Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Some time last week.... Thursday morning I reckon

A) Squats:
    warm ups to 130kg
    142.5kg 4x6, 1x10

B) Leg Curls:
    3x12

C) Band GMs:
    Greeny x100 over 3 sets

Was an alright sesh. Think I need a tad more volume tho.

Get electrocuted > coach (400 to 442.5kg total in 8 weeks, no big deal) > breakfast with brilliant friends > coffee > breakfast with Sarah (and brilliant pancakes) > coffee > get rained on > go deadlift

A) HBBS:
    warm ups to 140kg
    165kg x3
    170kg x2
    175kg x1
    167.5kg x3
    172.5kg x2
    177.5kg x2

B) Beltless Deadlift:
    warm ups to 180kg
    200kg 5x2 - soooooo smooth

C) Deficit Snatch Grip Deadlift:
    160kg 4x8 - FML

Serious going.

HBBS was a bit mneh.

Def. Sn. Gr. Pull - aka "longest ROM ever"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Dat depth.

Today was a good day....

A) Bench:
    60kg 2x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x2
    120kg x1
    130kg x1
    140kg x4 - wahahahahahahahhoooooooo!!!!!!
    140kg x3
    140kg x2

B) CG Bench:
    130kg 3x3

C1) Alternating Shallow Incline DB Bench:
    25kg 3x10

C2) Trap3:
    2.5kg DB 3x10

D1) Incline Flys:
    12.5kg 3x10 @ 4010

D2) Trap3:
    2.5kg 3x10

I'm freakin' over joyed with that. Can't believe I smashed thru 4. If my shoulder stability didn't suck so hard I'd be going to kill 5s on it. The plan now is to get to 145 for doubles next week before dropping back and repeating the cycle +5kg.

Last time I did 140x4 I was over 110kg, so to do it today at 97.5kg is a MASSIVE PR and once I'm freakin' giddy about.

Thanks to Kieran for all the spotting during the cycle so far :)

Shoulder stability is pants, so trialling a few things for it now.

A) HBBS:
    warm ups to 130kg
    152.5kg 4x4, 1x10 in 33s - was aiming for < 30

B) Box Jump:
    4x2 warm ups
    3 red and a yellow 4x2

C) Band GM:
    Blue-y 5x15

D) Toes in hamstring curl:
    3x15 - the burn, the burn!

That was a grand workout. Spent a good bit of time getting my hips opened and warm.

The HBBS were sloppy - stuck with a bent bar in flyefit. Happy enough to hit 10 at 152.5 tho.

The box jumps under fatigue were nice - my hammies were jacked up by the end.

Turning the toes in on the leg curls to try recruit a bit more semimembranosus and semitendinosus. Thinking if they come up, so will total hamstring strength.

Fading away bodyweight wise.

24th July - a cake filled 103kg
    30th July - a relatively debloated 101kg
    Today - a confused 96.5kg despite eating cake, chocolate, bread and buttered popcorn

Strange world.

Eat cake, lose weight. Got it

bluewolf wrote: »
    Eat cake, lose weight. Got it

I'm so glad my log is full of progressive strategies :)

Yesterday - had a brilliant day out at FitWest Academy taking part in a charity event to raise funds for the new gym in St. Patricks Hospital.

Highlights of the day;

- winning the tyre flip challenge
    - sarah winning the female tyre flip challenge
    - helping to raise €1,500 to kit out their gym (kudos to Mark from D8 for supplying it all at cost price)
    - the delicious chicken curry
    - seeing all shapes and sizes kill it
    - getting egged (see pic)
    - egging others
    - general bants and lolz
    - the Dublin fit pro network coming together to actually do some good for once

10394497_685377448214861_2265217182756561266_n.jpg?oh=a7709765d00041d1cd4d76dbecd9bf6d&oe=546A9E89&__gda__=1417113059_5620c74d6715f515ecf31ae29fdaa7f9

A) Box Jumps:
    warm ups
    up to 41 inches (box + 4x 25s) 2x3

B) Pause HBBSquat (deload day):
    60kg x3
    80kg x3
    100kg 3x2

C) Deadlift:
    warm ups to 180kg x2
    210kg 5x2 (no belt)

D) Deficit Snatch Grip Deads:
    170kg 4x6

E) Farmers Walk w/ Trap Bar:
    up to 160kg 2x20m

210kg x2 DL

Snatch Grip Deficits (aka "f*ck yous")

Today's workout? Fun times.

Jump > squat > deadlift > carry - Dan John style.

Really liking the addition of jumps to my programming. Makes me feel all athletic and ****, and getting up to 41 for triples is pretty cool in my opinion.

Deadlifting is feeling awfully good at the moment - 220kg x2 beltless next week.

The farmers walks were straight up nasty. Deffo a keeper.

Then I spent the rest of the evening ripping up the floor in my new gym.

...and now it's time to eat some home made satay. NYOM NYOM NYOM.

A) Bench:
    warm ups to 135kg x1
    145kg x1, x2, 3x1

B) CGBP:
    135kg x1 - and **** off

C1) Alternating Incline DB Bench:
    27.5kg 3x10

C2) Trap3:
    4kg 3x10 @ 4010

Bleurgh. Had to bench in Flyefit on a **** narrow bench that was higher than the empire state building while holding a fat bent bar. Far from ideal, but I survived.

Shoulder's a bit sore now.

Hanley wrote: »
    A) Bench:
    warm ups to 135kg x1
    145kg x1, x2, 3x1

B) CGBP:
    135kg x1 - and **** off

C1) Alternating Incline DB Bench:
    27.5kg 3x10

C2) Trap3:
    4kg 3x10 @ 4010

Bleurgh. Had to bench in Flyefit on a **** narrow bench that was higher than the empire state building while holding a fat bent bar. Far from ideal, but I survived.

Shoulder's a bit sore now.

Very mneh all together. Check out nose cam.

A) HBBS - nasty olympic style:
    warm ups to 140kg x2
    165kg 4x3, 1x6

B) Box Jumps:
    warms up to...
    4 reds and a green (approx. 43in) 3x2

C) Band GM:
    Bluey 5x20

D) Leg Curls:
    3x15

E) GFYs:
    30+25kg 5x40m

I'm really really really enjoying training at the moment. Low stress, high results.

The HBBS continues well - I'm hoping to crack thru 210kg when I test in a few weeks.

Loving the box jumps - they seem to be progressing well. And the carries are good craic - as much as I despise them.

Trying to train a bit more athletically for a while to bring up conditioning, and to improve any speed strength stuff I've ignored in the past.

A) Box Jumps:
    up to approx. 43.5in (4 reds and a yellow) 3x3 - and with room to spare

B) HBBS:
    warm ups to 140kg x2
    155kg x5
    160kg x4
    165kg x3
    160kg x5
    165kg x4
    170kg x3

C) Beltless DL:
    warm ups to 200x2
    220kg 5x2

180kg 2x6, emergency bathroom break, 2x6

E) Farmers Walks:
    130kg x20m
    170kg x20m
    190kg x20m
    200kg x20m

Box jumps...

Deads...

Incredibly solid day for me. Large, large amount of hard volume done there. My training's going great at the mo. Going to just keep ticking away week by week adding weight to everything until it feels like the right time to test.

Up to 230 for doubles next week on the DLs, 190 x5s on the DSNGRDL and then 200+ on the farmers walks. Would be awesome to get to 2.5x and then 3x bodyweight on those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

Box-jumps look great.

A) Box Jumps:
    up to approx. 43.5in (4 reds and a yellow) 3x3 - and with room to spare

B) HBBS:
    warm ups to 140kg x2
    155kg x5
    160kg x4
    165kg x3
    160kg x5
    165kg x4
    170kg x3

C) Beltless DL:
    warm ups to 200x2
    220kg 5x2

180kg 2x6, emergency bathroom break, 2x6

E) Farmers Walks:
    130kg x20m
    170kg x20m
    190kg x20m
    200kg x20m

Box jumps...

Deads...

Incredibly solid day for me. Large, large amount of hard volume done there. My training's going great at the mo. Going to just keep ticking away week by week adding weight to everything until it feels like the right time to test.

Up to 230 for doubles next week on the DLs, 190 x5s on the DSNGRDL and then 200+ on the farmers walks. Would be awesome to get to 2.5x and then 3x bodyweight on those.

Yesterday.

Finally got this puppy open after a pretty much sleepless night and 16 hours of work...

RevFit: Glasnevin - a story about how I opened a gym with no budget and zero members in 1 week.

Featuring;
    > 2 months of planning
    > supporting roles from Darragh Mccarthy, Sarah Doyle and Conor Barry, with a best young actor nomination for Stephen Nolan
    > cameo appearances from Gary Kirwan and Mark Bunce
    > artistic director: James Hanley
    > fueled by caffeine, minimal sleep and an all consuming passion to help as many people as possible

Coming to a facebook newsfeed near you from next week.

10603643_819376318095148_8965667615143979750_n.jpg?oh=1c9504fdc8143b760cea99142f04185e&oe=5463264C&__gda__=1417275770_8b0ac59232e64cc8bfd402b4ecb1f939

Full album below;

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.819373504762096.1073741828.450638258302291

A1) DB Bench: 42.5kg 5x8
    A2) Trap 3 Raise: 4kg 5x8

B1) Floor Press: 80kg 5x8
    B2) C/S External Rotations: 4kg 5x10

C) Pulldowns: up to 67kg x10 over 5 sets

Day started at 5.30am... was in having coffee with Sarah by 7.30am and training before 9.

Absolutely shagged right now, but almost across the line. There's only a few people who know how hard the last few weeks have been getting this together, but it all came good with some help from Gary @ Odin Gym Equipment and Mark @ D8 Fitness with about 2 hours to spare.

Foot's going down even harder until the year end, but there's a MUCH bigger game in the background I'll be playing from next year on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭JJayoo

What happened to the cross trainer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

JJayoo wrote: »
    What happened to the cross trainer?

He went for a well earned rest.

A) HBBS:
    warm ups to 140kg x3
    170kg 4x3, 1x6

B) Box Jumps:
    warm ups then...
    4 reds and 1 yellow 4x2
    4 reds and 1 blue (approx. 44.5-45in) x2 :)

C) Band GMs:
    blew 4x30

D) Leg Curls, toes in:
    3x15

E) Powerbag Bear Hug Carries:
    25kg+35kg x30m, x40m, x40m

Eh... disgusting. Ish. Really, really enjoying this style of training right now.

The squats were solid. Was being a geebag up until about the 4th set. Mighta eeked out 8 on the final set but wanted to save SOME energy for the box jumps. Up to 180kg next week. That'll be great craic. NAWT.

Box jumps are just getting silly now. They're increasing week on week, and it doesn't feel like they're gonna stop any time soon (famous last words). Really gunning for 5 reds in the next week or two.

The hamstring accessory work is just that - **** to get done.

Carries are DISGUSTING. Because the weight is so far away from your body, it's constantly pulling you forwards. Add in the fact that because you're bear hugging for dear life, you can't breathe, and you get a very nasty burn very quickly.

Only goal was 3 distances for max. First round I messed up my grip, but once I sorted that I was rocking. Would love to go 200m plus on those soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think u would be capable of a 50" box jump if u attempted it after a warm up rather than squats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Carries are DISGUSTING. Because the weight is so far away from your body, it's constantly pulling you forwards. Add in the fact that because you're bear hugging for dear life, you can't breathe, and you get a very nasty burn very quickly.

100%

A) Bench:
    warm ups to 90kg x3
    110kg 3x10 - fleh

B) Illegal Wide Bench (index outside ring):
    90kg 4x8, 1x12

C1) Alternating Incline DB Press:
    25kg 4x10

C2) Elbows Out DB Row:
    10kg DBs 4x10

D1) Standing Band Ex. Rotations:
    red 4x10

D2) Trap 3 Raise:
    4kg 4x10

E) Seated DB External Rotations:
    5kg 4x10 ...and it damn neared killed me

I hate benching again. Or more specifically - I hate benching. On my own. In Flyefit. Anti banter.

Just wasn't up for the 3rd set at 110 so I left it there. Only started the last cycle on 105 x10s so it's an improvement.

Focusing really hard for the next 8 weeks on lots and lots of horizontal pressing (haven't done that in years) and tonnes of external rotation work (...haven't done that, ever).

My seated external rotation training weights should probably be closer to 12-15kg, so that's indicative of a big big hole I need to fill.

What's the rationale for the illegally wide benching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

What's the rationale for the illegally wide benching?

Moar chest activation I'd imagine, although I stand to be corrected by the man himself.

Yup - My pecs are as useless as a chocolate teapot, so trying to get them more involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Yup - My pecs are as useless as a chocolate teapot, so trying to get them more involved.

On that note, how would one go about checking the usefulness of their pecs? I know my triceps are decent for my strength level.

I've 2 measures;

Do you get DOMS in them when you train pressing movements? if you don't - they probably suck.

How far away is your DB bench 8/10RM from your BB bench 8/10RM?

Would you get a similar effect trying to push the bar in/bring your hands together (rather than pull the bar apart) or is that less effective because it relies on you maintaining that inward force?

I use it all the time with people when focusing on pec hypertrophy, and if you look back in my log you'll see I was doing it for a while.

Typically I cycle my training in 8-12 week blocks focus on;

>accumulation
    >intensification

The accumulation phase is all BB tempo stuff, and intensification is mostly around things that'll directly improve the competition lifts.

A) Box Jumps:
    up to singles on about 49in - 5 reds and a yellow

B) HBBS:
    warm ups to 145kg x2
    165kg x4
    170kg x3
    175kg x2
    170kg x4
    175kg x3
    180kg x2

C) Beltless DL:
    warm ups to 210kg x1
    230kg 4x2, 1x3

D) Snatch Grip Deficit Deads:
    190kg 2x5, 1x6

E) Farmers Walks, 20m trips:
    140kg
    170kg
    210kg

So that was some of the best lifting out of me this year. All in all it was an incredible day.

>> 4 great sessions this morning

>> an amazing turn out for the Better Life Project "A Critical Cog in the Happiness Machine: Can simply changing your nutrition make you happier? "

>> chocolate malt, big burger in a bowl and sweet potato fries in the counter

>> Sarah turned a horrible squat session around into one of the best of her life

>> I'd a disgracefully strong performance today, one of my best this year

>> Ran into my first best friend from primary school who I havent' seen in about 13/14 years in FlyeFit too

>> Now off to catch up with all my best mates after spending the last 3 weeks in the RevFit bunker getting **** going there

49ish inch box jump

180kg x2 HBBS

230kg x3 beltless pull

1604936_821506737882106_6715301286261139875_n.jpg?oh=b94f3a075044672e41a65f0fba60eaff&oe=548093B4