If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel - Palestine Conflict. **Mod note in OP - updated 1st August**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

You appear to have confused Jews with leprechauns!

Similarity exists, apart from the fact that the lepechauns are a peaceful lot.

FTA69 wrote: »
    You do Palestinian advocacy no favours with that sort of medieval bullsh*t to be honest.

At no point did I ever say I was on the Palestinian side.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tuisceanch

Rightwing wrote: »

If you believe leprechauns are peaceful then you've just bought in to the myth that the Irish have sold abroad! Nasty little feckers,leprechauns that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

If the Simpsons taught me anything. They are mean little feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

The only similarity is that both Jews and Leprechauns have a lot of fictitious stories told about them.

Had you said that Obama is unwilling to act because of the strong pro-Israel Jewish lobby, Neo-Con loopers and fundamentalist Christian nutters then I would have agreed with you.

Not all Jews support what Israel is doing.

The only similarity is that both Jews and Leprechauns have a lot of fictitious stories told about them.

Had you said that Obama is unwilling to act because of the strong pro-Israel Jewish lobby, Neo-Con loopers and fundamentalist Christian nutters then I would have agreed with you.

Not all Jews support what Israel is doing. I think that's an important point to make

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

This is a perfect example of why the "the free market regulates itself" argument from the right is such BS. You can't rely on people to always make moral decisions if those decisions will hurt them or those close to them, hence why we need laws and regulations to force companies to make moral decisions.

Nothing pisses me off more than that ridiculous argument about the free market being enough to enforce ethics on companies. Sorry this post is off topic, but I feel your post has perfectly underlined a common fallacy. :D

Say what? We cant trust individuals to make their own decision on wether or not to buy goods ethically so instead we must force them to buy goods we/you deem ethical. Tell me are we to boycott Chinese goods as well? Who controls what's moral or not? The sociology dept. of trinity?

Not all Jews support what Israel is doing.

Indeed, and Obama I believe would like the massacre to end, but truth be told there is little one man can do. (when i said Obama, I wsa referring to the political system).

jank wrote: »
    Say what? We cant trust individuals to make their own decision on wether or not to buy goods ethically so instead we must force them to buy goods we/you deem ethical. Tell me are we to boycott Chinese goods as well? Who controls what's moral or not? The sociology dept. of trinity?

We do. We vote for politicians vote on our behalf.

Indeed, and Obama I believe would like the massacre to end, but truth be told there is little one man can do. (when i said Obama, I wsa referring to the political system).

If he had some balls he could stand up to Netenyahu. A refusal to resupply the IDF with ammunition would have been a shot across the bows. The Israeli's went ape-sh1t when the FAA stopped flights to the country for one day.

However, despite his early promise Obama has proven himself to be utterly incompetent in international diplomacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

mad muffin wrote: »
    If the Simpsons taught me anything. They are mean little feckers.

If the Simpsons is your idea of an education about anything, well , would a cartoon blog not be more to your level. your "posts" in general are a litany of whataboutery, contradiction and nonsense they really should be accompanied with a health warning - will kill brain cells - maybe you can start signing off with that give people a heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

mad muffin wrote: »
    This is AH and a rant thread. There is no credibility here.

No there is a specific forum for that, it's called the Ranting & Raving forum. So did you take a wrong turn and end up here by mistake? This is a discussion thread, not a ranting thread. But the fact that you think it is? Well it does speaks volumes for your mindset.

If he had some balls he could stand up to Netenyahu. A refusal to resupply the IDF with ammunition would have been a shot across the bows. The Israeli's went ape-sh1t when the FAA stopped flights to the country for one day.

However, despite his early promise Obama has proven himself to be utterly incompetent in international diplomacy.

Can 1 man do all of that though ? BN is out of control. And the Republicans are probably loving him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You refuse to call a spade a spade and indirectly defend the organisation from its vile mandate and charter.

No reasonable person would believe that.
    On the face of it a country like Israel may seem a terrorist state however, the key difference is this. The people who sit around the cabinet table in Tel Aviv are elected officials, elected by the citizens of Israel.

They were 'democratically elected' in Apartheid South Africa too. Still the monomaniacal focus on Hamas, I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

I sometimes wonder how those who excuse Israel's actions sleep at night.

Behind a big wall.

Did you really expect otherwise though? In my opinion,Obama was elected because it served the purpose of vested interests to have a black president thus promoting the myth of an egalitarian society. You could have voted a character from the muppets as president for all the difference it would have made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Ceasefire didn't last very long.

JamboMac wrote: »
    Behind a big wall.

and under an Iron Dome too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Tuisceanch wrote: »
    Did you really expect otherwise though? In my opinion,Obama was elected because it served the purpose of vested interests to have a black president thus promoting the myth of an egalitarian society. You could have voted a character from the muppets as president for all the difference it would have made.

You do realise everytime i hear him speak from now on im going to have the muppets theme tune in my head...
    It's time to play the music
    It's time to light the lights
    It's time to meet the Muppets on the Muppet Show tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭BikeQueery

The only path to the top is by utterly compromising yourself..

eeepaulo wrote: »
    You do realise everytime i hear him speak from now on im going to have the muppets theme tune in my head...
    It's time to play the music
    It's time to light the lights
    It's time to meet the Muppets on the Muppet Show tonight.

Well it was my initial action that caused this discomfort for you so I will withdraw my comment and give you back your peace of mind. I hope you can forgive me for all the mental anguish I have caused?

BikeQueery wrote: »
    The only path to the top is by utterly compromising yourself..

Yes and much the same in large corporate enterprises.

I did think he would be different when he was first elected (so did the eejits on the Nobel peace prize committee).

I think he was elected largely because he was able to string a sentence together unlike the gormless fvckwit who preceded him and he appealed to younger voters.

At least if Miss Piggy had been elected president it would have united Jews and Muslims in considering her unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

Obama clearly has been one of the biggest dissapointments in history, genuinely his only accomplishment was hunting down Bin Laden who was living in a f&*king housing estate with 2 chicks in Pakistan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Yet again Israel refusing to return to agreed borders. Start a war, grab land for "security" purposes, never give it back.
    Same **** since state foundation.
    As if we expected otherwise.

I did think he would be different when he was first elected (so did the eejits on the Nobel peace prize committee).

I think he was elected largely because he was able to string a sentence together unlike the gormless fvckwit who preceded him and he appealed to younger voters.

At least if Miss Piggy had been elected president it would have united Jews and Muslims in considering her unacceptable.

Well I felt the same when I voted for Blair's led labour party in 1997. How wrong was I. In Ireland I could be tempted to vote Sinn Fein because they are at least articulate but in truth they will be compromised too once they enter government. It's easy to be ethical standing outside the system but once inside then different story.

Well it was my initial action that caused this discomfort for you so I will withdraw my comment and give you back your peace of mind. I hope you can forgive me for all the mental anguish I have caused?

Actually it might be an improvement

Phonehead wrote: »
    Obama clearly has been one of the biggest dissapointments in history, genuinely his only accomplishment was hunting down Bin Laden who was living in a f&*king housing estate with 2 chicks in Pakistan.

Yes that was convenient..saved the bother of getting their boots dirty looking in caves in remote areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

On the face of it a country like Israel may seem a terrorist state however,

Seem? Oh sorry, most rationale thinking human beings have long since moved past 'seem'.
    the key difference is this. The people who sit around the cabinet table in Tel Aviv are elected officials, elected by the citizens of Israel.

Yes, Israel. Since the birth pangs of the nation, it has been under the grip of successive expansionist Zionist regimes. Regimes that have ethnically cleansed vast swathes of land and expelled their inhabitants. So if you want to talk their wonderful 'democracy', then one has to ask, why don't they let those whom they cleansed back to their Homeland? What's that? Yes that's right, to do so would alter their artificially gerrymandered state and represent the political death of Zionism. Israel, a state that also has an unhealthy obsession with their army. With an army that has an unhealthy & powerful influence on government and the success of an individuals political career. So let's not talk about faux democracy.

George Galloway has his own call in show on presstv.com on at the moment (well its a repeat)

He started the last one with, im going to try not to get angry today