Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man drowns trying to remove the Tricolour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

And natural selection makes the world a slightly smarter place...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 i r legend

Pmsl. Another brave son of Ulster tragically struck down in the line of duty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

I have to admit, I loled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nedkelly24

i r legend wrote: »
    Pmsl. Another brave son of Ulster tragically struck down in the line of duty

What a tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

And he was a member of that group of mouth breathers FAIR. Why am I not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If only the provos had known there was such a simple way to thin out the ranks of the loyal brethern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Although it was utterly stupid. A waste of life is still a waste of life. RIP

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Willie Frazer of the IRA victims’ group Fair wrote on his Facebook page that Mr Bradley was a member of the group. He drowned “whilst performing a selfless act of citizenship in Bessbrook,” Mr Frazer said. Mr Bradley had been attempting to remove to tricolours and replace them with union jacks, he said.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/man-drowns-trying-to-remove-irish-flag-from-armagh-island-1.1881470

An even more pointless reason for dying. Will this make them grow up and see the absolute stupidity and childishness of their outlook and actions or will we just see another memorial to bigotry and anger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

Drakares wrote: »
    Although it was utterly stupid. A waste of life is still a waste of life. RIP

I don't think so. This notion that all life is precious is a bit naive IMO. It just isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Jesus lads.

It was 2 fcuking flags.

Flags.

Putting your life in danger to remove them, and replace them with another flag......

Family now devastated, needless loss of a life.

I'm also speechless tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

What a gobshite.
    Tabnabs wrote: »
    Will this make them grow up and see the absolute stupidity and childishness of their outlook and actions or will we just see another memorial to bigotry and anger?

Nope, his cronies will blame the tricolour or whoever put it there. A brave soul who died in the line of duty :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A horrible stupid accident, the misfortunate man. Would this be worthy of such criticism if he fell over the cat and broke his neck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Jesus lads.

It was 2 fcuking flags.

Flags.

Putting your life in danger to remove them, and replace them with another flag......

I'm also speechless tbh.

Flegs, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Prime candidate for a darwin.

Such a pointless death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Jesus lads.

It was 2 fcuking flags.

Flags.

I'm also speechless tbh.

Utter madness, I mean Christ Almighty if there was a candidate for the Darwin Awards.
    I would imagine FAIR will blame the Republicans, even though SF had previously requested the flags be removed.
    Utter stupidity.
    I feel sorry for the family but I get the feeling this will be used in the local politics up there.

The council workers used canoes to get out to remove them.

Lateral thinking there. They'd have been much better on the Crystal Maze too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

I wouldn't be surprised if they try to get whoever planted the tricolours for manslaughter. Also if it was that important to him, why not try to procure a boat or something first?

all jokes aside, a man put himself in a position where he died and for one of the most pointless non-reasons possible. It's really hard to see reunification happening when things like this happen over a piece of cloth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I wouldn't be surprised if they try to get whoever planted the tricolours for manslaughter. Also if it was that important to him, why not try to procure a boat or something first?

all jokes aside, a man put himself in a position where he died and for one of the most pointless non-reasons possible. It's really hard to see reunification happening when things like this happen over a piece of cloth!

Reuinification? You want those gombeens to be our responsibility?

It's already hard enough seeing that ever happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

I don't think so. This notion that all life is precious is a bit naive IMO. It just isn't.

He still had a family and people whos lives are devastated over it.

Keep putting up flags in inaccessible spots. The dingbats will gradually kill themselves off. Reunification will become moot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Reuinification? You want those gombeens to be our responsibility?

never said I wanted it, and i'm actually not too pushed either way, but i know a lot of people here do. This incident really highlights the fractured nature of the north.

edit. as another poster said, I wouldn't be surprised if this was used for political point scoring at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

How the hell did he make it to 68?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Fleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeegs! (2mins 30 in...can't link to exact timestamp)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

endacl wrote: »

A pensioner drowning isn't really natural selection at work though.

A pensioner drowning isn't really natural selection though.

Had he gone through menopause?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

He said he didn't like the flags being up because they were "causing tension in a mixed area", yet he was going to put up the Union flag instead... Hmmmm.

Reoil wrote: »
    He said he didn't like the flags being up because they were "causing tension in a mixed area", yet he was going to put up the Union flag instead... Hmmmm.

The wrong sort of "tension", obviously. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

A pensioner drowning isn't really natural selection at work though.

Oh it is. If he was fit enough to try to swim that distance in cold water with confidence, then I wouldn't classify him as a "pensioner" in the "old man" stereotype sense of the word.

jimgoose wrote: »
    The wrong sort of "tension", obviously. :pac:

Sexual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Reoil wrote: »
    Oh it is. If he was fit enough to try to swim that distance in cold water with confidence, then I wouldn't classify him as a "pensioner" in the "old man" stereotype sense of the word.

FYP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Jesus lads.

It was 2 fcuking flags.

Flags.

Putting your life in danger to remove themselves, and replace them with another flag......

I'm also speechless tbh.
    *flegs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Vice News have a good one on these lads, can't get over how the bitter hatred up there still prevails in this day and age....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

jimgoose wrote: »
    A horrible stupid accident, the misfortunate man. Would this be worthy of such criticism if he fell over the cat and broke his neck?

No, that would be unlucky.

This, however, was due to his own stupidity and pettiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭0O0

You're trivialising the "fleg" issues in the North - as mentioned by the SF mla it will be seen as intimidating and people who don't associate themselves with Ireland could think that their identity is being quashed.

The man obviously felt that strongly about it that at not far off 70 he did that?! Another life lost to the consequences of the Troubles....Think the politicians should show some leadership & maybe create a separate Northern Irish flag, which is inclusive of everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Keep putting up flags in inaccessible spots. The dingbats will gradually kill themselves off. Reunification will become moot moate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

0O0 wrote: »
    You're trivialising the "fleg" issues in the North - as mentioned by the SF mla it will be seen as intimidating and people who don't associate themselves with Ireland could think that their identity is being quashed..

I feel the same when walking past a hotel with union flegs flying here in Dublin..

Not really, I think thats an unwarrented excuse, I think this story shows nothing more than an attempt to wind a community up followed by the usual aggrevated response.

Its time that the loyalist communiddy got their **** together and stop playing the tradition card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...Think the politicians should show some leadership & maybe create a separate Northern Irish flag, which is inclusive of everyone.

Maybe they could get Phil Coulter to design it?

I feel the same when walking past a hotel with union flegs flying here in Dublin..

Not really, I think thats an unwarrented excuse, I think this story shows nothing more than an attempt to wind a community up followed by the usual aggrevated response.

Its time that the loyalist communiddy got their **** together and stop playing the tradition card.

Or... even better, join the rest of the world in 2014.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Maybe they could get Phil Coulter to design it?

Screen well and truly coffee-spluttered, thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

How long before Willie Frazer blames the IRA for this? :rolleyes:

Think the politicians should show some leadership & maybe create a separate Northern Irish flag, which is inclusive of everyone.

A plain white one? No sectarian connotations?

Oh. 'No surrender'. That won't work.

How about a rainbow one, inclusive of everybody? Oh. That one' s taken?

I'm all out of ideas....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

Never go swimming when full of food. Or incandescent rage.

bear1 wrote: »
    Sexual?
    The sort of tension where the wrong side feels slightly more tense than the other.
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    No, that would be unlucky.

This, however, was due to his own stupidity and pettiness.
    Yeah. That's people for you.

A plain white one? No sectarian connotations?

Oh. 'No surrender'. That won't work.

How about a rainbow one, inclusive of everybody? Oh. That one' s taken?

I'm all out of ideas....

Possibly a nutty idea but..... how about..... they....... stop banging on about flags, flegs etc and focus on what really matters in life?
    I'm perfectly happy walking around Galway or any other city without seeing the Tricolour everywhere.
    I don't need reminding of where I am.
    I'm curious how many lives have been lost due to the flag problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

never said I wanted it, and i'm actually not too pushed either way, but i know a lot of people here do. This incident really highlights the fractured nature of the north.

edit. as another poster said, I wouldn't be surprised if this was used for political point scoring at some point.

I am afraid it the posts and replys on this thread really highlight the fractured nature of society in general when some are making jokes and taking delight about another person from the other side dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I... but... Natural selection doesn't work on 68 year olds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bear1 wrote: »
    Sexual?

Stupid sexy tricolours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

caustic 1 wrote: »
    I am afraid it the posts and replys on this thread really highlight the fractured nature of society in general when some are making jokes and taking delight about another person from the other side dying.

What 'other side' were all human,

This guy was just trying to swap out someones religious and sectarian tension with his own, it killed him.

More fool him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭0O0

caustic 1 wrote: »

Agree with this completely.

Most won't have realised the destruction in the North because of feckin flegs - as they represent identity, which again is in conflict in a lot of areas, like the area where this man died.
    Yet the bad taste jokes bout "them-uns & us-uns" show how hypocritical the joke is.