Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2014-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭power101

Mannone ( Krul)

Koscielny ,Cameron, Filipe Luis ( Ward, Trippier)

Eriksen, Hazard, Sanchez, Mutch ( Boyd)

Rooney , Giroud, Austin

1 Million left in Bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

MagicIRL wrote: »
    How about instead of posting your teams here, you actually explain why you've picked the players you've picked?

I would assume that bar your bench fodder players it's fairly obvious why you are picking the players you have chosen? Surely we are all going for the players we feel have the best fixtures and the highest chance of scoring points in the first few games while still trying to fit as many decent options in with your £100mil?

Plus this is the rate my team thread, not the explain my team thread :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,261 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

MEMA2013 wrote: »
    Hi Peeps

Opinions on the below team would be greatly appreciated. Cant make up my mind. I have zero money left

Keepers
    Mannone Krul

Def
    Ward Cameron Williamson Rosenior Sagna

Mids
    Fábregas Albrighton Ramsey Sánchez Young

FW
    Rooney Pellè Diego Costa

Too weak at the back and Young probably won't start. Sagna, Cameron + Williamson to Evans, Dunne/Ferdinand + Neil Taylor. I would try to fit in Siggy into that midfield so you'll have to downgrade Pellè to do so. Young + Pellè to Siggy + Diouf/6.0 option such as Ings or Austin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I would assume that bar your bench fodder players it's fairly obvious why you are picking the players you have chosen? Surely we are all going for the players we feel have the best fixtures and the highest chance of scoring points in the first few games while still trying to fit as many decent options in with your £100mil?

Plus this is the rate my team thread, not the explain my team thread :P

Would you not consider it a common courtesy to explain who've you chosen on why if you're wanting feedback on it?

"The price is right" usually sums it up for most i'd imagine though? I mean i don't know about you but i always have my 4/5 big targets and build my team around that based on what i can afford while still trying to get top players.

e.g why did i pick Luis over Terry - money dictated that i couldn't afford Terry and Chelsea have a nice run of opening fixtures. Obvious enough really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

I've always thought that it would be a good idea to have a 'gentlemans agreement' to critique another posters team before asking for advice on your own. Sometimes there is a string of RMTs without anyone commenting on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

"The price is right" usually sums it up for most i'd imagine though? I mean i don't know about you but i always have my 4/5 big targets and build my team around that based on what i can afford while still trying to get top players.

e.g why did i pick Luis over Terry - money dictated that i couldn't afford Terry and Chelsea have a nice run of opening fixtures. Obvious enough really?

I picked Juan Mata because I hope if he somehow notices I've had him in my team he'll let me be his best friend.

Hahaha :D

Well that's a very good reason i guess, here's to hoping!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭tomissex

MEMA2013 wrote: »
    Hi Peeps

Opinions on the below team would be greatly appreciated. Cant make up my mind. I have zero money left

Keepers
    Mannone Krul

Def
    Ward Cameron Williamson Rosenior Sagna

Mids
    Fábregas Albrighton Ramsey Sánchez Young

FW
    Rooney Pellè Diego Costa

Personally wouldn't have Ramsey and Sanchez. Seems a lot of money to have invested in one teams midfield... maybe Mata instead of one of them and then swap out Young? For who though, I'm not sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Personally speaking I'm more likely to offer an opinion on somebody's team if they're making an effort to contribute something back. In saying that it's great that the forum gets some fresh blood and if we can encourage them to come out of their shell and explain their thought processes then even better.

None of us knows everything and sometimes a different, fresh viewpoint can be more beneficial than anything else. I'm fairly sure we have a pretty structured FSA template that most of us could name and if somebody differs from that it would be nice to know why they do so.

I'm not sure if any of that actually makes sense or if I mixed 2 different thought processes into one but my brain hurts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Rate my team

DDG

Debuchy Filipe Luis Wisdom

Silva Eriksen Sterling (c) Fabregas cazorla

Rooney Ings

Subs; Jelavic , coloccini, Taylor (Swans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 del137

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Rate my team

DDG

Debuchy Filipe Luis Wisdom

Silva Eriksen Sterling (c) Fabregas cazorla

Rooney Ings

Subs; Jelavic , coloccini, Taylor (Swans)

hey only 1 big striker? costa and 5mil striker?sterling has tough couple games ahead and with lvpool new players could be rotated alot carzola...maby ramsey or sanchez??????just an opinion.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 MEMA2013

jebforever wrote: »
    Too weak at the back and Young probably won't start. Sagna, Cameron + Williamson to Evans, Dunne/Ferdinand + Neil Taylor. I would try to fit in Siggy into that midfield so you'll have to downgrade Pellè to do so. Young + Pellè to Siggy + Diouf/6.0 option such as Ings or Austin.

Cheers
    Yeah my backs are a bit dodgy alright
    If young starts could be a lovely differential with the form he is on pre season
    Was thinking about siggy but has man utd first game. Pelle seems to have a great record in previous leagues

How about instead of posting your teams here, you actually explain why you've picked the players you've picked?
    I find them very attractive

tomissex wrote: »
    Personally wouldn't have Ramsey and Sanchez. Seems a lot of money to have invested in one teams midfield... maybe Mata instead of one of them and then swap out Young? For who though, I'm not sure...

Thanks, siggy is the name on everyones lips maybe for him instead of young if the money is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

I'm getting there I think re did my team with Sanchez in it and after GW1 his fixtures did not justify weakening every other area so I took him back out !
    I'm also resisting bojan for now
    begovic/krul
    Evans Davies (spurs) caulker ward (rotate nicely) wisdom (or another 4ml)
    fabregas eriksen mata siggy ireland (rotate nicely )
    Rooney Costa and jovetic

I'll be watching jovetic in the charity shield but I'm likely to stick with him
    ireland is 5ml but he sseems to be playing a fair bit preseason. not fully set on him
    I would like to get a Chelsea defender in . prob for Davies. I could raise an extra million by going for Mariappa and danny Simpson but they are not certain startes rs......

what ye think?

Personally speaking I'm more likely to offer an opinion on somebody's team if they're making an effort to contribute something back. In saying that it's great that the forum gets some fresh blood and if we can encourage them to come out of their shell and explain their thought processes then even better.

None of us knows everything and sometimes a different, fresh viewpoint can be more beneficial than anything else. I'm fairly sure we have a pretty structured FSA template that most of us could name and if somebody differs from that it would be nice to know why they do so.

I'm not sure if any of that actually makes sense or if I mixed 2 different thought processes into one but my brain hurts :pac:

The only player that could possibly be seen as a surprise really in my squad is Sturridge i don't see many at all plumping for him so i see him as a bit of a differential But I also see it as an obvious choice, lone striker guaranteed to play in a attacking side that despite losing suarez still managed to score 78 goals last season if you take away Suarez's 31 goal haul. Plus he more than proved he could hold his own at the start of last season while Suarez was out.

Why did i go for Ramsey? I Simply can't afford Sanchez... blah blah

To me this seems unnecessary, we all know the reasons why people are more than likely picking whoever and people simply want a bit of critique without having to read a ton when most people will be picking the same players for the same reason? There are some really good players on the forum and others such as myself would just like to know how they view our squads as a whole, i don't see the need for a back story? Each to their own i guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Feedback would be great.

Mannone

De laet cameron dawson

Fab yaya sterling mata puncheon

Rooney jovetic

Krul vlaar bertrand bojan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

The only player that could possibly be seen as a surprise really in my squad is Sturridge i don't see many at all plumping for him so i see him as a bit of a differential But I also see it as an obvious choice, lone striker guaranteed to play in a attacking side that despite losing suarez still managed to score 78 goals last season if you take away Suarez's 31 goal haul. Plus he more than proved he could hold his own at the start of last season while Suarez was out.

Why did i go for Ramsey? I Simply can't afford Sanchez... blah blah

To me this seems unnecessary, we all know the reasons why people are more than likely picking whoever and people simply want a bit of critique without having to read a ton when most people will be picking the same players for the same reason? There are some really good players on the forum and others such as myself would just like to know how they view our squads as a whole, i don't see the need for a back story? Each to their own i guess...

Well I guess my problem is that I go off and do my own thing anyway regardless of what people say :o

I'd imagine a happy medium like most things would see everybody happy enough. It doesn't really bother me either way to be honest it's just nice to know what somebody is thinking before offering an opinion on the direction they should take. A little bit like why you explained having Studge, context can only help somebody offering a poster advice :P

Also the Ramsey/Sanchez thing is another debate altogether because I happen to think Ramsey will score better early on nothing to do with the pricetag :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,096 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

What do you think of:
    Mannone (Gilks)
    Cameron, Chester, Rio, (Coloccini, Upson)
    Sigurdsson, Eriksen, Ramsey, Mata, Yaya
    Rooney, Sturridge (Vaz Te)

What do you think of:
    Mannone (Gilks)

nice team only change id make is fabregas 4 chelsey there first 2 games is burnley and lester leave u 5m for mid if u sell sig and erikson or dont nice team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Every year, a lot of people wildcard in the international break (after GW3). It seems like a good time to assess line-ups, account for deadline day deals, and gives you a bit extra to try and catch price rises.

I'm almost certain to do the same this year, so want to set my team up to maximize price rises for the initial 3 GWs. Currently going with:

De Gea
    Filipe Luis - Davies - Lovren - Jones
    Erikson - Sanchez - Sterling - Fabregas
    Soldado - Rooney
    Subs (cheapies): Myhill, Young, Zamora, Wisdom

Avoided City players due to their particularly tough opening 3 games. Hoping for a strong start from Spurs, and that Young continues to play under Van Gaal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Gatame

Every year, a lot of people wildcard in the international break (after GW3). It seems like a good time to assess line-ups, account for deadline day deals, and gives you a bit extra to try and catch price rises.

I'm almost certain to do the same this year, so want to set my team up to maximize price rises for the initial 3 GWs. Currently going with:

De Gea
    Soldado - Rooney

Avoided City players due to their particularly tough opening 3 games. Hoping for a strong start from Spurs, and that Young continues to play under Van Gaal!
    Not at all keen on a liverpool defence @ 5.5, Luis isn't starting tonight and spurs defence isn't settled yet.

If Fabby is playing CM I think you have to try and squeeze hazard in for him. Might be difficult with Sanchez in there though. Ramsey also an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Gatame wrote: »
    Not at all keen on a liverpool defence @ 5.5, Luis isn't starting tonight and spurs defence isn't settled yet.

If Fabby is playing CM I think you have to try and squeeze hazard in for him. Might be difficult with Sanchez in there though. Ramsey also an option.

I think Fabregas is a must-have, even if he's not always playing off a striker. Have doubts myself over Luis, but the rest are either too expensive or at even more risk of rotation.

With Liverpool, I think the loss of Suarez will bring a bit more balance to the team (last year when he was banned, they had a lot of 1-0 wins)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭wonski

De Gea
    Soldado - Rooney

Soldado:confused:

Too much love for the Spurs imo.

He was useless last season, and he might be again.

For the first few weeks I would rather have a player who scores tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

What do you think of:
    Mannone (Gilks)

Epic front 7 except for lack of Chelsea attackers given their start. I'd probably go for Sanchez/Hazard (or Fab) instead of Yaya/Ramsey. Or even just Haz for Yaya if you prefer Rambo.

But the cost to your defence. .....I'm a cheap defence man myself but even I couldn't go that weak!! If Chelsea and United who are in most teams srart well clean sheet wise you'll suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

83a43dc178ce2cd27329fb878c20bf16.png

My team at the moment, I'm not sure yet about picking Sanchez or Ramsey. I'll have a good look at the Arsenal - Man City match this weekend and decide. Also I'm a little worried about Davies starting so I might yet change him to maybe a 4.5m option and use the .5m to upgrade Albrighton to a guy I can rotate with Fletcher. I think Fletcher is great value at 5.5m if he starts and I expect him and Wickham to both start unless Sunderland get Borini. I have 3 Chelsea and Man Utd players to take advantage of their early fixtures.

Any thoughts?

irish son

very nice team prob best ive seen on here although i cant bring myself to drop toure 20goals 9ass last season but v.nice i cant criticise it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

irish son wrote: »
    83a43dc178ce2cd27329fb878c20bf16.png

My team at the moment, I'm not sure yet about picking Sanchez or Ramsey. I'll have a good look at the Arsenal - Man City match this weekend and decide. Also I'm a little worried about Davies starting so I might yet change him to maybe a 4.5m option and use the .5m to upgrade Albrighton to a guy I can rotate with Fletcher. I think Fletcher is great value at 5.5m if he starts and I expect him and Wickham to both start unless Sunderland get Borini. I have 3 Chelsea and Man Utd players to take advantage of their early fixtures.

Any thoughts?

Very very similar to mine. My cheap defenders need finalising, I have Bojan not Fletch and then Erikson/Lamella for Sig. Otherwise identical and won't be changing much. You'll do brilliantly I'm certain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I have put together another 3-5-2 team which I quite like.

The 3-5-2 aspect really stems from the fact that I just don't trust any of the £6m options up front. There's too many question marks from the off and there's so many good midfield options that have nice fixtures and play very attacking roles. I also think Sigurdsson as a £6m midfielder will outscore all of the £6m strikers when all is said and done so would rather go with him as the extra man in midfield than a £6m striker.

Anyway, some reasoning:

9453f7a1889ab60dc92dfc2337a79daa.png

GK's: Krul and Mannone obviously rotate all season and Newcastle especially have a relatively nice start of home games. Both teams should be good for 10 or 11 clean sheets this season. Not fantastic, but for £9m I'd be happy enough despite the inevitable annoyance throughout the season of, for example, Newcastle conceding in a 3-1 win at home to Burnley while Sunderland draw 0-0 at Arsenal.

DF's: I think Chelsea should top the clean sheet table this season. Terry has had the summer off and will have kept himself sharp with his shagging antics during the offseason (:pac:). In all seriousness though he's their captain, has a knack of making himself a nuisance in the box (tee-hee) and should be well rested due to no World Cup. United have a great start and I need defensive coverage. At present, they have only have 3 natural CB's for their 3-4-1-2 formation and van Gaal has heaped praise upon Evans. It seems nailed on that he will start, regardless of even if they were to bring in another top CB (he'd probably still start if they brought in 2 top CB's). I'll keep my ear out over the next week regarding the Stoke backline as there are question marks over who will start, but they rotate superbly with Swansea with fantastic home games through the first third of the season and it's a partnership I want alongside Terry and Evans. Wisdom may get some game time at the beginning due to West Brom's injury problems and the fact Gamboa just joined a few days ago.

MF: First things first, I'll admit that I am bricking it going without Sanchez and if he puts on a show in the Community Shield I may re-evaluate everything again and get him in somehow, but I that aside love this midfield. It's full of experienced Premier League players who have proven themselves as FPL commodities. All of them (with perhaps the exception of Ramsey who I hope and think is still given lots of freedom in that double pivot) should see most of their action come in the final third of the pitch and a lot of them will be on set pieces too. I feel that midfield screams points.

FW: With van Gaal going 3-4-1-2, Rooney gets to play in his best position as a proper striker. He has proven his credentials in that position year after year and with Van Persie doubtful for the start of the season one would have to expect him to have lots of opportunities to score points especially with their fixtures. City scored a ridiculous amount of goals last season and I feel Dzeko will be their main man to start up front this year due to Aguero's fitness issues and World Cup excursions. Jovetic has been impressive in preseason but there's a world of difference between that and being proven in the Premier League, which Dzeko is. He has earned Pelligrini's trust which will hopefully be reflected in their line-up.

Bench: With big hitters all over the park the bench has certainly suffered a bit, but I don't think it's too bad. It will contain one of Krul/Mannone and Taylor/Stoke DEF every week, and eventually the £4m DEF who nails down a starting spot (if there is one). For now I think Wisdom is most likely to do so with WBA's injury problems and Gamboa's fitness uncertain, but it can be easily reassessed after a few weeks. I would expect Remy to leave QPR between now and the deadline and that would only leave Austin and Zamora there. Even with the 3 of them, he should get 1 or 2 pointers here and there when he is inevitably thrown on as a lump up front when QPR are chasing a goal in the last 15. If Redknapp goes with his 3-5-2 formation he has hinted at, meaning Zamora would be QPR's only striking option on the bench as things stand (I think?), Zamora may be a relatively decent bench option for the 3-5-2 FPL players at his price.

Feel free to tear it apart lads! :D