Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭agfasfos

I have a Season Ticket & went for the 'Bring a friend Option'. ended up with 2 tickets for top row of the Nally Stand, will have to bring oxygen & watch out for low flying aircraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

agfasfos wrote: »
    I have a Season Ticket & went for the 'Bring a friend Option'. ended up with 2 tickets for top row of the Nally Stand, will have to bring oxygen & watch out for low flying aircraft.
    Maybe there is one now-thats another issue with the season tkt- for say qf and sf at hq you might get given a seat out in the rain where non season tkt holders can pick a seat where they like. u do get a good final tkt-i gave mine to my Mayo father in 2012-dont think he was too grateful afterwards!!

I must also confess I wasnt too confident about us bein in the final this year:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Yeah, if you opt to bring a friend ye get moved to a much ****tier section. But are you sure you are in the Nally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    I'd hate to think that any of the lads that played through all those defeats in the 00s lets it bother them, not the extent that they would need to watch what they say etc.
    I hope some of them have sleepless nights (even though they didn't care then so probably don't now either) about some of the games in that period, particularly the fella who spent the night drinking pints in the Brewery Bar in Letterkenny two nights before going up to Dublin to get hammered by Armagh in 2004.:mad:

I have the utmost respect for the modern day footballer as its a full time job for them but some of the things I seen during that period as well as some of the things I've heard first hand since means I can have little to no respect (in footballing terms - I don't really care either way on a personal level) for some of the fellas who were playing then as well as some of our previous AI winners.

Anyway, onwards and upwards. Not long now till the road trip to Croker starts again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

The Nally!?

Sorry folks, should have said the Davin, fear of heights affecting me already.

harpsman wrote: »
    Maybe there is one now-thats another issue with the season tkt- for say qf and sf at hq you might get given a seat out in the rain where non season tkt holders can pick a seat where they like. u do get a good final tkt-i gave mine to my Mayo father in 2012-dont think he was too grateful afterwards!!

I must also confess I wasnt too confident about us bein in the final this year:mad:
    I think you have to have over a 60% attendance record for League & Championship matches before you qualify for a Final Ticket but open to correction on that,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

We have a spare Lower Cusack 306 if anyone is interested (25e).

I think I also know of a Lower Hogan spare (30e) if someone wants a ticket and would prefer that side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Alvin Holler

Big questions for me - is Rory fit enough to start? If he isn't, I'd say we'll see a lot of Michael deep again. I'm pretty sure he won't start McElhinney, so it will be Odhran or Christy partnering Neil from the throw in.

As per previous games, I have a question mark over Paddy. It's sure beginning to look like he's more effective as an impact sub. But, does Jigger's display in the Ulster Final mean that he's not going to start? I dunno.

I'd play Paddy, I know he's played a lot better coming off the bench this year but there's no reason why he can't play well from the start, especially now that he's full of confidence after the Ulster final.

Don't think Kavanagh will start, I'd say it's between himself, MacNiallais and Toye for two places and they've been playing too well to drop.

Haven't seen much of Armagh this year but I presume Neil McGee will pick Clarke although maybe Paddy McGrath might want to have a go after lasting 15 minutes in Crossmaglen four years ago.

I hope some of them have sleepless nights (even though they didn't care then so probably don't now either) about some of the games in that period, particularly the fella who spent the night drinking pints in the Brewery Bar in Letterkenny two nights before going up to Dublin to get hammered by Armagh in 2004.:mad:

I have the utmost respect for the modern day footballer as its a full time job for them but some of the things I seen during that period as well as some of the things I've heard first hand since means I can have little to no respect (in footballing terms - I don't really care either way on a personal level) for some of the fellas who were playing then as well as some of our previous AI winners.

That's pretty harsh to be fair. I felt pretty strongly about what I saw and heard as players disrespecting the jersey quite a few times back in the 00s, but I don't wish any of them ill will.

I think it's pretty obvious what the missing piece was back in those days.

I'd play Paddy, I know he's played a lot better coming off the bench this year but there's no reason why he can't play well from the start, especially now that he's full of confidence after the Ulster final.

Don't think Kavanagh will start, I'd say it's between himself, MacNiallais and Toye for two places and they've been playing too well to drop.

Haven't seen much of Armagh this year but I presume Neil McGee will pick Clarke although maybe Paddy McGrath might want to have a go after lasting 15 minutes in Crossmaglen four years ago.

Yeah, I see no reason why he can't play better from the start either, but it just hasn't been happening. Whether it's a mental issue or the fact that he's playing against defenders that are tired I just don't know.

One thing is for sure - he's much more effecticve operating deeper and running onto the ball rather than being stuck in the corner.

As I think I already said, I would have Lacey on Clarke. But, if we assume we need him at half back to act as a playmaker, then McGrath next. Armagh play 2 + 2 in the fowards as far as I know. Lacey could also pick up Dyas. Neil McGee would be a good man for Tony Kernan I reckon, or maybe even 'Soupy', although he can play quite deep.

But, in truth, I think we will lean heavy on the system rarther than indvidial match ups. But, where you have one player obviously more talented than the rest (Lynch for Derry, Clarke for Armagh), I guess it makes sense to look carefully at who marks them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

I think Neil will take Clarke. He did a super job on McManus last day out so I would expect him to get the job again on Saturday. Paddy will, I think, be kept as the spare man in the full back line, getting forward at every opportunity. Agree with RSF tho, it's more about the system than individual match ups. Possession will be vital so the kick outs will be important again and hopefully Durcan can keep up his excellent distribution.
    The biggest thing for me will be that we don't lose possession too many times when coming out with the ball. If we can keep that to a minimum then I think we should have enough to see off Armagh, as if we have time to organise at the back, I can't see Armagh getting too many from play.

harpsman wrote: »
    Be disappointed if there wasnt 15,000

Lots of clubs on Twitter saying that they have spare tickets.

There was what, 32,000 at the Ulster Final so I'd hope we get good support.

Hopefully not as empty as last weekend. Won't be when the Dubs are on, but can't see too many coming in for our game ('puke football' etc).

That's pretty harsh to be fair. I felt pretty strongly about what I saw and heard as players disrespecting the jersey quite a few times back in the 00s, but I don't wish any of them ill will.

I think it's pretty obvious what the missing piece was back in those days.
    I wouldn't wish anything bad on any of them but I'd like to think they knew they shot themselves in the foot on a number of occasions and might possibly feel bad about it now. Not full blown depression feel bad about it but an odd, damn it, wtf were we at feeling bad.

In more upbeat (but still in my usual lets complain about something frame of mind)......

Checked the ST earlier and have 306 CC. Probably majority of people would say great seats but does anyone else prefer a seat closer to either goal? If I have a choice, I generally tend to sit/stand between the 45 and 20 even if the prime seats in the middle are free. I'm also possibly just strange!

I think you have to have over a 60% attendance record for League & Championship matches before you qualify for a Final Ticket but open to correction on that,
    I think when you bring a friend option you are liable to end up with the worst seats in the house, not really fair when your spending another €30, have paid €85 for the Season Ticket & have traveled to League matches in the Winter months.

Perhaps but I see it differently. I used it before and brought 3 people with me. Was moved to Upper Cusack towards the Hill end.
    Do you think its fair that the 3 people I got the tickets for (had been to no games that year) get good seats, depriving regular attenders of them?
    I personally wouldn't see it as fair if I brought someone along this weekend and they deprived a ST holder of a seat in 305-307 or any good low central seats.
    That's my thoughts on it; certainly they could have an upper Cusack/Hogan even central section but definitely not in the ST section; the people who like you said travel to the games in the winter months deserve the better seats.

Lots of clubs on Twitter saying that they have spare tickets.

There was what, 32,000 at the Ulster Final so I'd hope we get good support.

Hopefully not as empty as last weekend. Won't be when the Dubs are on, but can't see too many coming in for our game ('puke football' etc).

Would hope for a big crowd but the expense of travelling from Donegal is immense.
    Weekends like this I'm delighted I'm living in The Pale!
    Talking to people at home this weekend they are planning their accommodation for the 30th/31st which I bloody hate to hear and its quite sickening/annoying to see people planning/talking like that.
    Confident we can beat Armagh if we're both at 100% but we cannot overlook them; they are a vastly improved team since the Championship started and even though I do not like him I highly rate McGeeney and the boost he has and will continue to bring to that squad.
    As another poster said there could be bright things coming from Armagh and if we're not in top gear then there will be plenty of silly looking people I know who can travel to watch the Armagh vs Dublin game if they want a weekend away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

A good physical battle is what we want and I'd say we'll get it. Hopefully Dublin win handy enough leaving them not used to what we'll throw at them, if we get through.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

SM746 wrote: »
    Perhaps but I see it differently. I used it before and brought 3 people with me. Was moved to Upper Cusack towards the Hill end.
    Do you think its fair that the 3 people I got the tickets for (had been to no games that year) get good seats, depriving regular attenders of them?
    I personally wouldn't see it as fair if I brought someone along this weekend and they deprived a ST holder of a seat in 305-307 or any good low central seats.
    That's my thoughts on it; certainly they could have an upper Cusack/Hogan even central section but definitely not in the ST section; the people who like you said travel to the games in the winter months deserve the better seats.
    Thats a valid point & I hadn't looked at it from that perspective but in my case there is only one person involved, the game is not a sell out & I think they could have offered better seats.

Here's some food for thought ahead of 4pm tomorrow - Donegal's Championship record against Armagh

Played 25
    Won 7
    Lost 16
    Drew 2

Lost 7 in a row 1999-2006, as many as we have won all time.

Let's do this if only to improve that record!

Pity we didn't meet them 2011-2013 however...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Pity we didn't meet them 2011-2013 however...

I would imagine that will be something Jim is keen to add to his cv so should work for us.
    Can't wait for throw in now, prediction: Donegal 1-13 Armagh 0-13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

The heroes of the GAA are these mystery people who travel to all the winter league games. Well they must get lost on the way because the attendances at a lot of these games are pathetic.

Safe travels one and all. Hopefully we get the result we want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Mackas_view

I'm a relieved man. How did we get a result out of that. Awful awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭RGM

More wides than scores, seemed like.

Still, I feel better now than I did when Armagh went ahead. Thought I might be sick.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    The heroes of the GAA are these mystery people who travel to all the winter league games. Well they must get lost on the way because the attendances at a lot of these games are pathetic.
    The real heroes are those who make sure to tell everyone they were at the league games.

Colm McFadden; it was sad to see him exposed so badly today for what he has become. An absolute legend that you would have to fear will have taken a real hammering from today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

He just didn't look like anything resembling a top level footballer today.....some of his attempts at scores were disastrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

As much as it was great to see Donegal progress today, I think Dublin will win the semi easily, and it pains me to say that.

I don't think he has resembled a top level footballer all year to be honest. And it's sad to see it because he doesn't lack effort or heart. It's just simply isn't happening for him