Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rose Of Tralee 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Goiing to put it out there, did anyone else feel that she looked like she knew she would be called out? Or am I just being cynical?! Cos I said the same about the escort last night and it turned out he did know cos they had taken a photoshoot earlier for the front page of the examiner!

I don't know about that. But she wasn't exactly over come with emotion on winning either. I think she was just humouring us..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

efb wrote: »
    She was so good Beauty, poise, charm, intelligence, grace

I've seldom seen so many boardies in agreement from the moment she came on stage....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭OrangeVarnish

I've seldom seen so many boardies in agreement from the moment she came on stage....:)

Best outfit of the festival...said it a few times and I'll keep saying it!!

What is that lad with the blond hair like?....I'd put them all in a cage and post if off to a dark faraway place.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The last time was John Joe on the Late Late Toy show a cupla years back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What is that lad with the blond hair like?

He'd be wearing that cup of tea if I made it for him. :mad:

Hahahahaha....she's on the M1 and she's loving the scenery.....

Remember the craic we had on that thread....

I thought Mr. T handled it very well that night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Dublin Rose has shot up on paddy power!
    Ah here, she just sounded like a junkie.

I thought the Abu Dhabi rose was better. Then I was thinking would she be actually able to get the time off to do her rose duties with been in a two year contact with a school in Abu Dhabi?

True, I doubt the ROT Festival means much over there!....

She was a cert until Ms Philly came out I thought....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Goiing to put it out there, did anyone else feel that she looked like she knew she would be called out? Or am I just being cynical?! Cos I said the same about the escort last night and it turned out he did know cos they had taken a photoshoot earlier for the front page of the examiner!

I grew up just outside Tralee (about 3 miles) and for years people said the it was rigged. I remember the year Brenda Highland won and my mother said she had to have won because the garda band had been playing at the festival for too many years for her not to win. Brenda was a member of the gardaí.
    And ould wans will talk a lot of sh*te.

Generally I don't like conspiracy theories but then again if you live in Ireland you never really know ?

I do think they got it right tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

That's true. In Abu Dhabi, the penalty for breaking a contract is probably a beheading.......

Aineoil wrote: »
    I grew up just outside Tralee (about 3 miles) and for years people said the it was rigged. I remember the year Brenda Highland won and my mother said she had to have won because the garda band had been playing at the festival for too many years for her not to win. Brenda was a member of the gardaí.
    And ould wans will talk a lot of sh*te.

Generally I don't like conspiracy theories but then again if you live in Ireland you never really know ?

I do think they got it right tonight.

I remember Brenda, she was in Templemore, she was telling everyone how great it was to be a Ban Garda and she hadn't left Tipp!!....We had a good laugh that night!...I saw her on telly there a while ago, as the Mammy would say "she did well for herself"....:D:D:D

That's true. In Abu Dhabi, the penalty for breaking a contract is probably a beheading.......

I was more meaning that like a job like anthropologie could use the fact an employee won the rose of tralee and allow her time off but a traditional school in Abu Dhabi might tell her to get lost.

Ah, Harry you're always exaggerating....it's only a foot or a hand as far as I know...:eek:

I was more meaning that like a job like anthropologie could use the fact an employee won the rose of tralee and allow her time off but a traditional school in Abu Dhabi might tell her to get lost.

"Teachers" are ten-a-penny in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Most of them haven't any proper qualifications and the pay is rubbish.

I thought they would all be on good money, isn't that the reason they all head there?.....

I know one or two people out there, and it isn't all it's cracked up to be. They get free accommodation but the pay isn't great, and none of them have teaching qualifications.

Rather them than me.

To hot....:o

It's the reason they all do be headed there.

I had to laugh at the Dubai Rose saying "the weather's great" earlier. I got off a plane in Abu Dhabi at about midnight there a few weeks ago. It was like stepping into a bloody furnace.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Flyer28 wrote: »
    Bit of an ice queen about winning?

Why? Because she doesn't blubber?
    She is elegance and grace personified!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

amdublin wrote: »
    I am awarding myself Post of the Night for my line:
    "The shorter the hair, the closer to the tiara"

So there!

That was a qualify line tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

I have a close relative teaching in Dubai (she is fully qualified to teach here) - From what I know - the reason she went was the fact that she found it really hard to get a permanent job here (NI) and got one out there quite easy.

She tells me she earns the same salary out there as she would here which isn't a fortune but you take the fact that she doesn't pay tax, gets accommodation & utilities paid and a small living allowance it would be a sweet enough number. So if you were young and wanted to see the world I'd say it would be a great experience.

PS thought the Phillie Rose was a worthy winner - stone wall fox!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,255 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Anyone think Nathan and Miss Philadelphia would make a stunning couple? :pac:

leahyl wrote: »
    Anyone think Nathan and Miss Philadelphia would make a stunning couple? :pac:

Would Daithi not be more Nathans type? :p

Couldn't figure where I recognised Philly Rose last night - she was in Homeland - Played Brodys wife!

Morena-Baccarin-Wallpaper_-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Couldn't figure where I recognised Philly Rose last night - she was in Homeland - Played Brodys wife!

Morena-Baccarin-Wallpaper_-1.jpg

You are so right! Was trying to remember who she reminded me of - Audrey Hepburn
    or Halle Berry did not quite do it!! :)

A friend of mine had been telling me that a niece of her brother-in-law was the
    Philadelphia Rose. Totally stunned at her winning!! :)

I thought the Abu Dhabi Rose was gorgeous. Carlow was also a stunner.
    Thought she might have won after her dance performance - much more elegant
    than putting on a pair of heavy shoes to belt out an Irish jig!!

And what about the North Carolina Rose, Nancy Boyce?? I thought Daithí was
    very flustered there for a while!! She came on complaining that she could not
    feel her feet as she had to wear high heels all week. 'The higher the hair, the
    closer to Jesus' comment has been much quoted already! She was hilarious
    in a very wacky way. As she was on last on the first night, I wonder if she had
    been imbibing before she came on. One of the poster's comment after the short
    haired Philadelphia Rose won: 'The shorter the hair, the closer to the tiara'! :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Aineoil wrote: »

I also think Aoibhinn Ní Shuilleabhain was the anointed one her year too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭George White

The mam looks like Claire Grogan from Altered Images.

Ask your parents.
    Also she played Niamh Conley in the Rock A HUla Ted ep with the Lovely Girls COmpetition.