SM746 wrote: » Perhaps, but wouldn't you effectively be conceding the kick outs then to either of their corner backs? Can we really do that?
harpsman wrote: » Yes you would but the thing about pushing up on the kickouts is you have to commit totally to it and mark every player. Even if we do this I still think Cluxton will find a Dub with most kickouts, taking all the guys who pushed up out of the game. Now youve got very pacy Dublin players running at an exposed defence. Also our half back line is quite small-Cluxton can go long to Flynn and Connolly and theyre well able to catch a high ball, again putting us in trouble. So all in all I think we ve no choice but to concede the kickouts.
Redsoxfan wrote: » As usual, this is worth a read.http://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2014/08/10/armagh-v-donegal-2014-championship/
Ceist_Beag wrote: » A couple of points on yesterday. First of all, we said that the ideal would be for Donegal to get into the semi final without overly impressing and for Dublin to go in untested. We got our wish there! However our shot selection yesterday was atrocious and the lack of form in our full forward line shows no sign of improving. I really don't see who can come in to change that either so it may well be that we go with Kav in for Colm and leave Murphy up front. That said, Murphy was immense yesterday, especially when running at Armagh - he sucks players in around him, freeing up space for others - something we would lose if we leave him up front. So whilst I see the argument that we should leave him in, I'd worry that in doing so he won't see much of the ball - we need two Michael Murphys! However as others have said, first and foremost it was nice to see us beat that shower of thugs yesterday (be interesting to see how the lads in the Sunday Game analyse some of the things that went on yesterday) and it's nice to be able to discuss how we might match Dublin over the coming weeks.
SM746 wrote: » Heard just there from someone who would know that Findon rang Dr Moran today and apologised. I'll give him credit for that. Brolly vs Des here will be fun :-)
Redsoxfan wrote: » Donegal News have a piece on it. Some strong words used to describe Findon's actions. A bit over the top IMHO. For what it's worth, there were worse things that went on yesterday. Forker's punch to Leo McLoone on the ground was one. Findon go away with far too many fouls outside of his antics with the doctor. And I am amazed Eamon McGee (who had a fine game) wasn't called on pushing Ethan Raferty (I think) over the hoarding.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » I sincerely hope Colm Anthony wasn't watching the Sunday game!
Ceist_Beag wrote: » Durcans kick outs were poor the last day - thankfully big Neil was superb but I would worry that Dublin would dominate this area if he's as bad the next day.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » Lacey was very average - I wonder did he get a knock in that off the ball stuff in the first half?
Ceist_Beag wrote: » Leo was clearly targeted by Armagh - the punch by Forker should have been a red, no question about it - yet funny enough very little said about it since the match in the media - they seem more concerned with the push on the doctor!
Ceist_Beag wrote: » The shame for Armagh is that they have some fantastic footballers (the two Kernons were outstanding) but I still came away from the match thinking what a bunch of thugs they are - I think we all know who should carry the blame for some of the things that went on off the ball!
Nidgeweasel wrote: » They're a good side, no question about it and very dangerous but I don't rate many of them as actual footballers. michael darragh is a donkey of a footballer. A massive engine and hugely dynamic but he can just about solo a ball ffs. Don't rate o sullivan next to him either. This is an area where we should be looking to dominate especially with Big Neil and his ability. Their midfield pace and power is an issue obviously because Neil is cumbersome compared to that but we need to be cleaning up around the middle. Their full back line is there to be got at and I don't know how it's going to happen but we need Colm to find some sort of form. I think we can hurt them with the quality of our players. I'm happy with our back 6 individually. No concerns about any of them. Neil can can deal with Bernard Brogan, Lacey will be patrolling around Connolly anyway and he needs to be got because he is a brilliant footballer. You've flynn then who is, (bar JOD) the best forward in the country. Probably have Frank tracking him. I think we can take them I really do. My worry is their half back line and them coming through us especially if we're conceding our half forwards to retreat back. We'll need to do something about that and stop the flow. I know already that we can disrupt dublin and deny them space but if we can slow them down I honestly think they'll struggle. We have no reason to fear them and as a county we don't generally . Probably due to 92 but there's no worry about the dubs generally up here. Some teams are beat before the tog out because it's Dublin in croke Park and that's a such a daunting proposition. I trust Jim implicitly. We know how good our players are and what they can do. This won't phase then a bit. I think we'll beat them. I really do.
2moreMinutes wrote: » MDMC is a donkey of a footballer? Jaysus, I've heard it all now!
harpsman wrote: » I like your confidence-disagree with pretty much everything you said bar trusting Jim. So I hope to be proven wrong!!
dubdamo wrote: » That would be the same Michael Darragh Mc Auley who was footballer of the year last year, would you get a grip man.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » I think you might be confusing your optimism as confidence Nidge! :P Let's face it, there is not a whole lot to base too much confidence on. Our two best players from 2012 are under par, one desperately so. Our third best player from 2012 is in the US (although admittedly Ryan has done a tremendous job of replacing him). We have shown we are still one of the best 4 teams in the country but I think the gulf between the top 2 and us has grown (I think Mayo would be too good for us again this year) and the way Dublin just steam roll over everyone is pretty breathtaking. I'm sure most of the country will be fascinated to see if we can do anything to stop them and based on what we have seen to date it's hard to see how we can, but if anyone can put together a plan to combat them it is Jim so once again we will put complete faith in his preparation of the team and hope and pray that the lads can do themselves proud. I'm not sure how many believe but I think plenty are willing to put their shoulder to the wheel in terms of support and we'll see how far we get. One thing is for sure, with the minors and seniors there on semi final day for the first time ever, it will be a proud day for the county.
Redsoxfan wrote: » This thread is going to turn into a wreck in the next three weeks if we start calling players 'donkeys'
2moreMinutes wrote: » I'm saying that the Colm McFadden we are seeing now is the Colm McFadden we all knew and were frustrated with prior to 2012. That one great year seems to have wiped the memories of a lot of people.