Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

SM746 wrote: »
    Perhaps, but wouldn't you effectively be conceding the kick outs then to either of their corner backs?
    Can we really do that?

I'd agree that Kavanagh should start ahead of McFadden and play Murphy in the full forward line.

How we will set up and counter Dublin's kick outs is another matter. It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if we did concede possession from their kick outs.

Equally, the last Dublin v Donegal match I was at (league 2013 in Ballybofey) we worked really hard to cut off their options going short and tried to force them to kick long.

Anyway, three weeks to mull it over. I'm still enjoying the fact we beat Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Perhaps, but wouldn't you effectively be conceding the kick outs then to either of their corner backs?
    Can we really do that?
    Yes you would but the thing about pushing up on the kickouts is you have to commit totally to it and mark every player. Even if we do this I still think Cluxton will find a Dub with most kickouts, taking all the guys who pushed up out of the game. Now youve got very pacy Dublin players running at an exposed defence.

Also our half back line is quite small-Cluxton can go long to Flynn and Connolly and theyre well able to catch a high ball, again putting us in trouble.
    So all in all I think we ve no choice but to concede the kickouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

harpsman wrote: »
    Yes you would but the thing about pushing up on the kickouts is you have to commit totally to it and mark every player. Even if we do this I still think Cluxton will find a Dub with most kickouts, taking all the guys who pushed up out of the game. Now youve got very pacy Dublin players running at an exposed defence.

Also our half back line is quite small-Cluxton can go long to Flynn and Connolly and theyre well able to catch a high ball, again putting us in trouble.
    So all in all I think we ve no choice but to concede the kickouts.

Yeah we all have different ideas which is fascinating!
    Funnily enough I thought the tactical positioning of Laois and the way they done it was one I earmarked to myself earlier in the year as a possibly strategy. Perhaps Dublin were not above 50% that day but I remember Laois having some success and that being highlighted in the national media. I believe it was Kevin McStay done an in-depth piece on it.
    Jim was straight into the stands for the game yesterday so I cannot wait to see what plan we have!

To echo RSF; I'm savouring that victory from yesterday too. Just watched the games without the stress levels and it was just as nice as yesterday :-)

1 victory on the 31st will be a great achievement for Donegal GAA; 2 victories will be above and beyond my wildest expectations!

No matter what happens Jim and that squad most certainly owe us nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

A couple of points on yesterday. First of all, we said that the ideal would be for Donegal to get into the semi final without overly impressing and for Dublin to go in untested. We got our wish there! :)
    However our shot selection yesterday was atrocious and the lack of form in our full forward line shows no sign of improving. I really don't see who can come in to change that either so it may well be that we go with Kav in for Colm and leave Murphy up front. That said, Murphy was immense yesterday, especially when running at Armagh - he sucks players in around him, freeing up space for others - something we would lose if we leave him up front. So whilst I see the argument that we should leave him in, I'd worry that in doing so he won't see much of the ball - we need two Michael Murphys!
    However as others have said, first and foremost it was nice to see us beat that shower of thugs yesterday (be interesting to see how the lads in the Sunday Game analyse some of the things that went on yesterday) and it's nice to be able to discuss how we might match Dublin over the coming weeks.

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    A couple of points on yesterday. First of all, we said that the ideal would be for Donegal to get into the semi final without overly impressing and for Dublin to go in untested. We got our wish there! :)
    However our shot selection yesterday was atrocious and the lack of form in our full forward line shows no sign of improving. I really don't see who can come in to change that either so it may well be that we go with Kav in for Colm and leave Murphy up front. That said, Murphy was immense yesterday, especially when running at Armagh - he sucks players in around him, freeing up space for others - something we would lose if we leave him up front. So whilst I see the argument that we should leave him in, I'd worry that in doing so he won't see much of the ball - we need two Michael Murphys!
    However as others have said, first and foremost it was nice to see us beat that shower of thugs yesterday (be interesting to see how the lads in the Sunday Game analyse some of the things that went on yesterday) and it's nice to be able to discuss how we might match Dublin over the coming weeks.
    Sure was nice to beat the thugs alright. I wouldnt be expecting much comment on Sunday Game bout their trampish behaviour-its brolly and whelan. Im sure there ll be another row between joe and des bout the push on doctor.

I think murph can still come out the field to get the ball and run at the defence if he plays full forward- just dont really want to see him mullockin around deep in his own half.

Heard just there from someone who would know that Findon rang Dr Moran today and apologised. I'll give him credit for that. Brolly vs Des here will be fun :-)

Donegal News have a piece on it. Some strong words used to describe Findon's actions. A bit over the top IMHO.

For what it's worth, there were worse things that went on yesterday. Forker's punch to Leo McLoone on the ground was one. Findon go away with far too many fouls outside of his antics with the doctor.

And I am amazed Eamon McGee (who had a fine game) wasn't called on pushing Ethan Raferty (I think) over the hoarding.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Donegal News have a piece on it. Some strong words used to describe Findon's actions. A bit over the top IMHO.

For what it's worth, there were worse things that went on yesterday. Forker's punch to Leo McLoone on the ground was one. Findon go away with far too many fouls outside of his antics with the doctor.

And I am amazed Eamon McGee (who had a fine game) wasn't called on pushing Ethan Raferty (I think) over the hoarding.

Just seen that there now. McQuillan takes the blame for me, he let their niggling and disrupting go.
    At one stage Murphy rammed the ball into the ground in pure frustration and I didn't blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I sincerely hope Colm Anthony wasn't watching the Sunday game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Maybe it'd be better if he was and it got his back up...point to prove. Although he looks lost for the past year.

Looking back over it again, those last 3 points were fantastic scores. The pass from Neil to Odhran had to be perfect, the give and take from Murphy before his score was excellent, and as has been said, the final point from Paddy was a great team effort.
    Some worrying aspects from Saturday are:
    The obvious one is Colm - can't see how we can start the next day but also can't see too many alternatives other than leaving Murphy in as part of the two man line but who will then take frees from the right - be a big ask to give Paddy that task.
    Durcans kick outs were poor the last day - thankfully big Neil was superb but I would worry that Dublin would dominate this area if he's as bad the next day.
    Lacey was very average - I wonder did he get a knock in that off the ball stuff in the first half?

A few other observations.
    Leo was clearly targeted by Armagh - the punch by Forker should have been a red, no question about it - yet funny enough very little said about it since the match in the media - they seem more concerned with the push on the doctor!
    Our composure in the last 10 minutes was excellent but our shot selection in the previous 15 was very unlike us - I'll give Armagh credit for that.
    Paddy McB and Odhran kicked some terrible wides but full credit to them for having the balls to kick those two points near the end.
    The shame for Armagh is that they have some fantastic footballers (the two Kernons were outstanding) but I still came away from the match thinking what a bunch of thugs they are - I think we all know who should carry the blame for some of the things that went on off the ball!

Durcans kick outs were poor the last day - thankfully big Neil was superb but I would worry that Dublin would dominate this area if he's as bad the next day.

He kicked the ball directly to an Armagh player three times and those three times led to 1-02 scored for Armagh.
    Lacey was very average - I wonder did he get a knock in that off the ball stuff in the first half?

Not during that incident. He had received treatment or was down in distress at least closer to our own goal early in the game. He didn't look right after that, but was still asked to carry a lot of ball in the first half - as well as push up the field (and that's why he was involved in 'the incident').

I suspect that he was not able to do more in the second half and so wasn't asked to do any more and I'm surprised he wasn't replaced by Declan Walsh or Luke Keaney. But I'm sure it would have given Armagh a lift to see him go off but I don't know if McGuinness would think in those terms.

It's becoming clear now that while everyone is 'fit', guys like Lacey, Rory and Chirsty are not able for 70 minutes of Championship intensity football. They are all doing very well in bursts, but it's a concern.

Leo was clearly targeted by Armagh - the punch by Forker should have been a red, no question about it - yet funny enough very little said about it since the match in the media - they seem more concerned with the push on the doctor!

Yeah, as well as that punch, Forker hit him cold later - Leo made a bit much of it in fairness and it was idiotic by Forker as it cost Armagh a free that might have led to a score.
    The shame for Armagh is that they have some fantastic footballers (the two Kernons were outstanding) but I still came away from the match thinking what a bunch of thugs they are - I think we all know who should carry the blame for some of the things that went on off the ball!

I guess guys like Andy Mallon and Aaron Kernan may struggle to go another year and they have serious issues around midfield, but they look to be in very good shape. Our experience yesterday was crucial in getting us over the line, but I would be very wary of Armagh next year. Playing in Division Three mightn't help their development.

Harsh but fair you'd have to say. It's a shame that it's come to this - if he had been dropped during the Ulster Championship he wouldn't have featured so much last night.

I wouldn't trust any forward on the bench to replace him from the start however. If he's dropped, it has to be Paddy and Michael inside as far as I'm concerned. MacNiallais might be another option, but I suspect he's better running on to ball facing goal than he is at running out to win ball. His scoring rate is very impressive however.

Brick impressed during the league and I've no doubt he would work hard but the quality is just not there, especially for championship.

Jigger, we know he's talented but I don't think we can play him alongside Paddy.

Hugh McFadden would actually tick a lot of boxes - a big lad, can hit frees, talented, can take a score. But nowhere near experienced enough to start an All Ireland semi final.

Leon Thompson, no chance.

They're a good side, no question about it and very dangerous but I don't rate many of them as actual footballers.

michael darragh is a donkey of a footballer. A massive engine and hugely dynamic but he can just about solo a ball ffs. Don't rate o sullivan next to him either. This is an area where we should be looking to dominate especially with Big Neil and his ability. Their midfield pace and power is an issue obviously because Neil is cumbersome compared to that but we need to be cleaning up around the middle.

Their full back line is there to be got at and I don't know how it's going to happen but we need Colm to find some sort of form. I think we can hurt them with the quality of our players.

I'm happy with our back 6 individually. No concerns about any of them. Neil can can deal with Bernard Brogan, Lacey will be patrolling around Connolly anyway and he needs to be got because he is a brilliant footballer. You've flynn then who is, (bar JOD) the best forward in the country. Probably have Frank tracking him.

I think we can take them I really do. My worry is their half back line and them coming through us especially if we're conceding our half forwards to retreat back. We'll need to do something about that and stop the flow.

I know already that we can disrupt dublin and deny them space but if we can slow them down I honestly think they'll struggle.

We have no reason to fear them and as a county we don't generally . Probably due to 92 but there's no worry about the dubs generally up here. Some teams are beat before the tog out because it's Dublin in croke Park and that's a such a daunting proposition.

I trust Jim implicitly. We know how good our players are and what they can do. This won't phase then a bit.

I think we'll beat them. I really do.
    I like your confidence-disagree with pretty much everything you said bar trusting Jim.

So I hope to be proven wrong!!

Donegal News reporting it's his hamstring and that he will go for the regulation scan. It doesn't sound like he's going to miss the semi final, but it can't help matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

MDMC is a donkey of a footballer? Jaysus, I've heard it all now!

Ah he is hi let's have it right. Hes incredibly dynamic and the pace he brings to that side is one of their major strengths. The tempo he sets in the engine room is almost overbearing for most teams and he will run through teams all day long but let's be totally fair about it as a footballer now he's a bit of a donkey. Watch him solo the ball the next time, nearly like a garryowen!

harpsman wrote: »
    I like your confidence-disagree with pretty much everything you said bar trusting Jim.

So I hope to be proven wrong!!

Sure if you can't believe in yourself you've done for. Im not usually biased either if I think we'll get a tanking I'll say so.

If Colm was firing away I'd be more confident. As it is I think we can take them but we will need every single facet of our play to be exemplary for 70+ minutes. I just feel there has to be one final performance in us.

I think you might be confusing your optimism as confidence Nidge! :P
    Let's face it, there is not a whole lot to base too much confidence on. Our two best players from 2012 are under par, one desperately so. Our third best player from 2012 is in the US (although admittedly Ryan has done a tremendous job of replacing him). We have shown we are still one of the best 4 teams in the country but I think the gulf between the top 2 and us has grown (I think Mayo would be too good for us again this year) and the way Dublin just steam roll over everyone is pretty breathtaking.
    I'm sure most of the country will be fascinated to see if we can do anything to stop them and based on what we have seen to date it's hard to see how we can, but if anyone can put together a plan to combat them it is Jim so once again we will put complete faith in his preparation of the team and hope and pray that the lads can do themselves proud. I'm not sure how many believe but I think plenty are willing to put their shoulder to the wheel in terms of support and we'll see how far we get. One thing is for sure, with the minors and seniors there on semi final day for the first time ever, it will be a proud day for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭dubdamo

They're a good side, no question about it and very dangerous but I don't rate many of them as actual footballers.

michael darragh is a donkey of a footballer. A massive engine and hugely dynamic but he can just about solo a ball ffs. Don't rate o sullivan next to him either. This is an area where we should be looking to dominate especially with Big Neil and his ability. Their midfield pace and power is an issue obviously because Neil is cumbersome compared to that but we need to be cleaning up around the middle.

Their full back line is there to be got at and I don't know how it's going to happen but we need Colm to find some sort of form. I think we can hurt them with the quality of our players.

I'm happy with our back 6 individually. No concerns about any of them. Neil can can deal with Bernard Brogan, Lacey will be patrolling around Connolly anyway and he needs to be got because he is a brilliant footballer. You've flynn then who is, (bar JOD) the best forward in the country. Probably have Frank tracking him.

I think we can take them I really do. My worry is their half back line and them coming through us especially if we're conceding our half forwards to retreat back. We'll need to do something about that and stop the flow.

I know already that we can disrupt dublin and deny them space but if we can slow them down I honestly think they'll struggle.

We have no reason to fear them and as a county we don't generally . Probably due to 92 but there's no worry about the dubs generally up here. Some teams are beat before the tog out because it's Dublin in croke Park and that's a such a daunting proposition.

I trust Jim implicitly. We know how good our players are and what they can do. This won't phase then a bit.

I think we'll beat them. I really do.
    That would be the same Michael Darragh Mc Auley who was footballer of the year last year, would you get a grip man.

dubdamo wrote: »
    That would be the same Michael Darragh Mc Auley who was footballer of the year last year, would you get a grip man.

Indeed it was. And he's two all Irelands in his back pocket so I very much doubt he cares a jot what other think about him and rightly so.

Snobbery it may be but I prefer players with guile and a bit a class about their play like o se or cavanagh. Mdmc doesn't do it for me but that's not to say he isn't effective and an massively important player for Dublin because he is a critical part of the team.

This thread is going to turn into a wreck in the next three weeks if we start calling players 'donkeys'

I think you might be confusing your optimism as confidence Nidge! :P
    Let's face it, there is not a whole lot to base too much confidence on. Our two best players from 2012 are under par, one desperately so. Our third best player from 2012 is in the US (although admittedly Ryan has done a tremendous job of replacing him). We have shown we are still one of the best 4 teams in the country but I think the gulf between the top 2 and us has grown (I think Mayo would be too good for us again this year) and the way Dublin just steam roll over everyone is pretty breathtaking.
    I'm sure most of the country will be fascinated to see if we can do anything to stop them and based on what we have seen to date it's hard to see how we can, but if anyone can put together a plan to combat them it is Jim so once again we will put complete faith in his preparation of the team and hope and pray that the lads can do themselves proud. I'm not sure how many believe but I think plenty are willing to put their shoulder to the wheel in terms of support and we'll see how far we get. One thing is for sure, with the minors and seniors there on semi final day for the first time ever, it will be a proud day for the county.

Ah it'll be a special day for us whatever happens really. It's not something that happens to us regularly (or at all previously!) and to have both our teams out on the same day in a packed Croke Park playing the dubs is really something to be savoured.

If either of them manage to make it through it'll be such a brilliant achievement for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

This thread is going to turn into a wreck in the next three weeks if we start calling players 'donkeys'

A 2 trick pony will be next.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

+1. We are meeting a phenomenal team with phenomenal players who will not resort to any of the thuggery we seen from 2/3 individuals on Saturday no matter what happens.
    If we give a good account of ourselves then that is all I ask for. If we win all the better. If we dont, as long as we can leave with the heads held high and ill ask for no more.
    2 teams in semi is a great achievement no matter what happens and as I said 1 win will be a great year for Donegal GAA, 2 wins beyond my wildest expectations I had after leaving Portlaoise at the start of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

That'll happen anyway. There's a good few supporters that will take extra pleasure in hammering us. It's a good yard stick as I can nearly guess the comments they'll come out with already, so I'll just ignore as it's no loss. We didn't even get grudging respect in 2012 of them, not that it matters!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

I heard Lacey is ok, just a precautionary scan. Its difficult to see the camp changing at all for the next game, it is too late in the day for that sort of disruption. The temptation would be to try a more expansive type of game, due to the drubbing that dublin gave the monaghan blanket defense. I think that we will see our double quilt version of the blanket defense on display. I wouldnt be surprised if we try and hold them to single figures. I dont think that this is possible, but it is worth a try nonetheless. I feel that the lads have done massively well to get this far this year, and win ulster. We will look back in years to come and remember with much gratitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭RGM

I'm saying that the Colm McFadden we are seeing now is the Colm McFadden we all knew and were frustrated with prior to 2012. That one great year seems to have wiped the memories of a lot of people.

Near 500 points for the county. Donegal could use more players as frustrating as that.