Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• 19-07-2014 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭

listen lads, whatever about the Dublin says no campaign and freemen and all that... This is shocking treatment of a human being by guards... Do they not be trained in handling people? Watch the guys head on the ground... Wtf

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nQwpP8gwiz4&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Boom yeah

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Pretty poor form alright.

Twink is getting about isn't she.

Id say the protest outside the Russian embassy was a bloodbath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Are there any of these videos that don't start just as a Gard is dragging someone off? Its almost like they don't want you too see the peaceful protester before the evil Gards pounce on him for just standing there being all peaceful at a nice distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

ugh that turns my stomach. Why do the guards all have to crowd around him as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

'Shocked and appalled'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

dharma200 wrote: »
    listen lads, whatever about the Dublin says no campaign and freemen and all that... This is shocking treatment of a human being by guards... Do they not be trained in handling people? Watch the guys head on the ground... Wtf

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nQwpP8gwiz4&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Pro-tip: don't lie down in the middle of the road when the police tell you to move away. Also, if you're an epileptic who is prone to having fits you shouldn't be putting yourself at risk like that.

I also love that the video opens with a title describing it as "brutality". I can make my own mind up, thanks. Love the protesters shouting and roaring at the gardai trying to do their jobs as well.

Rent a crowd knobends.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Why do the guards all have to crowd around him as well

Yeah they were like totally blocking the guys trying to film it on their phones.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Typical Gardai behavior really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Ladies and gentlemen i would like to welcome you all to the Saturday night garda thread.

I will be your host and the ever lovely Whoopsadaisydoodles will be your referee.

Snacks will be served shortly, please take your seats and switch off all mobile phones.

Yeah they were like totally blocking the guys trying to film it on their phones.:rolleyes:

No but they're telling the friends to back off yet they're all stood about watching him have a fit ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Are there any of these videos that don't start just as a Gard is dragging someone off? Its almost like they don't want you too see the peaceful protester before the evil Gards pounce on him for just standing there being all peaceful at a nice distance.

Unless that guy was waving about a weapon or acting in a way which was going to cause immediate physical harm to anyone or a guard I can't see how dragging him along the ground by the head can be in any way proper order... I know these protest groups are contentious, but even the way they are around him afterwards, big guilty hands all around him.. That's. Not on I don't think for any force to behave like that unless the guy was endangering life like...
    Scary ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

No but they're telling the friends to back off yet they're all stood about watching him have a fit ¬_¬

You don't understand crowd control but don't let that get in the way of your rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Ladies and gentlemen i would like to welcome you all to the Saturday night garda thread.

I will be your host and the ever lovely Whoopsadaisydoodles will be your referee.

Snacks will be served shortly, please take your seats and switch off all mobile phones.

Will we settle in or will this be short viewing?

dharma200 wrote: »
    Unless that guy was waving about a weapon or acting in a way which was going to cause immediate physical harm to anyone or a guard I can't see how dragging him along the ground by the head can be in any way proper order... I know these protest groups are contentious, but even the way they are around him afterwards, big guilty hands all around him.. That's. Not on I don't think for any force to behave like that unless the guy was endangering life like...
    Scary ****

They clearly weren't trying to drag him along the ground. It's fairly obvious they tried to pick him up and carry him, but he was throwing himself around the place and trying to kick out.

You don't understand crowd control but don't let that get in the way of your rant.

ye they were doing such a good job controlling the crowd?! They seemed totally clueless as to how to act at this guy having a fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Most cops overseas have tear gas, pepper spray and tazers. People have a right to protest but most police forces around the world have the right not to give to fcuks about your right to protest.

Ah ok I must have missed that bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

The cynic in me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

wazky wrote: »
    Will we settle in or will this be short viewing?

Depends, you may have seen similar threads with the yay crowd v the nay crowd, yaaawwwwnnnn.

Think I will switch channels. :rolleyes:

Most cops overseas have tear gas, pepper spray and tazers. People have a right to protest but most police forces around the world have the right not to give to fcuks about your right to protest.

The right to peaceful protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Looked like he was having his fit before they even started dragging him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Snacks will be served shortly.

Yes please and make mine a double on the rocks.

**** I didn't realise there was a Saturday night guard brutality thread lol.. Feel free to merge with all the others mods .. Maybe we should request a board all on its own for the mega thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

This is Ireland, if they want to protest then they should go the Gaza or to Israel, then they would witness brutality and I doubt if they would be so mouthy with the local police or militia there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

The right to peaceful protest.

Clarify peaceful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,911 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Guards are nerds .The difference is they now have power unlike in their school days.
    It's sad to see them all behave like robotic nerds. It's kinda revenge I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

ye they were doing such a good job controlling the crowd?! They seemed totally clueless as to how to act at this guy having a fit.
    They are guards, not doctors.

And he was putting a life at risk - his own, by lying down in the middle of a road for fcuk sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Serious beer in those bellies. Hope dude is ok

Fcuk that I've a race in the morning. I'm off to bed :pac:

Mod

Ladies and gentlemen. I'm trusting ye all to behave yerselves.

Do you understand? I am giving you this opportunity to prove that you can be left alone for a few hours without wrecking the place. Please don't let me down.

Many thanks.
    Whoopsadaisydoodles

Super-rush - you know what to do in case of Emergency :)

Night night :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Ah here!! Replaced with Ah Stop!!

PS: Great bunch of lads! They can be proud of themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

The first time I watched it, I thought the Gards were really out of order, but watching it again, I think he'd already started to fit, and thats why he ended up with his head on the floor, they were carrying him, and the the thrashing caused them to drop him. They should have stopped though, and not dragged his head along the ground.

How did the woman know he was about to have a fit? She was saying "he's going to have a fit now".

Also, what were they doing while he was having the fit, was that man trying to put something in his mouth? I thought now that you just clear everything around the person, put something under their head to stop them hurting themselves, and observe. Putting something in the mouth isn't recommended anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,911 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Cost nothing to be polite. To go up to guy and ask him to go to other side of road. But they don't seem capable of doing that.
    They simply walk up and say

GET TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD. AAHHHH
    !!!! THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD.AAAAHHHH!!!!! ROAD SIDE, OTHER SIDE AHHHHHH!!!!

pablo128 wrote: »
    They are guards, not doctors.

And he was putting a life at risk - his own, by lying down in the middle of a road for fcuk sake!

You don't have to be a doctor to have a bit of common sense, why didn't they get a jacket or something to put under his head straight away. One guard did cop on to this eventually but it took a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

In this case there was enough Gardai to lift the chaps head off the ground. Not a wheelie bin he's pulling ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Jaysus, yer one that posted the vid is a proper rent a crowd protestor. Anti zionists, anti child abuse, no to frackong, anonymous.. It's always the same with the protestors, they'll protest against anything

Right, by the look of those guts a gew of the guards are putting their own lives at risk every day by scoffin the brekkie rolls. Would t wanna see them pursuing on foot like........
    It can't be easy the public order thing, and the law is always on the side of the guards I reckon, but still, whatever, it's really bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

vicwatson wrote: »
    Serious beer in those bellies. Hope dude is ok

serves him right if he is not

The Garda have a job to do and they have to react that way to people who resist. they have to be aggressive and they have to protect and defend themselves as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

She's gone, lets go fúcking mental! Don't rat us out super rush, you're one of us now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

muddypaws wrote: »
    The first time I watched it, I thought the Gards were really out of order, but watching it again, I think he'd already started to fit, and thats why he ended up with his head on the floor, they were carrying him, and the the thrashing caused them to drop him. They should have stopped though, and not dragged his head along the ground.

How did the woman know he was about to have a fit? She was saying "he's going to have a fit now".

Also, what were they doing while he was having the fit, was that man trying to put something in his mouth? I thought now that you just clear everything around the person, put something under their head to stop them hurting themselves, and observe. Putting something in the mouth isn't recommended anymore.

If you know epilepsy sometimes the person shows signs before they fit The guy looked liked he was administrating meds

We didn't see what happened before this and the protesters are probably delighted to be able to use this video for their "cause" wonder did this protester give his permission to have himself put up on the internet like this

muddypaws wrote: »

Some people with epilepsy are prescribed a medicine that a relative or friend can administer in emergencies to stop a prolonged seizure. In most people with epilepsy, seizures do not last more than a few minutes. However, in some cases a seizure lasts longer and a medicine can be used to stop it. A doctor or nurse should give instruction on how and when to administer the medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

**** this, the Partisans are nice peeps, and they make tasty fig based treats. G I V E T H E M F R E E D O M!!!! 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

why didn't they get a jacket or something to put under his head straight away

You're actually not supposed to do that anymore AFAIK.

/firstaiderrefresher2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Big shots then they realise that it is not good to drag a person's face along the ground. They looked like a bunch of amateurs as well as being overweight for a police force

I think he might be still in hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Wonder how they get on in tallaght Wednesday with 2000 of these lads in tallaght

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfZKhvmlTKE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Filming someone having a seizure and posting it on line for anyone to watch is poor form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

The Gardai shouldn't have dragged him off like that, there were plenty there to move him without dragging him. However its a bit of a non issue as far as "brutality" goes as its a situation the clown and his friends made for themselves.

Don't mill around in the middle of the road and then act the clown when the Gardai arrive and you won't be getting dragged anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

That footage doesn't show anything approaching brutality of any kind. If you had ever witnessed true brutality you would know this. It's unfortunate that the young man had a seizure but as has already been stated by others he needs to take his condition into consideration before engaging in such activities.

Glazers Out!

I hate the pigs as much as the next person, but it can be hard to know that someone would have an 'eppo'.

Having said that, they were very, very careless in the way they dragged him with his head in contact with the ground.

Ok if anything this thread might actually educate whatever guards are lurking on the correct treatment for so done having an epiletic fit.... Small steps forward......