Smoking in Pubs after hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I've a feeling that this isn't the way you were hoping this thread would turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Plazaman wrote: »
    I was in the same situation as the OP once.

I was forced to watch porn. I had the Angelus on the telly then all of a sudden the people beside me popped in a porn DVD (Dr Fist was the name of it I believe) and pressed play.

I was morto at being violated like that and was trying to leave except I had to show them how to work the remote control and I was in charge of cooking the pizzas as my oven is tricky enough to operate.

Porn and smoking are two different things.
    Our local has started playing loud music at the week-ends
    and we don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I dunno about ye, but I'm dying for a few pints and a smoke now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

wazky wrote: »
    Where is the clip of Todd and Rod doing "smokers are jokers, smokers are jokers!!"

I'm disappointed with you people.

smokers are jokers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Every person in this country knows a smoker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Rogers830

Eh, you did have a choice. You could have chosen to leave the pint on the counter and leave the place if the smoke was bothering you that much. You weren't "forced" into anything so stop feeling sorry for yourself and just be glad you got a lock-in.

He's hardly going to leave a fresh pint, just cos they want to kill themselves with that sh!te doesn't mean he should have to, stop being so literal when you say forced, obviously they didn't shove it down his throat you moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Jumboman wrote: »
    I was in a pub (which I wont name unless I'm given permission to) in camden street in dublin last night when it got closing time the barmaid shut the main door into the pub and starting handing out ashtrays then half the pub started smoking.

This was a shock to me I have not been in a pub were people were smoking since the smoking ban was bought in. It made me remember what the horrible smell of tobacco was like which I was forced to inhale.

I woundn't mind so much if this pub had a special room for smokers but this was in the main bar and it was impossible for non smokers to avoid breathing in the smoke.

What I'd like to know does this happen in a lot of pubs were they let people smoke after hours ? or maybe I just went unlucky to have gone to a very dodgy establishment ?
    What part of the country was this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

policarp wrote: »
    What part of the country was this?

I'm gonna take a stab at Camden Street in Dublin.

Obviously it was the other Camden Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Obviously it was the other Camden Street.

As in London?, yeah it could have. Or maybe the one in Outer Mongolia?

But in the OP it expressely identified Camden Street in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Bet you wish you never started this Thread.
    AH Can be so cruel sometimes:D

As in London?, yeah it could have. Or maybe the one in Outer Mongolia?

But in the OP it expressely identified Camden Street in Dublin.

DAMN MONGOLIAN STAY AWAY FROM MY CHITY WALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

OP, remind me never to bring you out for a pint.

You sound like the most joyless person in the world.

Be like going on the lash with Principal Skinner or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Nicely worded ;)

Realistally every pub offering a lock in let people smoke.
    You just got to accept that.
    Although I quite like the novelty of it.
    Nothing like enjoying a smoke in a pub after hours.
    So nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

OP, that will be all, thanks. C'mon folks .......... do ye not have a home to go to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

I didnt realise there was so many smokers on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Its not just smokers tough. Nonsmoker's understand that when a lock in happens people smoke in the pub and if they don't like the smoking they have to p#ss off home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I was in a pub (which I wont name unless I'm given permission to) in camden street in dublin last night when it got closing time the barmaid shut the main door into the pub and starting handing out ashtrays then half the pub started smoking.

This was a shock to me I have not been in a pub were people were smoking since the smoking ban was bought in. It made me remember what the horrible smell of tobacco was like which I was forced to inhale.

I woundn't mind so much if this pub had a special room for smokers but this was in the main bar and it was impossible for non smokers to avoid breathing in the smoke.

What I'd like to know does this happen in a lot of pubs were they let people smoke after hours ? or maybe I just went unlucky to have gone to a very dodgy establishment ?

OP - you have a few choices here.

First - you can grow up and learn that this sort of thing happens when you are in a pub illegally after hours.

Two - You could leave.

Y - You could tell everyone here your name and what pub you were in. You'll be guaranteed to never be subjected to that horror again. Or be ever served in a pub in Dublin again.

Four - Take up smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Even non smokers will know what to expect at a lock in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Does anyone have a light?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Does anyone have a fag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

JonEBGud wrote: »
    Porn and smoking are two different things.
    Our local has started playing loud music at the week-ends
    and we don't like it.

You mustn't be doing it right so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

mauzo! wrote: »
    Happened to me last year. My boyfriend was singing in the pub and after closing we had a fww lock inns. Good craic :) im a smoker so I enjoyed it. First time ever smoking in a pub.

Was a pub on Camden street too
    Oh wow. You sound like such a cool person. Go you.

How sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

blade1 wrote: »
    How were you forced?
    You knew where the door was, yeah?

Sounds like it was locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

paddyland wrote: »

How sad.

Yes, sad that you felt the need to mock the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Rogers830 wrote: »
    ... just cos they want to kill themselves with that sh!te doesn't mean he should have to ...
    An hour in the company of a few smokers is hardly going to kill him now, is it?

Quit with the hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Fluxfan

paddyland wrote: »

How sad.

Why did you feel the need to say this?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The smoking ban is for the benefit of employees, not other customers. So those people saying the law stoppped once they closed the shutters are completely wrong. It doesn't matter if it's only the boss and his mates left over, if someone is being paid to serve them then the law is being broke. sure, the op could leave his paid for pint and get out but why should he have to? And what about the bar staff who are stuck there?

The attitudes here are typical of the hypocritical bull**** you see throughout the country. Everyone wants to get rid of corruption and see the law obeyed, except when it's enforced on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83