Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2014-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

how do you add a screenshot on the mobile / touch / app site?

is filipe luis guaranteed to start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,507 ✭✭✭✭CSF

GiftofGab wrote: »
    is filipe luis guaranteed to start?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,108 ✭✭✭✭dahat

GiftofGab wrote: »
    how do you add a screenshot on the mobile / touch / app site?

Screenshot on your phone and load it as an attachment via the ATTACH FILES tab below the text box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

I have a very similar team to Paully D with a few differences.

oKtSKFw.png

GK
    Mannone and Krul is a popular choice on the forum and their my choice, my other option is De Gea and another but I wanted Mata and Rooney and I think Evans will end up scoring well and being a bargain.

DEF
    Terry should continue as nailed on centre back for a very solid team, likewise Evans is rated by LVG and should offer cleansheets and plenty of starts. Davies at Spurs is a good price and should start with a coach in Pochettino showing he can get teams performing well defensively when at Southampton.

MID
    Happy with my midfield although still on the fence about Nasri but was productive last year and had the Summer off so should be fully rested and raring to go, either way I have an extra .5m to upgrade to Silva/Ramsey/Ozil if needs be. Would've liked Hazard but don't feel like Fabregas is a bad alternative. Mata, Siggy and Eriksen should all start and pick up goals and assists on a regular basis.

FW
    Rooney looks in great form, should play up front all season in an attacking team with a lot to prove. Giroud is in at the minute because Dzeko and Jovetic taking playing time off each other is making me nervous.

Bench Fodder
    Bojan and Wisdom are risks, particularly Bojan but I have .5m to spare if I decide on going on one of the many 6m striker options when I get cold feet next Friday night/Saturday morning. Taylor should start and is cheap so he makes the cut.

Have at it lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭munster87

Some great teams on here and great discussion also. I have a fear for my team at the moment, having only the one top class striker. I might bring in McCarthy for Bojan to play 5 across the middle, or else bring him in for one of the defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭iba

9add8fa4510fadc3ac9caca246f7f994Hi Guys,

Would be grateful for your thoughts on this.

The team is mainly based on the opening 8 weeks or so. I think that Man City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Everton and Arsenal have a pretty hard start (and Arsenal also have Chamions League matches).

I think Man Utd, Sunderland, Newcastle, Spurs have an easier start with Man Utd having the easiest start of any of the contenders.

I'm set on my goalkeepers - De Gea laying every week, Myhill unused sub.

Defence could be improved but I do not want to spend a fortune on it and believe that some of the so called lesser teams have easier matches to start with.

Happish with midfield but not too sure about Siggy from Swansea - not convinced that Swansea can even get a top half finish.

Rooney is a defo. and captain. Has looked good and 'happy' pre season - was even given player of the tournament (eventhough I think that that should have gone to Young). Will play Giroud most weeks too.

Will start with a 3 4 3 in GW1 but will switch to 3 5 2 for GW2 and possibly longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

irish son wrote: »

Any thoughts?

Very similar to mine, although I have Bojan instead of Fletch. Also downgraded Sanchez to Ramsey/Silva to give myself some extra cash at the back. De Gea + Terry is stronger than Courtois + Evans imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

iba wrote: »
    9add8fa4510fadc3ac9caca246f7f994Hi Guys,

Would be grateful for your thoughts on this.
    Very solid team IMO. Just be wary of Cameron & Mariappa, They may not start. I'd also switch Myhill for Gilks.

Thanks very much for your reply.

Myhill to Gilks done - although I presume that Gilks is the sub goalie at Burnley since the other goalie there is more expensive?

Yes I am worried about Cameron and Mariappa but for the life of me I can't figure out who else to play.

I do actually have 1.5m left in the bank.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,034 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Mannone
    --PvA--Evans--Terry--Davies
    Sterling--Ramsey--Mata--Nasri
    Costa----Rooney

Krul--Ward-Prowse--Targett--Zamora

I've been toying with a 3-4-3 or a 3-5-2 formation for ages now, yet I've thrown that out the window and arrived at 4-4-2.
    Def: I've read that PvA will want to roam forward for Sunderland, Evans seems nailed on under LvG, Terry's had the summer off and is nailed on in the Chelsea defense, Davies should be solid for Spurs.
    Mid: I think Sterling will be an assist machine for Sturridge, Ramsey in because of his form lst season, Mata playing behind Rooney/RvP is bound to bring in the assists, and Nasri has had the summer off so he should be a starter for City.
    Forward: Costa to me looks unreal, (and yes I may be biased!) I'm happy to take a punt on him. Rooney is playing where he belong, should reap the rewards from it.

Bench: rotation will come in the form of PvA switching to Ward Prowse, I think he could be worth a punt. Remy could be on his way leaving Austin or Zamora. Happy to have him on the bench for now. Targett is my token 4mil defender.

How come Aguero is not marked as injured, is he expected back soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭j timber

I would appreciate if ye would have a look at this team and tell me where i need changing
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,507 ✭✭✭✭CSF

j timber wrote: »
    I would appreciate if ye would have a look at this team and tell me where i need changing
    cheers

I just think you could do with having 3 defenders that will definitely start. Grand having the 2 4.0s if you make sure your 4.5 guy is a definite starter.

j timber wrote: »
    cheers

Is Rodwell going to get a game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

7548dd037d5ff683a921802bb9cfe033.png

Unsure on a few people. Lambert, Wanyama, and Sigurdsson primarily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Thoughts on such a set up for the first 8 weeks? Obviously transfers are subject to change given form, price, real life transfers etc. but this is a rough enough guide to how I'll be treating the first part of the season.

Blue = Starting
    White = Subs Bench
    Yellow = Captain

PEE5WJy.png?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Thoughts on such a set up for the first 8 weeks? Obviously transfers are subject to change given form, price, real life transfers etc. but this is a rough enough guide to how I'll be treating the first part of the season.

Blue = Starting
    White = Subs Bench
    Yellow = Captain

PEE5WJy.png?1

I wouldn't look so far ahead but apart from having Luis in your team looks good. I'd play Sterling instead of Debuchy in week 2. He's looked great in preseason and could score well against anyone especially with his pace on the counter attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Danger781 wrote: »

Unsure on a few people. Lambert, Wanyama, and Sigurdsson primarily.

Siggy is a steal at that price. Lambert is a crazy pick, he won't play every game. Shouldn't be near anyones team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

munster87 wrote: »
    Some great teams on here and great discussion also. I have a fear for my team at the moment, having only the one top class striker. I might bring in McCarthy for Bojan to play 5 across the middle, or else bring him in for one of the defenders.

You have 6 players in your starting 11 who have just signed for a new club, 4 of whom have not played in the premiership before, very high risk IMO. 1 new player would be sufficient, as strategic risk, but 4 is not wise, as many players take a while to adjust to the league..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

de gea mannone
    vlaar trippier debauchy luis moore
    sterling mata siggy hazard eriksen
    rooney bojan pelle
    I know i am lacking an arsenal midfielder but otherwise any advice wellcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Is it too much of a risk having Luis and Shaw in the back line as I have a feeling they both could be rotated?

So any advice?

So any advice on this team?

roryc wrote: »
    Siggy is a steal at that price. Lambert is a crazy pick, he won't play every game. Shouldn't be near anyones team.

Yeah I didn't know how Liverpool were going to set up.

Swapped out Jose Enrique for Vlaar which saved up enough funds for Lambert to Giroud

8d905ee4df531bbbc335fc9b5410ca88.png

Things of note in my opinion:
    - No Liverpool attacking coverage
    - No Spurs coverage at all (I feel they'll do very well this season)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 3WiseMonkeys

Latest rev....

myhill

evans, davies(spurs), vlar

sanchez, yaya, hazard, mata

fletcher,rooney(capt), bojan

krul sigurdsson,colocinni, bruce

Yaya or no no
    Sanchez or ramsey

Is it too much of a risk having Luis and Shaw in the back line as I have a feeling they both could be rotated?

Don't think Shaw is much of a rotation risk to be honest. His only real competition at the moment is Ashley Young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Danger781 wrote: »
    Yeah I didn't know how Liverpool were going to set up.

Swapped out Jose Enrique for Vlaar which saved up enough funds for Lambert to Giroud

Things of note in my opinion:
    - No Liverpool attacking coverage
    - No Spurs coverage at all (I feel they'll do very well this season)

Very strong front - Rooney, Costa and Giroud is the best I have seen so far.

Is Cabella worth 7.5m?

You could fit Paulinho (7m) or Eriksen (if you find 0.5 somewhere) to give you some Spurs presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,034 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

2rw2ved.jpg

Think i need to step away from the computer!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,096 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

i love a cheap defence but which side would you go with?

tEYyyTb.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Mine:

GK: Speroni 5M - Green 4.5M
    DF: Terry 6.5M - Evans 5.5M - Debuchy 5.5 - Davies 5M - Targett 4M
    MD: Fabregas 9M - Mata 9M - Sterling 8.5m - Eriksen 8M - Sigurdsson 6M
    FD: Rooney 10.5M - Dzeko 8.5M - Zamora 4.5M

Things to worry about are no Arsenal Midfielders, possibly not many captain contenders, and the Diego Costa worry. Will Targett even start?

Any advice welcome! What do ye think?