Everybody else in the family is at the Commonwealth Games, so why aren't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

What events are you attending? What's the buzz like around Glasgow?

Mozambique vs Gibraltar in the Lawn Bowls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Could you be honorary members and could you afford the games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Madam wrote: »
    Could you be honoury members and could you afford the games?
    We could host it no problem in Croke Pa.....

.... 433 objections already received by DCC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

As families go, the Commonwealth would need a team of psychologists and social workers doing intensive family therapy.

You've the old colonial power with delusions of grandure and a load of countries that are like exs that divorced it after a rather domineering marriage.

Then you've Australia and Canada, its formerly culchie cousins who are now loaded and driving around in large Mercs.

Strange, strange family!

LordSutch wrote: »
    'Nearly' every country in the world who has even the slightest connection to Britain is there competing in every sport represented, from boxing to athletics, to karate, to rugby, horse riding, shooting, and swimming, yet the ROI is completly absent, leaving NI to go it alone as usual :mad:

Yes, I know the reasons well, and I know that I will probably get a massive backlash for even suggesting that we should be rubbing shoulders with the Welsh, the Scots, the English, Canadians, Aussies, Indians etc etc, but I still can't help thinking that here we are (the closest of all to Britain) yet still sulking & absent as usual since about 1959, when some drunken Dail politician decided on the spur of the moment that "Ireland had now left the commonwealth".

Personally I think we should rejoin for no other reason than to be able to participate in the games. There would of course be a lot of trade opportunities with other CW countries too, that might also come into play with such connections. I think its been a disgrace that we have been absent from the commonwealth family for so long.

What say you?

Sits in bunker with pith helmet on, waiting for the artillery shells to rain in :D

"connections" ... You mean were invaded by Britain? :D

Funny, the USA must still be "sulking".

"NI goes it alone" ...You may not have noticed n=but many Irish people don't ant them to alone in the UK. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

'Nearly' every country in the world who has even the slightest connection to Britain is there competing in every sport represented, from boxing to athletics, to karate, to rugby, horse riding, shooting, and swimming, yet the ROI is completly absent, leaving NI to go it alone as usual :mad:

Yes, I know the reasons well, and I know that I will probably get a massive backlash for even suggesting that we should be rubbing shoulders with the Welsh, the Scots, the English, Canadians, Aussies, Indians etc etc, but I still can't help thinking that here we are (the closest of all to Britain) yet still sulking & absent as usual since about 1959, when some drunken Dail politician decided on the spur of the moment that "Ireland had now left the commonwealth".

Personally I think we should rejoin for no other reason than to be able to participate in the games. There would of course be a lot of trade opportunities with other CW countries too, that might also come into play with such connections. I think its been a disgrace that we have been absent from the commonwealth family for so long.

What say you?

Sits in bunker with pith helmet on, waiting for the artillery shells to rain in :D

I think we already have good trade agreements with other countries, our 12.5% corporation is also a tremendous benefit to us (it seems to be pissing Obama off a bit though) and personally I don't want to see a British monarch returning as our head of state.

I see no downside to being a Republic and I'd hazzard a guess most citizens might agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Just to point out you can still be a republic with your own head of state and be in the commonwealth.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republics_in_the_Commonwealth_of_Nations

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Just to point out you can still be a republic with your own head of state and be in the commonwealth.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republics_in_the_Commonwealth_of_Nations

But you do have to accept the British monarch as head of the British commonwealth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Grayson wrote: »
    An opening ceremony like an off Broadway production of the Olympics. :)

Off off broadway- a community centre in the Bronx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Feck Off we don't want ye anyway!

What say you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Madam wrote: »
    Until about a week ago you would have needed your pith helmet around me. Now I've seen what it has brought to Glasgow I've changed my mind - the place has been transformed and the city is buzzing you just can't help but be upbeat about the whole thing.
    Should we also ask to take part in the Pan American Games? I'm sure that Toronto will be throwing a great part next year and, sure, wouldn't it be awful to miss out?

This is all fairly simple: Ireland is, regardless of what the OP may think, not part of the Commonwealth or the 'Commonwealth family'. Hence we have no place at the Commonwealth Games. And anyone who suggests that we (re)join this antiquated organisation for the express purpose of taking part in a sporting event really needs to get a sense of perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Mozambique vs Gibraltar in the Lawn Bowls?

Great if you're a lawn bowler from Mozambique or Gibraltar. It must be a great experience for them.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    As families go, the Commonwealth would need a team of psychologists and social workers doing intensive family therapy.

You've the old colonial power with delusions of grandure and a load of countries that are like exs that divorced it after a rather domineering marriage.

Then you've Australia and Canada, its formerly culchie cousins who are now loaded and driving around in large Mercs.

Strange, strange family!

Don't forget the estranged bitter little cousin who pretends he is somehow morally superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Great if you're a lawn bowler from Mozambique or Gibraltar. It must be a great experience for them.

Great for lawn bowlers,handball,squash and cribbage and the like,for the mainstream sports it's not really relevant.

kneemos wrote: »
    Great for lawn bowlers,handball,squash and cribbage and the like,for the mainstream sports it's not really relevant.

It's relevant to those taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Maphisto wrote: »
    Personally I don't give a flying fox for the symbolism and I'm not a great sports fan.

I do though think it would be good for the country to rejoin. Great for the athletes. Great for Dublin if we got to host. Great for the economy.

I'll fuck off now and put my tin hat on.
    nothing to stop us holding an international athletics meeting. Well, apart from not having a suitable venue.

I'm watching it. South African Olympic champion wins gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

There is a real buzz in Glasgow for these games. The city centre and trains have been packed over the last 3 days.

He's lush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

nothing to stop us holding an international athletics meeting. Well, apart from not having a suitable venue.

Maybe baby ;)
    There is a real buzz in Glasgow for these games. The city centre and trains have been packed over the last 3 days.

Imagine that was Dublin. The lift it would give the country. The buzz and the jobs just for getting everything sorted. Even if there was no long term pay off.

What's this event?

Maphisto wrote: »
    Maybe baby ;)

Imagine that was Dublin. The lift it would give the country. The buzz and the jobs just for getting everything sorted. Even if there was no long term pay off.

Would cost a fair bit! Edinburgh made a haims of there's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I'm not sure if the OP is actually suggesting we base a political decision in whether it offers our athletes another competition to enter ?

Anyways, we're not in the commonwealth and haven't been for many years, it's not a new thing.
    Therefore we are not eligible for this competition.

I can't enter my cat in a dog competition, such is life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Horse riding is not a commonwealth event, so that pretty much rules out our best chance of a medal even if we were to compete.

Anyhow, surely if our sporting stars really wanted to take part, I'm sure there would be some ruling that would allow them to compete under NI.

efb wrote: »
    Would cost a fair bit! Edinburgh made a haims of there's

Fair comment. But it would be worth it IMO in giving the builders some temp work, all the stewards, meeters and greeters we'd need. Look at what we'd save on SW. Plus all of those people feel a bit better about themselves. They start spending a bit. The country as a whole feels good unless we cock it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

kneemos wrote: »

Squash is fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Don't forget the estranged bitter little cousin who pretends he is somehow morally superior.

Who would that be in this odd little family?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Because we're not in it - could Rory play for NI in this one??

No golf in CG

efb wrote: »
    No golf in CG

Isn't that just the best thing over though?;)