Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

6 Miles tonight: 1 WU + 4 MP + 1 WD.

Probably went way too fast but it was a good run, it could have been a lot easier though. Also everyone says hello to each other down here it's savage :D

Big milestone tomorrow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    6 Miles tonight: 1 WU + 4 MP + 1 WD.

Probably went way too fast but it was a good run, it could have been a lot easier though. Also everyone says hello to each other down here it's savage :D

Big milestone tomorrow...

Oh the suspense is killing us... Go on... :D

Boom! One year running today celebrated with a recovery 5k run. In fact today I ran slower than when I started. Absolutely delighted I kept at this craic, keep it up to anyone starting, doing or finishing the C25k. It gets better and better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Boom! One year running today celebrated with a recovery 5k run. In fact today I ran slower than I when started. Absolutely delighted I kept at this craic, keep it up to anyone starting, doing or finishing the C25k. It gets better and better!
    Ah congratulations! That's brilliant! And I agree with you!!! It does get better and better. Not easier but better!!!

Couldn't get out for the LSR on Saturday so ran 7k at pace instead. 5:42min/km avg. Bang on.

Sunday got up early and ran the second 13 miler. Was running a fantastic route but at times I was on a rabbit trail so had to walk. Also faced some sheer vertical slopes that had to slow down on too
    21.34km at 6:30min/km avg. Perfect pace for once.

48.5km logged for the week :D

Just over 6km at easy pace. So warm out there it didn't matter what pace I did, real rainforest conditions out there at the moment.

Wed 23rd
    6 miles plus 5x20second sprints after the 5th mile. Absolutely roasting and humid, pointless having a shower as the sweat kept coming for hours afterwards. :eek:

Thur 24th
    A night on the sauce was an excuse not to run this day.

Weekend
    Spent all day Saturday and Sunday on the bog. If anyones been on a bog before you'll know the work it puts into your quads and back. Got back home and through pigheadedness got out for my 15 mile LSR.

Did 16 miles in the end with no watch. 6:07min/km avg, a bit fast. Struggled in the last 2-3 miles and walked a bit. Found my new Lidl water belt absolutely brilliant.

I now cannot walk whatsoever.

Main thing is to recover fast now, going to try my next 16 mile LSR on Saturday and stop doing them on the Sunday to allow good recovery time.

41.71km for the week.

Tues 29th
    5 miles easy pace. Stayed strict with pace as my legs are still in rag order. Ball of right foot is aching. Not looking forward to 5 mile at pace tomorrow...

Wed 30th
    1mile WU + 5 miles at marathon pace + 1 mile WD.

Ran a hilly course and ran 20 seconds quicker than pace. Usually I’m strict with pacing, but was amazed at my fitness and have a recovery run tomorrow, so not too much harm done.

Enjoyed it. Immensely.

Thurs 31st
    40 minutes recovery, just over 5k at 7min/km avg.

Months End: 158.44 km (98.5miles) :eek:
    That's insane, and I missed a few runs, next month is going to be bigger again.

02/08/14
    Up early and got the coco pops into me.

From Castletroy into Limerick via the UL Shannon path, down the Quays, around the North Circular and back into town. From there out to Corbally past Westbury and right at Larkin's Cross down the Gillouge Road. Down the Blackwater trail into UL again and home. I had a good chat with a horse pulling a carriage past the Hunt Museum but he wasn't able for the hill so I left him behind. Class route.

25.8km (16 miles) at 6:02min/km avg. Too fast but it was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Jaysus you over took a horse! What is in coco pops I wonder????

05/08/14
    4 miles easy.

Legs felt like someone else's. I'm coming down with a flu after a 3 day hangover. I'm fecked altogether which is jeopardising a good time in Galway now :(

Hey that's what I get for drinking like a mad man out 'til 7am on Sunday morning. Really got to prioritise my running over a hape of drink for once...

05/08/14
    4 miles easy.

Legs felt like someone else's. I'm coming down with a flu after a 3 day hangover. I'm fecked altogether which is jeopardising a good time in Galway now :(

Hey that's what I get for drinking like a mad man out 'til 7am on Sunday morning. Really got to prioritise my running over a hape of drink for once...

The odd blow out on the beer can be a good thing to you know :D See ya next sat, be expecting a PB from you .... No pressure :D

Missed a lot of easy and paced miles this week due to hangover and then illness. Came down with a bastard of a bug.

Have the Streets of Galway (8K) tomorrow evening, so went out for a short 6K run. My body is still fighting the bug so after 2 miles I was gone, granted I was going too quick. Never realised how much being sick can take it out of you.

Goal for the race was to go sub 42 and an off chance of going sub 40. Now though I don't know where I am. Plan is to go out at 5:15min/km and see how I'm fixed.

Can't wait to run in Galway again.

09/08/14
    The Streets of Galway 2014.

This was my very first race this time last year after the C25k. I loved every minute of it so racing it again this year was a certainty.

It was glorious sunshine when I arrived in galway; a day for unusual and great things so!

We were off on the dot and avoiding eejits for 1.5km, no matter where you are people are twats. Very difficult to get rhythm, up and down off pavements, around gaurds, cars, caravans.

Finally in my rhythm up at UHG just before 3km only to get a stitch at 4. That'd be the bag of cashew nuts. Water at 4 and 5. Bit of a walk to calm down just 30 seconds off my 5k pb. Everything was going to plan.

Down to the prom handy and then really put my mind to it with 2 to go. Tough going but put in a 4:20 km in for the last km. Fell into the fetal position over the line, left nothing out there.

38:12 on my watch, 10 whole minutes faster than last year. Just shows you the power of slow consistent miles sorry km's. I'm over the moon I'm sure I told poor oul martyboy here all about it.

Pizza and home. Bog again tomorrow. That's the stuff.

Absolutely delight you got that result. You were playing down your chances a bit before hand, no more than myself, but you dug in for it in the end.

The smile off ya at the end was infectious and just showed what running means to some people especially when you get a good result..

Well done again and keep up the good work, the results will speak for themselves :)

I'll see ya at the next one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Just shows you the power of slow consistent miles sorry km's. I'm over the moon

I'm baffled how these slow miles are making you faster.

I'm convinced I'm now slower than I ever was!

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Absolutely delight you got that result. You were playing down your chances a bit before hand, no more than myself, but you dug in for it in the end.

Cheers Marty, yep thought I was going to flop with the heat but paced her well in the end. Got a speeding ticket on the way home so was definately my night :D
    Laois_Man wrote: »
    I'm baffled how these slow miles are making you faster.

I'm convinced I'm now slower than I ever was!

Haha I thought the same, no speed work whatsoever since March. I'm still in the 'mouldable' stage of running though, aerobic fitness has come on leaps and bounds since starting the marathon plan.

Roll on the Tullamore Half Marathon in 20 days! McMillan is telling me I can run a 1:47:20 now haha but sure we all know he's a mad man.

Saturday's race brought me to just 20km for the week. Didn't get a chance to get out on Sunday due to a long day on the bog. More than made up the required leg work there I'm sure, quads are killing me.

12/08/14
    4 Miles Easy - Watch had a hard time readjusting back to Limerick life, so had to run most of it by feel. Legs are tired, but feel a lot better after these few miles. ~6:10min/km avg.

6 miles at marathon pace tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Saturday's race brought me to just 20km for the week. Didn't get a chance to get out on Sunday due to a long day on the bog. More than made up the required leg work there I'm sure, quads are killing me.

12/08/14
    4 Miles Easy - Watch had a hard time readjusting back to Limerick life, so had to run most of it by feel. Legs are tired, but feel a lot better after these few miles. ~6:10min/km avg.

6 miles at marathon pace tomorrow!

Enjoy the 6 tomorrow! You're flying it! Must be all that bog work:) !

13/08/14
    6 Mile Pace - 1 WU + 6 Pace + 1 WD.

Needed a route from home to work so spent all of the warmup and most of the first km figuring out where I needed to turn back. It would take me two seconds to figure out sitting here now, but while running I must resemble a brain-dead zombie.

With the upcoming half marathon I picked a 5:30min/km pace which was ambitious and after turning around for work at 8.1km I was a bit worse for wear. No worries though, finished up the session strong enough.

13.36km (8.3 miles) in all.

14/08/14
    4 Mile Easy

From work along the UL Shannon path to the City Canal bridge and back. What a friendly oul' route!

7.8km (4.85miles) in all at 6:19min/km avg. Easy to slow down the pace for once as the legs are sluggish from yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

14/08/14
    4 Mile Easy

From work along the UL Shannon path to the City Canal bridge and back. What a friendly oul' route!

7.8km (4.85miles) in all at 6:19min/km avg. Easy to slow down the pace for once as the legs are sluggish from yesterday.

It is a friendly route isn't it! Vast majority of other runners acknowledge you in some shape or form... No secret coughers yet though so we must not have crossed paths :-)

JohnDozer wrote: »
    It is a friendly route isn't it! Vast majority of other runners acknowledge you in some shape or form... No secret coughers yet though so we must not have crossed paths :-)

I can't cough and run, gave it up ages ago! Look out for a variety of Galway race shirts ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

09/08/14
    The Streets of Galway 2014.

This was my very first race this time last year after the C25k. I loved every minute of it so racing it again this year was a certainty.

It was glorious sunshine when I arrived in galway; a day for unusual and great things so!

We were off on the dot and avoiding eejits for 1.5km, no matter where you are people are twats. Very difficult to get rhythm, up and down off pavements, around gaurds, cars, caravans.

Finally in my rhythm up at UHG just before 3km only to get a stitch at 4. That'd be the bag of cashew nuts. Water at 4 and 5. Bit of a walk to calm down just 30 seconds off my 5k pb. Everything was going to plan.

Down to the prom handy and then really put my mind to it with 2 to go. Tough going but put in a 4:20 km in for the last km. Fell into the fetal position over the line, left nothing out there.

38:12 on my watch, 10 whole minutes faster than last year. Just shows you the power of slow consistent miles sorry km's. I'm over the moon I'm sure I told poor oul martyboy here all about it.

Pizza and home. Bog again tomorrow. That's the stuff.

Well done last Saturday.

I was sitting on the grass at the finish when some lad in a green t shirt fell to the ground and looked like he was praying towards Mecca. Any chance that was you?

TbL

Well done last Saturday.

I was sitting on the grass at the finish when some lad in a green t shirt fell to the ground and looked like he was praying towards Mecca. Any chance that was you?

TbL

Haha that was me alright, how on earth would you have guessed that! Feckin cashew nuts had me in ribbons! The timing chip only registered when I finished my little prayer too. Well done yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Haha that was me alright, how on earth would you have guessed that! Feckin cashew nuts had me in ribbons! The timing chip only registered when I finished my little prayer too. Well done yourself!

You certainly didn't leave anything out on the course but by the look of you, you might have left something out on the grass :)

TbL

You certainly didn't leave anything out on the course but by the look of you, you might have left something out on the grass :)

TbL

I left 40 seconds on that grass and nothing else! :D

16/08/14
    17 Mile LSR

Had no coco pops left so had to settle for a bowl of generic multigrain hoops. Bah!

Picked a sightseeing route around King John's Castle, Thomond Park, LIT and Ivan's. Nice run but struggled on the way home for the last 8k. Bought a Powerade but not sure it had anymore benefit than water.

27.6km (17.15 miles) at 6:11min/km avg.