GRAND THEFT AUTO ONLINE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,675 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Class. Can you post if you get rewards for getting gold, would be class if you could get a car/plane/money as a reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Flying school has some new tasks to complete, you get about 9.5k for gold stars, they're not crazy difficult, I've been getting silvers across the board without trying very hard, and with my dodgy controller. They're something different at least.

Haven't seen any hackers yet, I'm also no longer trapped in the garage :P
    Few new cars, missions and jets.

Nothing to write home about rly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

I loved flight school in SP, it took me forever to get gold on the landing on the bridge part haha

This should be fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

2 minor glitches, when you take your irish parachute off after jumping it turns to a usa colour on the ground. Also, when you buy a reserve chute and use it, you have to go back to ammunation and equip it, when you enter a plane/helicopter it only gives u a free main chute, no reserve :/ .. I learned that the hard way haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭TacoMan

Delighted we get some sort of update, but jaysus look at the prices of the new vehicles! You would probably need easily >5million to buy all the new stuff. I think I'll take the new Coquette for a spin in single player before blowing the guts of $700k on a potential dud (looks nice though). Would love one of those new jets and helicopters. Any word on the "improvements" to mission payouts? I might have to go grinding missions, cos I'll be damned before I invest in a shark card :mad:

New flight suit too for 50k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭KeshFM93

Didn't do much yet got the besra a fast and manovirable jet without weapons smaller than the fighter jet and could probably out fly it. But same / similar speed.

The car is a sport classic reminds me of the stinger looks good and sounds good but tail happy. Its more for show than racing excellence. Could be best in class but I'll have to test it out.

Reserve parashute purchased in amunation. Not sure of this yet. I parashuted on a building from the besra and then jumped from the building and shute never opened and I went splaaat .

Not gonna go near the miljet as I can't see it being much fun considering its a bigger Luxor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Kesh, check if adding a rear spoiler will add traction to the arse of the car.
    Would like to buy this car for racing but not if shes arse happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Jaggy

Coquette handles like a pig before any of the mods.

With the mods it's a faster pig. But I like it!

Half the flight school done, all golds so far, nice bit of cash as well. Won't be able to play anything else until I have all golds! The new plane carries 16 people but unless you can see an interior and have a house party in the sky, it will just be the same boring thing of slowly moving across the sky, much more fun having a mix of planes between ye.

....and there's my first freeze after the new update :rolleyes:

Love the flying low mission, great pay too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

The third last one in the online flight school is arguably the hardest single thing I have come across in any GTA game ever. Don't even want to know what the last two will be like at this rate.

Billy86 wrote: »
    The third last one in the online flight school is arguably the hardest single thing I have come across in any GTA game ever. Don't even want to know what the last two will be like at this rate.

What?? That's by the far the easiest!

That's the one I'm on about, ground level.

This trick is to put down your landing gear and hold the brakes at about 50% so its just about to cut out and drop but not quite, you go as slow as a snail and can get your average height down to 0.00m.. I'm going for the world record on that one!

The buzzard now has the ability to turn off homing rockets - free aim. Don't think that was in the previous update was it?

Also, a nice thing I noticed in the patch notes - Lester’s abilities ‘Remove Wanted Level’, ‘Cop Turn Blind Eye’, and ‘Off Radar’ now apply to all passengers in a vehicle as well as the player who initially triggered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭C.M_jc

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Class. Can you post if you get rewards for getting gold, would be class if you could get a car/plane/money as a reward.

You unlock a t-shirt.

Edit: actually I think that unlocks when you complete Flight School regardless of medals. When I finished I had to go back and redo a one I got bronze in. Nothing extra for all-gold AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭C.M_jc

According to the notes missions payouts are no longer halved if replayed, however some of the missions now pay less overall; depending on difficulty some have increased too. Seems to be the other major part of the update really.

Holy sh*t I actually did it!!!! :D:D:D

9vxAcv4.png

C.M_jc wrote: »
    You unlock a t-shirt.

Edit: actually I think that unlocks when you complete Flight School regardless of medals. When I finished I had to go back and redo a one I got bronze in. Nothing extra for all-gold AFAIK.
    Cheers that helps a tonne... we're Rd how that plane picks up so much speed without even tapping to accelerate at all. Ballsed up at the end but got a bronze, so I'll correct it later (I am quote sure I went upwards of 120 attempts!).

Update is a bit meh, free so no complaints obviously but I've never been fond of flying in GTA games and it's also always been my weakest point by a distance.

minimap displays tanks now, that's handy.

NOOOO!!

They lowered the potshot payout from 10500 to 4880 :(

But I also read that you get more money depending on how long it takes you, so I'm going to leave my controller upside down and idle for an hour to 2 and see the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

3rd last flight lesson.
    Only took 21 attempts :D

Can't do the shooting rang one at all because both of my controllers are ****ed.

Those who race bikes with me know my woes. Basterds pull to the left constantly and twitch everywhere, it's the same craic with planes/choppers

Had enough and quit it on the last onr, will go back in a bit. That knife turn the nsteuctor does on the corner of the docks does not make sense, and I f***ing hate that plane. I'm going to go punch kittens for a bit.

Interesting, doing potshot in 2 mins 45 seconds nets $4880, but leaving your controls upside down for half an hour (spinning right joystick around to prevent disconnection from idling) nets you $19500!!

I think it may just be possible to earn money in your sleep!

I'll leave it for a few hours this time and see the difference, so we can start calculating the time bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Made a little over 145k for flight school.lost about a stone and a half in anger/nervous sweat over the last 3 lessons
    F##k me!!!

Didn't see a spoiler option :(

Only decent mods on it are the front n rear bumper. And even at that it doesn't make a big difference.

Formation Flight will be the death of me.

Haven't went near flight school yet . I'm hoping it won't be as frustrating as it sounds .

5 gold, 4 silver and a bronze. I'll be back for the golds. Got 150k altogether, class!! More stuff like this is greatly welcomed.