To the scum who broke into my gaff ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

To be honest i didnt even report it to the guards. Dont see much point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Wibbs wrote: »
    I dunno B, the acid soil can preserve too much evidence. The sea is a great corrupter of the flesh. Just sayin like.

Lay an object in it's entirety in one spot and it will be a problem. But lay an object of many millions of pieces all over the place and it will not be much of a problem.

Buried of course or in the sea. Little tiny fragments.

Well I can see peoples anger in relation to being burgled and what we all would do, but in all honesty... they have the right now to protect their property and family in such cases. It's only a matter of time before something very serious happens to burglars life-wise if they keep breaking into folks homes. They will hit the wrong home, and then they will be in a very serious scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Beano wrote: »
    To be honest i didnt even report it to the guards. Dont see much point.

Report it, the local Gardaí may track them down later tonight, the more crimes they can link them to the more time they are likely to go down for.

Sorry for your trouble, had an experience of an attempted break in last year, had me raging for months about the scum, felt so violated. Some months later a guy doing a very similar style crime was caught by the owner, he was taken out proper and hospitalised, I hope it was the same guy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭martin101

Bought myself a baseball bat the weekend. House across the road was done at 6 in the evening last week. These people don't care. Coming home from football the other night too and 3 lads on bikes cycle past me, as they got by me they covered their faces and then shot off. I hope I don't have to use the bat, as I'm a total wimp at times but if someone comes into my house I'm going to start swinging

Report it anyway, as the Guards will be watching out around that area, and who knows, they might get caught, as it will for the time being stop them robbing some other persons house, and maybe one with a family and kids in it that could turn nasty. Better reporting than not. At least then it is on record.

One more thing... It's amazing that even the basic protection that a home owner can have like a stun-gun is illegal to own, and it doesn't harm you, it just knocks a person out and down for a while. Every person has large knives in the kitchen and they are a deadly weapon if used in life or death situations, but a person that wants a stun-gun for home protection is not allowed under current law.

Both stun-guns should be legal... the one's that are used for close proximity, and the ones you can fire from a short distance. The deal with this license to own one comes with a penalty if you are caught with said stun-gun outside of your home, and you will be breaking the law, but once it is used in self-defense in your home then you would be ok.

This would give the home-owner time to call for emergency help, and if the idiots try to get up again, then another shot of electricity is in order for the day until the Guards come. Sounds feasible to me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's only a matter of time before something very serious happens to burglars life-wise if they keep breaking into folks homes. They will hit the wrong home, and then they will be in a very serious scenario.
    As folks used to say from your lips to god's ears.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Seriously though, something is going to give___________________ _ eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭xalot

Horrible thing to happen, but definitely report it - I know somebody who recently had a successful conviction against their burglars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

martin101 wrote: »
    Bought myself a baseball bat the weekend. House across the road was done at 6 in the evening last week. These people don't care. Coming home from football the other night too and 3 lads on bikes cycle past me, as they got by me they covered their faces and then shot off. I hope I don't have to use the bat, as I'm a total wimp at times but if someone comes into my house I'm going to start swinging

Unfortunately you are most likely to have the bat taken off you and end up on the other end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Just remember with all burglaries and street thefts is that its not personal

if it was not your house it would be the next house or the next target walking down the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I dunno B, the acid soil can preserve too much evidence. The sea is a great corrupter of the flesh. Just sayin like.

Thought mods were meant to abstain from Violence ;)

Fair play to you though, If someone broke into my house I would turn on my copy of "stuck in the middle with you" and have some fun with getting rid of them, Breaking bad style.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

How dare you OP!

The guy that did this probably had a hard upbringing or some ****e and needed to break into your house to steal things to pay for important essential supplies or something.

allibastor wrote: »
    Thought mods were meant to abstain from Violence ;)

Fair play to you though, If someone broke into my house I would turn on my copy of "stuck in the middle with you" and have some fun with getting rid of them, Breaking bad style.

talk about mixed cultural references. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

Just remember with all burglaries and street thefts is that its not personal

if it was not your house it would be the next house or the next target walking down the street

Nothing personal you say? I'll try to keep that in mind when I attempt to remove the head of the ****bag who has tried to rob me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

talk about mixed cultural references. :D

Both had good points, the torture of said home invader, then the clean disposal. Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nothing personal you say? I'll try to keep that in mind when I attempt to remove the head of the ****bag who has tried to rob me.

A lot of people get very paranoid after a theft thinking the scumbag is coming back and they are a target for future crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

A lot of people get very paranoid after a theft thinking the scumbag is coming back and they are a target for future crime

No doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

install a viscous pitbull anti theft system.

ah dammit, i cant think of something witty to say about a viscous pitbull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

ah dammit, i cant think of something witty to say about a viscous pitbull.

oops lol vicious damn auto correct :o

though a viscous pitbull could get places no normal pitbull could. it would be the terminator T1000 of the dog world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

So, remove any personal items such as rings and other jewellery that may be identifiable, smash their teeth in, then toss the body into the sea with rocks tied to them? Would that be enough, Wibbs? Or am I missing something critical?

Just wonderin', I don't actually have a corpse here, ready for disposal!

KungPao wrote: »
    So, remove any personal items such as rings and other jewellery that may be identifiable, smash their teeth in, then toss the body into the sea with rocks tied to them? Would that be enough, Wibbs? Or am I missing something critical?

Pigs. be wary of any man who keeps a pig farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

KungPao wrote: »

Chicken wire, they have to be wrapped in chicken wire so that only small pieces break off and float to the surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

What did they get?

Reoil wrote: »
    What did they get?

I answered that in post #7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

I answered that in post #7
    I read that. It wasn't clear if they ran with handful of stuff or they ran empty-handed...
    I therefore presume by your response that they got nothing.

Reoil wrote: »
    I read that. It wasn't clear if they ran with handful of stuff or they ran empty-handed...
    I therefore presume by your response that they got nothing.

sorry, didnt realise you had read the whole thread. Nope, they got nothing. Not a sausage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

How dare you OP!

The guy that did this probably had a hard upbringing or some ****e and needed to break into your house to steal things to pay for important essential supplies or something.

Where you listening to the Niall Boylan show recently lol

Interesting topic. Seems to be more and more burglaries recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

I have had 4 attempted break ins.
    First off, I will say Garda response was brilliant each time.

First time I actually opened the door and confronted them. Now I got away with it but realised after that it was such an incredibly stupid thing to do. Adrenaline was up and my instinct was to fight. I put myself and my family in danger. Believe it or not it was not until the 3 rd time I realised that the safest thing to do was open an upstairs window and roar at them.

The time I confronted them I got a good look at them and described them to the gardai - but the gardai knew their names and addresses. I heard then that they had gone back to a woman who had made a statement after catching them in her home. They poured petrol on her and told her they would light her up if she went to court. I know a lad who grew up with my lads.Same gougers broke into his mother's. He isn't an aggressive lad at all but he went up to their house and battered one of them with a lump hammer. About an hour later there was a shot into his hall door. BTW - these are the guys who had to have the army dismantle a bomb at their home about 2 years ago. So they do not learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Report it
    Yes please report it. Otherwise we get to listen to the guards & politicians proudly talking about "crime statistics have fallen" while they sit around doing nothing - in particular, they do nothing about judges who let people with a hundred convictions walk free.