Man drowns trying to remove the Tricolour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

In all seriousness if it were the opposite way around (down here, union jack) - we'd have people saying
    "really tragic, pointless death. Unwanted English imperialism again causes loss of life - why should he choose to turn the other cheek, etc."

We didn't get such lol'ing for the other drownings here this summer - no matter how stupid the circumstance.

Sure they're retardedly jingoistic with rediculous nationalism in the North, but people on the thread don't sound much better crowing about it!

And, fwiw, a Darwin award wouldn't be applicable if he already has children.

Nah not at all, anyone that accidentally kills themself to change a flag regardless of location or cause is a f*cking moron and I will always laugh at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

listermint wrote: »
    People would be saying the same thing, I am unsure what location has to do with it ??

Them vs us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Them vs us.

Who versus Who ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Those Protestants again.... Always up to no good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,300 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Genuinely thought I was reading off Waterford Whispers when I saw this one in my news feed. You couldn't make it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I hope St Peter facepalmed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Also don't forget to take off your sash, them things hold water like a sponge..

great for walking, not so great swimming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

listermint wrote: »
    Who versus Who ?

John Entwistle vs Keith Moon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Willie Frazers comments:

Its with great sadness that I must inform you all of the tragic death of FAIR member Ossy Bradley who just a few hours ago was drowned whilst performing a selfless act of citizenship in Bessbrook. Ossy who worked tirelessly for victims in the area attempted to remove two Irish Tricolours from an Island in the towns pond and replace them with Union Jacks. The two Irish Tricolours had been reported and indeed they should have been removed but were not. Regrettably Ossy was then forced into taking matters into his own hands and tragically died as a consequence. A great friend of Mrs Lemon (Kingsmills massacre) Ossy was all to aware of how much hurt these foreign flags were causing and the IRAs message that they were delivering to the local unionist community. I at this time call for funding to be given to the IRA victims of that area who have no support group, no one who could have taken up such matters and seen them resolved. Tragically we now see the death of a man due to republican intimidation and the governments attempted “silencing” of IRA victims. As we have always said the victims will not be going away and we will not tolerate republican intimidation. FOOTNOTE, this evening the council sent men over in canoes and removed the tricolors. Safe in the arms of Jesus.

What a monumental dickhead.
    Amazing how it has turned into a political pitfall so quickly.
    Safe in the arms of Jesus? Bahahahahhahaha
    To think that this is the same guy that dressed up as Abu Hamza :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

During previous elections he was described as a dedicated unionist.
    These days hes more of a floating vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Cue Tricolours being placed on Islands and anywhere that might be considered dangerous.

His bigotry caused his own death, absolutely no one else to blame for the stupid aul fools demise.

Once again we see the difference between the two sides up there. Sinn Fein (wrongly IMO) called for the removal of the flegs last week. If it were the other way around I doubt the same would've been said.

I wouldn't say I'm happy this guy died but I did find it hard to stop laughing.

In all seriousness if it were the opposite way around (down here, union jack) - we'd have people saying
    "really tragic, pointless death. Unwanted English imperialism again causes loss of life - why should he choose to turn the other cheek, etc."
    Bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,966 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

jimgoose wrote: »
    A horrible stupid accident, the misfortunate man. Would this be worthy of such criticism if he fell over the cat and broke his neck?

Maybe, if he'd been trying to remove the cat because it had a tricolour on it.

Natural selection in effect, as someone else said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭blueser

''Forced to take matters into his own hands''. How so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

blueser wrote: »
    ''Forced to take matters into his own hands''. How so?

Bigotry is a powerful force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

Ye hear that lads? Ulsteronians are deathly allergic to water...

Ah no but that's shocking altogether! All over a feckin flag.

truedoom wrote: »
    Ye hear that lads? Ulsteronians are deathly allergic to water...

Ah no but that's shocking altogether! All over a feckin flag.
    Given the weather we endure, they're living in the wrong part of the world then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭irish gent

Very sad, how easy ours life can be wasted on something not worth dying for.

wazky wrote: »
    Bigotry is a powerful force
    So is utter stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

We didn't get such lol'ing for the other drownings here this summer - no matter how stupid the circumstance.

If you put it like that, yeah, he would be called an obsoulute legend if he succeeded. I suppose what puts the perverse humour on this is knowing he was probably very serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Seems he died doing what he loved most, being petty.

Noblong wrote: »
    If you put it like that, yeah, he would be called an obsoulute legend if he succeeded. I suppose what puts the perverse humour on this is knowing he was probably very serious.
    I don't have the slightest doubt that he was deadly serious in his intentions. Unless you were absolutely pissed, you wouldn't do it for a dare/bet, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

blueser wrote: »
    I don't have the slightest doubt that he was deadly serious in his intentions. Unless you were absolutely pissed, you wouldn't do it for a dare/bet, would you?

I don't know. The fact that he was carrying over Union flags with him tells me he wasnt serious in the right way anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

bear1 wrote: »
    Willie Frazers comments:

Blah blah blah... bigoted hateful ****e...

Is there a link to this anywhere? If it was a quote from any other person i'd say it was a wind up, but with wee Willie...:rolleyes: Does this man see IRA bogymen everytime he closes his eyes? What the feck has the IRA got to do with yesterdays tragic events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Is there a link to this anywhere? If it was a quote from any other person i'd say it was a wind up, but with wee Willie...:rolleyes: Does this man see IRA bogymen everytime he closes his eyes? What the feck has the IRA got to do with yesterdays tragic events?

the IRA made the Triclour, If you look in the bottom right hand corner of every triclour it is stamped in 2mm letters Hand Made By the Brotherhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I got it from another forum but in the Irish Times there is a small quote from all of it so I believe it to be genuine:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/man-drowns-trying-to-remove-irish-flag-from-armagh-island-1.1881470

http://www.talkceltic.net/forum/showthread.php?t=144068

Post number 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

bear1 wrote: »
    Willie Frazers comments:

Its with great sadness that I must inform you all of the tragic death of FAIR member Ossy Bradley who just a few hours ago was drowned whilst performing a selfless act of citizenship in Bessbrook. Ossy who worked tirelessly for victims in the area attempted to remove two Irish Tricolours from an Island in the towns pond and replace them with Union Jacks. The two Irish Tricolours had been reported and indeed they should have been removed but were not. Regrettably Ossy was then forced into taking matters into his own hands and tragically died as a consequence. A great friend of Mrs Lemon (Kingsmills massacre) Ossy was all to aware of how much hurt these foreign flags were causing and the IRAs message that they were delivering to the local unionist community. I at this time call for funding to be given to the IRA victims of that area who have no support group, no one who could have taken up such matters and seen them resolved. Tragically we now see the death of a man due to republican intimidation and the governments attempted “silencing” of IRA victims. As we have always said the victims will not be going away and we will not tolerate republican intimidation. FOOTNOTE, this evening the council sent men over in canoes and removed the tricolors. Safe in the arms of Jesus.

Man died and I'm sorry for his friends and family but JAYSUS..
    See I'd have bit more sympathy if he wasn't going over to replace the flags - just remove them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Willie Frazer, Fair's founder, said: "Ozzy, who worked tirelessly for victims in the area, attempted to remove two Irish tricolours from an island in the town's pond. The two Irish tricolours had been reported and indeed they should have been removed but were not.

"Regrettably Ozzy was then forced into taking matters into his own hands and tragically died as a consequence."
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-drowns-while-swimming-across-pond-to-remove-irish-tricolours-30467518.html#sthash.4uA4bK15.dpuf

This bit did make me laugh considering he was swimming out to put up a Union flag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Such a pointless waste of life, I wonder when he was drowning and clutching his union flags, did it matter if he was British or Irish, and was all the upset over a flag worth it.