Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

dharma200 wrote: »
    best two cents on this thread that i wish i hadn't started!

Didn't turn out how you wanted, did it?

Better luck next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭4Sticks

best two cents on this thread that i wish i hadn't started!

agreed and agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

4Sticks wrote: »
    What do you mean - seriously - people do that ?

I guess I'm just naive - but yes - they do. Some are funny - I laughed a bit at this one:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RUNuuxeDE0

And this one was pretty good too:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LbUtImak7c

I guess it's more of a problem in correctional facilities. Here are a bunch of nurses talking about how they weed out the fakers:
    http://allnurses.com/correctional-nursing/seizures-real-vs-634419.html

Again - not at all suggesting this guy was faking - but apparently, it's a very common problem.
    I walked back into the jail once to see an inmate that was having a "seizure" after "falling" off his bunk onto the floor. I radioed to the deputy room and had one of the guys come back with his K9. As soon as Stinger entered the pod on lead the "seizing" inmate jumped to his feet and quickly scrambled back to the top bunk. It was a miracle.
    I know the ammonia inhalant is supposed to work, but I've had two fakers recently who managed to not respond to it. One even admitted later that he was faking and trying to get a fix of diazepam - he showed no response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

gctest50 wrote: »

a video from a pranks show!
    Shouldn't the default be it's really a seizure or should guards assume they are fakibg and restrain them. Restraining person having a seizure is the worst thing you can do can causemuch worse injury.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

InReality wrote: »
    In the US/UK yer man could easily have died given the rough treatment you see there.

Why, is there something particularly fragile about US or UK protesters, or are Irish ones particularly resilient?
    Like the way girls in mini skirts invite rape?

Well, that came out of left field. Last I checked, wearing a mini skirt was legal and interfered with nobody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Didn't turn out how you wanted, did it?

Better luck next time.

I amnt affiliated with any group, pr any of th epeople involved. I have nothing to do with any of it... i saw the video someone posted on social media and thought jesus.. there is no 'luck' involved, and i didn't think it would turn out any way.. what i am seeing though is that it is obviously a lot more common and less shocking that i initially thought, that plenty of people think it is ok for people employed by the state to do this...
    maybe i should re think my non affiliation with protests or groups or whatever, because obviously this is seen by some people as perfectly acceptable behaviour and anyone who thinks it is not is a lefty who hates 'pigs'.

I regret setting it up because now i actually see the attitudes to some people by some people and would rather not. I don't believe in luck, but thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

If the guards had lifted him as per their professional training etc then this type of thing could be avoided. If they had not lifted him in the manner then none of it would have happened.

In the same vein if he had moved along when asked like several people did then it wouldn't have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

20Cent wrote: »
    Ever seen someone having a seizure?
    looks a lot like that vid from 16 seconds onwards.

Yes I have actually, I was in school with a kid for 5 years who had epilepsy, and No to me it looks like a person resisting... It is unclear as to when the seizure starts. As I said you are just seeing what you want to see or just making things up to suit your agenda.
    No need for the trolling .

So anyone who disagrees with your agenda is Trolling, well that says more about you than me sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Whether the seizure was fake or not or the guy himself was being a nuisance the fact the Gaurds dragged his head along the ground is disgraceful.

The Gaurds have a tough job dealing with idiots and dealing with protesters looking for a reaction from them but they are professional they should know how to react to every situation and in this situation they reacted terribly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

Crusty protestor faked the fit. Could tell a mile away...100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Crusty protestor faked the fit. Could tell a mile away...100%

Agreed, ****ebags like him make it worse for actual epileptics

Like the way girls in mini skirts invite rape?

Yep, that's exactly the comparison I was going for. Have a gold star. Talk about twisting words. Mad for a crusade some of these types. Any crusade, as evidenced above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

The Aussie wrote: »
    Yes I have actually, I was in school with a kid for 5 years who had epilepsy, and No to me it looks like a person resisting... It is unclear as to when the seizure starts. As I said you are just seeing what you want to see or just making things up to suit your agenda.

So anyone who disagrees with your agenda is Trolling, well that says more about you than me sorry.

Guess we'll agree to disagree then.
    Not saying disagreeing is trolling I'm refering to the comments you make in attempt to wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If the guards had lifted him as per their professional training etc then this type of thing could be avoided. If they had not lifted him in the manner then none of it would have happened.

Can you explain how to lift someone who is flailing without risk of losing your grip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Omackeral wrote: »
    Yep, that's exactly the comparison I was going for. Have a gold star. Talk about twisting words. Mad for a crusade some of these types. Any crusade, as evidenced above.
    These types? Lol bro you got me all wrong. I love a hippy beating as much as the next redneck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

I amnt affiliated with any group, pr any of th epeople involved. I have nothing to do with any of it... i saw the video someone posted on social media and thought jesus.. there is no 'luck' involved, and i didn't think it would turn out any way.. what i am seeing though is that it is obviously a lot more common and less shocking that i initially thought, that plenty of people think it is ok for people employed by the state to do this...
    maybe i should re think my non affiliation with protests or groups or whatever, because obviously this is seen by some people as perfectly acceptable behaviour and anyone who thinks it is not is a lefty who hates 'pigs'.

I regret setting it up because now i actually see the attitudes to some people by some people and would rather not. I don't believe in luck, but thanks.

You posted it in AH, not the most reasonable crowd in here.
    I wouldn't take this bunch of muppets as typical of people. AH is the back alley of boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

These types? Lol bro you got me all wrong. I love a hippy beating as much as the next redneck.

Hippy beating? Sensationalism at it's best. Study journalism and go write for the Daily Mail good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Can you explain how to lift someone who is flailing without risk of losing your grip?

dpGxO0F.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Not saying disagreeing is trolling I'm refering to the comments you make in attempt to wind up.

So your not saying 6 your saying Half a Dozen :confused:
    Guess we'll agree to disagree.

Could be for the best.

There is correct procedures as in mental health care, prison service etc.. these procedures do not involve head dragging.

The guy was clearly faking a fit prompted by the woman at 52 second. The problem with this kind of thing is it detracts from people who genuinely need medical attention when in custody and it wastes ambulance time and hospital space. It's no different than holding your neck after a car crash in the hopes of a claim.

This isn't to take away from the fact his head should not have been dragged on the ground. If the Garda knowingly did that then he should face disciplinary measures.

There is correct procedures as in mental health care, prison service etc.. these procedures do not involve head dragging.

So outline them. And while you're at it how many times have you performed them without incident on a struggling person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Can't say I'd feel much sympathy to be honest. Every time the Gardaí have to deal with someone physically there's a crowd with the phones out roaring "scumbags" or "yer hurtin' him!" or whatever the flavour of the week is.

Honestly, I'd sooner feel sympathy for the Gardaí. What an absolute sickener to be dealing with the likes of them.

So outline them. And while you're at it how many times have you performed them without incident on a struggling person?

na

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Hippy beating? Sensationalism at it's best. Study journalism and go write for the Daily Mail good man.
    This guy right here... <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭4Sticks

Where was the "ah leeeev ir oww" scanger when she was most needed?
    That is the real shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Has it ever happened in those cases that the person being carried struggled and the people lost their grip and ended up dragging the person for a second?

I've seen worse on the UK cop shows and prison videos from the UK and US tbh and no one seem to be screamino brutality about those.

na

Didn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

The discrediting of peaceful protesters and pro-garda spin in here is a thing of beauty. Putin himself would be proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Well that video had a fitting end.