Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Putting a load of washing on and then it rains so you can't hang it outside.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Just on this... my friend has gone vegetarian for the last few years and that's fair enough each to their own and I would never tell anyone they are wrong or that they should eat meat i mean i don't honestly care what anyone eats, BUT she has a small son and she enforces her vegetarianism on to him. She is split up with the childs dad but he is also a friend of mine and couldn't believe it when he took the young lad to McDonalds and the kid turned around and said "no we don't eat burgers, they're bad for you" or something along those lines. The dad was shocked, couldn't believe it! I mean my friend (the mother) has literally brainwashed her son! Surely he should be allowed to grow up and make this decision for himself when he is old enough to!

I think it's outrageous to be honest! Let the lad grow up and eat a poxy hamburger ffs it'll do him no harm, quite the opposite in fact and if he decides when he is of age that he'd rather not eat meat so be it, deciding for him is plain wrong!

I don't really care what people eat, surely so long as the child is getting a balanced and healthy diet that's all that matters. There is no actual reason to eat meat, protein comes in other forms. So the father didn't get to buy the child a Big Mac, I'm sure the child would have been happy with a veggie burger. Sounds like the dad was making a fuss over nothing tbh. Most kids have no say in what they're fed, they just eat whatever the parent puts in front of them. Hardly any great hardship.

Trivial things that annoy me....when threads are derailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I hate americanized spelling. It really, really pisses me off. However, the fact that I hate it so much, but agree with their spelling of "center" make my grammar nazi self want to create a third reich with my own damn language.

Seriously, why is centre spelled so? Center makes so much more sense :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

period pain

I hate americanized spelling. It really, really pisses me off. However, the fact that I hate it so much, but agree with their spelling of "center" make my grammar nazi self want to create a third reich with my own damn language.

Seriously, why is centre spelled so? Center makes so much more sense :mad:

And theater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I don't really care what people eat, surely so long as the child is getting a balanced and healthy diet that's all that matters. There is no actual reason to eat meat, protein comes in other forms. So the father didn't get to buy the child a Big Mac, I'm sure the child would have been happy with a veggie burger. Sounds like the dad was making a fuss over nothing tbh. Most kids have no say in what they're fed, they just eat whatever the parent puts in front of them. Hardly any great hardship.

Exactly.

I don't eat meat, I've explained to my child why I personally don't want to and allowed her make her own decisions about what she eats- to an extent obviously. She eats a lot of meat, she loves steak but she'd also have veggie dishes as well. But if she had decided she didn't want to eat meat its not like she'd be lacking nutrients or anything, and a balanced veggie meal is a lot more nutritious than a big mac meal so don't see the problem tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Tasden wrote: »
    But if she had decided she didn't want to eat meat its not like she'd be lacking nutrients or anything

Wrong! http://www.vegetarianvoice.com/vegetarian-nutrition/7/five-nutrients-vegetarian-diets-lack/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Tasden wrote: »
    Exactly.

I don't eat meat, I've explained to my child why I personally don't want to and allowed her make her own decisions about what she eats- to an extent obviously. She eats a lot of meat, she loves steak but she'd also have veggie dishes as well. But if she had decided she didn't want to eat meat its not like she'd be lacking nutrients or anything, and a balanced veggie meal is a lot more nutritious than a big mac meal so don't see the problem tbh.

And this is my point exactly... YOU LET HER DECIDE. I don't think the major issue was he couldn't get his son a big mac it was that he didn't realise he couldn't feed the young lad meat anymore period.

The issue that i see here, and i know from being at BBQs with the mother is she will not cook her own food anywhere that meat has touched. like if she is over for a BBQ we will have to keep a space free on the grill where she can cook her own bits that the meat hasn't touched. I'm not vegetarian so i guess i don't understand but it seems a bit excessive to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Sadderday wrote: »
    period pain

Pain. Period.:D

And this is my point exactly... YOU LET HER DECIDE. I don't think the major issue was he couldn't get his son a big mac it was that he didn't realise he couldn't feed the young lad meat anymore period.

The issue that i see here, and i know from being at BBQs with the mother is she will not cook her own food anywhere that meat has touched. like if she is over for a BBQ we will have to keep a space free on the grill where she can cook her own bits that the meat hasn't touched. I'm not vegetarian so i guess i don't understand but it seems a bit excessive to me.

Every veggie has their own reasons for not eating meat. I would be careful about where I cook my food. There is animal byproducts in stuff you wouldn't even think of, like sweets. I can only find a couple of types of sweets that don't have bovine/beef gelatine in them. Tbh, cooking 2 seperate meals can be a pain in the ass. If I make curry I do a chicken 1 for my husband, then cook a vegetarian version for myself, it's more time consuming and also more expensive.

I can't really blame any parent for keeping things simpler and cheaper by having her child/children on the veggie diet she's on. If she's a single parent she probably doesn't have the time for cooking seperate meals. Like I said, it can be a pain to do that. Sure the child can always have the odd sneaky burger with the dad if they want to.

Lads can we not stop talking about veggie V meat.
    This isn't the right thread for it!!

I'm annoyed at my lazy lethargy today. I need a repeat prescription and to get a form signed by my GP. I could have gone this morning but it's too late now. I'm torn between just going and getting my shopping at lunchtime or killing time at home until 2pm and going to the GP first, then doing my shopping, or putting the GP thing off til Thursay. *Sigh, my life is just one big rock n roll rollercoaster of excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm annoyed at my lazy lethargy today. I need a repeat prescription and to get a form signed by my GP. I could have gone this morning but it's too late now. I'm torn between just going and getting my shopping at lunchtime or killing time at home until 2pm and going to the GP first, then doing my shopping, or putting the GP thing off til Thursay. *Sigh, my life is just one big rock n roll rollercoaster of excitement.

Why don't you just get into the car and go to town for the afternoon? Treat yourself to a bit of late-lunch. O'Connor's caff in Thomas Street is rather good, and you can park across the block in the multi-storey.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Why don't you just get into the car and go to town for the afternoon? Treat yourself to a bit of late-lunch. O'Connor's caff in Thomas Street is rather good, and you can park across the block in the multi-storey.

I live in Clare and I don't drive:(

You'd want to sort that out! My sister just downs tools and goes AWOL like that sometimes, it's immensely liberating. That said herself and the Mr. own a taxi firm in Annacotty and she has a PSV license. She'd take an artic into town for the afternoon if that was the only thing lying around! :pac:

I can't believe that I almost forgot to moan about this one. My alky, cat hating bitch neighbour is on 2 weeks holiday:(, so we're stuck with her presence constantly. Now their family is Seriously into hurling/camogie and they virtually live in the bar of the local GAA club. There's a locum postman on while the regular guy is on holiday and she and the husband know the young guy.

Every morning when he delivers the post they open the door and chat to him, inviting him in for a cuppa. The absolute false persona she puts on is staggering, actually I'd go so far as to say it's worthy of an Oscar. I sometimes hear people saying what a 'lovely family' they are and it makes me want to scream that they should try living next door to it and see what a fcuking psycho she is.

I remember 1 Summer they had a party for their twins 21st birthdays. Christ, the amount of fellas pissing up against the walls in the alley was shocking and even with the windows shut in our house we could smell the fumes from the piss:mad: The same thing happens from time to time with their large gatherings for house parties.

You'd want to sort that out! My sister just downs tools and goes AWOL like that sometimes, it's immensely liberating. That said herself and the Mr. own a taxi firm in Annacotty and she has a PSV license. She'd take an artic into town for the afternoon if that was the only thing lying around! :pac:

I've got Epilepsy, it's well controlled but I just couldn't justify taking the risk of having a seizure behind the wheel and injuring/killing someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I've got Epilepsy, it's well controlled but I just couldn't justify taking the risk of having a seizure behind the wheel and injuring/killing someone.

Buy a bumper car! :cool:

Mmm. My sympathy. However, all is not lost - lots of epilepsy sufferers drive away good-oh, and proper order. Check this out, in your own time:

http://www.epilepsy.ie/index.cfm/spKey/info.rights_entitlements.driving_regulations.html

Mmm. My sympathy. However, all is not lost - lots of epilepsy sufferers drive away good-oh, and proper order. Check this out, in your own time:

http://www.epilepsy.ie/index.cfm/spKey/info.rights_entitlements.driving_regulations.html

Yeah, I know a few people with it who drive. For me though it's just a personal choice not to. We have most things we need locally and it's easier to just get a bus to Limerick when we go in rather than looking for somewhere to park. My husband had a motorbike when he was single and I was horrofied at the stories he told me about the number of times he was knocked off the bike in London. So I never let him get the bike fixed and he sold it.

We were living in York for years and parking there is a nightmare so he didn't get a drivers licence, there was no point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

One of those women I work with whose mouth is like a washing machine is currently poking and picking at her teeth with a paperclip.
    This fills me with a rage I have never felt before! DISGUSTING!!!!

I'd kill her...well maybe not, but I'd be near to doing it. How come some people don't know even the most basic of basic manners!

Did you read that link? It actually proves my point.
    But we'll end it there since we're trivially annoying other posters in the thread :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ugh, people with no sense of personal space on public transport. I get that the LUAS is often packed in the mornings, but 99% of people still manage to make the journey without rubbing up against and bouncing off the people next to them. It was even oddly empty this morning like, there was room to swing a kitten, but this dude still feels the need to come stand 3 inches from me and practically grind on me for the whole trip.

**** off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

People playing music on the bus on their phone (or another device). And the chap's choice this morning was extremely bad, it sounded like an indian pop crossed with angry meowing cat. It was like a drill in my head. Fcuk off, get headphones or get off the bus you selfish pr1ck!!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Ugh, people with no sense of personal space on public transport. I get that the LUAS is often packed in the mornings, but 99% of people still manage to make the journey without rubbing up against and bouncing off the people next to them. It was even oddly empty this morning like, there was room to swing a kitten, but this dude still feels the need to come stand 3 inches from me and practically grind on me for the whole trip.

**** off.

Hmmm, must have been your cologne. Or whatever you were wearing Maximus! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

People who write 'k' instead of 'ok'. At what stage was the o removed? And how lazy do you have to be to omit it? Was the abbreviation from okay not enough? Starting to sound like Abe Simpson here

Some people use it as a way to be passive aggressive through text as well which is even more irritating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

czechlin wrote: »
    Hmmm, must have been your cologne. Or whatever you were wearing Maximus! :P

"GRIND" .....................by Maximus (cos you are worth it):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    "GRIND" .....................by Maximus (cos you are worth it):D

You know that's kinda got a ring to it.

It's actually Armani Attitude though, just in the interests of full disclosure. :P