belt.

Back down the Ennis Road across Sarsfield Bridge and large crowds had assembled. So this is what the marathon will feel like! Yep I must have looked like a nobhead when a guard shooed me off the road. I ignored him and reveled in all of my support.

Homeward bound via the UL Shannon path. By UL I was in trouble and finished up the 5km home at marathon pace.

30.05km (18.7 miles) @ 6:17min/km avg.

To the purists I'm sorry I couldn't finish the 20 miles but I was prairie dogging beyond my capabilities.

4 hours of toddler shoulder duty to see the Giant Granny which was a spectacular show. My knees have taken a beating today. Time for my trusty Lithuanian beers.

Enjoy the beers, they were hard earned.

Cheers! You too, well done on the 5K race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

06/09/14
    20 Mile LSR

These distances are getting out of hand.

Why does the empty threat of junkies scare people away from the best parts? Not a twerker in sight.

What on earth were you hoping to see :eek::eek:

Well done on the run though... But you should have stuck out the full 20 :D

Enjoy the beers :)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    What on earth were you hoping to see :eek::eek:

Well done on the run though... But you should have stuck out the full 20 :D

Enjoy the beers :)

Haha freakin' tweaking twerkers wouldn't be the worst thing you'd see around here! :)

07/09/14
    3 Mile Recovery

Nice plod about in the moonlight.

5.61km at 7:04min/km avg. Legs feel back to normal now.

Weeks end: 59.53km.

09/09/14
    7 Mile Easy

Bit stressed out so had no intention to run easy. Renamed it a tempo session and ran at slightly below MP on and off. Really nice red skies with the enlarged moon rising. Happy days.

11.03km @ 5:43min/km avg.

10/09/14
    1M WU + 9M MP + 1M WD

This is the second time I have run this week of training so I wasn't underestimating this session. Had an undulating route with some nasty hills to 5km, 2km downhill and then a flat enough remainder.

Had a great chat with a self professed oul fella down on the Shannon path (he was less than 40 the mad man), dragging me along at a rate of knots for 3km. Thankfully our paths diverged. Found the heat a bit much but this weather we're having is incredible at the moment.

14.53km (9 Miles) @ 5:30min/km avg. Faster than marathon pace and a bit slower than HMP. Not a bad day's work.

11/09/14
    3 Mile Recovery

5km @ 6:24min/km avg. Should have gone slower really. This September weather is unreal.

Have my LSR planned up on a mountain walking trail this weekend. Plan is not to get lost.

13/09/14
    15 Mile LSR

Bit bored of the usual road routes so during the week had a look for a mountain trail I could try. Came across the Glenstal Woods Loop around the corner from me. 14km loop around Slieve Felim outside Murroe.

The first 4km were tough ascents with great views across the countryside. The full sprawl of Lough Derg and the midwest was below. It was baking hot up there and the view visibility was very hazy. I worked hard and walked frequently to get up the relentless climb. It leveled out for a bit and straight up again to the 9km mark. As I came over the crest I saw a runner in the distance about 1km away. Thought I was seeing things but put the hammer down to close the gap. Caught him eventually and scared the bejaysus out of him when I let out a hello. We talked for a bit, when in the most professional tone I told him I'd press on. I even impressed myself saying those words. Hammer and tongs I freefalled off the mountain, an extremely quick 5km. 5 sub 5min/km's. Unreal.

End of the day only 14km but it was my favourite run of all time. I need to race on this terrain and most definately need to run up here more often. Photo doesn't do it justice.

OVWcXVu.jpg
    http://www.irishtrails.ie/Trail/Murroe---Glenstal-Woods/138/

14.17km @ 6:06min/km avg.

May do a LSR tomorrow.

14/09/14
    15 Mile LSR

Two 10km laps of my local suburbia. First lap in 62 minutes. A good talking to myself and ran on for another lap. Thinking is the Human Race HM coming up is a two lap affair also so need to get the head in it. Second lap was 58 minutes. Good running, a few niggles after yesterday but nothing to worry about.

20.08km @ 5:59min/km avg.

Only 12 and a bit miles but it's a record week for distance.

Weeks End: 68.23km (42.4 miles) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

14/09/14
    15 Mile LSR

Two 10km laps of my local suburbia. First lap in 62 minutes. A good talking to myself and ran on for another lap. Thinking is the Human Race HM coming up is a two lap affair also so need to get the head in it. Second lap was 58 minutes. Good running, a few niggles after yesterday but nothing to worry about.

20.08km @ 5:59min/km avg.

Only 12 and a bit miles but it's a record week for distance.

Weeks End: 68.23km (42.4 miles) :eek:

Did you consider the 30k option for the Human Race? Last year I did it as part of my last 20 miler, 1.5 mile warm up, 20k lsr pace & last 10k @pmp - found it good prep.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Did you consider the 30k option for the Human Race? Last year I did it as part of my last 20 miler, 1.5 mile warm up, 20k lsr pace & last 10k @pmp - found it good prep.

I did, but I had a disastrous HM a few weeks ago so want to race it properly. For piece of mind rather than anything else. I have lofty thoughts of doing the 3rd lap at slow pace if I'm feeling okay after the half but can't really see it happening!

Are you running it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

I did, but I had a disastrous HM a few weeks ago so want to race it properly. For piece of mind rather than anything else. I have lofty thoughts of doing the 3rd lap at slow pace if I'm feeling okay after the half but can't really see it happening!

Are you running it yourself?

Plan to alright.
    Just thought time on your feet with some mp miles might be of a greater benefit with 3 weeks to Dublin.
    Might see ya there

17/09/14
    5 Mile Easy

Sick as a dog since Monday so moved out my week by one day. Think it was a mixture of exhaustion and the temp falling recently, although being coughed and spluttered on by my two lads didn't help. By moving out my 20 miler to Sunday it gives me a great excuse to have a long overdue hangover day on Saturday. :)

Did my normal lap in reverse tonight which was a lot more challenging. Good to get out again though.

9.55km @ 6:08min/km avg.

A bit of a struggle as heart rate still seems high. Legs are very niggly too, so need to slow down tomorrow's 8 miler.

Noticing my watch is very jumpy these days, to the point I'm beginning not to trust it whatsoever. Pace seems to jump around quite a lot, and it's definately not me. Might have to start looking for a new one. :(

18/09/14
    8 Mile Easy

Watch died at 4km. Ran the rest by feel.

13km or so @ 6:05min/km or so avg.

Legs are really feeling the mileage this week.