Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Murph_D wrote: »
    Looking forward to the report already. Have a good one.

Tnx Murph,

Bit all over the place this week so not sure what way the Lemon pips will pop tomorrow!

Well done today yourself, nice run to get that in in the middle of a marathon cycle.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck tomorrow TbL.

Life in the old dog yet, great running this morning TbL.

tang1 wrote: »
    Life in the old dog yet, great running this morning TbL.

Tnx Tang,

The duck flew a bit straighter today :)

1.25:58 for 20th place.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Tnx Tang,

TbL

Ducks were definitely all in a row today.:p

Super run, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Tnx Tang,

TbL

Excellent work TbL. Nice way to celebrate day 30. I should have went with my original edit of yesterday's post which said 6:30 avg pace:D

Top 20 overall must have given you a very good result in the auldfellas race.

Just being in the same race as Yaboya must have inspired you!

Unfortunately you have now lost the high moral ground and can no longer give Ferris stick over his sandbagging:p

The plan today had called for a half marathon race and Longford was the location of choice. I was a little bit all over the place in my preparation for this, I was mad busy with work last week and my brother has come home from New Zealand and was staying out in the Lemon house, with his family, for the weekend. Yesterday was a glorious day in Connemara and the BBQ was on the go virtually all day, my feeble will power caved in and I probably ate the meat equivalent of a Wildebeest! I was also a little apprehensive after my struggle with the progression LR last weekend.

Anyway got up at 5.30 this morning and was surprised to see the brother already up, said he was suffering from jet lag and wanted to come along for the spin. Lashed into a big bowl of muesli and a bagel and we headed off.

Got to St Mels, the registration area, with no drama and plenty of time to spare. Met Yaboya on the way in and he was looking as fit as fock. Collected my number and goody bag and joined the short queue for the tee shirt. "What size please"? "I'm aspiring for medium but today it'll have to be extra large", I said. "Only goes up to large". "Diet starts Monday so!" Headed out to the car to store my large t shirt in the boot as emergency gear backup.

Met Dave Brady from Raheny Shamrocks in the car park, he was doing his 408th full marathon today and is in the middle of 12 marathons in 12 days! We had a good chat and a bit of banter, Aiman came along just before I headed off, think he might have been pacing today.

Got back to the car and had a quick look into the goody bag, choc bars, crisps, bread rolls and tooth brush and tooth paste!!! Not bad compared to some of the muck they put into "goody" bags at some races! The race number was made from cardboard, proper cardboard, not the waxed paper stuff that it tends to be made from these days. The pins were huge too, then again they needed to be to pierce the cardboard bib and attach it to the vest. Felt like I'd a book attached to the vest :)

Tried to get a quick kip in the car, then grabbed a banana and headed down to the start line. Met a couple of other auld timers that I know down by the start and had a bit of a laugh before lining up at the start. Met Yaboya again at the start and had a little chat with Krusty, who was wearing a very luminous vest (maybe he had planned on running home afterwards and needed the extra visibility in the evening)

Had a quick look around just before the off, Krusty to my right, Pauline Curley right beside me on my left with Yaboya and Mick Rice a little further over. What the fock am I doing up here, too late to take a step back so I just did my best to stay out of people's way as the we got underway. Yaboya took off like someone had taken a nail gun to his arse and I lost sight of him very quickly. First mile seemed to be a bit quick and I tried to dial it in a bit. Said a quick hello to PaulieYifter who looked very comfortable running with the sub 3 lads. Was pretty comfortable for the first few miles and then around mile 3, I saw the 1.30 pacing bus been driven very capably by Dublin Runner. I was worried that I had miscalculated my splits and put in a bit of a spurt to catch the 1.30 (mini) bus. There seemed to be only a couple on board and I tagged along for a mile or so and had a bit of a chat with DR. He mustn't have had his contact lens in because he mentioned that I was running well :)

Got to mile 9 feeling very strong. I think the second half of this course is harder as there we a few hills/inclines over miles 9,10 & 11. I had been steadily passing people along the way and was picking people ahead of me to drag me along. Bit of a wobble along this section but on miles 12 & 13 I picked it up again. Finished strongly with a bit of a sprint to try and come in under 1.26.

Met Krusty and Yaboya at the finish, both had fantastic runs (Krusty finished 2nd using it as a training run!!!) we were soon joined by DR and the lads started talking about a few miles cool down run. I left them too it and went in search of a Full Irish :)

It was a super day for running today and I was delighted with my time (I would have accepted a 1.28 this morning), so this may seem stupid but I have a nagging feeling that I got my pacing wrong over the last few miles because I wanted the 1.28 at all costs. Probably had a small bit more in the tank but if I keep up this momentum for Amsterdam I'll be a happy boy (auld lad)

Splits:

& a bit

TbL

Talk about a name dropper Dave Brady, Krusty, Pauline Curley, Mick Rice, that report read like an Irish Running equivalent of a copy of Hello magazine. Well done again, great running. Had pleasure of being in your country for few hours yesterday, the weather was excellent alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Well done again. Great result and report as usual. Keep up the good work and of course, the world record attempt!

Talk about a name dropper Dave Brady, Krusty, Pauline Curley, Mick Rice, that report read like an Irish Running equivalent of a copy of Hello magazine. Well done again, great running. Had pleasure of being in your country for few hours yesterday, the weather was excellent alright.

Ha ha Tang, funny man.

I thought Pauline Curley was shooing me away until I saw a wasp buzzing around her, then again ......

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ducktastic running there, TbL. Great result!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Claralara was also there today but he must have missed her :pac:

Well done TbL, excellent result. Glad to see they have rectified the course distance too. Maybe it was my touting them to the AIMs measurer :p

Are you gonna give the sub 3 a lash now? That result has you there or thereabouts.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well done super stuff! The meat diet obviously suits you!

menoscemo wrote: »
    Claralara was also there today but he must have missed her :pac:

Well done TbL, excellent result. Glad to see they have rectified the course distance too. Maybe it was my touting them to the AIMs measurer :p

Are you gonna give the sub 3 a lash now? That result has you there or thereabouts.....

Hey Meno,

Tnx. Think I was running behind and with CL for a bit.

As she passed Jerry Forde, I thought I heard one of the bike lads say "nice ass", when I went by them I said "what about my ass", he looked at me funny and said, "I said, nice and fast" :)

Not so sure about the sub 3, you're the second person to ask me that today. I'd hate to go for it and blow up and not hit the sub 3.05.

TbL

Hey Meno,

Tnx. Think I was running behind and with CL for a bit.

As she passed Jerry Forde, I thought I heard one of the bike lads say "nice ass", when I went by them I said "what about my ass", he looked at me funny and said, "I said, nice and fast" :)

Not so sure about the sub 3, you're the second person to ask me that today. I'd hate to go for it and blow up and not hit the sub 3.05.

TbL

Haha, sportsworld singlet (white with red stripe)?

I reckon it is touch and go and I know your concerns. But I ran 3:04 off a slower half (about 40 seconds slower) and I went through half in 1:30:59; that was going very easy. I reckon I had a Low 3:02 that day except my legs cramped up badly. Aerobically I was fine but lost a bit of time due to the spasms.
    I reckon you are stronger over the Marathon distance and Berlin is very flat. I'd say If you went out in 1:30:xx it wouldn't hurt you and you'd leave the chance open if you were feeling good....

Haha, sportsworld singlet (white with red stripe)?

I reckon it is touch and go and I know your concerns. But I ran 3:04 off a slower half (about 40 seconds slower) and I went through half in 1:30:59; that was going very easy. I reckon I had a Low 3:02 that day except my legs cramped up badly. Aerobically I was fine but lost a bit of time due to the spasms.
    I reckon you are stronger over the Marathon distance and Berlin is very flat. I'd say If you went out in 1:30:xx it wouldn't hurt you and you'd leave the chance open if you were feeling good....

That's the lady Meno.

Mmm, food for thought, I'm doing Amsterdam, it's equally flat, but it 3 weeks after Berlin. I'll chat to L about it.

Tnx,

TbL

That's the lady Meno.

Mmm, food for thought, I'm doing Amsterdam, it's equally flat, but it 3 weeks after Berlin. I'll chat to L about it.

Tnx,

TbL

You've even more time to improve so :)

Chip time from timing web site 1.25:48, but they have my age as 68 FFS, I know I'm an auld lad but that's taking the piss, they must have confused me with Ferris :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Well done Lemon xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Nice running there with a strong finish, you're in great shape.

Chip time from timing web site 1.25:48, but they have my age as 68 FFS, I know I'm an auld lad but that's taking the piss, they must have confused me with Ferris :)

TbL
    68 - you kept that quiet, you are ageing very well, have you got a portrait going bad in the attic?

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Nice running there with a strong finish, you're in great shape.

Tnx BB,

Nice to see you back.

Just come back from your log, feck you and your 13 mile training run, at 6.30 pace, with crocked ribs. :)

TbL

SamforMayo wrote: »
    68 - you kept that quiet, you are ageing very well, have you got a portrait going bad in the attic?

Ha ha SfM,

Don't feel too bad now, I see a 72 year old finished ahead of me and a lad of over a 100 just a bit back!

TbL

Ha ha SfM,

Don't feel too bad now, I see a 72 year old finished ahead of me and a lad of over a 100 just a bit back!

TbL

Ye must all be from Tir Na n og !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Ye must all be from Tir Na n og !

Cocoon the Return

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Fantastic running TbL - well done - not too shabby for a waddler. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

But I ran 3:04 off a slower half (about 40 seconds slower) and I went through half in 1:30:59;

Eh, can you prove that Mr Meno? :confused::D

Nice running TBL, things are coming on nicely for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Well done TbL, some running!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

The young fella's doing a great job with your training and you're responding well. Great run; looking good for Amsterdam.

Gavlor wrote: »
    Eh, can you prove that Mr Meno? :confused::D

I can yeah, my garmin proves that, but some Brian fella stole my time in the London results :P