Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the scum who broke into my gaff ...

• 31-07-2014 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭

I hope you die screaming. A pox on all your houses.

im sorry for what happened to you mate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Balls! They get much? Anything you could keep an eye out for on done deal etc
    Lousy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Make sure they didn't take an upper decker in the bathroom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I doubt he's reading boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

You think it was a Boardsie?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Luckier than most. They seem to have been disturbed and done a runner. The lad next door heard something and went to have a look.

Sorry to hear that OP. B4st4rds should have their fingers chopped off!

Chucken wrote: »
    You think it was a Boardsie?:eek:

No suspects have been eliminated :D

Owners of crowbars are particularly high up the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Sorry for your loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

What part of the house did they get in from ? You've got to properly secure any easy entrance they might get in through, never leave your back door key inserted either as it's easy to leave it in the lock and forget, then all they have to do is use a glass cutter to stick their hand in and open it.

Sorry to hear you got burgled, it's a crap feeling knowing scumbags were in your home. Just do the best you can to secure your home, and make it damn hard for them to enter.

What part of the house did they get in from ? You've got to properly secure any easy entrance they might get in through, never leave your back door key inserted either as it's easy to leave it in the lock and forget, then all they have to do is use a glass cutter to stick their hand in and open it.

Sorry to hear you got burgled, it's a crap feeling knowing scumbags were in your home. Just do the best you can to secure your home, and make it damn hard for them to enter.

Yeah. Lesson learned. The front door wasnt deadlocked so they just crowbared it open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

You seem to know a lot about these things.....
    :p

Your name isnt Raffles is it?

Chucken wrote: »
    You seem to know a lot about these things.....
    :p

When living in a previous kip for a long time in the past, I'm very well aware of how to secure my home, as it happened me a few times in the past.

It won't happen again though, not a chance. :)

Beano wrote: »
    Your name isnt Raffles is it?

No it's Colin.

I'm like kaspersky internet security, except kaspersky house security.

A couple of hidden home security sensor cameras in HD will help.. they are not too expensive. At least you might have a chance of recording said scumbags face's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I hope you die screaming. A pox on all your houses.

In Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

im sorry for what happened to you mate :)
    Lol, maybe it's just me but that smiley face seems to say otherwise! :pac:

OP, I've been there, it sucks. They didn't get much from me but the feeling of violation is the worst. I was shocked at how easily the scumbags got in.

Do what you need to in order to make your home more secure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

No it's Colin.

I'm like kaspersky internet security, except kaspersky house security.

A couple of hidden home security sensor cameras in HD will help.. they are not too expensive. At least you might have a chance of recording said scumbags face's.

Or a hungry alsatian, works even if the scum wear a mask.

wazky wrote: »
    Or a hungry alsatian, works even if the scum wear a mask.

It doesn't always work though. A few houses on my friends road a few months back got burgled and they had big dogs, but the sicko's poisoned a few dogs and then burgled the houses. This was in rivervalley swords Co. Dublin.

Also, I wouldn't just get a big dog just for security anyway, because it's not a good thing at all just to have it cooped up in the back garden all the time as a security measure. The dog needs a lot of looking after and exercise every day and might not be good if a home-owner is out working all days of the week.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    In Dublin?

yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 I Voted For Kodos

Disgusting thing to happen, sorry mate.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Disgusting thing to happen, sorry mate.
    Yea ditto. I fcuking hate burglars with a passion. They are pure scum who invade people's personal space and in my humble should be shot on sight when possible. It's more than just property theft IMHO, for many people it can be like the rape of your home and worse your sense of safety. I personally witnessed an elderly neighbour waste away and end up taking her own life :( because of a burglary. If I could slip a noose around those worthless pieces of human scum and pull the lever on the trap I would and would have no sleepless nights afterward. I would consider it a service to the community.
    It doesn't always work though. A few houses on my friends road a few months back got burgled and they had big dogs, but the sicko's poisoned a few dogs and then burgled the houses. This was in rivervalley swords Co. Dublin.
    Poison my dog and that's when I'm breaking out the longbow. At which point said uneducated scum will realise why longbows were so feared on the medieval battlefield. Luckily my hound will only accept food from me. Everyone else stepping over the threshold without me in attendance is pretty much on his "This must fcuking die now" list, even if they're holding a juicy steak(which can be a pain in of itself). My last guy was the same. Dunno why TBH as I didn't train them that way(and wouldn't know how TBH), so more luck than judgement.
    Also, I wouldn't just get a big dog just for security anyway, because it's not a good thing at all just to have it cooped up in the back garden all the time as a security measure. The dog needs a lot of looking after and exercise every day and might not be good if a home-owner is out working all days of the week.
    +1000 B. Never mind the feeding, exercise and all that, a dog needs to be around their family as they see it, for most of the day. It is NOT a pet for an absent owner*. It is in no way a house alarm substitute and if you get one for that purpose and leave him or her alone unattended, then don't be surprised if they don't end up attacking you.

*Cats are more independent in this regard, but contrary to popular they too need looking after and can miss their family. There's a cat that comes around to my gaff pretty much every day in the mornings after his owners go to work. He's not looking for food either. I've never fed the fecker. He basically comes for cuddles and attention and then fecks off on his rounds around noon. Funny enough and for some reason he's one of the few animals/people/inanimate objects not on my hounds "This must fcuking die now" list(unlike any other cat, bird, rodent that crosses his territory).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Anshua

Sorry for what happened to you, i know exactly how you feel. Our house was burglarized last month. Scumbags
    Even took daughters personalized necklace. May they rot in hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Sorry for your troubles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭larrlin24

Sorry to hear that OP. Our house was burgled many times when I was a child. Still haunts me to this day. I can remember coming home so many times to our gates broken because they'd driven through them with their van. Can't believe they managed to get around every security measure we had. We ended up moving because of it. Coming home to a burgled house has to be one of the worst feelings in the world. Wouldn't wish it on anyone!

The way the justice system in Ireland is at this time, giving burglars with 60 previous convictions community work, or a tiny sentence (out in half the time or less) is going to make this problem escalate, as these scumbags know that 3 months if even that is going to be a walk in the park, and they will be back out doing the same again, and again.

I don't have kids, but I can imagine how it would feel to be asleep and my kids asleep in their room and 1 or more burglars enter the home. I know what I would do immediately if this happened, but I'll keep that to myself.

The Dublin mountains is a nice place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Tilly wrote: »
    I doubt he's reading boards.

Sexist

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The Dublin mountains is a nice place.
    I dunno B, the acid soil can preserve too much evidence. The sea is a great corrupter of the flesh. Just sayin like.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I hear burglars who head to the Dublin mountains like to bring a blanket of lime with them to keep themselves warm if they go for a sleep...

To be honest i didnt even report it to the guards. Dont see much point.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I dunno B, the acid soil can preserve too much evidence. The sea is a great corrupter of the flesh. Just sayin like.

Lay an object in it's entirety in one spot and it will be a problem. But lay an object of many millions of pieces all over the place and it will not be much of a problem.

Buried of course or in the sea. Little tiny fragments.

Well I can see peoples anger in relation to being burgled and what we all would do, but in all honesty... they have the right now to protect their property and family in such cases. It's only a matter of time before something very serious happens to burglars life-wise if they keep breaking into folks homes. They will hit the wrong home, and then they will be in a very serious scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

To be honest i didnt even report it to the guards. Dont see much point.

Report it, the local Gardaí may track them down later tonight, the more crimes they can link them to the more time they are likely to go down for.

Sorry for your trouble, had an experience of an attempted break in last year, had me raging for months about the scum, felt so violated. Some months later a guy doing a very similar style crime was caught by the owner, he was taken out proper and hospitalised, I hope it was the same guy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭martin101

Bought myself a baseball bat the weekend. House across the road was done at 6 in the evening last week. These people don't care. Coming home from football the other night too and 3 lads on bikes cycle past me, as they got by me they covered their faces and then shot off. I hope I don't have to use the bat, as I'm a total wimp at times but if someone comes into my house I'm going to start swinging

Report it anyway, as the Guards will be watching out around that area, and who knows, they might get caught, as it will for the time being stop them robbing some other persons house, and maybe one with a family and kids in it that could turn nasty. Better reporting than not. At least then it is on record.

One more thing... It's amazing that even the basic protection that a home owner can have like a stun-gun is illegal to own, and it doesn't harm you, it just knocks a person out and down for a while. Every person has large knives in the kitchen and they are a deadly weapon if used in life or death situations, but a person that wants a stun-gun for home protection is not allowed under current law.

Both stun-guns should be legal... the one's that are used for close proximity, and the ones you can fire from a short distance. The deal with this license to own one comes with a penalty if you are caught with said stun-gun outside of your home, and you will be breaking the law, but once it is used in self-defense in your home then you would be ok.

This would give the home-owner time to call for emergency help, and if the idiots try to get up again, then another shot of electricity is in order for the day until the Guards come. Sounds feasible to me.

It's only a matter of time before something very serious happens to burglars life-wise if they keep breaking into folks homes. They will hit the wrong home, and then they will be in a very serious scenario.
    As folks used to say from your lips to god's ears.

Seriously though, something is going to give___________________ _ eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭xalot

Horrible thing to happen, but definitely report it - I know somebody who recently had a successful conviction against their burglars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

martin101 wrote: »
    Bought myself a baseball bat the weekend. House across the road was done at 6 in the evening last week. These people don't care. Coming home from football the other night too and 3 lads on bikes cycle past me, as they got by me they covered their faces and then shot off. I hope I don't have to use the bat, as I'm a total wimp at times but if someone comes into my house I'm going to start swinging

Unfortunately you are most likely to have the bat taken off you and end up on the other end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Just remember with all burglaries and street thefts is that its not personal

if it was not your house it would be the next house or the next target walking down the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Wibbs wrote: »

Thought mods were meant to abstain from Violence ;)

Fair play to you though, If someone broke into my house I would turn on my copy of "stuck in the middle with you" and have some fun with getting rid of them, Breaking bad style.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

How dare you OP!

The guy that did this probably had a hard upbringing or some ****e and needed to break into your house to steal things to pay for important essential supplies or something.

allibastor wrote: »
    Thought mods were meant to abstain from Violence ;)

Fair play to you though, If someone broke into my house I would turn on my copy of "stuck in the middle with you" and have some fun with getting rid of them, Breaking bad style.

talk about mixed cultural references. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

Just remember with all burglaries and street thefts is that its not personal

if it was not your house it would be the next house or the next target walking down the street

Nothing personal you say? I'll try to keep that in mind when I attempt to remove the head of the ****bag who has tried to rob me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

talk about mixed cultural references. :D

Both had good points, the torture of said home invader, then the clean disposal. Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nothing personal you say? I'll try to keep that in mind when I attempt to remove the head of the ****bag who has tried to rob me.

A lot of people get very paranoid after a theft thinking the scumbag is coming back and they are a target for future crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

A lot of people get very paranoid after a theft thinking the scumbag is coming back and they are a target for future crime

No doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

install a viscous pitbull anti theft system.

ah dammit, i cant think of something witty to say about a viscous pitbull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

ah dammit, i cant think of something witty to say about a viscous pitbull.

oops lol vicious damn auto correct :o

though a viscous pitbull could get places no normal pitbull could. it would be the terminator T1000 of the dog world