The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

At the very other end of the cost and quality scale — :o — I decided to tart up my trusty oul' CB-1 a bit. The rear cowl was particularly eye-catchingly tatty with scrapes and scratches, and the previous owner had superglued two horrible big reflective discs onto the sides (like something you'd attach to the spokes of a kid's bicycle, I swear). Couldn't completely get rid of the marks left behind, so after I'd sanded and painted it I hid the bad bits using the two little 1" oval discs that came with the tank protector decal.

€2.98.............2x400ml primer
    €2.98.............2x400ml gloss black (God bless Dealz!)
    €1.49.............10 sheets sandpaper
    €0.99.............Tank decal off fleabay
    €8.44 total outlay

Finished putting it all back together and the little kid next door (who's been watching like a hawk every step) pipes up and says "cool, it looks like a shark!". Didn't know wtf he was talking about until I looked at it from his angle...

vYjvHd.jpg
    Can you see it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

peckerhead wrote: »
    At the very other end of the cost and quality scale — :o — I decided to tart up my trusty oul' CB-1 a bit. The rear cowl was particularly eye-catchingly tatty with scrapes and scratches, and the previous owner had superglued two horrible big reflective discs onto the sides (like something you'd attach to the spokes of a kid's bicycle, I swear). Couldn't completely get rid of the marks left behind, so after I'd sanded and painted it I hid the bad bits using the two little 1" oval discs that came with the tank protector decal.

€2.98.............2x400ml primer
    €2.98.............2x400ml gloss black (God bless Dealz!)
    €1.49.............10 sheets sandpaper
    €0.99.............Tank decal off fleabay
    €8.44 total outlay

Finished putting it all back together and the little kid next door (who's been watching like a hawk every step) pipes up and says "cool, it looks like a shark!". Didn't know wtf he was talking about until I looked at it from his angle...

vYjvHd.jpg
    Can you see it? :D

A Hammerhead shark???

What type handle bars are they? what are they like compared to stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Hammer-ársed shark, maybe. ;)

Dunno, they're kind of short-ish raised clip-ons that were on it when I bought it from the UK, so I wouldn't know how they compare to the standard factory ones. Mine are pretty much like these ones. From looking at photos online I'd say they're angled downwards a good bit more, so you'd probably end up leaning forward into them a bit more? At least if you're a short-arse like me...

I'll stick up a few shots in the "Post a pic" thread when I get the bike finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Vikings wrote: »
    Collected my top box brackets from Tallaght Powder Coating. Cost next to nothing to get done properly and look ten times better. Hats off to the guys in there, good service at a good price.

Out of interest I asked how much a wheels would cost to be powder coated, €80 each plus vat. Seems pretty reasonable to me!
    What's the story with it, will they prepare the piece for you? Wouldn't mind a getting a couple of bits done, but they have paint on them already. Do they sandblast them? I'm assuming the powder coat is ok for pieces that get hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭positron

I am slowly getting into having a good look at my bike and I am starting to recognise parts beyond the ignition and handlebars. I am now proud owner of a 10-70mm torque wrench, set of spanners, various size sockets etc etc.

Fitted new right side mirror and painted left side mirror stem (matt black, gloss black and clear coat). Changed radiator coolant hose (that I messed up and put a hole in last week) and drained putrid old coolant, flushed with plenty of water and refilled with new OAT coolant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

That's the great thing about bikes, it turns you into a mechanic weather you like it or not. When I started out l was only interested In going fast. Now I could strip any engine down to the bone and have done so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

I got my Givi S320 Spot lights mount on the engine bars.
    Just showing what the light is like from the standard beam and then the spot lights on.

I doubt i will need to use my high beams.. ever! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

goodlad wrote: »
    I got my Givi S320 Spot lights mount on the engine bars.
    Just showing what the light is like from the standard beam and then the spot lights on.

I doubt i will need to use my high beams.. ever! haha

Some difference there I tell ya......jaysus.

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Nice one goodlad. Very good mod

Today I fitted a new fuel tank. There's two lugs at the bottom if the tank that the seat kind of attaches to. One of them snapped off a while back and created a tiny hole in the tank. Couldn't find anyone who would even attempt to weld or solder it.
    I bought a second hand tank off eBay and had it resprayed by Ger Conlon.
    Put it on today. A straightforward job but the fuel hoses were awkward bastards to take off/put back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Today I fitted a new fuel tank. There's two lugs at the bottom if the tank that the seat kind of attaches to. One of them snapped off a while back and created a tiny hole in the tank. Couldn't find anyone who would even attempt to weld or solder it.
    I bought a second hand tank off eBay and had it resprayed by Ger Conlon.
    Put it on today. A straightforward job but the fuel hoses were awkward bastards to take off/put back on.

Savage bike. You don't see to many of them around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭daveyjoe

2004 Triumph Bonneville.

Got a new seat. Removed rear fender with a fender removal kit. Installed LED indicators on the rear shocks and slimmer LED brake light. Made up a custom licence plate + brake light holder (from an unused baking tray). Sprayed the tank to get a distressed metal effect.

Thoughts? I'm delighted with the look overall, next summer I'll tackle the front-end of the bike. Pic is at link below

http://i.imgur.com/3m0ylMu.jpg

daveyjoe wrote: »
    2004 Triumph Bonneville.

Got a new seat. Removed rear fender with a fender removal kit. Installed LED indicators on the rear shocks and slimmer LED brake light. Made up a custom licence plate + brake light holder (from an unused baking tray). Sprayed the tank to get a distressed metal effect.

Thoughts? I'm delighted with the look overall, next summer I'll tackle the front-end of the bike. Pic is at link below

http://i.imgur.com/3m0ylMu.jpg

That looks great, I like the paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭dorannoel

Had 2 give the bike a bit of a clean 2day as it wasn't clean for a few weeks

So hear what I did!!!!

So I washed the bike twice

First wash was with:
    CYKO bike cleaner to get the heavy dirty and grease off
    Then wash it with MR pink car was shampoo!!!!

Then I clay bar the hole bike top 2 bottom

After that I polish it and then sealed it all

Then gave the plastic bits a brighten up

Have a picture off it finish but it not
    great as it was taken off my phone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

dorannoel wrote: »
    Had 2 give the bike a bit of a clean 2day as it wasn't clean for a few weeks

So hear what I did!!!!

So I washed the bike twice

First wash was with:
    CYKO bike cleaner to get the heavy dirty and grease off
    Then wash it with MR pink car was shampoo!!!!

Then I clay bar the hole bike top 2 bottom

After that I polish it and then sealed it all

Then gave the plastic bits a brighten up

Have a picture off it finish but it not
    great as it was taken off my phone!

Thats the job noel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Put nice fresh clean air in my rear brake.
    Um.... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Just fitted these tank protectors that my missus made, yes made !!. She copied the centre one from the shape of another tank protector and shaped the side ones herself. Cut them from a sheet of protective film from R&G. Couldn't be happier with them, they look so professional :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,329 ✭✭✭prunudo

^^^^
    Having never bought a new bike and unlikely to for a while i like that handy little reminder sticker about the rpm restrictions!

Nothing mechanical but slapped on some Givi Manifold covers onto the pipes.

14822866136_47b630ff89_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

DubVelo wrote: »
    Put nice fresh clean air in my rear brake.
    Um.... :o

Today put nice fresh clean brake fluid in both brakes. Much better strategy than air. :P

Nothing mechanical but slapped on some Givi Manifold covers onto the pipes.

14822866136_47b630ff89_c.jpg

Bike is getting treated to every possible aftermarket part !! Looking well mate but I would not be a fan of them covers myself. But each to there own.

Tis man! I love putting on all these tiny little extra parts.
    Its all part of the enjoyment / addiction :D

Tis man! I love putting on all these tiny little extra parts.
    Its all part of the enjoyment / addiction :D

It is a bug alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭zubair

The bike is now officially my primary mode of transportation. Sold the car yesterday, it was covered in cobwebs and the buyer even found a snail stuck to the exhaust... Still alive.

Fitted a Bagster tank cover, delighted with it !! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭blade1

KTRIC wrote: »

Nice!!
    Looks really well in white!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

KTRIC wrote: »

What about the bespoke tank pads??!!

Vikings wrote: »
    What about the bespoke tank pads??!!

They're nicely protected ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

Not into the look of tank covers myself. Very practical all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Today I did something to my bike..... I dropped it.

Idiocy on my part. Also discovered there is a very slow leak from my rear tyre so gotta figure that out :(