Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOI 2014 Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

dreamers75 wrote: »
    2-1 Pat Fenlon.

:(

djpbarry wrote: »
    You were making a connection between the two, to be fair.

It was a relevant point to make but I hardly excused the club's admin. It's a personal opinion anyway, we're all allowed to have them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Inter announce shock move for John Caulfield.

Ca3l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Martin Russell appointed as Limerick boss - Pats lose another assistant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/its-probably-last-season-mark-3860872

'It’s probably my last season': Mark Quigley reveals he could walk away from football

What a waste of a wonderful talent. In the top 5 players Ive ever seen play for Dundalk, The year he was with us he was unstoppable at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

He's the kind of player who you need to build a team around. At Rovers and Pats he's been a sub, and he's not the sort of player who comes on and slots into a system.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Had a bad time at Bohs, but Fenlon did play him wide a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

He's the kind of player who you need to build a team around. At Rovers and Pats he's been a sub, and he's not the sort of player who comes on and slots into a system.

I think you're right. At pat's the first time it was himself and Fahey and he was the main man at Dundalk. The question is would a team built around him be good enough to win the league? He's prone to injuries too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,021 ✭✭✭uch

When he came to Rovers he was supposed to be the main man, but his "Couldn't bother me fúckin árse" attitude mixed with injuries meant he never got started, then when he was fit to play, he was like a 9 year old that was just scolded by his manager and his subsequent "I'm not playing anymore" on-field attitude didn't help him.
    Can't argue that the fella has outstanding talent, but that doesn't give him the right to be a Príck

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,069 ✭✭✭kksaints

Fagan form this season been fantastic, Bucko only ever played with one centre forward and Quigley doesnt work as part of a midfield 3 so hes not going to start unless he can play on the wing and he doesnt really track back enough at that as well as trying to replace Byrne whos also doing really well this season and Forrester whos form dipped somewhat in the last month but is still capable of quality at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gary Dempsey confirmed as signed for Shels, supposedly very lively and good on Saturday in a friendly against Ipswich. Sean Russell and Alan O'Sullivan played that too and are expected to sign.

Not directly LOI but im sure everyone will be interested in or should I say disgusted by. Not too long after FAI tell us they are €50Million in debt
    "FAI Chief Executive John Delaney has signed a new €1.8 million contract which will keep him at the association until 2020. This amounts to €360,00 per year for the Waterford man."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Disgusting.

Gary Dempsey confirmed as signed for Shels, supposedly very lively and good on Saturday in a friendly against Ipswich. Sean Russell and Alan O'Sullivan played that too and are expected to sign.

If yiz use him right he'll be a great signing for yiz, very good on the ball any time I've seen him play, seems to have a good head on him

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

uch wrote: »
    If yiz use him right he'll be a great signing for yiz, very good on the ball any time I've seen him play, seems to have a good head on him

He does need to be kept happy though. He's had some shockingly disinterested-looking performances during his time at Waterford Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Alfa Quadrifoglio

Pats and Sligo should be allowed to postpone their weekend games to give them every chance of progressing in Europe, League needs both clubs to progress to further improve its image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Pats and Sligo should be allowed to postpone their weekend games to give them every chance of progressing in Europe, League needs both clubs to progress to further improve its image

Neither side are in action until next week in Europe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Martin O'Neill was in Oriel Park last night and apparently he's heading to the Carlisle Grounds tonight to watch Shamrock Rovers play Bray. Fair play to him. He said in his opening press conference he'd be checking out league of Ireland teams and he's following through on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Bs8T8FUCIAAmONF.jpg

Niall.Hannigan@hotmailDOTCOM

Cheers lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Bs8T8FUCIAAmONF.jpg

Cheers lads.

Excuse my ignorance but what happened?

Bs8T8FUCIAAmONF.jpg

Cheers lads.

Will send a small donation tomorrow. Fair play lads and RIP Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance but what happened?

The chap passed away in his sleep over in Warsaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Speaking of Bray, my wife is from there. Her uncle and cousins are "mad Leeds fans, they love football" - in the six years I've known them they've said to me at the start of each LoI Season that they'll go down to the Carlisle.

Even though Shels and Bray have not been in the same division in all that time, I've been to more Bray games than they have in the timeframe.

And it's the same all over Bray, the town should absolutely be able to sustain a LoI team given the population.

It's a grand little ground too, and they are a decent club.

Speaking of Bray, my wife is from there. Her uncle and cousins are "mad Leeds fans, they love football" - in the six years I've known them they've said to me at the start of each LoI Season that they'll go down to the Carlisle.

Even though Shels and Bray have not been in the same division in all that time, I've been to more Bray games than they have in the timeframe.

And it's the same all over Bray, the town should absolutely be able to sustain a LoI team given the population.

It's a grand little ground too, and they are a decent club.

I'm always at a loss as to why Bray can't get decent crowds, it's not a big Gaa or Rugby town either so it's hard to understand why they can't get 2000 - 3000 for all home games

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

What were attendances like when they got to the Cup final? Seem to remember them being involved in a year with 2 or 3 replays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

They've never got great crowds but I think, like a lot of other teams, they've dipped in recent years. The social reasons, sporting reasons, and general apathy of the Irish public has been covered so many times that it's hard to be surprised when clubs continue to struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

As an away fan travelling to the carlisle its not great tbh, no roof so go prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭overshoot

bohsman wrote: »
    What were attendances like when they got to the Cup final? Seem to remember them being involved in a year with 2 or 3 replays?

at the final or league?... 2 replays in 99.
    they were also relegated that year too so id imagine there is a rather large contrast.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

St Pauli fans here in Tallaght.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    As an away fan travelling to the carlisle its not great tbh, no roof so go prepared.

One of the best away trips IMO