Smoking in Pubs after hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jumboman wrote: »
    How were they breaking the law by locking the door ? It was only 1am some pubs/clubs in that area are open till 230am.

Those places would have a late licence, anywhere that closes the door at 1am has a regular one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

nm wrote: »
    Not if they locked the door

hehehe....I know;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Sounds like the op experienced his first lock in. he must be frightened :p

God help him when he attends his first rave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Happened in every pub I used to work in, but only when friends and regulars were left.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I just bought a pint and people beside me started smoking. So I had no choice but to breathe in that sh!t.
    OHMIGOD!!! How did people not die in droves before the ban???? *loud noises*. Jesus, when did we become so bloody beige.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

How were they breaking the law by locking the door ? It was only 1am some pubs/clubs in that area are open till 230am.
    Fire for a start
    They had no license for after hours .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Jesus :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Surely though any bar that does this runs the risk of complaints the next day as the smell will linger and customers won't like it, complain and not go back and possibly report them leading to fines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

O.A.P wrote: »
    Fire for a start
    They had no license for after hours .

Fire? No ones literally locked in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Wibbs wrote: »
    OHMIGOD!!! How did people not die in droves before the ban???? *loud noises*. Jesus, when did we become so bloody beige.

Wibbers, can I have an extra thanks button for that? Fcuk me, we're gone so bloody dull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

OP it was a lock in. They would have already been breaking the law by letting people stay on the premises and by serving drink, I doubt that letting people smoke or not would be top of their concerns. Besides imagine not letting people smoke after they've had a few drinks on them, it would be bloody carnage!

Wibbers, can I have an extra thanks button for that? Fcuk me, we're gone so bloody dull.

Not us that are used to a little lock in ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

Yeah, I suppose it was like being in a sort of a time warp OP? :rolleyes: Happens occasionally down the local if it's lashing outside, people are told to go down by the fire and say nothing. It's honestly not the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭johnciall

No point having a lock-in and having people standing at the door with sniper beacons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

So, technically a regular pub license allows sale of alcohol until 23:30 on a Wednesday with 30 minutes drinking up time. Unless something very odd (and it would be very odd given the cost of late licenses) happened the bar was already serving one hour after hours at 1am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

This must be a new phenomenon , thank God it only happens in Camden Street .

Mr.S wrote: »
    There's just something so cool smoking in a pub after the doors are closed and you have to walk out through the kitchen at 5am :pac:

Nooooo! We are multinational, grant assisted, equal opportunity modern, beige, bland and Health and Safety!

Down with Lock-ins! And fun. We are E.U and proud. It's the only game in town. Going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Give me patience. Now we'll have half of AH traipsing around Camden Street next week looking for lock-ins. Which is a bit stupid...as if you've got to go looking, you're already locked out. Unless you know the secret tap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

P_1 wrote: »
    OP it was a lock in. They would have already been breaking the law by letting people stay on the premises and by serving drink, I doubt that letting people smoke or not would be top of their concerns. Besides imagine not letting people smoke after they've had a few drinks on them, it would be bloody carnage!

Yes but it would be hard to prove they were serving drink if anyone came they could just say they were letting people finish their pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Has happened at any lock in i've been at. I dont smoke, but where else would I expect the smokers to go.

Yes but it would be hard to prove they were serving drink if anyone came they could just say they were letting people finish their pints.

Have you never heard of lock ins before? They're not a new thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

The Gardaí wouldn't have much to prove at 1am if the decided to pursue it. If a pub full of people are drinking one hour after drinking up time expires they have them bang to rights for not clearing the premises. They can pursue an endorsement against the license and take the name of every person present to have them issued with a fine. You're supposed to be out the door 30 minutes after 23:30 on a Wednesday regardless of whether you're finished.

The situation is that the Gardaí are normally soft handed in how they deal with the situation by deliberately not enforcing the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭junospider

The fact is the O.P. was forced to do one of two things neither of which he wanted to do.(a) leave the pub,which he did not want to do or he would not have ordered the pint,or(b) stay and breathe in the manky,stinking smog!

I'm possibly not alone in thinking that several Gardai I know would be better craic at a lock-in than the OP, and fcuk me, they puff a lot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,193 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

junospider wrote: »
    The fact is the O.P. was forced to do one of two things neither of which he wanted to do.(a) leave the pub,which he did not want to do or he would not have ordered the pint,or(b) stay and breathe in the manky,stinking smog!

I'm sure the OP would have received a refund from the bar had he chosen to ask for one and decide to leave. By virtue of the pub 'locking up' they were obviously not entitled to stay open as per their licence. By the fact that the OP presumably was content enough anyway to finish the pint and by remaining there was then committing an offence himself. I abhore smoking in general and 100% the smoking ban but what a premises decides to do ie? this situation 'after hours' I can only presume is their own concern. It's happened in my local too... Like it.. Stay... Don't... Leave nobody was handcuffed to the bar. Rediciolus carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Happened to me last year. My boyfriend was singing in the pub and after closing we had a fww lock inns. Good craic :) im a smoker so I enjoyed it. First time ever smoking in a pub.

Was a pub on Camden street too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

mauzo! wrote: »
    im a smoker so I enjoyed it. First time ever smoking in a pub.
    Jeebus. :eek:
    Although it was 2004 so yeh, there are adults now who were only kids then.

Christ, that's probably the best example ever of something that makes me feel old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Speaking of lock ins my Dad has a story about a certain candidate in the 1990 Presidential holding court one night in a local bar in my hometown.

The Guards decided to play a prank on their new recruit fresh out of Templemore so they sent him down to the pub to clear them out, every FF'er in a hundred mile radius was in the bar. The Kid walks in and tries to break up the party, cue hysterical laughter and the candidate telling the kid to be on his way or he'd have him transferred to the Aran Islands in the morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Strumms wrote: »
    I'm sure the OP would have received a refund from the bar had he chosen to ask for one and decide to leave. By virtue of the pub 'locking up' they were obviously not entitled to stay open as per their licence. By the fact that the OP presumably was content enough anyway to finish the pint and by remaining there was then committing an offence himself. I abhore smoking in general and 100% the smoking ban but what a premises decides to do ie? this situation 'after hours' I can only presume is their own concern. It's happened in my local too... Like it.. Stay... Don't... Leave nobody was handcuffed to the bar. Rediciolus carry on.

How was I breaking the law, simply for ordering a pint ? I assumed everything was above board untill half the pub started smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Magaggie wrote: »
    Jeebus. :eek:
    Although it was 2004 so yeh, there are adults now who were only kids then.

Christ, that's probably the best example ever of something that makes me feel old...

I was 12 when the smoking ban came in and I vaguely remember people smoking in restaurants but never planes or pubs.