Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

tanko wrote: »
    Jaysus, that's some animal. What's his breeding? Any chance of a pic of the ERE heifer calf you had to section. She must be a fair calf now?

I have a good one of me blow drying her yesterday but I am soaked from washing her and in the pic so I'm not posting that one!
    I'll get one later when I head out to them again.

He's off Westside Bob, not in AI books but we use him every year. He broke a bone in his foot in his first/second year of service so he went bye bye.
    Dam is a compact tank of a cow, LM out of a simmental/ brfr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭tanko

It's hard to beat a mix of breeds in an animal. That photo you took yesterday sounds fine to me;):D

Actually here's his full sister last year. Plus Mammy right behind her.
    hXtxgfvl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭tanko

Very nice, is the cow off Navarin. Did you sell the heifer?

Aye she's sold, think she went for breeding. Cow is off PAM, very good bull in his time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Aye she's sold, think she went for breeding. Cow is off PAM, very good bull in his time.

Agree, father had calves off a PAM stock bull, great calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Guess the weight time folks.

Do you think the fella on the right is around 400kg and the ones on the left around 350kg.

What ya reckon?

Another calf from mid January, don't think he's eating meal yet.
    Haven't seen him near the bin anyway, he's getting fat off milk.
    Mother was for the chop this year but she may get a reprieve if the bull sells well.
    vX0GzRGl.jpg

The sectioned ERE heifer, just a bare 4 months
    JalGp1Pl.jpg

Typical mad Limousin, always attacking ya :D:D
    fP7Phvxl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Anyone know a homemade electrolytes mix?!

fP7Phvxl.jpg

Oh yeah....run for your life why don't ya

Reggie. wrote: »
    Oh yeah....run for your life why don't ya

She's my milk cow :) When I want milk I go out with a jug to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

She's my milk cow :) When I want milk I go out with a jug to her.

Never mind a milk cow I want a cash cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭essgee268

Another calf from mid January, don't think he's eating meal yet.
    Haven't seen him near the bin anyway, he's getting fat off milk.
    Mother was for the chop this year but she may get a reprieve if the bull sells well.
    vX0GzRGl.jpg

The sectioned ERE heifer, just a bare 4 months
    JalGp1Pl.jpg

fP7Phvxl.jpg
    have 2yo ERE Heifer that was the mirror image of that heifer. smashing calf. I wonder has anyone calved any ERE Heifers?. there is only one on LM Herdbook she had a HCA Calf.

essgee268 wrote: »
    have 2yo ERE Heifer that was the mirror image of that heifer. smashing calf. I wonder has anyone calved any ERE Heifers?. there is only one on LM Herdbook she had a HCA Calf.

Any photo of that heifer? We're keeping a pb ere heifer this year too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Few of the girls enjoying the sun today.

Nice Stock, should make great Cows.
    When would you hope to have them calving down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Farrell wrote: »
    Nice Stock, should make great Cows.
    When would you hope to have them calving down?

Cheers. They are calving January/February a bit later in age and weight than sum like, but always liked the big strong cow for calving power.

Is there any point in having them calve any earlier either!
    You should have good calves to show up this time next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

This evenings view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

This is the way to make spiced beef.... before the animal even gets to the factory

A diet of beetroot, onions, pineapple, and many other lovely vegetables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How does he keep it from heating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

This is the way to make spiced beef.... before the animal even gets to the factory

A diet of beetroot, onions, pineapple, and many other lovely vegetables

I'd say beet root would leave a fair taint in milk if you fed it to milking cows

Muckit wrote: »
    How does he keep it from heating?

He feeds 1100 cattle. Uses that amount every few days.

I'd say beet root would leave a fair taint in milk if you fed it to milking cows

It could be a premium product... 60cent a litre no problem. All ya need is a catchy marketing program

An here is his new lagoon. Im in the base of it looking up a the 2 lads on the far bank. Is absolutely massive
    The secon pic is from Out side the lagoon. YOu might be able to make out the ramp up to the top of the lagoon for tractors etc

An here is his new lagoon. Im in the base of it looking up a the 2 lads on the far bank. Is absolutely massive
    The secon pic is from Out side the lagoon. YOu might be able to make out the ramp up to the top of the lagoon for tractors etc

Ya want some **** to fill that

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ya want some **** to fill that

Just over 9 million gals (42,000,000 litres)

That's a whole lota **** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Jeez that is massive compared to our puddle.
    You will need some serious gear to agitate that lake. Can I ask how ye are going to manage it?
    Best of luck with it.